We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel South Tampa and Suites

Save
Share
3314 S Dale Mabry Hwy, Tampa, FL 33629-7840
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$103
View deal
Hotels.com
$103
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/11/22
Vio.com
$87
View deal
Expedia.com$103
Travelocity$103
Priceline$119
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (87)
Room & Suite (29)
Pool & Beach (7)

About

#73 of 186 hotels in Tampa
Location
4.0
Cleanliness
3.8
Service
4.0
Value
3.8
Welcome to Hotel South Tampa & Suites! Our boutique design offers leisure and business travelers alike an ideal Florida getaway. Looking to spend more time in Tampa? Choose from one of our spacious kitchenettes ideally suited for your extended stay. We’re located just minutes from MacDill Airforce Base, the Port of Tampa, International Plaza and Westshore Mall, Tampa International Airport, downtown, Raymond James Stadium, Tampa General Hospital, and the Tampa Bay Convention Center. Enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast and stay connected with free Wi-Fi. Other amenities include outdoor heated pool, fitness center, and guest laundry. We also offer free parking. Centrally located within the heart of South Tampa, we are within walking distance to many local restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you soon to Hotel South Tampa & Suites!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Iron
Oven
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hindi
886Reviews18Q+A66Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 270
  • 282
  • 183
  • 75
  • 76
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
临 时 wrote a review Nov 14
1 contribution
the customer service is good (ronald, dayana). rooms are clean, and new looking. they are well maintained. the insulation is bad, but everything else is good. as long as you neighbors are quiet, it'll be fine. they have a fitness center, and breakfast. ac is cold, and quiet. floor are concrete so you dont have to worry about noise from upstairs. they have nice walk in showers without the tub, which is better because its easier to get in and out of.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Hotel South Tampa and Suites
Responded 1 week ago
Hi SICKMANOFASIA, Thank you so much for sharing your review and giving us an honest look at the guest experience in our hotel. It is very rewarding to hear your perspective of our hotel and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and hospitable experience. We’ll make sure we pass your kind words along to Ronald and Dayana, who we know will be delighted to read your comment. We look forward to serving you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LLQ17 wrote a review Nov 5
The Netherlands22 contributions38 helpful votes
DO NOT STAY HERE! I know I never will again. I booked 2 rooms here for one night in late April 2022. I had contact with the hotel in advance to inform them that my party of 4p would be arriving on late (overseas) flights so we would arrive after midnight and please hold our rooms; they said no problem. When we arrived, the person at the front desk could only find a booking for 1 room (2p), even after my repeated requests to look more carefully; however, they did have one room left at their property that night so I could pay them directly if I wanted a second room. Since it was late and we needed 2 rooms, I paid the hotel directly for the 2nd room. I first suspected something strange when I received an email from booking.com the next morning, asking me to confirm that I was a no-show at the hotel I booked. I replied to that email that I did indeed show up but there were issues because the front desk had found only 1 room in my reservation. Upon checkout in the morning, I again asked the front desk staff about the extra charge and they reiterated that there was nothing they could do about it: they had only found 1 room in my booking.com reservation. I am STILL trying to recoup the charge for the extra room. What a nightmare. And that's before we even talk about the dingy rooms that were not cleaned sufficiently.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Hotel South Tampa and Suites
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi LLQ17 , Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am very sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. It is distressing to hear that you encountered a number of issues with our housekeeping and guest services and I want you to know that we take your comments very seriously and are working hard and fast to address these problems in hopes of improving upon the guest experience. We understand that you are hesitant to return based on this experience, though we hope to have another chance to impress you in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
At first,the room seemed big and comfortable.but then the nightmare began. There are a lot of tiny bugs in the room.my wife have a sensitive skin and the bugs began hurting her skin.we did not slept all night because of the itching and scratching.we checked out at 6 a.m. after not sleeping all night. We went to the counter and made a complaint we wanted to talk to the manager and the guy told us that she will be only 4 days ahead.he didn't offer us any solution and did not tried to contact the manager. We left a phone number and asked the guy to tell the manager to contact us But she didn't. (Maybe she thinks that bugs in the rooms is fine.) My wife and me travel a lot and this stay was the worst one through the years. To conclude it was a real nightmare and even not cheap nightmare.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Hotel South Tampa and Suites
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi John1212121964 , Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced about the pool issues you have raised and for the unfortunate incident that you experienced regarding the visit of unwelcome pests in your bathroom. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We are sorry we didn't provide the level of service that you've come to expects and we hope you'll return to enjoy a five-star experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeff C wrote a review Mar 2022
Wichita Falls, Texas1 contribution1 helpful vote
Room was clean but had a terrible experience with the staff. They asked for credit card and DL upon checkin, they gave back the credit card but not DL, my bad for forgetting, but they never called and when I finally realized my DL had been left behind (days later) they we very unwilling to try to get my DL returned to me. I would expect them to call my room the night I checked in to let me know I left my DL behind. I do not trust this place.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Hotel South Tampa and Suites
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Jeff C , Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am very sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. We make sure we preserve a friendly and honest environment for the benefit of our guests. Rest assured lost and found items are given back to the owners. It is our primary aim to give you a five-star experience and it is disheartening to hear that this is not the impression we left you with. Please feel free to contact us if this situation has not been resolved to your satisfaction. We hope you'll return and let us show you a far better experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hector P wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
DO NOT BELIEVE ANY OF THE GOOD REVIEWS ABOUT THIS HOTEL FROM HELL Service at the reception: extremely poor customer service. Worse energy and attitude that I have ever seen. Room: The bed was undone, sheets were broken and dirty, The bathroom was dirty and recently used. Smell like cigarettes. I went to reception and asked for another room. Room 2: Carpet was extremely dirty, the desk chair was extremely dirty but the worse was the room was full of bugs. It seems that they were termites. The walls were full of bugs walking around. Tens of them. I was not brave enough to inspect the bed. I could not stand the hotel, told the receptionist that I wanted a full refund and left immediately. She said that I had to speak to the Manager for a refund. I will see if I am successful on this. People staying at this hell: there was an African American teenager that seemed to be on drugs having a heated discussion with somebody else. It was scary. In addition, I saw a number of low income families with unusual behaviour: smoking too much, the doors open, a mess in their rooms, kids barefoot. I think there were some prostitutes as well. I did not feel safe at all. I ran immediately. This was the worse experience I have ever had in my life staying at a hotel. I do not understand how come Management of this hotel has this property in a situation from hell. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL IF YOU WANT TO AVOID A TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE FROM HELL.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Hotel South Tampa and Suites
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi S6487CFhectorp , Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am very sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. It is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not properly and thoroughly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. I do hope you'll return and let us show you a far better experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephanie A wrote a review Feb 2022
6 contributions
Amazing breakfast selection, huge rooms, and amazingly friendly staff! Who could ask for more?!?! Well, i can because unfortunately we were only here one night !! ;-) wish it was more! !!!! :) :) thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Hotel South Tampa and Suites
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi S2893LCstephaniea, Thank you for your compliments to our staff, hospitality and breakfast layout. It's good to hear from you and we greatly appreciate that you've taken the time to share your five-star experience at our hotel! We enjoy sharing these reviews with our staff and we all look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Blacke A wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
This magical hotel 🏨 was full of genuinely positive and attentive staff. The rooms (suites actually) were such a comfortable and loving environment, that we extended on our NYE stay. Ask for Ruben! He will make you smile no matter what
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Hotel South Tampa and Suites
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi blackea2021 , Thank you for taking the time to share this five-star experience with our management, staff, and future guests. I'm glad that our services, hospitality, and accommodations exceeded your expectations and hope that you experience the same comfortable stay during your next visit! We will share your comments with Ruben and we look forward to your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FSilvermane wrote a review Dec 2021
Brooksville, Florida16 contributions3 helpful votes
We three stayed for a night here after an emergency caused us to need to leave our house. They were quite friendly at the desk and accommodated us readily. My friend has pin in her spine so they immediately got a handicap room ready for us. The rooms are clean and well maintained despite the area the hotel is in and reputation of the previous hotel this place has .ore than made up for that
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Hotel South Tampa and Suites
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi FSilvermane , Thank you for your kind comments and review regarding our high standards of cleanliness and hospitality. We seek to give each guest a very comfortable and accommodating experience and we are thrilled to hear of our success in this ambition. We will happily share your comments with our staff and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paola C wrote a review Dec 2021
Dothan, Alabama23 contributions2 helpful votes
This is a good, no frills, decent hotel, central location. The staff is very pleasant. Parking and access to the room were easy. There were several families with children using the pool when I stayed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Hotel South Tampa and Suites
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi paolacC3607AM , Thank you so much for sharing your review and giving us an honest look at the guest experience in our hotel. It is heartwarming to hear of how our efforts to impress you with our hospitality, comfort and convenience have been successful. We greatly appreciate the time you've taken to rate our hotel and we look forward to your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacquelyn H wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Customer service is amazing the staff is wonderful and it's a very clean hotel I would recommend to anyone coming to tampa and its a great location to use Lyft or uber and go anywhere you would like while here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$105 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
howard johnson express inn & suites - south tampa / airport hotel tampa, howard johnson express inn and suites - south tampa / airport, howard johnson tampa, tampa howard johnson
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaTampa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
83
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL SOUTH TAMPA AND SUITES $87 ($̶1̶8̶9̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - FL

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel South Tampa and Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel South Tampa and Suites?
Nearby attractions include Joe and Son's Olive Oils (0.7 miles), Toffee to Go (0.7 miles), and The Dog Saloon (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel South Tampa and Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel South Tampa and Suites?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel South Tampa and Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel South Tampa and Suites?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel South Tampa and Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pane Rustica, Osteria Natalina, and Pinky's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel South Tampa and Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel South Tampa and Suites?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel South Tampa and Suites?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tampa Union Station (4.3 miles) and Centro Asturiano De Tampa (3.3 miles).
Is Hotel South Tampa and Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.