We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 327: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel room was decent for the price I paid, but I had no phone in my room, some of the outlets didn't work and I got kicked out of the pool area because I had two guest over who were not staying there. I was told there aloud to be in the room but only guest staying at the hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kayla D
Corbin, Kentucky
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

About 5 minutes from Legoland. Clean, comfortable rooms. Basic amenities, no frills. Thought we had reserved a suite type room with living room area from booking.com which was misleading because this Howard Johnson does not have any such rooms. Pet friendly. Very nice, clean pool area. Pool is 8 ft which is really nice!! Great choice if you are Legoland... More 

Helpful?
Thank ccu_angel
Linda J, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on our property. I apologize for the misleading information posted on third party websites. Our rooms are a standard bedroom with 1 or 2 beds, mini-fridge, coffee maker, flat screen TV, and free WIFI. We do have rooms for guests traveling with pets available but these rooms are to be requested if available as all... More 

Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The staff was very friendly and the property was obviously very nice at one time. Now it's a little worn around the edges but still ok. Winter Haven is a bit worn around the edges, itself. It was very easy to get to Legoland from the hotel. Breakfast food included yogurt, bananas, make-your-own waffles, bread, doughnuts, oatmeal, english muffins, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank janebC1903KG
Linda J, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review

Our property is an older property and undergoing renovations. We are conveniently located within walking distance or a short drive to any shops or restaurants and Legoland. The property has a restaurant connected off the lobby and we have a complimentary continental breakfast, free WIFI, and a refreshing outdoor pool. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to... More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

Had a very nice stay here. Room was clean and smelled clean. Continental breakfast was great too. Make your own waffles were yummy. They had bagels, toast, English muffins, yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee, tea and milk.

Helpful?
Thank muhmuh1005
Linda J, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review

I'm glad your stay was comfortable and accommodating. We are undergoing renovations throughout the property and we are happy to hear we are going in the right direction. We hope to be able to accommodate you again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

By the pictures you can tell its not best place to stay. Microwave didn't work, told staff and language barrier makes it seem like they don't care. I don't recommend this establishment to anyone. I love wyndom hotels but this one was garbage

Helpful?
1 Thank Titus s
Linda J, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had issues during your stay. We are going through renovations throughout the property. You should have immediately notified the front desk of any issues you were experiencing so we can rectify the situation. There is a microwave in the lobby/breakfast area for all guests to use. If you would like to discuss this further, please call me... More 

arcadia, United States
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2016

My family and I checked in on June 11th and right away we noticed how dirty and how bad the place smelled. Against my better judgement, we ate at the wings and weenies next door and my stepson and I got very sick. We stayed at the motel maybe three hours and we couldn't take it anymore and checked out.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kenyon S
Linda J, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear this next visit wasn't a pleasant one for you. Being that you are a repeat guest, if you felt you were not satisfied at check in, you should immediately inform someone at the front desk so we may rectify the situation immediately. The restaurant next door, HOUSE OF WINGS, is not affiliated with Howard Johnson.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Haven
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
#3 of 17 in Winter Haven
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
2.7 mi away
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
LEGOLAND Florida Hotel
#1 of 17 in Winter Haven
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shergill Grand Hotel Conference Center Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
Hampton Inn Winter Haven
#2 of 17 in Winter Haven
4.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
1.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Winter Haven
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lake Wales N - Winter Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Howard Johnson Winter Haven is an older property that has been renovated. We offer smoking or non-smoking standard rooms with a 1 King/Queen bed or 2 Queen beds with a mini-fridge, coffe maker, flat screen TV, and free WIFI. The property also has an outdoor pool, complimentary continental breakfast, and a family restaurant located off the lobby area. Howard Johnson is only 3.5 miles away from Legoland, and only a short walk or drive to many shops and restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL

Address: 1300 3rd Street SW, Winter Haven, FL 33880
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Haven
Price Range: $70 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Winter Haven Hotel Winter Haven
Howard Johnson Winter Haven
Winter Haven Howard Johnson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay