We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Rothschild - Pound House Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Rothschild - Pound House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 83: English reviews
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
408 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile

If you're traveling to Columbus, Georgia, this is a great place to spend the night. Mamie Pound offers wonderful hospitality, and you'll love breakfast. Historic home, great local artifacts. Central location, easy walk to Broadway and the river. You'll enjoy your experience.

Helpful?
Thank Rob S
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
1,177 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2016

We stayed at this bed and breakfast for one night only. Gaye, the owner, greeted us on arrival and was very welcoming. She told us that she and her family used to own more B&Bs in the area as well as a restaurant but have since sold a few of them as well as the restaurant. They do well with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kay M
Level Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile

Went here for my anniversary. We are from the Fort Benning area and just wanted a quick get away for the night on our anniversary. I was looking for something more memorable than a hotel. This was the place. It has lots of cool art and there is a ton of interesting things to see and a fascinating history. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jerrodborder
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

Quaint B and B w very good breakfast and comfortable room. Owners extremely friendly and accommodating. Located close to highway and only 30 minutes from auburn. We were there for the football game and easy in and out

Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

This place is probably one of the best representations of southern charm!!! A Victorian bed-and-breakfast in a house built in the 1870's that is exquisitely preserved, filled southern charm, character and elegance. The hosts are friendly and very accommodating, they make you feel at home. Perfectly located near Columbus-old downtown, a beautiful lively and laid back city center filled with... More 

Helpful?
Thank lindamonika
Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2016

I am always reluctant to give less than a great review but my husband and I were really disappointed in this B&B. We have traveled the world and often stay in B&B properties so I feel we have some experience and perspective. There were good points: very well located near all the action in Columbus; nice breakfast; well appointed period... More 

Helpful?
Thank jnbGeorgia
rothschildpoundhouse, Owner at Rothschild - Pound House Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so sorry that you were disappointed in any way. We want every guest to leave our inn feeling like they've discovered a gem, in the way of hospitality, service, and accommodations. I really wish you would've let one of our staff know you were having trouble. We are available 24 hours... More 

Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2016

We have had the pleasure of staying at this charming Inn three times. Each time was delightful and this last visit didn't disappoint. We arrived and were greeted by Gaye who made us feel right at home. We were checked into the J W Springer cottage and we quickly decided that this particular accommodation was our new favorite. The lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank George B
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

I often book our lodgings online and rely heavily upon past reviews and comments from previous travelers, however in writing this particular review, I'm not quite sure I can capture the the essence of this wonderful bed and breakfast in my limited vocabulary. From the moment I spoke to Ms. Gay on the phone and heard her warm voice I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kaya F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2015

To start off, this was the most I have ever spent on a "hotel". It was a big hassle trying to get in contact with them, they never answered their phone so I had to email back and forth. When we got there, we checked in late so I wasn't expecting to see anybody there but the 2 nights we... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank mmh611
rothschildpoundhouse, Owner at Rothschild - Pound House Inn, responded to this review

You requested the military rate, because you wanted to "save 200.00". I explained to you, in extravagant detail, the difference in your rate. We absolutely did not change your room at the last minute. You did. Our policies are given in detail, online and in person. But we leave the decision up to the customer. You definitely get what you... More 

Waynesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2015

The house is gorgeous. It's has spots that show its age, but that is part of the charm. I stayed in the Rothschild suite, downstairs. The room was great, and the bed was high and comfortable. The bathroom was pretty much original, and it was large and comfortable. The hosts are really pleasant, and the breakfasts on the porch just... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cmcadams
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbus
0.3 mi away
Columbus Marriott
Columbus Marriott
#13 of 46 in Columbus
440 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus/South-Fort Benning
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Columbus Phenix City/Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phenix City - Columbus Area
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus - Fort Benning
5.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbus / Fort Benning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful historic inn made up of 7 historic houses, Victorian and shotgun cottages. Full New Orleans style breakfast is included in rate, as well as afternoon dessert reception. Our great restaurant, Vintage 222 is located at the inn and serves the best steaks, seafood and pasta in Columbus! We look forward to welcoming you to Columbus! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rothschild - Pound House Inn

Address: 201 Seventh Street, Columbus, GA 31901
Location: United States > Georgia > Columbus
Price Range: $234 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothschild - Pound House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Rothschild - Pound House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothschild - Pound House Hotel Columbus
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Rothschild - Pound House Inn staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
marietta
6 months ago
marietta

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rothschild - Pound House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ground floor room has a king size bed and large bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles KayM506, Sep 13, 2016 | Read review
“Rothschild Suite is noisy and lacks privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles jnbGeorgia, Aug 10, 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms looked great.”
 of 5 bubbles cmcadams, Jul 1, 2015 | Read review
“Each room has it's on charm. You will want to stay in every one of them !!”
 of 5 bubbles fredagerwin, Jun 9, 2015 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms lend privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles johneY6111HI, Jun 6, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay