We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Little English Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast

Save
Share
737 Timberlane Rd, Tallahassee, FL 32312-1624
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Official Site
FindHotel
Agoda.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (36)
Room & Suite (51)
Dining (13)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 10/19/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 10/19/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Tallahassee
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
5.0
Service
4.9
Value
4.8
Travelers' Choice
Stay at Tallahassee's only REAL Bed & Breakfast for a whole new lodging experience. Charming, CLEAN rooms, each with en-suite private bathrooms, flat screen tv, free breakfast, free onsite parking, free WIFI internet, free snacks and beverages - and the best location for downtown Tallahassee as well as Interstate 10. Do yourself a favor, stay here! Serving the traveling public for 19 years, we know you're weary and need a little peace and quiet when you finally get here - put your feet up, we'll take care of the rest!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Special diet menus
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Interconnected rooms available
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French
219Reviews2Q+A51Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 194
  • 19
  • 4
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Benjamin W wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Both the website and the reviews were extremely misleading about this property. My wife and I were expecting to arrive to a quaint English themed cottage. Unfortunately that was not the case. We pulled up to the owner mowing his lawn. The property is in a neighborhood with neighbors on both sides. it was a very awkward and uncomfortable feeling to say the least, since the rooms are not even separate from where the owners live- it’s all under the same roof. Our room literally had no windows and it felt like we were sleeping in a closet. The rooms were clean and the price was affordable. I am not one to write very many reviews and certainly did not want to write a negative review on this “guesthouse”, But I have received a request literally every two weeks to submit a review and I’m tired of being pestered I am not the kind of person to leave a negative review, and am only doing so because I have been continually hounded for the past month for requests to review this location. I don’t care who you are, it is not a bed and breakfast and should not be advertised as such. It began when we pulled up and one of the owners was mowing the front yard. Because it is his yard in a neighborhood. And it is their home that they live in. To say it was incredibly awkward and uncomfortable is an understatement. It was nothing more that staying in an extra room in a stranger’s house. The photos online are terribly deceiving. It appears from the photos there are expansive grounds for the enjoyment of the guests. It is literally a front yard with bird feeders and baths, a couple of benches, etc. The entire property is maybe on 1 acre. The inside seems to be addition to the home, retrofitted to create a faux English themed ambiance. Our room had no windows (unless you count the one window to “the lobby”). It felt like a poorly ventilated closet that one’s great grandmother had outfitted as a spare room. This was the worst night’s sleep either of us has had in memory, and we have both traveled extensively throughout the United States and abroad. The shower was incredibly small, even for one person; the shower curtains kept sticking to us as there was not room to even move around. The breakfast was mediocre; boiled eggs and stale croissants. At least it was something to eat. I truly do not understand how there are so many 5 star reviews. We booked this place based on the reviews we read on sites such as this, and want to make future travelers aware that this is not what it is advertised as online. If we ever return to Tallahassee we will be sure to stay in a Marriott or comparable hotel downtown. The Little English Guesthouse is FALSELY ADVERTISED. If you want to stay in a stranger’s spare bedroom in their home, then this could be the place for you. Ironically, I have tried to post a review 2x in the last couple of days, but it doesn’t seem to have been posted. It does make one wonder if the reviews are written by friends and family of the owners. The one positive thing I can say about this place is that it was affordable.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tracey Cochran, Owner at The Little English Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast
Responded Aug 23, 2022
You are unhappy with us, we can tell! You state you are not the kind of person to leave a negative review but you do appear to be the kind of person to leave a negative review, as the majority of your comments, and those of your partner /wife Ava are mostly negative on the other review board where you left this exact review. Perhaps the reviewer is one person with 2 profiles. Why are you doing this? We wonder, perhaps you are not familiar with the term "bed and breakfast"?? We have been a licensed, insured, real bed and breakfast since 2003 (19 years). Real bed and breakfasts are owner occupied small businesses. It is one of many reasons folks prefer to stay at real bnbs. And why is that, perhaps you wonder? Glad you asked...When the owner is on the premises, there tends to be less "undesirables" wandering around the parking lot or lobby, as with a chain hotel. This usually makes a real bed and breakfast a safer choice. When the owner of the business is on the premises, it tends to make the establishment quieter, cleaner and an overall better choice than other lodging establishments. Particularly those establishments that are not licensed, or insured or even real businesses. You booked the smallest (cheapest) room on our website. When we asked, (and we ask every guest), you replied that all was well. We would have been happy to move you to a different (larger) room if you told us you were unhappy! We do not actually have any retrofitted rooms a la grandma or even great grandma! We do not have any faux English themes, it is all genuinely English. The vast majority of our guests in the last 19 years quite like it. We are sorry you did not. Not sure where you have been trying to post reviews, but we possess no control whatsoever over the worldwide internet! Rest assured our great reviews over the last 19 years have been made by real people who stayed with us. We do not have enough friends or family who might be willing to spend time writing reviews for 19 entire years to keep us in business through a global pandemic, 2 national recessions and untold other reasons for us to no longer be in business. We wish we did have that many friends and family that love us, it would be a beautiful thing. But we do not ask anyone to leave false reviews, we don't advertise falsely and we allow our business reputation to speak for itself. Which it does. Also, you may not be aware that on the major review site, there is a tab you can click to see if the photo was taken by the owner, or by a customer. Most folks can compare all the photos, right there on the website, to see if the owner's photos and the customer's photos are vastly different. The owner has no ability to remove the customer photos, This is probably to help the general public judge for themselves and cut down on possible false advertising. Photos taken in the summer will show blooming flowers, photos taken in winter will show dead foliage. This is seasonal and very normal in N. Florida (and everywhere else on planet Earth, methinks). Also, regarding review sites, there are some unscrupulous folks who leave reviews for places they've never visited or patronized in any way. Those review sites will allow a business to make their case that it is a fake review from someone who was never a customer, probably to avoid litigation for libel or slanderous statements. We are sorry you were not satisfied with your stay, and also sorry you did not use words, when asked, to indicate your displeasure. We certainly would have made every effort to make you happy, although we do understand that sometimes it is not possible. Should you return to Tallahassee, we do hope you find the Marriott chain hotels affordable and more pleasing to your expectations. Have a lovely day.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lilydog wrote a review Jul 2022
Kingwood, Texas1 contribution
Loved the hospitality and location! Super close for our morning tour at FSU. Breakfast was great and bed very comfortable! The owner met us when we arrived and made the checkin process very smooth! We will definitely be back to stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Little English Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jul 23, 2022
Thank you for choosing a REAL bnb and for your kind words! We look forward to seeing you next time you're in Tallahassee! #TallahasseeBedandBreakfast #REALBnB #19YearsInnBusiness #BestPlacetoStay #Since2003 #freeParking #freebreakfast #freeWifi #hotels #inns #b&b #iheartTally #TLH #StaySmallStaySafe #5*Reviews #businesstravel #FSUparents #FAMU #TMH #WheretostayTallahassee #Capital #neari10 #neardownwtown #shops #restaurants @littleEnglishGuesthouse
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Victoria S wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
What a lovely piece of England we found in Tallahassee! Close to shopping and restaurants. Our host, Tracey, gave us great suggestions for dining and attractions. We especially enjoyed sitting in the conservatory, sipping coffee and tea, after our very British breakfast! We booked direct from the website, and we’re pleased with our rate. Good choice!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Very easy to access, easy parking, just a short distance to access major roads. Good location!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Little English Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jul 19, 2022
Thank you for you taking the time to write such a detailed review, Victoria S! So glad you enjoyed our little piece of England in the heart of Tallahassee. Booking directly on our website and not paying those hidden fees to those online travel agents, 3rd party websites is the smart way to go! We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Tallahassee. #TallahasseeBedandBreakfast #freebreakfast #freeWifi #freeparking #BestPlacetoStay #19YearsInnBusiness #neari10 #neardowntown #MarketDistrictShops #FSU #hotels #inns #Hotels #REALBnB #bnb #NotAir #staycation #businesstravel #iheartTally #TLH #workremotely #FAMU #TMH #Tally #crumpets #tea #English #cottage @LittleEnglishGuesthouse
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James & Rusti wrote a review Jun 2022
Pompano Beach, Florida12 contributions
+1
Everything was just perfect, This was the first B & B we ever stayed at, so we did not know what to expect, Tracy was great, place so cozy, clean, easy to find, Just perfect. We will stay there again on our next trip. You will not be disappointed. Jim & Rusti O'Hare, Florida
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Little English Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast
Responded Jul 2, 2022
Thank you, so glad you decided to stay at a REAL b & b and support a small business! We'll look forward adding you to our list of regulars and seeing you next time you're in Tallahassee! #19YearsInnBusiness #REALBnB #NotAir #inns #closetoi10 #FSU #neardowntown #freeWifi #freebreakfast #freeparking #statehouse #Capital #hotels #guesthouse #cottage #longstay #5starreviews #TallahasseeBedandBreakfast #TLH #TMH #FAMU #Goodplacetostay #Hotels #bnb #staycation
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rbt80 wrote a review Apr 2022
Hanover, New Hampshire3 contributions
We had a very pleasant nine-day stay at The Little English Guesthouse. We loved the location which was convenient to downtown, yet very quiet, leafy, and pretty. It's proximity (walking distance) to the Market Square area was a real plus -- we enjoyed the restaurants and shopping so nearby. Breakfasts were delicious and our room was comfortable and well appointed. We enjoyed reading and relaxing in the sunroom. Tracey is an excellent host - always available and friendly, but never intrusive. She knows the Tallahassee area very well and had several very good suggestions for activities and restaurants for us. Would recommend this BnB to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Little English Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast
Responded Apr 30, 2022
How very kind of you to take the time to leave such a detailed review. So glad you enjoyed your 9 days in beautiful Tallahassee. We look forward to seeing you next time you leave New Hampshire for sunny Florida! #TallahasseeBedandBreakfast #19YearsINNBusiness #TLH #Hotels #Inns #Businesstravel #remotework #FSU #FAMU #Capital #getaway #romantic #bestplacetostay #iheartTally #REALBnB #bnb #freeWifi @LittleEnglishGuesthouse
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Josam18 wrote a review Apr 2022
Sun City Center, Florida9 contributions2 helpful votes
Meticulously maintained, reasonably quiet, good continental breakfast conveniently located to Fl State U and downtown government. I would recommend that grab bars be installed in the showers and that elevated toilets be installed for those of us with health issues that have difficulty squatting so low. Hand sanitizer dispensers positioned in multiple locations would be beneficial especially during the current pandemic. Lysol or Chlorox wipes for guests to use to sanitize door knobs and TV remote would be a nice amenity.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: See comments above. Add a category for N/A in additional rating.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Little English Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast
Responded Apr 18, 2022
Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you found our b & b to be meticulously maintained, and quiet! Two of our three rooms do indeed have grab bars, so we assume you were in the one room that does not. We would gladly have moved you to another room, had you mentioned that you would prefer it. Since April 2020, (2 years ago) we've had hand sanitizer at the check in desk, in the breakfast room and in the conservatory (public areas). There is also a container of Lysol wipes in the breakfast room for guests to use on door knobs etc. if they so choose. We'll make sure to point this out to future guests in case they overlook it. Hope we see you again, next time you're in Tallahassee. #19YearsInnBusiness #RealB&B #neari10 #nearFSU #neardowntown #nearrestaurants #freebreakfast #freeWiFi #freeparking #covidsafe #Tallahasseebedandbreakfast #hotels #inns #getaway #romantic #businesstravel #Capital #capitol #FAMU #TLH #TMH #bnb #NotAir #WheretoStay #Tallahassee #quiet #longstay @LittleEnglishGuesthouse
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jim C wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
As past residents of the Tallahassee area, we continue our medical care with our trusted doctors of 20+ years. Tracey is such an accommodating hostess who makes you feel like a guest while making you feel at home at the same time. Thank you, Tracey, we'll see you next time.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Little English Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast
Responded Mar 24, 2022
Thank you for your detailed review. We love what we do and we're glad it shows - thank you for supporting legal bed and breakfasts! We look forward to seeing you next time you're in Tallahassee #RealBnB #19YearsInnBusiness #neari10 #SupportSmallBusiness #NotAir #Inns #TallahasseeBedandBreakfast #TMH #BestPlacetoStay #Tallahassee #clean #hotels #getaway #businesstravel #freeWifi #freeParking #freebreakfast #safe #babymoon #honeymoon #staycation #Since2003 #neardowntown #Hotels #MarketDistrict #Capital #statehouse #FSU #FAMU #quiet #peaceful #romantic #guesthouse
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary F wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
I stayed at the Little English Guesthouse for 3 nights. Tracey is a wonderful hostess and she makes you feel at home. The room and bath were both clean and the decor was cozy. I slept very well on the bed, better than at home even! I was offered a filling breakfast and I enjoyed the luxury of making a cup of tea at night before bedtime, relaxing in the front Livingroom. I felt very safe and comfortable and will go back to the Little English Guesthouse anytime I visit Tallahassee.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Little English Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast
Responded Mar 19, 2022
Thank you for your 5 star review. We look forward to adding you to our list of "regulars" - thanks for supporting small business! #19YearsInnBusiness #REALBnB #NotAir #TallahasseeBedandBreakfast #TLH #bnb #inns #hotels #Neari10 #neardowntown #FSU #freeWifi #freebreakfast #freeparking #clean #workremotely #longstay #getaway #FAMU #businesstravel #Hotels #safe #private #iheartTally #visitTallahassee #lodging #accomodation #BestPlacetoStay @LittleEnglishGuesthouse
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FarAway566598 wrote a review Feb 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Super comfortable room, and a wonderful host! We love the hospitality, breakfast options, and nice touches! Will come back again; this was our second visit for the wife's birthday overnighter before travelling to visit the kids and grandkids! Thanks again for a wonderful time!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Our room was very quiet, and had double-door security locks.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Little English Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast
Responded Feb 12, 2022
You are most welcome, so glad you're made us your favorite place to stay when you're in Tallahassee! #TallahasseeBedandBreakfast #RealBnB #19YearsInnBusiness #BestPlacetoStayTallahassee #neari10 #neardowntown #FSU #Capitol #NoCrowds #Getaway #romantic #Hotels #babymoon #birthday #bnb #cottage #restaurants #Inn #MarketDistrict #Value #quiet #safe #private #clean #workremotely #longstay #hotels @LittleEnglishGuesthouse
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
centerfield84 wrote a review Nov 2021
Greensboro, North Carolina130 contributions73 helpful votes
My wife and I came to Tallahassee for a funeral, and we decided to make a date night out of it. The Little English Guesthouse B&B was well-maintained and in great shape. Our room was awesome, and Tracy (sp?) was awesome. The breakfast was European with a lot of bread and fiber -- I am not sure if the British know how to scramble eggs. :) Also, it is within walking distance (down a hill and up a hill) from eating establishments. We went to Gordo's. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we are ever back in Tallahassee.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We had the London Room. It was spacious...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at The Little English Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast
Responded Dec 2, 2021
Thank you for your 5 star review, we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Tallahassee! #TallahasseeBedandBreakfast #RealBnB #18YearsInnBusiness #MarketDistrictRestaurants #freeWifi #freeParking #notAir #iheartTally #FSU #capital #nearairport #clean #Hotels #neardowntown #TLH #FAMU #NoCrowds #BestPlacetoStay
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$130 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida PanhandleTallahassee
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Little English Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to The Little English Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Museum of Florida History (4.7 miles), Cascades Park (5.0 miles), and Alfred B. Maclay Gardens State Park (1.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Little English Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Little English Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Little English Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Little English Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Little English Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kool Beanz Cafe, Midtown Caboose, and Shula's 347 Grill.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Little English Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to The Little English Guesthouse Bed and Breakfast?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Florida State Capitol Building (4.7 miles), The Grove Museum (3.8 miles), and Knott House Museum (4.4 miles).