We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Legacy Lodge

7000 Lanier Islands Pkwy, Buford, GA 30518-1442
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/15/20
View Deal
SAVE $25
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (352)
Room & Suite (67)
Pool & Beach (36)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 07/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Legacy Lodge
Updated 07/23/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#2 of 10 hotels in Buford
Travelers' Choice
Situated along the shores of Lake Sidney Lanier, Lanier Islands boasts 1,500 scenic acres perfect for active families, romantic couples, corporate groups and solo travelers alike. Guests may choose from a variety of onsite activities and amenities that offer the perfect experience year-round, from Margaritaville at Lanier Islands – beach & water park – to diverse dining options, golf, spa, ziplining and boating. Additionally, this lakeside Georgia resort offers over 23,000 square feet of flexible event space and professional services for successful conferences, retreats, weddings, and other events. Luxurious amenities and unparalleled natural beauty come standard with every stay!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Paid internet
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Water park
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Great View
1,287Reviews22Q+A100Room tips


Write a review and earn 100 points
Traveler rating
  • 794
  • 257
  • 113
  • 75
  • 48
Time of year
Traveler type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
July_2020_Visitor wrote a review Aug 1
1 contribution
Lake houses are in extremely poor condition. So old. I expected "rustic" but I did not expect how dumpy they were, especially for the price. My daughter got stung by a bee in the lake house within the first 5 minutes of being there and we stopped counting how many bugs we killed in there. The furniture has to be 25+ years old, floor slanting really bad, dishwasher was a joke, cobwebs everywhere, kitchen again a joke, we actually ordered more bed sheets to put on the couches b/c we didn't want to actually sit on them. The front desk said they replace them every 2 years - definitely not true. Overall the lake house and resort has gone downhill since we stayed there 5 years ago - would NOT recommend staying there!!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
Response from Brendan Mcnulty, Revenue Management at Legacy Lodge
Responded 4 days ago
We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience in our Lakehouses, and we do thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We would love to discuss this with you; feel free to reach out to me personally at your convenience.
Read more
Tim K wrote a review Jul 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
This was our second hotel stay in as many weeks, our first was in NC so to see the difference in how two brands in different states handled the c-19 was mind blowing.When we checked in at Legacy lodge We received brochures about how the facility and our room had been sanitized, plus the room door had a paper seal from the jam onto the door looked good but when we opened the door you could clearly see a stain on the floor in front of the dresser. Upon further inspection there were several other stains on the floor. We know this is a trying time for everyone especially if you're running a hotel, but the stains and then we opened our exterior patio door (ground floor) we found a plastic bag used for dog excrement. We spoke to the asst mgr and he passed us off to the house keeping manger and she had someone come and clean the floors. When we returned we could hardly stand the fumes from the cleaner they used. No one ever followed up.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Response from Brendan Mcnulty, Revenue Management at Legacy Lodge
Responded 1 week ago
We welcome all the feedback we receive, and we do thank you for letting us know! I have passed this along to our Housekeeping management team for review. We would love to discuss this with you further - please feel free to reach out to me personally at your convenience if you have not heard from our Housekeeping team soon!
Read more
jawadbis wrote a review Jun 2020
Atlanta, Georgia15 contributions6 helpful votes
First stay at Legacy Lodge. Everything was perfect. Resort is clean and they follow all social distancing and safety guidelines. Room was sanitized before check-in. Food was great and salt water pool was really nice. They had bonfire at night and a trail around the property by the lake. Plenty of activities nearby including Margaritaville. We went to the beach but couldn't rent a boat as they were all reserved in advance. Would recommend booking before your stay for boat and jet ski rental. Definitely a place worth spending the week-end with family and friends.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2020
1 Helpful vote
Response from Brendan_McNulty, Manager at Legacy Lodge
Responded Jul 2, 2020
Thank you for this fantastic review! We're working hard to ensure every guest of the resort - and all of our staff - have the safest experience possible. It's great that you enjoyed your time here so much, and got the chance to visit Margaritaville, as well as our food and beverage outlets. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Maria G wrote a review Jun 2020
Dunwoody, Georgia1,103 contributions220 helpful votes
My daughter and I went here last weekend on a whim. We were sick and tired of being home from the pandemic. We made our reservations that morning and checked into a lovely double room that afternoon. We had a fantastic swim and laid by the pool. The outdoor bar is open and food is served by the pool. My ribs were exceptional. Social distancing is practiced. The staff wears masks. Lounge chairs and beds or sanitized between uses. I had the best sleep in months and they’re wonderful room.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Response from Brendan_McNulty, Manager at Legacy Lodge
Responded Jun 29, 2020
Thank you for this fantastic review! We're glad you had such a great stay at Lanier Islands. We're doing all we can to ensure the safest experience for all of our guests and staff. We hope to see you again soon!
Read more
Karen W wrote a review Jun 2020
Sugar Hill, Georgia20 contributions14 helpful votes
We stayed at a Lake House during the 2020 pandemic, the last weekend in May. The policies for cleaning and social distancing that they had in place were great. We brought our 15 month old twins and our friends brought their one year old, so it was 4 adults, 3 kids, and our dogs. The lake house was very nice. The beds were super comfortable and the hotel provided 3 pack-n-plays for the children. We planned to cook all of our meals while we were there. What I didn't realize prior to getting there is that the house doesn't have an oven. They had a stove top, but not an oven. Luckily we only live 20 minutes from here and my husband was able to run and grab our counter top oven from our house. So if you plan on cooking anything that requires an oven you need to bring your own and an extension cord. You will also need to bring all of your own spices including salt and pepper. They do have all the basics as far as dishes and pots and pans. The refrigerator is on the small side so bring a cooler to store your drinks. Also, even though the house did overlook the lake, the area is so wooded that you can barely see the water. So don't expect a lake view from the house. I wish they would clear the trees, but maybe they aren't allowed to. We checked in Friday and checked out Sunday. I wish we could have stayed longer! I would definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Response from Brendan_McNulty, Manager at Legacy Lodge
Responded Jun 17, 2020
Thank you for this review! You are actually correct about the trees – we are not allowed to cut them down. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay in our Lakehouses, and we hope to see you again soon!
Read more
$218 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
legacy lodge and conference center, legacy hotel buford, legacy resort buford, emerald point lake lanier
United StatesGeorgiaBuford
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Legacy Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Legacy Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Buford Dam Park (3.5 miles), Margaritaville at Lanier Islands (1.0 miles), and Little Ridge Park (4.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Legacy Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Legacy Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Legacy Lodge?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Legacy Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ricos World Kitchen, Fish Tales Lakeside Grille, and Aqua Terra Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Legacy Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Legacy Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Legacy Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Legacy Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Legacy Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
Is Legacy Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.