Bilmar Beach Resort

Bilmar Beach Resort

Garbage still not emptied from the night before.
Traveler (1547)
Room & Suite (416)
Beach Bar at the Bilmar Beach Resort
Dining (43)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 3 resorts in Treasure Island
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.5
Service
4.5
Value
4.3
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Bilmar Beach Resort offers a traditional Florida beach get away with an aray of modern amenities. We have a central location on Treasure Island and are close to all the Tampa Bay area attractions. With over 15 million in recent upgrades including our signature restaurant Sloppy Joe's on the Beach we provide the service you desire with the relaxed atmoshpere you deserve. We look forward to your visit!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Bicycles available
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family Resort
Languages Spoken
English

Location

10650 Gulf Boulevard, Treasure Island, FL 33706-4819
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles3,043 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Bilmar Beach Resort boasts a prime location with easy beach access, which many guests love, alongside a vibrant atmosphere, often pulsating with live music. While the resort's cleanliness and friendly service receive commendations from guests, opinions on value are mixed. Some travelers criticize the room quality and additional fees, though others enjoy the comfortable accommodations. Amenities like beach gear and kitchenettes are popular, despite calls for facility updates. However, noise levels and the lively environment may not suit those seeking tranquility.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveler reviews and learn more about how the site works.
3,043Reviews103Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,834
  • 802
  • 237
  • 93
  • 77
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Michael wrote a review Feb 2020
Atlanta, Georgia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a perfect stay for us. We had come here as a happy medium and not expecting the surrounding area to be somewhere we would be staying much. We mainly booked this place because of the beachfront views that had a balcony.

At a first look from the photos on this site, it looked like the gulf was extremely far away. But once you walk into the room, it definitely doesn't seem that way. Especially when you stepped outside. You can definitely notice the noise coming from the restaurant below (Sloppy Joe's) but if you kept your balcony door closed, it helped muffle most of the sound out. I think music was cut off around 10p every night so we didn't have much issue going to bed. We also sleep with the tv on anyways so we barely noticed it.

The room was pretty spacious even with the two queen bed setup. Ample closet space for our stay- we had brought two bags for a 4 night trip. The room had a kitchenette equipped with a sink, microwave, stovetop and refrigerator so we could bring our leftovers home and eat it later if we wanted to. They even provided dinnerware, cookware and utensils with dish soap, a wash rag and towels to dry so we could have just stayed in for each meal if we were really determined. It was nice to know that we had the option if we wanted to but we were on vacation so we spent most of our time eating out.

Anytime you see a resort fee its always a bummer to think that you probably won't be using the amenities it covers but we were happy to at least use them for our beach chairs each day. My wife and I considered renting a beach bike a few times but we elected to spend most of our time laying out at the beach with the nice weather. The last day we were going to rent a paddleboard as well (also covered in the resort fee) but we thought the water was too rough for us to try out that afternoon. Would definitely be worth it for a resort fee with those rentals included in the cost.

Proximity was great. We walked to a coffee shop every morning we were there and drank our coffees walking up and down the paved beach path that is adjacent to all of the beachfront properties in Treasure Island. If we wanted a snack, we would just get a quick bite from any of the restaurants nearby. But we spent more of our time driving out to another part of town to get a nicer dinner. We grew tired of the beach bar food scene pretty quickly. Getting to those nicer restaurants took maybe 20-30 minutes to drive to mainly because of the speed limit in the barrier islands.

Staff was great when we interacted with them. I don't think we recalled seeing a grin once while we were there. I'd definitely consider staying here again if we look to stay in the Treasure Island area again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Try to get a top floor unit. We could hear our neighbors above move furniture and close doors...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort
Responded Feb 25, 2020
Micha, our team is so glad you discovered the Bilmar and surrounding area. Your review touched on so many of the features and amenities offered. Additional items included in the daily amenity fee are the lobby treats of morning coffee, fruit water, candy station and 3pm cookie feast along with beach side fire pits, beach/pool towels, $5 restaurant credit and for our families the children under 12 eat free breakfast with their parents. With free parking and internet we strive to provide a great value with hospitable service. I also recommend you try some of the more upscale restaurants available within a 2 block walk. One is excellent seafood and chops and the other is Mediterranean with a great early bird special. They have also been owned and managed by the family for over 2 decades. Thank you for your generous review and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Clyde Smith - General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Justintown wrote a review Aug 2021
Cartersville, Georgia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Bilmar Beach Resort for 7 wonderful days!! Location is excellent, right on the beach while plenty of places to eat within walking distance. The hotel staff are friendly and customer oriented. We stayed in the Palm's tower overlooking the beach and the second heated pool. Room is perfect for two to three people, any more and you would be cramped. The onsite restaurant of Sloppy Joe's has great breakfast items, I recommend the French toast or pancakes both well made.
Things to note... Although you are on the beach it is a very wide/long beach meaning the walk from the Bilmar to the ocean is at least 5 minutes just because the hotels on Treasure Island sit back a bit from the water. So if you are going to carry items a beach wagon would be a great investment. The Bilmar does offer beach chairs included in your rate which are cleaned daily by the staff. Also, beach towels are at a premium so ask for them early before they are all taken.
Overall when going back to Treasure Island I will be planning to stay at the Bilmar Beach Resort again!! Location = Excellent Service = Excellent Check-in & Check-out = Easy
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clyde Smith, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort
Responded Aug 4, 2021
Thank you for choosing the Bilmar for your weeklong beach getaway. Our team is so glad you had a great time and that you enjoyed the location and amenities. We did finally get our back ordered pool towels so relax and we'll have them waiting for you. We appreciate your many kind words and look forward to your next visit. Clyde Smith - General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveler reviews.
Marilyn2849 wrote a review Aug 2021
Putnam Valley, New York
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at the resort and were able to find a parking spot convenient to our accommodations. There is a steep ramp to access the elevator to our room. Trying to push a loaded luggage cart up that ramp is a challenge! Parking is a problem - there are not enough parking spots to accommodate all visitors. There is valet service for the 2 popular restaurants on site. If you arrive back at at the resort at a meal time, you may have to cross the very busy Gulf Blvd to find a parking space, then walk back, crossing the busy Gulf Blvd again! We saw the across the street parking lot was just as full as the hotel parking lot when we went out early in the morning.
The room is tight for 2 people, I cannot imagine 4 people in such a small space! The room had 2 queen beds, a table with 2 chairs and a kitchenette with dishes for 4. The bathroom was bigger than the kitchenette, but the light in the bathroom was very dim. Shampoo and conditioner with shower gel are in bottles at the tub.
The location is the redeeming feature: right on the beach and across the street from a shopping district with restaurants, drug store, grocery store and other shops. Our room had a tiny balcony overlooking the beach with 2 chairs and the Sloppy Joes restaurant outdoor seating.
We chose this resort because it was available for exchange using our timeshare. We like to go fishing off St Pete's Beach Merry Pier and Madeira Beach John's Pass. This location was a great location convenient for both.
There are many restaurants with live entertainment at dinner time. We heard the music from Sloppy Joes on the beach as well as Ricky T's across the street. Both stopped playing at 9pm.
Because of the heat we were unable to enjoy watching the sunsets from our room. The balcony door did not close all the way and the air conditioner unit kept the room comfortable but the sliding glass door got hot in the afternoon sunshine. 100 degree temperatures in the afternoon made the balcony unusable.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Request a room with a full size refrigerator.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clyde Smith, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort
Responded Sep 2, 2021
Marilyn, Thank you for choosing the Bilmar for your recent Tampa Bay beach getaway. I am glad you enjoyed our central location with easy access to dining and shopping as well at St. Pete Beach & John's Pass as well as downtown St. Petersburg just up Central Avenue. Our Beachfront Studio with balcony is our most popular room but the Premium Studios do offer 100 more square feet of space, lager kitchen and separate vanity area from the tub/shower area. Like much of the rest of the country we did have a record breaking heat wave and i am sorry you were not able to enjoy the balcony as much as you would have liked. Normally the mornings and amazing sunsets are enjoyed from this nice outdoor space. I do hope you will return for another visit soon. Sincerely, Clyde Smith - General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
gohornets wrote a review Jun 2020
Cincinnati, Ohio
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We went to Bilmar to escape the craziness of Covid here in Ohio and celebrate our 29th anniversary. We never had a honeymoon so we thought why not this year. We checked in and the girl spoke so fast we had no idea what she said. My poor husbands head was spinning , he said he had no idea what just happened. We went to our room and they put us right by Sloppy Joes. We just wanted a nice relaxing time but nope. Loud music every night til late late in am. We had a very large Palmetto bug in our room ON OUR BED when we first woke up. We are from Ohio, I understand they are common there but I do not want a big old bug in my room ! We called front desk they said they would send someone up, nobody showed so we went down to front desk and she said she’d send maintenance. We didn’t see them come, we did leave for dinner but there was zero evidence anyone entered our room. When we went to the front desk we also asked if someone could run the vacuum in our room because the floor was covered in sand, the girl just looked at us. I’d have happily run a vacuum myself if they would have just let me use one ! There is a $40 per day resort fee-which covered beach chairs, bicycle rentals and kayaks/paddle boards. HOWEVER the guy with the kayaks and paddle boards told us it was $20 an hour. We couldn’t enjoy the balcony-every single time we sat out there is reeked of cigarette smoke or weed. It was beyond disgusting. We also didn’t go to the pool because it’s right beside Sloppy Joes and several people from the bar would come over and use the pool, even though we paid a $40 per day resort fee. We witnessed a guy pretty much pass out by the pool as his 2 young children played in the pool. He wasn’t a guest at the hotel. We wanted to come in and take a nap, but last 2 days there was a very loud drilling noise right outside our room. So much for a nice relaxing trip when we have to smell weed, cigarettes and listen to either loud music or the sound of drilling. This was our first beach trip together just us (we have been married 29 years) and it was disappointing. I wouldn’t go back to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort
Responded Jun 11, 2020
Dear Valued Guest, I sincerely apologize your belated honeymoon trip did not meet your expectations. There is a lot of information conveyed at check in and i will coach the team so slow down to make sure all the necessary information is understood. Part of that process is receiving a small pass as part of the $25 amenity fee to present to the kayak vendor in lieu of having to pay the $20. He should have asked for that. I am very sorry a bug was in your room; although it can happen with balcony and front doors being opened it is never a pleasant experience and we should have responded immediately. We do not allow smoking (anything) on balconies, pool areas or dining decks. When we are notified of someone violating this we contact them immediately. We do sporadic pool checks at both pool areas to try and prevent any non-guests from utilizing the private space. I am not sure how one could tell if someone is a guest without the list the staff uses to confirm name and room numbers. The drilling between the hours of 10am - 5pm was the completion of a new 5G Wi-Fi system. It was supposed to be completed in late April but was delayed due to business closings. I do apologize it disturbed your stay. All property music from restaurants and pool areas are stopped by 10pm for our guest's comfort. Your experience was not a typical Bilmar stay as is evident by the many great reviews. I am sorry it left you with a negative impression. I would welcome the opportunity to regain your confidence should your travels bring you back to the Tampa Bay area. Please contact me directly if I could assist with future arrangements. Sincerely, Clyde Smith - General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LaBelleVie wrote a review Dec 2020
Jensen Beach, Florida
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this place as a recommendation from the Dali museum website. I was taking my 70 year old mother to the Van Gogh alive exhibit and thought it would be nice to stay on the beach. They have Covid precautions all over the website and require you to wear a mask when entering the lobby and common areas. I was a bit taken back when the girl that checked me in was wearing a see through lace mask and coughing all over the place. This was our first impression of the hotel. Later when we walked through the lobby again she didn’t even have it on although it was pointless anyway.

The room was nice, nothing special but we did have a walkout to the beach which was great. I must mention the walls are paper thin. I felt like we were sleeping in the parking lot. The security gate slams shut all night long and you constantly hear car alarms and honking. When I booked this room I was told it was more secluded so I would hate to have been in a more busy area of the place. They have a lot of great amenities but we couldn’t use any because we were told the Gulf was too rough so the cabana guy couldn’t open. When we walked down to the beach there was maybe a ripple, it looked like a lake it was so calm. They charge $30 a day in resort fees and none of those items were available for the whole trip and I’m still trying to figure out why? It was cold on the first day but that’s not why they were closed according to the front desk and the second day was beautiful. Third day was still closed.

We ordered to go food from Sloppy Joes one night. They totally screwed up our order and forgot some items that we ordered. The girl seemed super annoyed when we gave her a $5 gift card that the hotel gave us when we checked in. I worked in the restaurant business for many years and her attitude was really uncalled for. The food was good though even though they screwed a bunch of stuff up. I understand this is not the hotel but it is attached to it.

All in all it was not the greatest experience. I don’t think we would stay there again for a few reasons. As someone who lives in Fl and was in the hospitality industry for many years it pains me to write this because I know a lot of places are suffering. On that same note I also tend to let a lot of stuff slide but I just couldn’t here. If your going to charge a resort fee than make sure the amenities you are charging for are available. If your going to post Covid precautions all over your website and require all guests wear a mask then don’t have the employee that checks you in wear a lace see through mask and then cough everywhere. I was also charged an extra $30 a night for a room they consider premium to not be able to sleep due to the security door banging all night long. It was pretty miserable. The hotel itself was fairly empty so it really wasn’t that difficult to get it right.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clyde Smith, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort
Responded Dec 14, 2020
Kristin, I sincerely apologize your recent stay at the Bilmar did not meet your expectations. We do take the COVID precautions seriously and many of our guests have expressed how comfortable they are knowing we care for the safety of our guests and team members. The desk agent you encountered was wearing the thin mask due to breathing difficulties and the 2nd time you saw her there was no one in the lobby until you entered it. It is worth noting for other travelers that there are also 4 sections of plexiglass between the staff and the guest at the desk. It sounds like the only amenity you could not use was the kayak/paddleboard service. Beach chairs, bicycles, fire pits and more are always available regardless of the water conditions. We have to rely on the outside service that provides the water sports to tell us when they feel conditions are not safe. We work closely with them but the safety of our guests is paramount. I am sorry your room was near the security gate. I don't know if we had an opportunity to move you but many areas of the resort are more quiet than the first floor walk outs. I will discuss the Sloppy Joe's to Go order with the manager and we will work to immediately improve that service. I hope we will have the opportunity to regain your confidence on a future visit. Feel free to contact me directly if i can be of assistance in securing a quiet room to meet your needs. Best regard, Clyde Smith - General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SusanVi wrote a review Jun 2020
Lake Mary, Florida
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Where do I begin. We came here to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. The only 'gesture' the hotel did was to give us a voucher for a drink at sloppy joes for the smallest measure drink I have ever received, see pictures attached. We were told we would be on the top floor, no the penthouse is above us and it sounds like the people staying there are constantly moving furniture around. We arrived at 2.20 are were told we could check in and we would get a call when our room was ready. I phoned at 4.20 and spoke to Heather who said our room was ready, when I asked why no one had called us she rudely said it was only 22 minutes after check in and she was getting round to calling us. Yeah sure. We went to get our room key and were unfortunate enough to meet Heather in person. She was abrupt and when I said I found her abrasive she laughed at me and said she was not abrasive, so rude. Air conditioning was very noisy, thankfully weather was not Florida hot so we could turn it up so it didn't keep us awake. Bilmar relies on its wonderful position on the beach but the customer service is non existent, rooms are noisy and sloppy joes is massively overpriced, again taking advantage of its location rather that caring about its reputation. There are lots of much better hotels in treasure island, please don't have your precious time off spoilt and consider staying anywhere else but the bilmar.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort
Responded Jun 5, 2020
Susan, i sincerely regret we did not meet your expectations during your recent visit to celebrate your anniversary. We try to exceed our guests needs on every visit and believe this is evident by the many positive reviews our guests post on Tripadvisor. I do apologize we did not call you sooner get you into your room. Our enhanced cleaning protocols are taking longer than previously and we were attempting to honor your request for a high floor. Heather was not intending to be rude to you and other travelers will find her name in many of the complimentary reviews. We should have given her more support getting caught up with the other check ins that arrived early on that day. I am also sorry the noise from the room above you was disturbing; that is not a common complaint but I understand how it could have affected your visit. Sloppy Joe's on the Beach is a very popular restaurant. Most guests believe it is a very good value for the quality and beachfront location. We often compare our menu pricing with competitor restaurants and believe we are in line with the community and in light of rising costs of product and labor. I urge other travelers to read many reviews submitted by happy travelers to the Bilmar. Clyde Smith - General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aushleyg wrote a review Sep 2020
Madison, Wisconsin
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Came for a girls weekend. One of my friends and I came a night early and combining the reservation was an ordeal had to pay another 15.00 because it was a different room but yet they were available. It took 35 minutes to check in at 2am with no one in line. As you can see in the photos the remodel did not go well the closet had a hole with leaking water onto a towel. The carpet had hair and other grossness on it, the remote had gunk, they for sure aren’t taking cleaning seriously. The hairdryer was burning something when I turned it on and the patio was disgusting as well. For 465.00 for 3 nights I expect more out of a hotel. No masks are worn on the property except by some employees. Not sure we will actually be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clyde Smith, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort
Responded Sep 29, 2020
I sincerely regret we did not meet your expectations on your recent girls weekend. I don't know all the circumstances at check in but there are several variables that could have factored in; such as names being attached to other reservations. We have made every effort at maintaining an exceptionally clean facility and guest rooms as always but especially during these trying times. Many recent reviews will attain to that effort and i apologize for any short comings you experienced. Your comment on face masks is very surprising as I witness masks worn by employees and guests to meet or exceed CDC and local guidelines. We were wearing them back in March before the mandates came down. We will continue to train our team and implement the right protocols to keep our guests and team members safe. i hope we will have the opportunity to regain your confidence during a future visit. Clyde Smith - General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trail165803 wrote a review Oct 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me start that I never take time to leave a review but I am in my room literally on top of a bar and the floor is vibrating. We hear every word the MC is saying and my patience for wedding songs is rapidly waning. I understand it’s only 9:30 and the staff says the wedding party should be over in an hour but they didn’t sound sure. The night before there were a ton of drunk individuals partying and being extremely loud in the pool. We didn’t call to complain but we did hear from others at the pool today that they made several calls to no avail. I’m happy for everyone to have a good time but when you have kids (or just looking for a relaxing beach vacay) this is NOT the environment you want to be in. The staff was friendly enough but 3 days in a row there were no beach towels. Two of the days they were able to give bath towels but the 3rd day all we got was a single hand towel even after checking back several times. The shower had absolutely no water pressure and you could only get the shower to turn on if it was around halfway ... any warmer and it wouldn’t turn to shower mode. The patio was nice and we had a beachfront room. The rooms were old but had a decent facelift so despite their age they were nice enough. However the slider was old and incredibly difficult to open and half the time I had to ask my husband to do it. We paid the “resort fee” and were looking forward to using the paddle board / kayaks and beach bikes. The third party that does the kayaks was no where to be found on any of the days we went to the beach. The staff said he should be there but the third party doing the chairs (attached to the kayaks) told us the kayak guy was not there and would not be there. As for the bikes, they did look nice but they only have adult bikes so impossible for families to take advantage of it. So resort fee was a total waste for us. I have travelled frequently with kids over the last decade and never had an experience quite like this one.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clyde Smith, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort
Responded Oct 4, 2020
Please accept my apology that your stay has not met your expectations or the normal standards we strive to set for our valued guests. I regret the pool area and wedding in the Cafe was too loud for your comfort. We do end all events and close the pools by 10pm to allow for evening quiet time but i understand that may be too late for small children. We were not informed of any service delays with the paddle board vendor so I am unsure if it was just a issue or something else. We have verified they were open throughout the week. We did run out of pool towels due to a delay in receiving a needed shipment and i apologize this adversely affected your visit. Your experience is not typical for the Bilmar as is evident in the many positive reviews left by many families. I hope we will have the opportunity to regain your confidence in our service on a future visit. Sincerely, Clyde Smith - General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AmericanDr wrote a review Jan 2020
Toronto
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed there for 2 days on Dec 28. Room above the pool with direct view and access of the beach, sort of best of 2 worlds, close to the restaurant, so a bit noisy but did not bother us. Definitely not a place for quiet romantic getaways, lots of families with kids. Room was clean, view was magnificent. Location great right across from restaurants and drug store. People very friendly at check in and all over. Special thanks to the lady cleaning up the laundry room on night of Dec 28, let me back into the exercise room because I was locked out with my iphone inside. There was a problem with safe & internet/TV, maintenance came up almost immediately and fixed the safe problem, came in twice for WiFi/TV problem, good customer service. Will come back if have a chance.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GMBBR, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort
Responded Jan 15, 2020
Thank you for choosing the Bilmar and for sharing your experience with other travelers. Staying over the holiday week i can understand the noise from families have fun could have been a little more than normal. Many months of the year couples do enjoy the tranquility of either of our two pools or the many chairs available on the beach side of the resort. Sorry for some minor maintenance issues but i am glad we were able to resolve them. We all hope you can return soon! Clyde Smith - General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
etonmymind wrote a review Feb 2021
Seattle, Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here with three of my kids for a few nights in February. We were pleasantly surprised by how well kept the Bilmar is. Even though it's an old hotel (as are most resorts along Gulf Blvd) everything is freshly painted and kept quite neat and clean. The pool area is beautiful and full of lush tropical plant life. Our room, 117, was right off the pool and a cafe and I was nervous about noise. However, we didn't hear a THING and slept so soundly. Room looked exactly like the photos. Parking was free and easy--I got a spot right in front every time. The pool was heated and so warm that we swam even though the temps were in the 60s. Slight issue in that my room was not cleaned after being gone a full day and having my "please clean" sign out, but people are human, and I'm more concerned with how things are handled than with them actually happening. The front desk was apologetic and offered to have my room cleaned right away. When I declined they made sure I had the items replaced that I needed.

The front desk staff was not always masked, but this is Florida and I admit I expected as much. Not that it's OK during a pandemic, but hey. It's not surprising.

The beach in this spot is quite wide/deep and there was a lot of room to throw a football and fly a kite without getting near sunbathers. There is a concrete walking path that runs through Treasure Island, making it nice for walking to get ice cream or just sitting and people watching.

We'll definitely be back to the Bilmar when we visit our family in St Pete! Already planning to book again for next December.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Staying on the ground floor with a slider to the beach was awesome!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Clyde Smith, General Manager at Bilmar Beach Resort
Responded Feb 22, 2021
Thank you for choosing the Bilmar while visiting family in the Tampa Bay area. So glad you enjoyed your first floor Premium Studio and the convenience of the amenities. I do apologize again that we did not service your room as requested; we have discussed this with the housekeeping team and will pay better attention going forward. The safety of our guests and team members is paramount to our company and i apologize if anyone was lax in the use of face covering. Even with the plexiglass partitions at each desk station we do enforce face covering as a policy. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you again for the kind words. Clyde Smith - General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Richard E asked a question Mar 2024
Toronto, Canada
What is the resort fee and what does it cover ?
Answer from GMBBR
Treasure Island, Florida63 contributions31 helpful votes
There is a daily $35 Amenity Fee (one of the lowest in the area). It covers $5 welcome certificate, 1 free breakfast for children under 12, lobby coffee/tea in am & fruit water/candy station in pm, 3pm cookies, bicycle usage, pool towels, bottled water, 2 beach chairs per room and 1 hour of paddle board/kayak per room (weather permitting). Also Wi-Fi and parking are free.
Answer from GMBBR
Treasure Island, Florida63 contributions31 helpful votes
It is per room for up to 4 people. Lots of amenities included like bikes, beach chairs, lobby coffee - fruit water - candy & 3pm cookies, pool towels, bottled water and more.
Answer from GMBBR
Treasure Island, Florida63 contributions31 helpful votes
No, dining tables are open for any age group. Only restriction is no one under 21 can sit at the actual bar area.
Tracy K asked a question Jul 2023
St. Petersburg, Florida6 contributions
Can you use floats in the pool?
Answer from Len C
Dundas, Canada224 contributions143 helpful votes
Yes
Answer from SANDRA S
Appleton, Wisconsin62 contributions12 helpful votes
I am not a smoker so I do not know what thier policies are.
Rebecca A wrote a tip Feb 2024
HUMBOLDT15 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 218 was perfect with the balcony and GREAT view of the sunset each night!!"
Read full review
Vivian Harmony M wrote a tip Dec 2023
5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Live music at Sloppy Joes on the beach is a local favorite! Just a few steps from your room breathtaking views, Cheers & Blessings! "
Read full review
GorBlimey wrote a tip Dec 2023
London, United Kingdom7 contributions27 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Housekeeping is patchy at best - our room wasn't serviced for two days until we complained."
Read full review
TheGibbonsdoUSA wrote a tip Nov 2023
Athelhampton, United Kingdom22 contributions7 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check if a private party is happening and then bring party clothes and have a party in your room"
Read full review
Brianna G wrote a tip Nov 2023
6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"They provide beach towels, chairs,full size shampoo, conditioner, and body wash. So nice to not have to pack those items."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Treasure Island area.
PRICE RANGE
$212 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bilmar beach hotel treasure island, bilmar beach treasure island, bilmar hotel, bilmar beach resort treasure island
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaTreasure Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
166
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BILMAR BEACH RESORT - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Bilmar Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Bilmar Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Treasure Island Drum Circle (0.2 miles), Vine and Grind (0.10 miles), and Bucky Big Pirate of Treasure Island (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bilmar Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Bilmar Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bilmar Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Bilmar Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bilmar Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Super Scoops Inc., Shrimpys Blues Bistro, and Middle Grounds Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bilmar Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Bilmar Beach Resort located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the center of Treasure Island.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bilmar Beach Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Bilmar Beach Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Bilmar Beach Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Pinellas County Heritage Village (8.5 miles) and Benoist Plaza (8.5 miles).
All Treasure Island HotelsTreasure Island Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Treasure IslandHotels near Bilmar Beach Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars