We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 138: English reviews
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this place on a trip through the southeast this week and found it the same way that we did all the others in 4 states. It was advertised at $105 online which we felt was reasonable so we pulled in to book. I handed the clerk my card and was charged $120. I asked about the difference... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laramy R
McDonough, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I understand that the hotel is great for hikers and for families needing a place to stay for one night while visiting Young Harris College; however, this is not a great spot for business. The wireless is almost non-existent and constantly drops service; when you get connected don't move your device or you will spend the next 30 minutes trying... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan K
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee, responded to this review

Dear Alan K, Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Upon our arrival we went to our room. First there were no towels. Next I turn down the bedding and to our dismay there was hair on the sheets. Did not get any help from the front desk so we found housekeeping and had them change the bedding and get us some towels. Day 2- We tried to go eat... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff070707
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee, responded to this review

Dear Jeff070707, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean, and superior accommodations. However, please accept our sincerest apologies for any discomfort the condition of the sheets and the housekeeping service may have... More 

Varnell, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

Needed a place to stay last minute and this property was perfect. I saw the sign from the road, pulled in and they had a room. The front desk staff was stellar! Room was spacious and clean. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. Only suggestion for improvement would be to add more equipment to fitness room. Only two old treadmills... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

I stayed at this hotel overnight in preparation of a fishing trip on the lake. Generally, I find that Holiday Inn Express hotels are of decent quality and value. I am sad to say that string of experiences is broken. The hotel interior is rundown and poorly maintained. The lobby area looks extremely dated. The furniture is old and in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank EnjoyYourTrvl
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee, responded to this review

Dear EnjoyYourTrvl, Thank you for taking time to post a review about our hotel. It is unfortunate to learn that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay due to the condition of the hotel and rooms. I have forwarded your feedback to our hotel management to work on these points raised in your review to give you the... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

We were passing through and decided to spend the night. The hotel needs updating but the room was clean. The hotel desk staff was also friendly. However, since it's the only named brand hotel in the area and this is peak season, I thought the rate was too high for a "basic" out-dated hotel. With the taxes, fees, etc, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Powcha
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

Lovely hotel with friendly helpful staff. Loved the stairs that lead back down to reception and big fire in lobby. Ate at " Daniels steakhouse " close by. Very good food at good value prices . Would recommend . Must see , Helen , about 30 minute drive away . A small Swiss village with lots of shops and restaurants... More 

Helpful?
Thank toni1041
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

Arrived to find ants in our bathroom. Table had crumbs of some sort on it and there was some long black hairs on the bed. Stopped by the front desk on the way out for dinner and a concert to report the issues. Desk clerk stated he would have maid staff go over the room again. Returning later that night,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Al S
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee, responded to this review

Dear Al S, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hiawassee, GA. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment about our front desk service and the bed. However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room cleanliness.... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

The staff is friendly. They have a awesome breakfast with tons of selection. Visit went great nice place. Wasn't perfect tables had scratches beds were nice was very clean. Had a indoor pool that was nice. Airco ditioner worked great lots of restaurants around. If u want to drink it is a dry county all they have is beer and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 869tammyd
Juneau, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is way past needing a renovation. The front desk staff are lovely, really fantastic people. But the owners and managers have failed to maintain the property and allowed inexcusable housekeeping practices to continue. There are plenty of one- and two-star reviews here on TripAdvisor with responses from IHG "Case Managers" assuring that the problems are unusual and will... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank George S
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee, responded to this review

Dear George S, Thank you for taking time to post a review about our hotel. It is unfortunate to learn that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay due to the condition of the hotel, especially the rooms and its amenities. I also regret that the level of service was sub par. I have forwarded your feedback to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiawassee
1.0 mi away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#3 of 6 in Hiawassee
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#1 of 6 in Hiawassee
4.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
12.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Milton Inn
BEST WESTERN Milton Inn
#3 of 3 in Blairsville
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
17.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 20 in Helen
4.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
17.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverpark Inn & Conference Center Alpine Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel - Hiawassee is located in the beautiful North Georgia Mountains near the growing towns of Blairsville, Young Harris and Hiawassee. Our Hiawassee hotel is in close proximity to Lake Chatuge, the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds, Brasstown Bald, and the Appalachian Trail. We host groups for the Schedule of Stars and the Rhododendron Festival, and welcome hikers exiting the Appalachian Trail. Enjoy North Georgia hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hiawassee. Be sure to ask about our golf, spring break, and romance packages! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee

Address: 300 Big Sky Dr, Hiawassee, GA 30546-2239
Location: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Price Range: $104 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee Hotel Hiawassee
Holiday Inn Hiawassee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay