Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store

Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store

12829 Gainesville Hwy U.S. Hwy. 19 & 129, Neel's Gap, Blairsville, GA 30512-7635
Traveler (55)
Room & Suite (12)
My hot breakfast sandwich
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#5 of 10 campgrounds in Blairsville
Location
4.5
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.5
Value
4.4
Our cabins are at a 3,000 foot elevation and the temperature never gets over 81 in the summer. We are next to the Appalachian Trail and surrounded by waterfalls and beautiful drives. Some cabins are on secluded roads and one is on the river. Some have jacuzzi tubs for 2 people. The owners are available to help you find the activities you want such as: fishing, tubing, hiking,& swimming.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Mountain View

Location

12829 Gainesville Hwy U.S. Hwy. 19 & 129, Neel's Gap, Blairsville, GA 30512-7635
86Reviews2Q+A17Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 44
  • 26
  • 5
  • 8
  • 3
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jonathan D wrote a review Aug 2022
Montgomery, United States
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed a few times at the Blood Mountain Cabins. We prefer the "unplugged" getaways. We are avid hikers and these cabins are great. They provide the basics for those that are outdoorsy type. They had comfortable beds after a long hike or waterfall visits. Showers were hot. Kitchens were fine with full size refrigerator. We stayed in the Deer cabin and the Bobcat. Fantastic view! great to be up in the morning with coffee on the desk looking out at the mountains and the valley below. The late check in was great and the staff at the sore were super friendly. Great access to the mountain crossing store and the Appalachian Trail. We hiked Blood mountain twice and Testante Gap once. Love the cabins. TVs worked for 2 of our visits but not on the one of them. We were told the disk was out and were offered another cabin but we didn't come to the mountain to watch TV!! I mean, come on! Go into Blairsville if you are looking for those kind of thrills. Added tip: IF you want to meet interesting folks from around the country and world, hang out in the store. You are bound to come across a haler or two. Being if it is in season. During the winter time you may even come across a bear or two.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Deer and Bobcat offer best views from deck. Negative side of Bobcat - multiple stairs to get in.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charmain B wrote a review Jul 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed at Blood Mountain Cabins (otter cabin) over the July 4th weekend. Yes the cabin was rustic. It was so charming, and the scenery was beautiful. It was clean and cozy. My only regret is I couldn’t stay longer. We came to unplug from the world so it was a definite plus that our phones didn’t work in the cabin! Visited brasstown bald and walked a little on the AT.
Would love to return in the fall to see the leaves change color.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Travel34243 wrote a review Mar 2003
Jacksonville, Florida
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed at Blood Mountain Cabins and loved it. We went back a couple of years later with our kids and they loved it too. All the cabins are neat and clean. They all have spectacular views. The people who run the place are the nicest. There are tons of things to do...hiking, fishing, waterfalls, horseback riding with the most incredible views. There are fireplaces and lofts in the cabins, full kitchens and TV's with VCR that was great for the kids. Grills and rocking chairs on the porches with excellent views. If you can catch the leaves changing, it is beautiful.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brandi wrote a review Dec 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
When we arrived the thermostat was set to 50 degrees. We managed to get it up to 56 by midnight but it dropped again while we were sleeping. We would have started a fire but could not find anything to light it with...not a match in sight. The same thing happened the next night but we were able to get something for a fire that day so it wasn't as bad in the evening, but we woke up to an ice cold cabin again in the middle of the night once the fire went out. The heater obviously isn't working properly. Check out instructions say to set the thermostat to 50 when you leave--might as well turn it off.

The furniture is old and uncomfortable. The towels were so old they were almost unusable, but there was plenty of hot water for showers, thank goodness. We didn't hear traffic or didn't mind the sound. The stairs up to the loft are not for the faint of heart. I slipped once coming down.

I appreciated that the sheets smelled fresh.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ttamasi1 wrote a review May 2024
Dawsonville
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If 0 stars were available that's what this place would get. Absolutely no communication with customers. Reservations were made in March 2024 for Wolf and Deer cabins for the end of June. The middle of May I received an email saying the property had been sold. Not once had I been told the property was up for sale until then. Now I receive an email from the previous owner stating "Oops, we sold and your reservation for Wolf and Deer is no longer available." They offered the "left over" cabins that are currently available, but those don't compare to the sites we had reserved. Also note, no where in their policies does it mention the possible sale or the possibility that the cabins reserved would be unavailable. I suggest staying away from bait and switch Great Escape Property Rentals, Inc. since it's pretty obvious their only concern is their bottom line and not their customer. A little communication goes a long way.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Stay some place else. Some place that actually appreciates your business.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cindy M wrote a review Mar 2021
Kimball, Tennessee, United States
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were very disappointed in our stay. The best part was the fireplace. First things broken TV remote, recliner (it was 30 +yrs. Old), coffee pot, futon sofa. Second, when you let the water out of the kitchen sink it came up in the toilet. Third it was not clean, there were crumbs on the sheet, floors dirty, refrigerator freezer dirty.... I would not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt Williams, Owner at Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store
Responded Mar 25, 2021
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our cabins. We try very hard to keep people away who are looking for a 5 star resort--we never claim to offer up-to-date amenities nor do we ever try to oversell what we offer. We ARE rustic cabins--Some people like to go back to the basics where life was a lot simpler. We have many, many repeat guests and 95% of our guests have a very positive experience. It is unfortunate that you didn't check out when you discovered our cabins were not what you were looking for, since we had a waiting list of people trying to get a cabin. We cater to the hiker community and the outdoor enthusiasts, so it is also unfortunate you enjoyed the fireplace in 70 degree weather over the spectacular view from your deck overlooking the North GA mountains. And incidentally if you did prefer to stay indoors, you should have tried the old fashioned way and turned the power button on the TV--because then you would have known the Directv remote works just fine. If you had told us your coffee pot was broken we would have happily given you a new one. And as far as the plumbing issues, I had already scheduled a plumber to fly in from CA this Saturday to spend a week replumbing all the cabins. I appreciate the letter you left us signed "TripAdvisor"--I am not sure if they know you are implying to businesses that you work for them, but it does seem to be quite a purposeless use of ones time. Hopefully on your next trip to someone's business you will enjoy the positive side of your experience instead of looking for everything you can report online without even discussing with the owners or managers of the business--but I guess it's much easier not doing it face-to-face.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wolandy wrote a review Oct 2023
Tampa, Florida
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Scenic: yes. Quiet: somewhat-the road is right beside the cabins. I did hear owls almost every night. Cleanliness? We had mice to the point I had to go into town and buy some mouse traps. They worked. I actually caught 2 in the Fox Cabin we stayed in and another one showed himself the morning we were leaving. I little unnerving as to the cleanliness. The response from management was "they try to find a warmer spot when it starts to get cold." No offer of a new cabin without mice or "we will come down and check it out."
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DayTrip31372 wrote a review May 2004
Atlanta, GA
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The cabins weren't bad. They were rustic and furnished with the bare necessities. There are three very, very important things you need to know if you stay there. #1 - The main highway is only about 150 feet below your cabin. You WILL hear constant traffic especially trucks and motorcycles. So if you're looking for a peaceful serene setting, forget it. But if you keep the windows shut and the air on, you don't hear it too much but that defeats the purpose for me. #2 - The cabin is old. There are areas in the floor that sink and we even felt a hole in the flooring through the laminate. There are also support joists that have come loose. I was worried the first day but eventually gained confidence in the stability of the cabin. #3 - If you are a cook (as I am) and will be providing the meals, bring your own skillets, knives and other necessities. The cabin has no large knives, the non-stick coating on the pans is gone and there are no grill tools. By the way, the grill is acceptable; rusty, but acceptable with a good scrubbing.

The view is marvelous. A large deck provides a breathtaking view of the mountains. The cabin is also very close to many major attractions.

All in all, it's not a bad deal for the price (I wasn't expecting the Taj Mahal). Oh yeah, if you rely on the TV for your entertainment...forget it. We had an 11-year-old with us and it was hard to see his DVD movies on the teensy-tiny screen.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
loudhoward wrote a review May 2003
Atlanta, Georgia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful Scenery. Very nice proprietor. Cabins are charming and very reasonably priced!
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
897Dave wrote a review May 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed in the Blood Mountain Bobcat cabin over the Memorial 3 day weekend. The cabin itself is OK except for the closet area where the floor contains the HVAC return vent/filter; which had so much dust it looked like sludge and the vacuum cleaner stored there was filthy. The TV is an old tiny set - we were informed of that in advance. The kitchen and bath seemed clean. The upstairs bedroom with the window is a very good place.

Recall I said this was a weekend – the almost constant screaming engine noise from the multiple groups of motorcycles on the road was almost intolerable to me. I ask the proprietor (a friendly, pleasant, knowledgeable, helpful fellow) if there was a motorcycle meet that weekend - he said no – that it was like that most any pretty weather weekend. Sitting out on the cabin deck, with the beautiful scenery, with the noise was a real turn off.

I did some limited research and it appears Georgia is one of the states with no motorcycle noise restrictions. We walked by all of the cabins and I would say there are no cabins that the motorcycle noise would be satisfactorily low. Fortunately we went to Dahlonega one day and Blairsville one day. It is very unfortunate that such a beautiful country setting has been violated by these obnoxiously noisy machines – of which probably many have been altered to increase their power - thus noise. The cabins are in a loop in the road - so the noise comes twice.
PS: And to think, I have occasionally considered purchasing a motorcycle – never again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from bloodmtn, Owner at Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store
Responded May 30, 2014
Blood Mt. Cabins are located on a winding mountain road that goes up to a 3,000 foot elevation. The road is a favorite ride for both motorcycles and bicycles. On holiday weekends there will be riders during the day, but little noise in the evening on weekends. During the week we rarely have motorcycle noise day or night. We also have 9 private homes that we rent that are in secluded locations with no road noise anytime. Some are on dirt roads far from pavement. Most of our customers are repeaters that spend their time hiking or going to waterfalls, so they are not bothered by motorcycle noise during the day. If a customer wishes to spend time sitting during the day they would be better off staying in one of our stream cabins or staying in a private home or coming during the week when it is much quieter.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from LoneDingo
Alaska52 contributions17 helpful votes
Roughly 300 yards.
Answer from bloodmtn
Blairsville, Georgia1 contribution
we have 6 cabins by the creek-Beaver, Rabbit, Raccoon, Squirrel, Otter and wild Boar. Call to see what is available when you want to come. Our phone is 706-745-9454 or email a reservation request
ttamasi1 wrote a tip May 2024
Dawsonville13 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay some place else. Some place that actually appreciates your business. "
Read full review
Jonathan D wrote a tip Aug 2022
Montgomery, United States14 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Deer and Bobcat offer best views from deck. Negative side of Bobcat - multiple stairs to get in."
Read full review
Tw41733 wrote a tip Mar 2019
Neuse, North Carolina12 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Squirrel cabin has two taxidermy squirrels mounted on the fireplace. If you don't like that you may want another cabin."
Read full review
fumblefoot wrote a tip Jul 2018
Newnan, Georgia40 contributions33 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pet friendly cabin (BEAR) is just off the highway and is noisy. Try ones further from the road."
Read full review
UnstoppableTraveler wrote a tip Apr 2018
Berlin, Germany41 contributions39 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring groceries and sip coffee on the deck in the morning !"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Blairsville area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
blood mountain cabins & country store hotel blairsville, blood mountain cabins and country store
LOCATION
United StatesGeorgiaBlairsville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store
Which popular attractions are close to Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store?
Nearby attractions include Vogel State Park (2.3 miles), Helton Creek Falls (2.0 miles), and Sunrise Grocery (4.2 miles).
Is parking available at Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store?
Conveniently located restaurants include Riverside Tavern, Papas Pizza to Go, and JR’s Roadkill Bbq & Ribs.
Are there any historical sites close to Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Byron Herbert Reece Farm and Heritage Center (3.4 miles).
Does Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Blairsville HotelsBlairsville Hotel DealsHotels near Blood Mountain Cabins & Country Store
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars