We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Gulf Beach Resort Motel

Show Prices
#19 of 47 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Gulf Beach Resort Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 176: English reviews
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved our stay. On the white sugar sand beach, very nice to have a kitchen. Try to get a room as close as possible to the water. Very relaxing. This is not the 4 Seasons, nothing fancy but decent and clean and location, location, location at a great price point that makes a little getaway affordable - right on... More 

Helpful?
Thank HappyFloridaDancer
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Comfy and clean. Complaints: the second bed was right next to the air conditioner. Only one parking spot per room. Annoying but still worth it for the location and price wasnt bad. All and all great weekend.

Helpful?
Thank Redkitten88
Yateley, UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After the other locations on our holiday. This was the most "tired". We were with two unrelated teens, so we got adjoining rooms. Our room was a studio with a Murphy (pull down) bed. If I had checked this out more thoroughly before booking I probably wouldn't have booked it ... But actually it was very comfortable - but the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pete2306
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016

I reviewed the Gulf Beach Resort Motel last year and promised to go back again. So we did it again this year and had the same blast-from-the-past experience. Once again, this is the perfect place to stay if you want to experience an old Florida motel from the 1950's & 60's - not a luxury beach resort with cookie-cutter rooms... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rich S
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review

Welcome back! I'm so glad you did return to stay with us again and I appreciate that you took some time to write a review about your second experience. You were able to stay in a different room than your last visit and I am happy to hear that it was just as enjoyable for you. We do pride ourselves... More 

Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

My wife and I went for a weekend getaway. Friendly staff, great beach, and I am already planning our next trip! My wife loved the fact that the rooms are small and cozy and had everything you need! We recommend Gulf Beach Resort!

Helpful?
Thank AlyandJeff
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We are so happy that you chose us for your weekend getaway and are thrilled that you would recommend us to your friends and family. We look forward to having you return to visit with us again! More 

Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

Went down a month before we booked to check out the place and spoke to the lady at the front desk - we needed to book 7 rooms for a family event and she was very helpful in getting the rooms we needed - she wrote all this down for me and I told her when I got to Ft... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KKC2046
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I am sorry that you did not have a positive experience. Unfortunately, there seems to have been some miscommunication at the time you made your reservation. We already had an event scheduled for that weekend for quite some time and you... More 

Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

Let me first say there is nothing extravagant about this place but the place has this old Florida feel! From the front desk to the cleaning staff and maintenance the staff are wonderful and go out of their way to make your stay comfortable! And the location is prime, steps away from the beach, We loved this place! We will... More 

Helpful?
Thank jjtjet10
GulfBeachMotel, General Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review

We appreciate that you took the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am especially happy and proud to hear your comments about our staff. Everyone who works here takes pride in their work and their number one goal is to make sure that our guests are comfortable and enjoying their time with us. Our prime... More 

Interlachen, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great service and had everything we needed. The pictures online do not do this place justice. We had a Yankee Candle in our room. Cute wall art. Our own personal porch. Very nice bathroom with a medicine cabinet. We will return soon.

Helpful?
Thank HeatherDellinger
GulfBeachMotel, General Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to keep each unit with a kitchen as well stocked as possible and do our best to provide each guest with any supplies they may need. Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit with us and we look forward... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2016 via mobile

Staff is friendly and the place is located close to everything. We were able to walk to St Armand's and also had beach access with free chairs. The sign says apartments, but the owners rent them out. Every room has a different decor and set up depending on the owners preferences. I wouldn't say it's luxury by any means, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review

I appreciate your comments about our staff. They all take pride in their jobs and make every effort possible to make each guest's stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. We are unique in that each room is decorated differently which makes it possible to accommodate almost anyone's needs. It sounds like you enjoyed our beach and some of the... More 

Goshen, Indiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2016

On my first trip to Florida my friend wanted to treat me to a night on the Gulf so she brought me here. A rare find in these days of super resorts. Lovely,clean beach---we watched a wedding that took place about 50' away from us on the beach! The room we were in was nice and clean (a bit worn... More 

Helpful?
Thank debbwym
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review

It sounds like you enjoyed your first visit to Florida and Gulf Beach Resort Motel! We certainly appreciate all of your kind comments. Florida in general tends to be a busy area during peak season, however, Lido Key is probably the quietest island at that time of year. I would have to agree with you that traffic congestion can certainly... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 47 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 2,052 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#4 of 47 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,661 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#9 of 47 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located directly on Lido Beach in Sarasota, Florida. Private beach and heated pool. Most units have fully equipped kitchens and private screened in porches. Each unit is uniquely decorated and we offer a variety of choices to suit your needs. We are within walking distance of renowned St. Armand's Circle shopping and restaurant district. We are the perfect place for family and class reunions, weddings, family vacations or just to get away for some special time with each other. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gulf Beach Resort Motel

Address: 930 Benjamin Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236-2110
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Price Range: $83 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 49
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing