We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Save
Share
1111 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236-5594
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
21 people are viewing this hotel
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
RitzCarlton.com$339
Expedia.com$339
Priceline$339
Hotels.com$339
CheapTickets$339
Trip.com$391
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1156)
Room & Suite (357)
Pool & Beach (194)
Certificate of Excellence
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
Updated 06/29/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 60 hotels in Sarasota
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders Gold level
Experience a resort where the casual Gulf Coast lifestyle meets the sophisticated, cosmopolitan excitement of the city. Stay at The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota featuring exceptional dining, a luxurious spa, championship golf, exclusive access to The Beach Club on Lido Key nearby, lavish accommodations and sweeping bay and city views. The Ritz-Carlton Sarasota is a luxury hotel in Sarasota, Florida that provides guests with a relaxing escape from the everyday. While you're visiting, be sure to enjoy the sandy beaches recently named the 2017 "Best Beach in America."
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Poolside bar
Kids club
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Fax / photocopying
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
On-demand movies
Safe
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbor View
Family Resort
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
82Good for walkers
Grade: 82 out of 100
13Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2,660Reviews61Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,784
  • 485
  • 220
  • 99
  • 72
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
M2020 wrote a review Jul 2
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel is clearly understaffed and not being kept up with the pool and common spaces not being cleaned/maintained regularly. The general manager really needs to get in front of this or it will be a long summer. Where are the bellman and such? 488 employees were laid off after the hotel owners were pressured into returning $5+ million dollars in hardship federal government loan. Seems pretty apparent there is a direct correlation. Rates need to be adjusted to reflect service limitations that do not live up to brand standards.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Dave S wrote a review Jul 1
2 contributions2 helpful votes
I have stayed at this Ritz-Carlton many times over the years. The latest stay I waited 20 minutes for the valet to take my car, there was no bell man to be found everyone had to haul their own luggage. I stayed on the club level ($1,000.00 per night) There was only one person to care for everyone on the floor. The quality of the snacks was below average. It took a half hour to get a drink, I am very disappointed with the service, The pool area was not cleaned during my stay dirty towels and trash all around the grounds. I will say my room was clean along with the lounge downs stairs. The hotel did not have a concierge on staff or any transportation available. I stayed November 2019 same issues, the staff blamed it on being the slow season. I do not know what happened at this Ritz it used be top notch and I always enjoyed staying there, they must of had a management change. I will not stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from NRuit, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Valued Guest, Thank-you for your constructive feedback provided to us. I am very sorry we did not meet the fine standards of service you have come to enjoy and expect from our brand during your stay. As the General Manager I would really like the opportunity to speak with you and am looking forward to your response should you wish to discuss your experience further. Your loyalty is very important to us and we truly value your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future. Best wishes, Damien O'Riordan General Manager
Read more
kristin magolan wrote a review Jun 2020
Mukwonago, Wisconsin10 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Overpriced and understaffed...beautiful resort and Lori at the beach club was amazing. Beach club was breathtaking. Spa service was over priced and a tad run down...average at best and we are spa goers. Bellmen were overworked and we had to carry our own bags....I understand we are emerging from covid however for the price of this resort we shouldn’t have had to carry bags, chase buses to locations and spend quite a bit on uber. The restaurant was above average with limited service. The beach club is the saving grace of this resort except the restaurant at the beach club over priced and a la carte. Sit beach or poolside and enjoy Lori and her wonderful smile (you could see it behind the mask) she made the trip.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from NRuit, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Kcmag527, First and foremost I want to thank-you for taking the time to share your constructive comments with the Trip Advisor community regarding your experience as a guest. I am very sorry to hear the disappointments and service breakdowns you described and can assure you we are reviewing our systems and practices as we strive to continually improve our guest experience. While our apology at this time cannot undo the past our regret is sincere and our future will be guided by your comments. Your feedback is very valuable to us and you can be assured we truly do appreciate your candor. You and your company’s business and loyalty is very important to us and we hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort sometime in the future. Best wishes, Damien O’Riordan General Manager
Read more
davidsS1893ZD wrote a review Jun 2020
nashville, United States3 contributions2 helpful votes
I feel compelled to write this review because the change in service was so dramatic that I want to let others know what we experienced during our last (meaning “most recent” and “final”) visit to the Ritz Carlton Sarasota. For at least 6 years, my partner and I have been taking short vacations to the Ritz Carlton in Sarasota. We don’t live very far (3 hour drive), but have always felt that we were visiting shangri-la. We never worried about the cost of the hotel and simply enjoyed our stay. We always received the best service and treatment from everyone there. From the minute we drove up, the valet would take our car and grab our bags. By the time we moved a few feet to the front door, the bellman greeted us by name and opened the door. The front desk knew who we were by the time we got to check-in and the agent would hand us both a glass of champagne. For us, it was so nice to be treated like royalty even if just for a weekend. A few years ago, we discovered the club level and have since booked it on each stay even though the daily rate is anywhere between $700-$1000 per night. Yes, that is a lot of money for a regular room, but the club level service and amenities made us feel like the splurge was worth it. The club level offered an all day and night lounge area with unlimited hors d’oeuvres/alcohol/beverages/sweets with a killer view of the water. The Ritz property is beautiful and the design and decorations in the hotel are modern, yet classic. This Ritz faces the bay with a large pool and patio. It also offers a shuttle service to take any guest to its beach property about 5 miles away. We took advantage of that as well. And, at the beach club, the service remained spectacular. They would set us up with an umbrella, chairs and a bucket of ice cold water right at the ocean’s edge. Pure luxury! Now, this visit…..we came out of covid hiding to take a break at our favorite spot. When we arrived, the driveway was full of cars and they had one poor valet doing the work of 5. We were not offered any help with our bags, so we carried them in and there was no doorman to be seen. At the check-in desk, the staff was friendly, but offered no champagne. Our room was on the club level as was now our normal choice of rooms. The room rate was $800+ per night. When we got settled, we visited the club lounge. Everything was bare. There was very little food and there was only 1 server for about 8-10 guests. We then met up with friends who stayed there on our recommendation (they paid for a regular room at about $450). We asked for the hotel limo service (which had been available to all guests on every prior occasion) and we were told that there was none. We had to Uber it to the nearby restaurant. The next morning we decided to go for a walk. We went down to the pool area and we shocked to see empty cocktail glasses on several tables, empty plates, water bottles in the planters and dirty towels on the pool lounge chairs. None of this debris had been picked up from the evening before! It was unacceptably dirty and messy. I know people might say that the lack of service was caused by the virus and staffing issues. I would could see how that may be the case, except that the last time we stayed here was in September of 2019. We noticed then that the service level decreased and we wrote it off as an anomaly. We figured that things would straighten out and the hotel would get back to the standards it is known for. So, this time, the virus may have made the situation worse, but there were problems at this hotel way before the virus started. And, even if all the problems were caused by the virus situation, we should not have been charged full rack rate if the hotel was interested in being fair about what it could offer. So, the bottom line is that we won’t be staying at the Ritz Carlton Sarasota any more. We are not sure what is behind the change and suspect it may be new management, but whatever it is, this hotel does not live up to the Ritz Carlton standards.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Club level used to be great...still pricey ($800 per night) but not great anymore.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from NRuit, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
Responded 4 days ago
Dear DavidsS1893ZD, First and foremost I want to thank-you for taking the time to share your constructive comments with the Trip Advisor community regarding your experience as a valued guest. I am very sorry to hear the disappointments and service breakdowns you described and can assure you we are reviewing our systems and practices as we strive to continually improve our guest experience. While our apology at this time cannot undo the past our regret is sincere and our future will be guided by your comments. Your feedback is very valuable to us and you can be assured we truly do appreciate your candor. Your business and loyalty is very important to us and we hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort sometime in the future. Best wishes, Damien O’Riordan General Manager
Read more
Hayle Crutchfield wrote a review Jun 2020
Ocala, Florida37 contributions27 helpful votes
I was nervous to travel again with the world being forever changed. We needed a getaway that was just a drive away. The staff as always was amazing but best of all we felt safe and relaxed. Our server Jorge was very helpful and really made us feel at easy. Some of the services were understandably limited but overall we had a great weekend. Looking forward to returning in July.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$341 - $936 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the ritz-carlton, sarasota hotel sarasota, sarasota ritz carlton, ritz sarasota, ritz-carlton sarasota
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSouthwest Gulf CoastSarasota
NUMBER OF ROOMS
266
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed and, for featured or sponsored sort orders, partners’ payments may also influence the order of the accommodations listed.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
Which popular attractions are close to The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota?
Nearby attractions include Florida Studio Theatre (0.2 miles) and Central Broadway Park (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota?
Conveniently located restaurants include Toasted Mango, Jack Dusty, and Joey D's Chicago Style Eatery & Pizzeria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Does The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.5 miles away from the center of Sarasota.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.