We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tampa
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Gram\\
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music
See the most recent reviews
Showing 86: English reviews
midwest
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2016 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here one night and we really were able to relax and sleep well. We stayed in the Blues room and it was clean, relaxing, and incredibly comfortable. We had a private bath room and lots of space for the two of us. The property is very interesting and fun. If we are back in the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank leahastl
bruce h, Manager at Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music, responded to this review

We are glad that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you stay with us again. Thank you for your review and for staying with us. -- Christine More 

Webster, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2016

We spent 3 days at Gram's Place in a rural section of Tampa. This B&B/Hostel is different to say the least. There is a variety of accommodations for all kinds of travelers at decent prices. We enjoyed the Jazz Room (one bedroom & bath). It was clean and the bed was good. Breakfast food was provided and everyone would cook... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LoreneMary
bruce h, Manager at Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music, responded to this review

One of the best things about living and working at an international hostel are the many opportunities of meeting people from all walks of life. I'm glad that you got a chance to experience what I get to experience almost every day. Thank you for your stay and your review and we hope to get you back here sooner than... More 

New London, WI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2016

After reading a few positive reviews and seeing the photos, we took a chance by booking this place the night before flying out of Tampa. What a mistake! The place is totally run down and located in a very scary area. As we drove up my wife said that she did not want to go in. I said it has... More 

Helpful?
Thank mimsNewLondon_WI
bruce h, Manager at Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music, responded to this review

I regret that you felt that this was not the place for you and your wife. We are in an urban neighborhood, so if you are an elitist who doesn't venture much into the colorful and eclectic parts of the world, then our little hostel certainly isn't the place for you and your wife. I'm surprised that you even considered... More 

Durham North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2016

Gram's Place was recommended by my relatives, but they are unconventional, much more experienced backpacker world travelers than I am. and I had my doubts. Gram's Place is more of hostel than a Bnb, a loose array of rooms connected by open air, slightly ramshackle patio spaces, with a shared kitchen and bathrooms, covered in funky, 70s era rock memorabilia.... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarahrus
bruce h, Manager at Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your positive outlook on our Adventure room. I'm sorry about the cold snap, but I will say that this last winter was certainly more mild than that of 2015s. We are an eclectic space that has been put together in that "ramshackle" manner over the past 25+ years. It can be overwhelming to take... More 

Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2016

It's been a while since we stayed at a hostel and they can be a hit or a miss. This one is a hit! The owners and manager are very friendly, we felt as though we were staying at a friends house. They even made us breakfast. There are lots of little things to look at and rooms scattered throughout.... More 

Helpful?
Thank David L
bruce h, Manager at Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. You are correct in that we try to make you feel like you are at home when you stay with us. We even go so far as making you feel like you are at home by Bruce hogging the outside TV when any type of sports (Rays and Buc) are... More 

Level Contributor
1,181 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2016

Very unique and interesting hostel, with a lot of soul around. It makes people feel great and bring them together. Relaxed atmosphere and great place to chill the mind. I would definitely come back. Very much recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank 251larsn
bruce h, Manager at Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music, responded to this review

Thanx for you review. I like to say that we are a bunch of Laid Back Yaks here and we appreciate guests who are like minded. The vibe that we strive for is drama free and relaxing and we love guests who contribute to that atmosphere. We look forward to having you back! -- Christine More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2016 via mobile

This is quite interesting Hostel with many rooms scattered around the house with in house kitchen and small yet cozy leaving room. The house has a very interesting surrounding that at first could be overwhelming and you may feel like visiting a storage of artifacts from the past and art all over the place. Over time it feels unique and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ARM-RK
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

I want to start off by saying I work in the customer service industry and am a very tolerant individual. The first time I called Gram's place I had general questions about the website. The woman I spoke to on the phone had a terrible attitude, was rude, and just overall literally the worst person I have spoken to at... More 

Helpful?
9 Thank KLG1991
bruce h, Manager at Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music, responded to this review

Hello, It is unfortunate that you feel as though you had a negative experience with us. I remember your telephone calls very well. Let me start by saying that you are correct in that you did sense a level of frustration on my part, especially after having to chat with you on two separate occasions and having to attempt to... More 

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015

Grams place is way unique. It takes in every one from the world and doesn't look back. It makes people feel good always. Chistine and Bruce work so hard to make you feel wecome. Breakfast is free. Just get here fast and book or you will miss out.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bigmac2549
bruce h, Manager at Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music, responded to this review

Thank you for you positive words!! Bruce and I are a good team and I'm glad that is reflected in the great experience that our guests have. We like our little haven here and a pleased that you enjoyed it too! Come back soon! --Christine More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

This place is the only hostel in this part of Florida so when I booked the room I got nervous because I didn´t have another choice, like it could be the worst ever but I´d be stuck because everything else is crazy expensive. Fortunately this place is great! It´s rooms were small but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was connected... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MollyLeadbetter
bruce h, Manager at Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. If you think we were cluttered then...now we've got holiday decorations out!! We do regret that Tampa doesn't have a better public transportation system and keep hoping that it will improve with all of the other improvements happening now and in the near future. We hope to get you back soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

114 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Historic Ybor
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Gram's Place BnB GuestHouses\Hostel and Music

Address: 3109 N Ola Ave, Tampa, FL 33603-5744
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Price Range: $56 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Gram`s Place Bnb Guesthouseshostel And Music Hotel Tampa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing