We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Lantern Inn & Suites

Show Prices
#27 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Lantern Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 66: English reviews
france
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked tons of motels during this trip and expected to have the strict minimum. And while we had some really good surprises, this is by far the worst place I've stayed at. The hotel must have had some tornado problem or a renovation problem but there is a huge hole in the roof of the hotel. The room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank mckay_gunn
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel room was very nice. Had a big king size bed that was soo comfortable. HAs a small kitchen with sink, micro, coffee pot, and ref. Had a eating table and small living area. Bathtub was nice, hot water and nice water pressure. You can tell the hotel is going under renovations. There is an unfinished Tiki Bar by the... More 

Helpful?
Thank sugar51404
Hernando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We visited Sarasota for a few days, and stayed in another motel first. The A/C smell was so bad, that we found this place at 5am when we should have been sleeping. We found a review from someone who stayed here after an experience in another bad hotel, and we booked this place on their recommendation. The Lantern Inn was... More 

Helpful?
Thank FlMaryAnne
Level Contributor
105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I lived here with my husband back in 2013 before all the remodeling, and u still loved it. Very big spacious rooms, awesome pool, it feels like your at home. It feels like an actual apartment. Very very comfortable. Only thing I didn't like was the house keepers aggressive attitudes, loud noises in the morning. But I loved this place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Coryswife26
Ridderkerk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

Very nice hotel, rooms are very neat (i think they just refurbished) and are clean! WIFI is fast! The pool is nice, but it is a bit loud, so if you want quiet: ask to not be put at the poolside of the hotel. the staff is Very helpful and friendly. if you want you can use a BBQ outside... More 

Helpful?
Thank mennhage
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

After going to Knights Inn down the street and leaving that place due to the smell and Cockroaches, we found this place. So impressed with our entire experience, the rooms smelled great, the room was immaculate, AC worked great, NO Cockroaches, friendly staff, pool was great and clean. We'd Def come back to ONLY stay here, beach close by too.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Almasita B
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

Was in town for 7 nights for relocation. This place was perfect. The extras like a small kitchen and sitting area made our stay so comfortable. Above everything else the bed was comfy and the room new and clean. Love the fact the room floors were tiled. Much cleaner feel then nasty motel rug under your feet. The pool area... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine M
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

We ended in The Lantern as the last resource for Memorial Day weekend. We booked online without a credit card, which was weird and doubtful. When we arrive the front desk lady was waiting for us. She gave us a suite with stove and normal size fridge, not those little 3 feet we are use to see at big hotel... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank LydiaE4
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

Do not book with a mom a,,, they will mess up your booking and this hotel was absolutely uncompromising...lost all my money. A mo ma has non-English speaking people who are rude and indecipherable. The hotel was not as pictured, especially pool area. This is not an American company. In addition the front desk helpers do not speak English well... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Helpful?
Thank Omomoftwo
shelleybell1, Director of Sales at Lantern Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry you had a negative experience with Amoma.com. They are a third party reservation system. We do not contract with them. They purchase our rooms from another legitimate company and then re-sell them. We do not control how they portray the hotel or any booking restrictions they implement. Your purchase, payment, etc was all thru them - not... More 

Chardon, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

We stayed 3 nights. You can tell the owners and their staff are working hard to continue updating this property. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, The king suite had a couch, coffee table, full size refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot, along with extra counter space and a "kitchen type" sink. All we would have needed to do is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mad86131
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
3.1 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#24 of 46 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Sarasota
Ramada Sarasota
#38 of 46 in Sarasota
3.0 of 5 stars 873 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn North
Quality Inn North
#9 of 21 in Bradenton
4.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sarasota
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Sarasota
Sleep Inn Sarasota
#31 of 46 in Sarasota
3.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly renovated hotel located near beaches, shopping and dining - Spacious rooms with micro/fridge or efficiencies with mini kitchens - Tropical courtyard and swimming pool - Warm hospitality and great service - ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lantern Inn & Suites

Address: 7251 N Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34243-1404 (Formerly Suburban Extended Stay Sarasota)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Price Range: $64 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lantern Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Lantern Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Suburban Extended Stay Sarasota
Sarasota Extended Stay
Extended Stay Sarasota
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sarasota
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay