We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coquina On The Beach

Traveler (161)
Pool & Beach (45)
Room & Suite (29)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Quaint, old-Florida style beachfront hotel on Lido beach, facing the Gulf of Mexico with studio and suite efficiencies. Nestled on beautiful Lido Key in Sarasota, FL, just minutes from renowned St. Armanda's Circle and Downtown Sarasota.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Heated pool
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Ocean View
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
57Somewhat walkable
Grade: 57 out of 100
28Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
8Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
Reviews & more
285Reviews
161Photos
13Q+A
88Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 124
  • 82
  • 42
  • 25
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Short 2 day visit for Thanksgiving holiday. Sent the kids to my sisters so we could have a couples getaway at the beach. Resort is somewhat dated. If you're like looking for top-of-the-line ritzy, this is not that place. Coquina on the Beach feels like a mom-and-pop run type of
Read more
Response from CoquinaGM, General Manager at Coquina On The Beach
Responded Nov 26, 2018
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coquina! We are an "Old Florida" hotel but pride ourselves in providing an exceptionally clean, quiet and quaint place to stay directly on Lido beach. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to having you back soon.
Read more
Well, it seemed expensive at $169 was too much for off season rates. Room was large, but floor was dirty, no complimentary shampoo or other hotel amenities such as coffee or mini bar. Kitchen stove was rusted and nasty. Concerns about gate to beach didn't lock automatically.
Read more
Response from CoquinaGM, General Manager at Coquina On The Beach
Responded Sep 20, 2018
We are trying to figure out what room you stayed in and when, because we cannot locate a past reservation or occupant with your name. There hasn't been a $169 room rate in house since Memorial Day. But we would sure love to be able to find the "rusted and nasty" stove. Also, we have shampoo, conditioner, toothpaste, toothbrush, coffee, charcoal, grilling utensils, irons, hairdryers and a whole slew of other items available at the front desk and all you had to do was ask. Now if you want a mini bar, you are going to have to stay at a much fancier establishment than ours. As far as the gate to the beach locking automatically, there are other access points to the beach that don't even have a gate. So we would recommend keeping an eye on your children if they are too young to roam freely. Good day
Read more
Have stayed at this establishment many times over the years while vacationing in Sarasota. One & two story buildings. If you are looking for a modern, flashy hotel, then this is not for you. It's clean, but dated (unless there has been a recent renovation). Each room has a
Read more
Response from CoquinaGM, General Manager at Coquina On The Beach
Responded Aug 13, 2018
Thank you for the review! We greatly appreciate your patronage over the years and look forward to having you back soon. We will continue to strive for perfection to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
Read more
There was not enough parking you didn't get any help from anyone the room was decent but like I said definitely not a 4-star hotel maybe a two and a half or 3 star they did not have an elevator and both of us were a little handicapped and we had to take the stairs the whole time
Read more
Response from CoquinaGM, General Manager at Coquina On The Beach
Responded Aug 8, 2018
Thank you for staying with us! We have one parking space per room, we brew fresh coffee in the lobby all day long, and we will gladly provide you as many towels as you need if you just ask. Glad you enjoyed your balcony:)
Read more
We visit in July 2018. We were very pleased with the service provided. The location looks much cleaner, we enjoyed very much. The most important in this place is to keep expectations aligned, it not a luxury hotel even thought process compare very much to other hotels in the
Read more
Response from CoquinaGM, General Manager at Coquina On The Beach
Responded Jul 30, 2018
Thank you for staying with us! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to having you back soon! The beach should be re-nourished at the end of the year and we are constantly upgrading furniture and appliances, so you should notice some more positive changes on your next visit. Cheers!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerPool & BeachRoom & SuiteFamily and Play Areas
Sarasota-2018
View from our balcony!
View from our balcony
Our kitchenette area, lol, its a bit lived in as you can all see, lol.
Sunset on Lido Key-7-8-10
PreviousNext
123456
Is the pool heated ? Planning a trip in February.
Yes, it is heated up to temps the mid-70s.
0 votes
I saw a lady with a small dog but they didn't walk around. She kept close to her beach chair. I'd check with the municipality.
0 votes
My review did not say that there was food and drinks near our room. I mentioned that there are grills outside to grill on however. St Armand's Circle has numerous restaurants only minutes away. The only negative about the entire area is that there is no convenience store nearby. Sorry for the delay in responding to your question. We are leaving in 5 days to return there for 3 weeks. I already know that Hurricane Harvey has taken some of the beach away.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there ice machine available on the property?
Absolutely.....never empty...take your bucket or cooler(s) and load up!!!
1 vote
Show all answers
Hello, Yes, your dog can sit with you on the beach as long as it is on a leash. There are restaurants within walking distance but unfortunately there are no grocery stores. The closest grocery store is 2 1/2 miles away. Yes your cat is also welcome.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"Request rooms closest to ocean."
"some pool view first floor have tile floors. these seem to be cleanner rooms."
"we had a room near the parking lot, this was ok for us because it was quiet."
"Best rooms are in poolside building with easy access to beach and pool"
"The rooms away from the beach might have a bit more privacy"
PreviousNext
12345618
PRICE RANGE
$160 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
coquina on the beach hotel sarasotacoquina on the beach sarasotacoquina beach sarasota
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSouthwest Gulf CoastSarasota
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing