We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 219: English reviews
Whitehall, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

Tropical Winds is a nice quiet spot to enjoy a beautiful beach. The staff was wonderful, very friendly and accommodating. When we travel we travel with our pet cockatoo, so it is nice to find a pet friendly hotel that accommodates more than dogs. Elsie is a delightful young woman and our room was nice. We stayed in a cottage... More 

Helpful?
Thank Donna L
CherylLawrence, General Manager at Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Elsie is a great addition to our staff. She truly cares about the guests and it shows. We have updated all of our beach efficiency's and the cottages are the next on our agenda. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next stay with... More 

Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2016

If you are looking for a modern hotel with all the amenities and a bustling rowdy beach scene...Tropical Winds is not your place. If you want a quaint small (mostly quiet) motel with a great beach this is it. The location is just far enough away to lose the crowds but close enough to restaurants, shopping etc.The managers Cheryl and... More 

Helpful?
Thank dave-gwen801
CherylLawrence, General Manager at Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

It was great having you spend time with us at Tropical Winds! We are glad your vacation was so enjoyable. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review! Hopefully, we will see you again in the near future! Sincerely, Cheryl & Luke Lawrence Innkeepers More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

Had a wonderful stay here, great laid back community and owners. Our beach cottage was a short walks away from the beach but close enough to hear the gentle sea breezes rolling in. My only complaint was the beds were a little uncomfortable and the window shaker AC unit kept abruptly turning on and off throughout the night.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachella001
CherylLawrence, Manager at Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We look forward to your next stay. We appreciate all feedback! We are working on the mattresses. We will certainly look into the air conditioner! We do listen to your feedback! Sincerely, Cheryl & Luke Lawrence Innkeepers More 

Dunlap, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

We had a delayed trip due to a family situation. Tropical Winds management was wonderful about allowing us to bump our vacation back a couple months with no loss in deposited funds, despite very little advance warning. We had one of the cabins set back from the beach a hundred yards or so, Note that the cabins are older but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stormshine
CherylLawrence, General Manager at Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind response! We enjoyed having you stay with us again! We are happy everything worked out! We hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Cheryl & Luke Lawrence Innkeepers More 

Port Saint Lucie, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016

My husband and I recently stayed at Tropical Winds for our anniversary. Our efficiency was so cute and clean! It was decorated with a beach feel to it! The proximity to the beach was awesome. The beach was secluded and the shelling was great. The managers Cheryl & Luke went out of their way to make us feel like we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
Management response:

Thank you Cindy for your kind review! We really enjoyed having you and your husband stay with us! The bike ride through the Ding Darling is a must on Sanibel! We hope you make Tropical Winds your anniversary destination always! Once again, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay with us! Sincerely, Cheryl & Luke Lawrence... More 

Oxford, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016

My sisters and I recently stayed at Tropical Winds for our annual sister’s getaway. Our efficiency was so adorable! The beach was just a short walk through the dunes. We felt like we had the beach to ourselves. The shelling was incredible! Upon arrival, we were greeted by the managers Cheryl & Luke. After a long drive and flight they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Diane L
Management response:

Thank you Diane for your kind review! We appreciate any and all feedback. It was our pleasure to have you and your sisters stay with us. We enjoyed meeting all of you. We certainly hope that you will make Tropical Winds your sisters get away in the future. Hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Cheryl & Luke Lawrence Innkeepers More 

Coconut Creek, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016 via mobile

I have a confirmed, paid reservation for the Easter weekend from months ago but they cancelled it with no warning. Luckily my husband noticed a partial refund on our card last night so I called to inquire. Now they say too bad no room for us! I now have out of state teens coming in for spring break with no... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Listen2U
Management response:

We received your cancellation on March 8th, 2016. We immediately sent you a cancellation e mail and processed your refund as per our policy. We did not hear from you until March 11, 2016. If we had been informed immediately this would not have happened. Unfortunately, the room had been re booked through a third party booking agent as we... More 

Riverview, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2016

We stayed here with my brother and his wife for one night in the 2 room Unit. It was very clean and the location was great! We had a great time and found a lot of shells. The only issue was the beds. They need new mattresses

Helpful?
2 Thank micbeth1981
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your experience was! We are glad you enjoyed the shelling and time with your family! We will definately look into the beds in the room! We hopefully will see you again sometime soon! Sincerely, Cheryl & Luke Innkeepers More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2016

One of THE best locations in Sanibel because the beach is not overrun by people, even in season. We stayed there 3 nights this past February. There was plenty of space on the beach, you could get in a 2 or 3 mile walk too, nice and flat. The owners of Tropical Winds are very friendly and helpful. We forgot... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Babsbubble
Management response:

Thank you for your kind review. We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope you decide to stay with us in the near future! More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2016 via mobile

The rooms are awesome! Large and clean! It feels like you are at home. The staff was really nice! The only thing that we didn't appreciate was the check out time at 10 am. Basically when you are waking up when you are on vacations.... We arrived the evening before and it was raining, in the morning the sun was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lu_Mankel
Management response:

Thank you for your kind review. You can always check with us for a later departure. If we can accommodate you, we will certainly try! Next time you stay with us, we will do our best to give you a later departure! Also, we do encourage our guests who have to leave to spend the day on the beach on... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

350 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (155)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (186)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (27)
Viewed
Beach Unit (48)
Viewed
Cottage (61)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
5.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,629 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,417 reviews
3.2 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beachview Cottages
Beachview Cottages
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come experience Sanibel with the charm of Old Style Florida! Located on the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico, on the west end of the island, Tropical Winds is tucked away in a very secluded, private setting within a small residential neighborhood. Enjoy one of our beachfront or nearby cottages in our own tropical paradise! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages

Address: 4819 Tradewinds Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2605
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: $140 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Motel And Cottages
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Tropical Winds Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay