We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Andersen's Lodge, Bar & Grill

Save
Share
10 Boston St, Welaka, FL 32193-2239
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (24)
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (10)

About

Location
4.9
Cleanliness
4.7
Service
4.4
Value
4.2
We are a small Inn with 12 motel rooms. We are located in the town of Welaka, Florida on the beautiful St. John's River. All rooms are equipped with memory foam mattresses, flat-screen televisions, refrigerators, coffee makers, great towels, 600 thread count sheets, and high-speed internet. Andersen's Lodge Bar & Grill is open! The bar deck was built 20' over the river with awesome sunsets and wildlife viewing. If you are looking for a rustic vibe, parking for boaters, and something truly nostalgic, visit us for dinner, drinks, live entertainment and then stay for a night or two.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Boating
Evening entertainment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Fishing
Karaoke
Patio
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Afrikaans
55Reviews2Q+A15Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 33
  • 10
  • 2
  • 2
  • 8
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
tiptoe00 wrote a review May 2022
Gainesville, Florida7 contributions3 helpful votes
We have been coming to Andersons Lodge since 2017. We like to take our boat down to the springs in season and after a long day on the water, lay our heads down and sleep, get up and repeat. The beds have never been comfortable but we manage (I seriously don’t think they have replaced mattress since they originally opened lol) Cleanliness, I think effort is put forth but there is only so much you can do when the place is as old as it is. We always bring cleaning supplies just to freshen it up. We have learned over the years what to expect. They have made improvements since we started coming here but the downside of the restaurant/bar opening back up, things are different and we will no longer return. Our plan was to stay 3 nights over this holiday weekend but we are cutting it short due to lack of sleep. Trucks spinning tires through the night, guests screaming, yelling, singing, banging on doors, partying until 3-4am. One night we heard the guests next to us yelling over and over again “Bailey, take his keys, he’s to drunk to drive” (he drove off). Is this a result of the bar now being here? We have slept an average of 2 hours for 2 nights now. Can’t sleep in the uncomfortable beds either even if we didn’t have obnoxious drunk, loud idiots around us that have zero respect for other guests. So we have decided that we have no choice but to leave early and get ourselves and kids out of this environment. My suggestion to management or the owners, have an employee onsite especially at night to address these issues. Not one time that we have been here have we seen or met someone working at the lodge. A key is always left for us. You are losing your loyal seasonal guests.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Diane R wrote a review Apr 2022
Lady Lake, Florida2 contributions
I wouldn't ever want to stay at this place again. I totally wasted money on this place and would have been better to sleep in vehicle. Bugs, hair from others on pillow from a previous stay. Got no sleep at all, and was sick to my stomach with all the disgusting things. Bathroom was nasty and smaller than a closet. Bugs everywhere, stains on blankets, just so nasty. Tried to get refund but they won't acknowledge the situation. Motorcycles revving there engines at all hours. I got no sleep what so ever. Yuck Does not disserve any ratings other than nightmare
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Room Tip: There are no good rooms. Looks like built in pre-historic ages
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
usbrowns wrote a review Mar 2022
Middleburg, Florida193 contributions126 helpful votes
We enjoyed a lunch with drinks on a beautiful Saturday afternoon. The drink prices were great, I believe I paid $2.50 for Bud Light draft. I highly recommend this place as somewhere one can chill and enjoy watching the river flow by...
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Room Tip: I only ate at the restaurant.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jo B wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Worst experience I have ever had. No water pressure. Never seen a bed in worst shape for a person to sleep on. NO smoke detector. Floors dirty. Start away. No place for a decent person to stay!! BEWARE!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gwynn Joseph, Owner at Andersen's Lodge, Bar & Grill
Responded Jan 3, 2022
We are very sorry that you had a bad experience at Andersen's Lodge. We wish you had contacted us immediately with the problems that you experienced as we would have moved you to another room immediately. We do have smoke detectors in every room and someone must have stolen this one. You are the first person to bring this to our attention. We have already replaced it. Our rooms are cleaned after every stay and the floors are mopped, so I am not sure what you are referring to when you say the floors were dirty. We are a small business trying our best in these hard times. I think your review was a bit unfair as you never gave us a chance to remedy any of the problems you said you experienced. Instead you left and decided to give us a scathing review.
Read more
Carolyn B wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Wow what a great place with the worst food and staff on the St Johns River. First impressions should say alot and TIA at the bar has got to be the rudest, dryest, and dull barmaid we have encountered in 50 years. You can smell the negativity upon entering and her comments are uncalled for. Drinks are made through a wired up pour system and looks like the great wizard concocting the drinks, let alone weakest drinks around. We asked about food menu and immediately were told "food has been hit and miss" the owner is attempting to cook all the food because no one will work for him. WOW well we asked what was good and she reluctantly replied "I guess he can handle a burger ok" so burgers we ordered didnt expect 45 minutes for 2 burgers that finally arrived so flat and greasy they were disgusting and tasted like fake meat-to boot EVERYTHING was stone cold. Barmaid kept staring as we attempted to eat and snickered when we pushed them away and asked for the check. Service was terrible, food was inedible, and atmosphere dreary with no music of friendliness so I sum it up as a riverfront dive bar on this visit and LAST visit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gwynn Joseph, Owner at Andersen's Lodge, Bar & Grill
Responded Dec 8, 2021
Thanks for your review. We are sorry you had a bad experience. Tia is no longer with us for the above reasons. We have a new chef who has been getting great reviews. Our alcohol system is called a pour system which pours out the exact amount for each drink. There is no room for error. We know of many Bars who use this system, so I am not sure why you were so surprised to see it, there is no wizardry involved at all! We have new Barmaids, a new chef and we have been getting great reviews all around except yours. Perhaps you should come and see us again.
Read more
bob w wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
We stayed here for 2 nights and could not have asked for a better time. A very laid back and relaxed place. Incredible bar over the water to catch the sunsets and the staff were helpful and friendly! Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gwynn Joseph, Owner at Andersen's Lodge, Bar & Grill
Responded Dec 3, 2021
Thanks for your review. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
danalogy2 wrote a review Aug 2021
Clearwater, Florida25 contributions15 helpful votes
We came to Welaka for the first time to see a band playing at the Log Cabin. We booked a room at Andersen’s thinking it was just a hotel but it was so much more! We loved it so much we wound up staying an extra night! David, the manager, was especially accommodating and actually gave us rides to a couple of places we needed to go. And the bar was fantastic with Brittany and Tia creating a super warm and friendly atmosphere. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gwynn Joseph, Owner at Andersen's Lodge, Bar & Grill
Responded Dec 3, 2021
We are really glad you discovered us. Our manager David is great and very helpful to all guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
touringgrl wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
I loved our stay at Andersen's! Getaway over 4th of July weekend with my mother. The atmosphere truly is warm and inviting! The rooms were cozy, beds comfy, everything clean and inviting. Truly "old Florida" feel. We enjoyed the live music on the weekend nights, the gorgeous views off the beautiful bar deck, and were so happy that we discovered this wonderful little jewel of a place! We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gwynn Joseph, Owner at Andersen's Lodge, Bar & Grill
Responded Jul 28, 2021
Thanks for your wonderful review. We are so glad you had such a good time. Hopefully next time you come back our restaurant will be open. We look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Carolyn W wrote a review Jul 2021
Orange Park, Florida1 contribution
I stayed here and the sheets were stained (looked like blood) and there were large cigarette burns in them. I contacted the owner for a refund and she refused. I do not smoke and this was the nastiest place I’ve ever stayed in my life. When we arrived late no one was in office and we left the next day early and came home late so when we were there no one was in office. Owners says I am lying and that is not true. Her housekeepers know those stains and burns were there when we arrived. Terrible!! Gross and terrible!!!! On top of that toilet wouldn’t flush even with a little toilet paper in it!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Gwynn Joseph, Owner at Andersen's Lodge, Bar & Grill
Responded Jul 10, 2021
Carolyn stayed two nights at our lodge. Not once did she call and complain about anything. For two nights she slept on the "gross sheets!" I have no idea why she would not have called immediately so we could have rectified any problem she was having. She waited until she left and then she asked for a refund. In our confirmation email after booking the room it clearly states that our Manager does not live on site. It gives his cell number, and he has his phone on him all the time and always answers ALL calls. So where ever Carolyn was, she could have called our Manager and he would have immediately gone to the room to change the sheets and check the toilet. We are a Motel, not a Hotel, so we do not have a lobby that is open for customers. I refused a refund on the basis that she never called us one time to complain while she was there and after she left she threatened us that she was going to write bad reviews of our place unless she got a refund. I believe that is called blackmail and is against the law.
Read more
Luis D wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Talk about potential and then see the disaster waiting to happen. Damn sad. Apparently the owners have put a ton of money into renovations and upgrades but the staff present on our visit will soon destroy a great piece of history. Bartenders should be ashamed of the trash talking going on in front of customers and their lack of hospitality. They are only here for the tips and in our case giving away free drink because they are too busy chatting to collect money or outside smoking while people cant order. Damn shame place is a goldmne
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Gwynneth Joseph, Owner at Andersen's Lodge, Bar & Grill
Responded Jun 20, 2021
We have put a lot of time and money into our renovations and are trying to make it a great experience for all that come and visit us. Thank you for your review we take all comments very seriously. We would love to know what date you were at our bar, that way we can then address the problems that you have mentioned above. I am not sure how the Bartenders could be giving away free drinks as we have a POS system that records all drinks poured. Please let us know the dates you were at our Bar, thanks.
Read more
Previous
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Welaka Inn
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaWelaka
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Andersen's Lodge, Bar & Grill
Which popular attractions are close to Andersen's Lodge, Bar & Grill?
Nearby attractions include Welaka State Forest (0.7 miles), Welaka Maritime Museum (0.5 miles), and Salt Springs Observation Trail (4.0 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Andersen's Lodge, Bar & Grill?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Andersen's Lodge, Bar & Grill?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Andersen's Lodge, Bar & Grill?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Andersen's Lodge, Bar & Grill?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Andersen's Lodge, Bar & Grill?
Conveniently located restaurants include Shrimp-R-Us & More, River Pub Italian Grille, and Renegades on the River.
Is Andersen's Lodge, Bar & Grill located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Welaka.
Are pets allowed at Andersen's Lodge, Bar & Grill?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Andersen's Lodge, Bar & Grill?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Afrikaans.
Is Andersen's Lodge, Bar & Grill accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.