We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,085: English reviews
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

This used to be the old Helmsley hotel, and not much is changed since it changed hands. The rooms are basic but acceptable. Staff is friendly, and the entire property is well-maintained for its age. The best part is the location and access to the beach. You can't beat this for those reasons, and the affordable cost. I will be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you will be returning to our gem. We have new beach chase loungers, new pool deck furniture and have totally revamped the lobby. We continue to invest in this special location and look forward to having you return year after year!! We appreciate your stay and look forward to your return....

Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Perhaps the resort physically closest to the beach. The resort was a throwback to the 50's and 60's but in a good way. The layout and courtyards made you feel like you were stepping back in time, but overall the property was clean and well kept. Some of the rooms were dated, but the resort is do No work to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for trying the Sandcastle on Lido Key. We appreciate the opportunity to serve you and ask that you keep us in mind for a return trip. I am not aware of anywhere on the West coast of Florida that offers such accessibility to the Gulf of Mexico with its White powered sand! Don't forget our Jr. Olympic pool...

Hampton, New Hampshire
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights starting on thanksgiving. It was his birthday trip and could not have been more perfect! Check in was fast and easy and we were surprised to find we were upgraded to an ocean view room. We got to our room just in time to see a perfect sunset and 2 dolphins...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johannae1977
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It is the perfect spot to recharge your batteries and enjoy a oversize beach with the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico at your back door. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our third stay here over the last few years but this time it seems to have gone really downhill. The rooms have always been a little dated, on this visit the rooms don't seemed to have been cleaned properly and our room had a lot of what we later told were sugar ants. The staff offered to fumigate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bryancrawford54
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Please feel free to contact me directly to make this right. We thank you for your continued patronage and would like to serve you again in the future. Tim H.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I grew up next to The Sandcastle. So when I got married, I had my family and friends stay there. We got married on the public beach and had friends over to the hotel to celebrate. The staff set up a fire pit on the beach and provided music! All my friends were given guest passes to park with Zero...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Greg G
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Congratulations on your wedding. We are thrilled to have been a part of such a special moment in your life! Thank you for having such a special occasion with us and we are all wishing many years of happiness for you and your new family!! Come celebrate your anniversary with us next year and we are here for special needs...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been to the Sandcastle a few times over the years and its a must stay place for us. Spent a few days there earlier this month. On arrival there were a few issues as the room we had booked was subject to external maintenance however after raising my concerns with Dennis things were sorted out. The key thing about this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank h0lidayfun11
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and kind words. We could not have explained our hotel better. The staff will make the difference no matter where you choose to stay and how much you spend. Some of the most expensive hotels I have stayed at sometimes offer the least amount of personal service that todays traveler is looking for. We pride...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at this resort for two nights (15 & 16 November) as part of a longer fly-drive down the Gulf Coast. We were impressed with its location, right on Lido Beach but frankly were disappointed with the hotel. First impressions were it appeared somewhat tired and was in need of a refresh. Our bedroom was on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you. I am disappointed to read that you were not able to enjoy the property to its fullest extent. We print out all of the amenities included in the resort fee and I apologize that our staff did not go over that with you. Umbrella's are included and do not cost...

Frittenden
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is like marmite - you either love it or hate it. The first room we were shown to was pretty awful it was on the edge of the property overshadowed by the next door hotel and although it had direct accèss to the beach the beach there was pretty scruffy. The room was really tired and the carpet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaFrittenden
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your business. Tim H.

Palm Harbor, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel on the beach, right next to the Tiki Bar next door. Comfortable beds, Tommy Bahama toiletries, and very clean. A great choice over the bigger hotels in the area. This is one to try before it gets torn down and rebuilt at three times the rate.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TomnDar
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return. Tim H.

North Naples, Florida
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent a fabulous night in a beachfront room with my 10 year old granddaughter and 9 year old grandson. The room was comfortable,clean,and a great value for the price. We walked the beach, built a sandcastle.played chess on a 'lifesize' chessboard, watched a movie poolside, and enjoyed dinner and breakfast with great service. Mote Aquarium was our destination for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NonnyinNaples
GMSandcastle, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you and your grandchildren. I am sure you spoiled them rotten and treasure every moment you have with their company. It is the simple things in life that make a kids day, and special grandparents is one of them!! Tim H.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

662 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (638)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (146)
Viewed
View from Room (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (117)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (187)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
3.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 48 in Sarasota
856 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#5 of 48 in Sarasota
1,755 reviews
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
4.2 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Price Range: $184 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach staff and other travelers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles CharlesR510, 5 days ago | Read review
“Go for an upper room with a ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles bryancrawford54, 1 week ago | Read review
“Upper floor rooms could be better as ground floor rooms can be noisy from people above”
 of 5 bubbles RobinS17, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Definitely ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Panach6858, Oct 28, 2016 | Read review
“The court yard view was perfect for when you came out of your room you could see the Gulf. Beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles nitensatin, Oct 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay