We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Art Ovation Hotel, Autograph Collection

1255 N Palm Ave, Sarasota, FL 34236-5603
Visit hotel website
Traveler (147)
Room & Suite (46)
Videos (1)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#13 of 57 hotels in Sarasota
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Located in Central Sarasota, just 350 feet from Sarasota Opera, Art Ovation Hotel, Autograph Collection features the Perspective Rooftop Pool Bar, Overture on-site restaurant, views of the city, a year-round outdoor pool and artful interactions not found anywhere else. Guests will find sketchbooks and coloring pencils, and a ukulele in their rooms. Local artists demonstrate their craft in our Artist’s Studio while guests look on. With on-site art installations, performances, and workshops, our guests are invited to interact and be part of the experience. Never static, always evolving, creativity is encouraged! Free shuttle service, 24-hour Front Desk and a gift shop allow guests to enjoy their stay. Popular for biking, guests have free use of bicycles. Nearby Circus Sarasota Big Top is 2 miles from Art Ovation Hotel and nearby St. Armands Circle is 2.4 miles away. Ringling College of Art and Design is less than 2 miles away. Sarasota Brandenton Airport is 4.3 miles away.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Room service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free parking
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Center with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Boutique
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
Hotel deals

Location

Full view
92Great for walkers
Grade: 92 out of 100
55Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
26Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
205Reviews
5Q+A
19Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 133
  • 33
  • 20
  • 13
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Just stayed one night here. In downtown Sarasota with ability to get to the beach(I didn’t go), a roof top pool with bar and lots of art! The rooms were nicely appointed with art projects and a musical instrument in the room. Haven’t been to Sarasota before and was pleased by its downtown, restaurants, shops, theaters and so much to do very close!
Read more
We just spent two nights here while taking our teenage daughter to a summer college program. The hotel is sleek and new, with comfortable rooms, which include a ukulele and a sketchbook, great for all the artists out there. The food was good. Our only problem, and it was a big one, came on out second night. My wife and I wanted to take our younger daughter to the roof deck to see the sunset. I realize that there is a bar up there, as well as the pool. Apparently there was a private party going on that was just winding down. As we walked out the doors onto the deck, we were greeted by the smell of vomit coming from... somewhere. The party could only be defined as "raunchy." As we went over to the wall to watch the sunset and not see everything else, we notice five police cars down below, outside the hotel. One guy was being questioned, one guy was in handcuffs. This was a direct result of the rooftop party. The pool was pretty, but after what we saw on the deck, I wouldn't put a toe in that water. As we were leaving the next morning, we ran into another couple around our age (early 40s) who had also witnessed the previous night's events. The husband mentioned that while he was up on the roof deck, he got a very thorough and unsolicited twerking lesson. I don't even know if the party-goers were guests of the hotel, but they should be ashamed at allowing this kind of behavior at their establishment. On another note, while I was in the lobby, I noticed a rather agitated elderly woman... apparently the valet guys had LOST her car keys! A pretty hotel, but clearly with some things to figure out.
Read more
Have stayed here about 7 times since it opened and totally enjoy it every time. Friendly staff, spacious comfortable rooms . Good breakfast, friendly bar, rooftop bar and small pool in nice weather. Enjoy the art installations and jazz music, home away from home . Really centrally located .can walk to restaurants etc.
Read more
Response from MatthewS6125, General Manager at Art Ovation Hotel, Autograph Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Susan, Thank you for your repeat and loyal business! Its very much appreciated and look forward to seeing you soon! Sincerely, Matthew Simone General Manager
Read more
This month I attended a catered affair at this new hotel and was greatly disappointed by the lunch served. A tiny salad in a taco bowl with 3 overcooked and salty shrimps, others at my table had slices of chicken breast which were dry. The service was extremely slow, and the rich chocolate dessert had been placed at the tables before we entered the dining room (never seen this done before). I expected more from this new Marriott hotel. I commented about this to a neighbor who had not attended this catered affair and she mentioned having lunch in the hotel restaurant and her feedback was negative. However, the art exhibits were interesting as was the knowledgable tour guide, a young lady who had obviously done her homework. Art Ovation needs to focus on improving their food and their banqueting skills.
Read more
Response from MatthewS6125, General Manager at Art Ovation Hotel, Autograph Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Pura_vida_duo, Please accept my apologies for your disappointing lunch experience. I am happy to see that you enjoyed the artwork in the hotel. I have sent a private message to your account so I may follow up with you personally. Sincerely, Matthew Simone General Manager
Read more
This really is a great hotel. It is in a perfect location in the center of Sarasota, close to shops and restaurants Very warm welcome at reception and loved the art displayed all over the hotel. Loved the quirky touches in the room. Very comfortable bed. Thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast the following morning. We will definitely be back.
Read more
Response from MatthewS6125, General Manager at Art Ovation Hotel, Autograph Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Heather6, Thank you for the excellent review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and the amenities in the guestroom. We look forward to seeing you again! Sincerely, Matthew Simone, General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$164 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSouthwest Gulf CoastSarasota
NUMBER OF ROOMS
162
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing