We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

West Wind Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
West Wind Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,417 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,346: English reviews
Miami
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location, great service, friendly staff, clean place, the only thing why i dont give a 5 is the beach, it wasnt as pretty as we though, but the ambience of the place is awesome. I would go back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yordan A
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Went for a weekend trip and loved it! The views were beautiful views. The pool was nice and heated. And the room was lovely- nice decor and a super clean bathroom. Everything was perfect! It's a great place to stay for a quiet getaway.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jfrede_616544
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I love the West Wind!! I was not impressed with the restaurant our order was wrong 2 out of 4 times the Eggs Benedict was overcooked and that was only breakfast and one of the staff members was very rude.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 575robinf
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and restaurant. Thank you very much for being very honest and straightforward with your comments. While we certainly regret the fact that the food served to you did not meet our usual standards, we also appreciate the opportunity you have given us to improve. Please accept our sincerest apologies. I... More 

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Spent a weekend night here with a friend - very comfortable room - very clean, excellent A/C. All rooms seem to have a view of the pool. Wheelchair friendly. The front desk staff was as nice as could possibly be. Very nice pool with an excellent snack bar - catered by the very excellent Normandie Restaurant on the premises. A... More 

Helpful?
Thank TourProDon
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It was our first trip to Sanibel. The special occasion was our 47th Anniversary. After reading the reviews, I chose the West Wind Inn. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room with patio was a perfect location for a short walk to both the pool and the beach. The first afternoon we were there, I walked the property... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mustangs02
Fort Myers Beach
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

reservations problems still not resolved. refund owed. canceled a previous reservation two weeks ago. still waiting for reversal of charges. Was forced to dispute charges thru my credit card company.!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank alfonzob736
Coral Springs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After booking an ocean front room, we got an email an hour before checking in asking when and if we were arriving. We ended up with a room without any ocean view as promised. Only a view of the pool and trees, no ocean.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marc T
General-Manager-WWI, General Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review

Dear Marc T, Thank you for your recent stay and review of the West Wind Inn. Please reach out to me directly to discuss your room issue complaint as I have no record of a Marc T staying at the hotel within the last 6 months. I can be reached at (239) 472-1541. Thank you again for your recent stay... More 

Tampa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I liked that our room had a refrigerator, stove and microwave. We were able to buy some drinks for the evening. The restaurant had a great toasted cheese sandwich. Wish we could have stayed longer. Although the hotel looks older from the roadside, the rooms were all refurbished and nice.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank janetrB5556NY
Orange City
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Not impressed with the guestrooms. And excuse that beach rooms are always moldy is just that, an excuse. There is technology to counter the mold and dampness in these rooms. The Normandie food was good but expensive.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank B8478JIlindam
General-Manager-WWI, General Manager at West Wind Inn, responded to this review

Dear B8478JIlindam, Thank you for your recent stay and review of the West Wind Inn. I am concerned about your complaints during your stay. Please reach out to me at (239) 472-1541 so that I may find out what room you were so that I can ensure the issue is fixed. Thank you again for your review and I hope... More 

Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our experience was great from start to finish, loved the Gulf view! This location is perfect if you want a quiet, secluded get away, which we did. Very clean, very nice, comfortable rooms. Pool area was so much fun, shuffle board, corn hole game, all on the beach. What a great weekend experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 121terrim
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,023 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (492)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (95)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (114)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (67)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Other (148)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (482)
Viewed
Amenities (50)
Viewed
Beach (16)
Viewed
Gulf Front Studio (71)
Viewed
Gulf View Guest Room (57)
Viewed
One Bedroom Gulf View Suite (66)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (106)
Viewed
Pool (43)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Splash Pool (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
3.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,629 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
4.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachview Cottages
Beachview Cottages
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
West Wind Inn is a peaceful beach-front resort on 500 feet of shelling beach. Choice of rooms includes standard guest rooms with garden or Gulf views; and guest rooms with kitchenettes, with garden or Gulf views. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner at restaurant, Normandie ; or go casual with food and drinks at our Upper Deck Poolside Bar. Swim, shell and stroll our endless beach. Do laps in our large heated pool; relax at our poolside bar and umbrella-shaded tables and chairs. Play tennis and shuffleboard or venture off-site. Sanibel Island is home to world-famous Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge, outdoor recreation, theatrical venues, shopping, dining and historical attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about West Wind Inn

Address: 3345 West Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5501
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: $148 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Wind Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your West Wind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Wind Hotel Sanibel Island
West Wind Sanibel Island
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay