We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

GP Gram's Place Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for GP Gram's Place Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 88: English reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2016

Really great hostel! Such a friendly atmosphere, loved the outdoor shower too! Probably best to have a car as there is not much in walking distance. Would definitely recommend this place!Stayed in the train room which was fun

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KristinaOlo
bruce h, Manager at GP Gram's Place Hostel, responded to this review

Thanx for your feedback! Yep, our residential location can put a damper on having close by activities. But the bus stop is just a couple of blocks away, which can get you to downtown Tampa bus station in less than 3 miles. I prefer the Uber method of public transportation, if without a car, because the bus simply takes too...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed April 10, 2016

I rented the train room with my boyfriend and two friends. We had a great time! There was breakfast for us to cook in the morning, and we were a short Uber ride away from downtown Tampa and Ybor City. There is also a very friendly cat that lives here!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abby H
midwest
Reviewed March 22, 2016 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here one night and we really were able to relax and sleep well. We stayed in the Blues room and it was clean, relaxing, and incredibly comfortable. We had a private bath room and lots of space for the two of us. The property is very interesting and fun. If we are back in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank leahastl
bruce h, Manager at GP Gram's Place Hostel, responded to this review

We are glad that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you stay with us again. Thank you for your review and for staying with us. -- Christine

Webster, New York
Reviewed March 13, 2016

We spent 3 days at Gram's Place in a rural section of Tampa. This B&B/Hostel is different to say the least. There is a variety of accommodations for all kinds of travelers at decent prices. We enjoyed the Jazz Room (one bedroom & bath). It was clean and the bed was good. Breakfast food was provided and everyone would cook...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LoreneMary
bruce h, Manager at GP Gram's Place Hostel, responded to this review

One of the best things about living and working at an international hostel are the many opportunities of meeting people from all walks of life. I'm glad that you got a chance to experience what I get to experience almost every day. Thank you for your stay and your review and we hope to get you back here sooner than...

New London, WI
Reviewed March 11, 2016

After reading a few positive reviews and seeing the photos, we took a chance by booking this place the night before flying out of Tampa. What a mistake! The place is totally run down and located in a very scary area. As we drove up my wife said that she did not want to go in. I said it has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mimsNewLondon_WI
bruce h, Manager at GP Gram's Place Hostel, responded to this review

I regret that you felt that this was not the place for you and your wife. We are in an urban neighborhood, so if you are an elitist who doesn't venture much into the colorful and eclectic parts of the world, then our little hostel certainly isn't the place for you and your wife. I'm surprised that you even considered...

Durham North Carolina
Reviewed February 28, 2016

Gram's Place was recommended by my relatives, but they are unconventional, much more experienced backpacker world travelers than I am. and I had my doubts. Gram's Place is more of hostel than a Bnb, a loose array of rooms connected by open air, slightly ramshackle patio spaces, with a shared kitchen and bathrooms, covered in funky, 70s era rock memorabilia....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahrus
bruce h, Manager at GP Gram's Place Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your positive outlook on our Adventure room. I'm sorry about the cold snap, but I will say that this last winter was certainly more mild than that of 2015s. We are an eclectic space that has been put together in that "ramshackle" manner over the past 25+ years. It can be overwhelming to take...

Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewed February 15, 2016

It's been a while since we stayed at a hostel and they can be a hit or a miss. This one is a hit! The owners and manager are very friendly, we felt as though we were staying at a friends house. They even made us breakfast. There are lots of little things to look at and rooms scattered throughout....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David L
bruce h, Manager at GP Gram's Place Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. You are correct in that we try to make you feel like you are at home when you stay with us. We even go so far as making you feel like you are at home by Bruce hogging the outside TV when any type of sports (Rays and Buc) are...

Reviewed January 21, 2016

Very unique and interesting hostel, with a lot of soul around. It makes people feel great and bring them together. Relaxed atmosphere and great place to chill the mind. I would definitely come back. Very much recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KarolaRS
bruce h, Manager at GP Gram's Place Hostel, responded to this review

Thanx for you review. I like to say that we are a bunch of Laid Back Yaks here and we appreciate guests who are like minded. The vibe that we strive for is drama free and relaxing and we love guests who contribute to that atmosphere. We look forward to having you back! -- Christine

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed January 19, 2016 via mobile

This is quite interesting Hostel with many rooms scattered around the house with in house kitchen and small yet cozy leaving room. The house has a very interesting surrounding that at first could be overwhelming and you may feel like visiting a storage of artifacts from the past and art all over the place. Over time it feels unique and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ARM-RK
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed December 9, 2015

I want to start off by saying I work in the customer service industry and am a very tolerant individual. The first time I called Gram's place I had general questions about the website. The woman I spoke to on the phone had a terrible attitude, was rude, and just overall literally the worst person I have spoken to at...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank KLG1991
bruce h, Manager at GP Gram's Place Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, It is unfortunate that you feel as though you had a negative experience with us. I remember your telephone calls very well. Let me start by saying that you are correct in that you did sense a level of frustration on my part, especially after having to chat with you on two separate occasions and having to attempt to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Le Meridien Tampa
#17 of 162 in Tampa
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Ybor
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 162 in Tampa
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about GP Gram's Place Hostel

Address: 3109 N. Ola Ave., Tampa, FL 33603-5744
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Price Range: $31 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your GP Gram's Place Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gram`s Place Bnb Guesthouseshostel And Music Hotel Tampa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from GP Gram's Place Hostel staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Dallas, Texas
9 months ago
London, United Kingdom
Athens, Georgia
St. Pete Beach, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from GP Gram's Place Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Do not assume anything. If you're unsure...ask!”
 of 5 bubbles glennb674, May 26, 2016 | Read review
“Sleep in the car.”
 of 5 bubbles mimsNewLondon_WI, Mar 11, 2016 | Read review
“many of the rooms do not have private baths, so best to read the descriptions carefully”
 of 5 bubbles sarahrus, Feb 28, 2016 | Read review
“Florida is tough so book early.”
 of 5 bubbles Bigmac2549, Oct 29, 2015 | Read review
“The Rock n Roll Room is near the courtyard. Convenient for my mobility challenged roommate. Also close to the "I Love Lucy" shared kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles lynnf810, Oct 11, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question