We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sanibel Inn

2.5 miles from Sanibel Island center
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6994
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,127: English reviews
Start your review of Sanibel Inn
 Click to rate
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I had trouble finding details about these condo type accommodations before we left so I thought I'd post some photos. (There were also 2 bathrooms and 2 bedrooms) The condo was nice and spacious, beautiful view and great screened in porch. Well stocked kitchen, with a washer and dryer! The only drawback was the pullout sofa, which wasn't too much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laulipop
New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

So we pull into what is basically a low rise motel type facility charging hi rise 4 star prices. The room we go into is smells like mildew and everything is damp, the bedding, everthing, my sneakers are sticking to the carpet. Because the picture of the room show wood floors we ask to see another room like the ones...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scott d
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewed 1 week ago

Dated 2 bedroom condo with beautiful screened in porch. Adequate rooms, but don't forget to bring all of your own food, because the restaurant was closed due to "changing hands drama", as I was told. Good family place, but I didn't bring them, so there was a lot of screaming kids at the pool who could be heard clearly all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Afraidt0fly
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Afraodt0fly, Thank you for sharing your impressions of your visit. I'm so sorry that you were disappointed with a few aspects of the experience. I'm sorry you were disappointed that one of our two restaurants is currently closed for renovation but I sincerely hope you were able to enjoy a meal at our brand-new pool bar and restaurant, Island...

NYC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We got here at 1pm Admittedly early. But the couple in front of us got a room right away. We were told that check in isn't until4 pm and literally, that was true. We sat there while another couple got their room but the front desk reminded us that check in wasn't until 4 pm I will never stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maggievan
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Maggievan, I'm so sorry we let you down and were unable to get you into your room when you arrived early. It's important to me that our teams does everything they can to get our guests' visits off to a great start but at times, due to the multiple rooms types we have available, the condition of our rooms...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here with my wife and daughters and all had a great time. The location is perfect. They provide kayaks and long board. The sea shelling is world class. Recommended. There is a good place for breakfast, and they rent bicycles which is perfect for cruising the island.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dylan10101
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dylan, I'm glad to hear you had such a great stay! We appreciate your recommending the Sanibel Inn to other travelers, and your very kind comments regarding the service our staff provided is very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again very soon! Sincerely, Bill Wellman General Manager bwellman@theinnsofsanibel.com 239-472-3181

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Sanibel Inn room that we had was fine. The facilities on offer are good, things such as kayaks, paddle boards, sun beds and parasols, bikes and reduced cost access to the local golf course which has a driving range. But there is an obligatory daily resort charge of around $25 levied whether or not you use the facilities. That's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raymail1080
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Best vacation Ever😉we enjoyed a very plesant stay at Sanibal Inn Great service all over, the Beach is Great, the sonrise i beautiful, the Nature is stunning, rent a bike for free, and see the Great Island.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan N
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jan, We always seek to provide a very memorable experience but it's great to hear we exceeded your expectations and provided your best vacation ever! Your nice review is sincerely appreciated and I will be sure to pass your compliments to our staff for the service they provided during your stay. We hope you'll make the Sanibel Inn your...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have stayed at the Sanibel Inn for 6 years. Including this year. However, we are very disappointed in the new cleaning staff as to previous years. We either did not get packets of regular coffee or if we did it was for 4 cups not a full pot. Had to go to front desk for more paper towel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Laura J, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I appreciate the very positive experiences you had with our "happy employees" and the other improvements you mentioned and I'm glad you had a great experience, overall. Please accept my apologies for the extra effort you had to go to in order to replenish some...

upstate New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked a room at this little resort for two nights hoping that it would be easier than having to find a restaurant for lunch or breakfast as there was one on site. We were a little disappointed that the onsite restaurant was closed for some reason (and in the middle of the season too) but we were able to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pathomer19
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear patomer19, Thank you for sharing your impressions. I'm glad you had a good visit overall, and apologize that you may not have been informed of the temporary closing of our full-service restaurant upon your arrival but I do hope you had an opportunity to enjoy our new Island Time poolside bar and grill during your stay. We appreciate all...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place is where you would go for relaxation island style. The Inn was cozy. It was a cottage just steps from the beach with a kitchenette. So you can go and get food on the other side of the bridge at, Walmart, and bring it in to cook. If not the island has many unique dining but be prepared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
Bill W, General Manager at Sanibel Inn, responded to this review

Dear Marie, You have described the essence of a perfect stay on Sanibel Island! We're honored to have had the opportunity to host your visit and appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. Please let us know what we can do to make your next visit with us even more memorable! Sincerely, Bill Wellman General...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

982 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (488)
Viewed
Room/Suite (93)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (95)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (163)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (465)
Viewed
1-Bedroom Suite (77)
Viewed
2-Bedroom Condo (135)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Beach (42)
Viewed
Pool (43)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Standard Room (61)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,996 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,204 reviews
4.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,532 reviews
4.0 mi away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Immerse yourself in nature at Sanibel Inn. The Inn offers a wide variety of accommodations and amenities surrounded by beautiful gardens and tropical palms. Come to Sanibel Inn to discover why Sanibel Island was just ranked #1 Favorite Worldwide Destination by Arthur Frommer and #5 Top US Beach by Trip Advisor. Just like the tropical flowers in the gardens, Sanibel Inn reflects the colors of the island. From the brightly painted exteriors to the warm soothing interiors of the guestrooms and suites, Sanibel Inn provides a relaxing and comfortable beach hideaway in one of the newly renovated guestrooms and one bedroom suites. Sanibel Inn also offers two-bedroom condominiums that are perfect for families or larger group of friends who wish to stay together. The Sea Star Café is located at the Inn and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner with traditional café fare with an island twist. Sanibel Island is all about nature. Discover nature up close by bike via the 22 miles of paved bike and walking trails. Visit J. N. Ding Darling National Wildlife Refuge to see a variety of migratory birds and explore an undeveloped mangrove ecosystem. Take a walk on the beaches and find rare shells such as the Junonia or 200 other species of shells. Take to the waters of the Gulf by kayak for a different point of view. Feel like a friendly tennis match, Sanibel Inn has a newly refurbished court on the grounds of the Inn or visit The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club. Sanibel Inn guests are also invited to golf at The Dunes where the greens wind through 75 acres of natural lake view fairways and Audubon Cooperative Society wetlands. After a morning of exploration, unwind by the pool and bathe in the warm Florida sun. Just steps away, the Beach Bar offers cool libations and poolside snacks. Sanibel Inn offers a gateway to the various activities on Sanibel and the perfect spot for a relaxing day in the sun. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sanibel Inn

Address: 937 E. Gulf Dr., Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6994
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: $208 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sanibel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Island Resort
Sanibel Inn Beach Resort
Sanibel Bed Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sanibel Island
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sanibel Inn staff and other travelers.
36 questions
Ask a question
Bolton, Connecticut
3 months ago
Louisville, Kentucky
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Saint Louis, Missouri
6 months ago

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from Sanibel Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“don't go, run”
 of 5 bubbles 364scottd364, 2 days ago | Read review
“water facing rooms....if you want less noise, away from the pool...”
 of 5 bubbles Afraidt0fly, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles pathomer19, 1 week ago | Read review
“rooms on upper floor are great for viewing sunrises”
 of 5 bubbles tandrews6, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Book a gulf front room, you won't be disappointed!”
 of 5 bubbles eday37, 2 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question