We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 129: English reviews
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights for dropping our son to the college. Bathroom door wouldn't close, you had to wrestle to close. No door hanger, broke off. Shower curtain wouldn't close to cover the tub, so water would definitely come out. Grime and mold every corner. I wouldn't recommend this hotel. Only good part was that breakfast was clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank rdave2
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Dear TripAdvisor Guest, Thank you so much for sharing your concerns with us. I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectation of your bathroom cleanliness. This disappoints me that you, our valued guest experienced the above issues during your stay with us. This is not how we want our guest to feel and I am sincerely sorry... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My son was having brain surgery at CHOA @ Egleston so a family member had paid for our hotel stay for several days so we could be close by. When we made the reservation over the phone explaining the situation. The gentleman was nice & even offered us a discount since it was a medical trip. When we got there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica N
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Dear Jessica N, I have to agree with you that we have failed as a team to meet your expectations during your recent stay with us. I know that I would have been frustrated too having to wait in the lobby with my children after a long drive when it was not necessary. We could have done so many things... More 

Travelers are raving about these Decatur hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed one night on a short visit to Atlanta. Visiting friends in near-by Druid Hills made this a convenient location. The following day, the airport car hire drop-off centre was a half-hour drive. The room itself was a bit on the tight side - we had requested a room with two beds but none were available - instead our... More 

Helpful?
Thank Conn C
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Dear conn c, Thank you for a great review. I will make sure that my team hears how you and your family enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again. Leslie- GM More 

Sparta, GA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

The location is perfect for navigating Metro Atlanta. It is very close to downtown Decatur. The check-in staff was very friendly. Our room was nice and quiet and had everything we needed for an overnight stay. The welcome "happy hour" was very nice, offering drinks and snacks. The free breakfast offered a good variety of food and it was constantly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Parrothead31087
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

We chose this location based on our plans to visit both Stone Mountain and Turner Field. The room was clean. Every time we walked in or out, the staff spoke and was friendly. Within walking distance to a Publix grocery store and Little Caesars. Ok small indoor pool and sauna. Biggest complaint would be the painfully slow elevator. We just... More 

Helpful?
Thank bbutler12
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Dear bbutler12, Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that we met your expectations of great service during your stay. I'm sorry that you had difficulties with a slow elevator. We do only have one elevator due to only have 62 rooms in the hotel, however I will speak with the elevator company to make sure we... More 

RI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

Overall a fine room, in decent shape. Farthest down the hallway, which was nice because there was no hallway noise but the traffic was audible. A pair of light earplugs helped with that. Biggest concern was the mold issue on the bathroom ceiling which hopefully has been taken care of after I let them know about it. Really no where... More 

Helpful?
Thank smanzi
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate the opportunity to make it better. I am sorry that all your expectations were not met and we will resolve any issues that you had in your guestroom. Take care, Leslie- GM More 

Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

I had asked for a room on the fourth floor away from the road and parking lot. I had Google earth it and saw there were rooms away from both of those with nice trees behind them. What I got was a room on the fourth floor on the corner of the road and parking lot. I had made these... More 

Helpful?
Thank jalyn72016
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations during your recent stay. It is disappointing to me as well that we fell short of our standards. We strive everyday to reach our goals in meeting and exceeding guest satisfaction. Regarding Google Earth, I cannot guarantee what pictures will come up about our hotel. We do... More 

Evans, Ga
Level Contributor
271 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

Was in town for a wedding. This hotel was close to the reception venue. It was clean and the staff was very polite. My room was 106 and at first I was reluctant to be there as it was close to the main lobby and the window was at the parking lot. But I was happy that it was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank tleeEvans
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Dear valued guest: Thank you for your nice review. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay. I hope you had a fantastic time at the wedding and many blessings to the bride & groom. We hope that you are able to visit us again on another special event soon. Take care, Leslie- GM More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

My second visit at this hotel. I enjoyed everything about my first stay 4 months earlier. In advance I booked and paid for a king bed suite for 6 nights. I notified the hotel by email that I would arrive a day later. When I arrived, after waiting for 30 minutes to be checked in, I was told that only... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Dieter K
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Dear DieterW, As we have discussed while you were on property, the reason you did not get the room type that you reserved is because you cancelled your date of arrival at 1130pm and I advised that you would be charged for the one night guarantee. Our hotel was sold out and once cancelled, you lost your room type. We... More 

California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2016 via mobile

An okay location for Emory. Clean room and free parking. Off of north Decatur Td and is close to publix supermarket. Only covenient if you want to visit Emory and the city of Decatur. Atlanta will be about a 15 min drive.

Helpful?
Thank BargainTravelers
Holiday Inn Exp G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your nice review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your clean room and free parking. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Emory location. Take care, Leslie- GM More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Decatur
Poncey-Highland
The Highland Inn
The Highland Inn
#82 of 177 in Atlanta
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Emory Hotel in Decatur, Georgia, offers you a truly Southern hospitality experience. Enjoy our warm surroundings that truly make you feel at home away from home. The staff of the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Decatur, GA, is looking forward to being of service for all of your hospitality needs in the upcoming years. We are conveniently located in the heart of the Emory Hospital & Emory University area and Dekalb Medical Hospital & Children's Healthcare of Atlanta hospital and only minutes from downtown Atlanta. One mile from Emory Hospital and near the Centers for Disease Control, the CDC.We are now proudly offering our complimentary Express Start breakfast featuring two hot items daily - omelets w/cheese, sausage or bacon, biscuits and gravy.Free local calls, mini-kitchens w/ microwave and refrigerator are available in all our newly renovated rooms. Meeting and banquet facilities available. Relax in our year round indoor heated pool or in our on-site fitness center. Restaurants and shopping plaza within walking distance. Visit Decatur, GA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Emory. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area

Address: 2183 N Decatur Rd, Decatur, GA 30033-5307
Location: United States > Georgia > Decatur
Price Range: $151 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Atlanta-Emory University Area Hotel Decatur
Holiday Inn Express Decatur
Holiday Inn Decatur
Decatur Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay