Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway

Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway

Traveler (270)
Bar by thje pool
Pool & Beach (63)
Room & Suite (49)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#24 of 57 hotels in Sarasota
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.2
Value
4.0
Steps from Siesta Key Beach and close to Palm Arcade, Sarasota Pavilion, TPC Prestancia Golf and Social Club, Marie Selby Botanical Gardens, Skiers' Island, and The Ringling Museum of Art. Complimentary beach shuttle, outdoor pool, and poolside tiki bar.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Green
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

6600 S Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34231
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 73 out of 100
73
Bradenton Airport
Charlotte County Airport
40.3 mi
See all flights
1,964Review53Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 810
  • 684
  • 281
  • 81
  • 108
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
GreggWI33 wrote a review Apr 2023
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Hotel's Favorite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for a week at hotel. Conveniently located 1 mile from beach, with two very good restaurants basically in the parking lot. Free breakfast was above average with many choices. Standard hotel room, clean and no issues. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Keily Brown, General Manager at Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway
Responded Apr 14, 2023
Hi GreggWI33! Thanks for the glowing review. We can't wait to see you next time!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travel4Fun1979 wrote a review Jan 2020
Rockford, Illinois
3.0 of 5 bubbles
There were ants in our room, the microwave didn't work, the refrigerator barely worked, the breakfast was low quality. We were given a handicap room although we are not handicap (maybe last room available?) and there was dried poop smeared on the side of the toilet bowl.
Johnny free ride services this hotel to Siesta Key, but Uber is only $7 we stayed here for the location close enough to Siesta Key.
They have a tiki bar, so you cannot bring any drinks, alcoholic or not, into their pool area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SiestaHotelMgr, Owner at Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway
Responded Feb 3, 2020
Travel4Fun1979- Since you have opted to discuss issues never brought to our attention while you were staying with us here online, we must have the opportunity to respond. Any problems that occur with a room, regardless of the issue, is always handled expediently by staff during your stay and has the very best opportunity of being resolved. Waiting until after you depart property makes anyone wonder why you would wait to advise and complain, particularly to the extent of working amenities. You reserved a handicapped guest room and were therefore assigned to one. We cannot inquire about the detail as to why you selected a handicapped/mobility accessible guest room. Johnny's Original Free Rides is a complimentary shuttle service - why wouldn't you take that opportunity instead? Again, we must wonder about your intentions with this sort of a review, particularly since our breakfast is one of the highest rated amenities for our property.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ross p wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This property saved our short vacation. My wife and I along with our two teenage boys traveled to Sarasota for a 4 day visit. Our trip was effectively a last minute getaway to spend some time with close relatives. We had little time to plan our stay. Our initial night in Sarasota was spent in a “suite” type of hotel that was wholly inadequate and had been advertised in a somewhat less than accurate fashion. We needed a change of hotel for the remaining three nights of our gets away.

It was not easy to find adequate lodging during the holiday week that had enough space for our family. Fortunately the Best Western had a family suite available for an acceptable price. We were happy with our three night stay at this property.

The suite consists of two adjoining standard motel rooms, one with a king bed and the other with two double beds. Each room has a bathroom and a large sized “mini fridge”. The rooms were clean and comfortable.

This motel looks like an older, standard Best Western on par with a “motor coach inn” property that was common when I was growing up in the 1970’s and 80’s. The physical structure is a bit worn down and the property is by no means luxurious, though the staff is helpful and friendly.

The location is great as the property sits at the entry point to Siesta Key on Stickney Point Road and Tamiami Trail (US 41).

For a short stay in a non luxury, no frills hotel I recommend this property.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from britneys614, Front Office Manager at Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway
Responded Jan 2, 2020
RosspG7267VP, Thanks so much for you review. We really appreciate you taking the time to rate us. We look forward to hosting you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
s-whitegogo wrote a review Jan 2020
Bellingham, Washington
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is a normal hotel room nothing special. A room is a standard queen room with small fridge, microwave, desk and a small safe (actually quite roomy). The room was some what clean (the carpet is due for cleaning, the vent in the bathroom is dirty, the shower curtain had blood spots). The towels are clean and seem pretty new. The heated pool area is good with small hot tub (pool towel is provided). There is a bar by the pool and they have music on weekend. The breakfast is standard (egg, sausage, biscuit and gravy, muffins, bread, ceros, pancake, etc.). Coffee is decent and they have juice and milk. The staff is friendly. I would give this 4 stars overall if the house keeping is a little better.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from britneys614, Front Office Manager at Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway
Responded Jan 23, 2020
S-Whitegogo- Thanks so much for the awesome review. We appreciate the feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jillwhitehead wrote a review Mar 2022
Hackettstown, New Jersey
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a 5 night stay and totally enjoyed our visit. The staff was friendly and informative. A hot breakfast was available daily and it was delicious. The pool was large and accommodated a full hotel of guests. Clean towels were available daily and the pool was kept at a comfortable 87 degrees Fahrenheit. The hotel is conveniently located just a short drive to the beach. It is also a great location near shopping and a wealth of great restaurants and dining options. Our only issue was the cleaning person for our room did the minimum daily. Our beds were made and our trash cans were removed but fresh towels were laid on our bed daily instead of being hung on the towel rack in the bathroom. We would definitely stay again. In addition there is a bar by the pool area and there is live entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katrina Swaney, General Manager at Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway
Responded Apr 4, 2022
jillwhitehead-Thank you for your 5-star review and we are glad we were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you so much for the wonderful compliment regarding our staff. These are shared with staff on a regular basis and help us to maintain a higher level of service. Please remember to visit us in the future if you return to Sarasota/Siesta Key.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bill McCarty wrote a review Mar 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Regretfully, we chose this hotel not only for its location but also because the Best Western chain has received positive reviews for its policies during the COVID pandemic. The BW website makes it clear that BW hotel employees will wear PPE. Both at our 3/7/21 check-in and our checkout the next morning, the person waiting on us behind the desk in the enclosed lobby was not wearing anything on her/his face. When I inquired with the employee at checkout, he said something about the law not requiring it and that the hotel is separately owned. So far BW corporate has not explained to me how a particular franchisee can ignore brand requirements. In any event, if you care about your health, beware!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tommy Muecke, Guest Services / Front Office at Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway
Responded Mar 9, 2021
We apologize for your experience. At this time Florida does not have a statewide mask mandate. Our front desk is set up with tables to provide social distancing at all times.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RPressley2014 wrote a review Jun 2021
Asheville, North Carolina
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our troubles started as soon as we checked in. We had booked a pool view room but were given a Parking Lot view. I asked the desk clerk (who was a real "SA") why, and he said it was because we used Booking.com and that is what they sent to the hotel. -- so that is what we were stuck with he said "you will have to take it up with Booking . Com". He also said that because of a staffing shortage, we would not receive daily room maintenance or be given clean towels daily, so if we wanted clean towels we would have to come to front desk everyday and ask for additional towels, When we got to our Parking lot view room I found that the coffee pot was not working. I took it down to the same desk agent who said "sorry. we have no more pots, and maintenance are gone. You will have to come back in the morning for a working pot.
The next morning I went to the front desk at 9:00 for the working coffee pot and clean towels, and was told they didn't have any towels and coffee pots were locked up, so I would have to come back later. It was at that time that we met the only person who was able to save the remainder of our vacation from it's disastrous beginning, the general manager, Kathy. Kathy bent over backwards to try to remedy the horrible start we had, which I attribute to ownership's directives just to try and save money. I have no way to know how much Kathy is paid, but ownership needs to at least DOUBLE it!!!
Besides all of the issues stated previously, the shower in our room would not drain and we ended up with close to 4" of dirty shower water... that is before Kathy got maintenance to remedy.
With the culmination of all of the issues we had during our first 24 hours, Kathy was able to move us to a better room, where we spent an uneventful 4 nights. She was truly a God Send.!!!
I would just recommend that you keep looking for a better place, and maybe ownership will finally get the message!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from M B, Owner at Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway
Responded Jun 22, 2021
RPressley2014 - We do appreciate reviews that tell the entire truth. Unfortunately, your experience does not properly reflect several issues that you encountered. Your reservation clearly states that you reserved a north side, parking lot view room at our property. That is confirmed in the 3rd party portal you used. That is the room type we reserved for you on the day of your arrival. 3rd party reservations cannot be handled by the hotel. That is an unfortunate fact. Your coffee maker was delivered the next day of your stay, to your room, when our maintenance team arrived. Complimentary coffee, however, is available in our lobby daily from 6 AM to 5 PM. Seems to me that due to your booking mistake for your room type, your interest was to belittle staff and even though our GM provided you with a POOL VIEW room for free, 4 nights of bliss according to you, you still wish to belittle ownership and staff for no apparent reason when all staff is trying to accommodate. For all of the above reasons, you would be better suited reviewing your reservations and giving praise when it is due rather than attempt to blame others of your mistake.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
howard k wrote a review Mar 2021
Louisville, Kentucky
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Management at this hotel (Tommy) was incompetent and rude. Instead of trying to problem solve he tries to humiliate guests. Tommy was inadequate in every aspect that we encountered such as check in, stopped up tub, and housekeeping issues. Every day we were there guests were in the lobby complaining about rooms not being properly cleaned and stocked.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Date of stay: March 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from M B, General Manager at Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway
Responded Mar 23, 2021
Howard K - We thank you for your review, but believe your perception is incorrect since I personally had to address you and your wife during your stay. Her behavior toward my staff at one point was incomprehensible, in our lobby, cursing staff. We were on the phone with our non-emergency police ready to escort you off of our property. Your room had a do not disturb displayed - although you wish to allude this fact, it was clearly posted on your door. Sometimes it is difficult to admit being wrong and just simpler to blame those around you. You were with us for 6 nights - if it was a terrible situation, why not check out?
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen M wrote a review Jul 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I are currently down here now in the Best Western Siesta Key. First I want to start by saying the hotel manager is a nice women most of this is out of her control because they are so under staffed.
1. Our first day - shower was dirty with hairs in it and dirty shower curtain not cleaned
2. There is NO MAID service at all!! You have to go down to the front desk to request toilet paper , towels etc and you have to return your towels. You have to throw out your own garbage !! It’s crazy.
3. Toilet got clogged every day after we went to bathroom!! Maintenance had to be called every day!! And we waited 30
minutes.
.My husband had to owe so badly he peed outside ! I can’t make this up !!
4. They deceive customers by false advertising. They do not clean , daily nor do they have any Covid precautions in place.
5. And NO BREAKFAST!!! Just a bag with a frozen bagel and velveta cheese .
6. We were loyal Best Western guests and never ever got the $ 20 dollar a night gift card they advertised! Even though I made several calls to corporate about it. They just make excuses and say they emailed it to you when they did not.
7. Best Western siesta Key is the absolute worst hotel we have stayed in we travel at least three times a year. Next time will be an Airbnb
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: No maid service , no Covid precautions no breakfast, wait time for any request at least an hour
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cathie Jennings, General Manager at Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway
Responded Jul 22, 2021
We are sorry to see you had a rough time during your stay. We provide a Grab 'N Go breakfast on Tuesdays and Wednesdays that include a muffin (chocolate or banana), an orange, a breakfast bar, and a bottle of water. We don't provide frozen or dairy items in our bags. We have a hot served breakfast the rest of the week. We apologize that you didn't receive cleaning services during your stay and that you felt your room hadn't been cleaned. Our rooms are cleaned prior to any arrival, but due to the circumstances we discussed, cleaning during stays wasn't something we were able to provide. We are sorry that you had to wait for our maintenance to assist with your toilet. He was assisting another guest at the time. In reference to your Best Western gift cards, that is not something the hotel handles. You would need to speak to someone in the rewards department to assist you with getting the certificates.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
steven p wrote a review Jun 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed from 06/17 to 06/20. Had to stay an extra day because our flight was cancelled and luckily the hotel was able to accommodate us and we were able to pay to have an extra day added. The location is great, very close to the Siesta Key beach which is one of the best beaches I've visited. Also, the free shuttle that the hotel offers is convenient since you just need to tip the driver, cheaper than uber. They didn't come in to do any cleaning of our room though while we were there so I think they may have been understaffed. However, what bumped up the experience more was the bartender at the hotel bar, she was extremely friendly and made some really good drinks!! Definitely recommend checking out the bar as it was one of the best parts.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cathie Jennings, General Manager at Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway
Responded Jun 23, 2021
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and took the time to write such a wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit and we will be sure to share your compliments with Alex, our bartender.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Susan G wrote a tip Jun 12
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"the pillows sucked"
Read full review
NAR wrote a tip Jun 1
Portland, Oregon42 contributions48 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Decide what amenities are important to you and choose a hotel accordingly"
Read full review
cakjr wrote a tip May 2024
5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The pool shady spots get crowded quickly."
Read full review
Lois M wrote a tip Mar 2024
Lee's Summit, Missouri163 contributions42 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Keep looking."
Read full review
302maym wrote a tip Jan 2024
South Bend, Indiana49 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do some research on traffic."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sarasota area.
PRICE RANGE
$126 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn express sarasota-siesta key area hotel sarasota, holiday inn sarasota, holiday inn express siesta key
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Holiday Inn Express
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSouthwest Gulf CoastSarasota
NUMBER OF ROOMS
132
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SPARK BY HILTON SARASOTA SIESTA KEY GATEWAY $114 ($̶1̶3̶6̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway
Which popular attractions are close to Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway?
Nearby attractions include Escape Room Sarasota (0.06 miles), Soprano's Social Club & Wine Bar (0.2 miles), and Scandinavian Gifts (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway?
Conveniently located restaurants include Abel's Ice Cream, Dutch Valley Restaurant, and LongHorn Steakhouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Historic Spanish Point Campus (4.4 miles) and Phillippi Estate Park (1.0 miles).
Is Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Sarasota HotelsSarasota Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SarasotaHotels near Spark by Hilton Sarasota Siesta Key Gateway
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars