We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,575 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,529: English reviews
Englewood, Colorado
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great beach, very nice staff and nice pool. The negative was that upon arriving, our condo was dirty. It looked like the tile floors had not been mopped or vacuumed in quite awhile. The carpet in the bedrooms were filthy as well. You could tell that it had not been thoroughly cleaned in between guest stays. There were crumbs of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jill M
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jill M, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We are certainly happy to hear that you enjoyed the beach and pool and that our team was so nice, but sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced with the Housekeeping service. We would greatly appreciate you contacting our Director of Services, Julio Morales, at... More 

Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A great resort for family activity: kayaking, paddle boarding, shelling etc Nice and friendly staff. rooms are clean and nicely equipped for cooking in if you desire. However, most people here are on vacation and are not going to keep to their normal routine. I feel that the snack bar and concessions need to have later night time hours to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Carrie W
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Carrie W, Thank you for reviewing your time at the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa! We are so glad that your family enjoyed all of the activities we have to offer and that our team was so friendly. Our units do offer full sized well equipped kitchens which allow guests to stay in for meals, but as you said... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I visited Sundial over this past weekend and stayed for three nights in unit J-303. This unit was a one bedroom gulf view and was decently updated with granite countertops in the kitchen. We had everything we needed to enjoy our stay, my only complaint would be the housekeeping service. I'm not sure if they came on... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth P
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This condo resort village is very easy to love. The condo was super clean as was the entire resort area. The beach provided hours of shelling fun! The pool, cabana, beach chairs and umbrellas were all easy to access and plentiful! It is one of those places where I felt safe and comfortable. The staff was kind. We had an... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kim H
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kim H, Thank you for the great review! We are so glad you enjoyed your time on Sanibel Island with us. The Sundial beach is always full of shelling treasures for hours of fun in the sun as you said! We always want to make our guests feel safe and comfortable during their stay and are glad to hear... More 

Center Moriches, New York
Level Contributor
185 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a nice resort and spa everything about was good. The pool was very nice with Beach Volleyball right next to it, the beach was well maintained and the location was just so beautiful. The room was great, and the staff were very nice, helpful and always friendly

Helpful?
4 Thank Dillon X
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Dillon X, Thank you so much for the five star review, we are thrilled that you had the best vacation ever in Florida with us! We are always glad to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay from the beach to the pool and everything in between! We look forward to seeing you again soon for another great getaway!... More 

Corbin, Kentucky
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'll start with the positives: the pools were nice, grounds and beach maintained well, and staff were friendly. Now for the negatives: upon taking a shower on the first night, we noticed thee was black mold on the inside of the shower curtain. We called the front desk to ask for the curtain to be changed. A shower curtain was... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank hrtaylor23
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear hrtaylor23, Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. While we are happy that you enjoyed the property and our team was friendly, the rest of the items mentioned are certainly unacceptable. We sincerely apologize for these issues and would greatly appreciate you calling our Director of Services, Julio Morales, at 239.395.7231 to further discuss your stay. Phillip... More 

Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this through Royal Shell Vacations. We were very pleased with our stay. Royal Shell Vacations were very accommodating. One negative was that we found out later that we couldn't book amenities at Sundial because we didn't book through Sundial. The room was great and the beach location wonderful.

Helpful?
2 Thank TMACSTYLE
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear TMACSTYLE, Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay through Royal Shell Vacations. Next time be sure to book directly through the Resort in order to have access to all of our wonderful amenities. We look forward to seeing you soon for another great stay on Sanibel! Phillip Starling General Manager More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really great place to stay! Walk on the path right to the beach! The pool is huge. Beach Volleyball right next to the pool. The tiki bar is great, lots of seats too. The lunch from the bar is great. Breakfast inside or outside dinning. Freshly made omelettes. Your choice of addings. The one bad thing is we ran out... More 

Helpful?
Thank LovetovacationYay
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear LovetovacationYay, Thank you for the five star review! We are so happy to hear you had such a great stay with us and enjoyed our beach, pool, beach volleyball, and variety of restaurant options! We do apologize that you had to wait for toilet paper replenishment, we will be sure to again remind our team that guests requests need... More 

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this 'hotel' for a week of relaxation after a week at Disney. We were travelling for my mothers 60th and had fairly high hopes. These were rapidly dashed when we drove up to the property. It was sold to us as a hotel but it is clear a series of apartment blocks with a central building. The buildings... More 

Helpful?
Thank paddymedic
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear paddymedic, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Our Resort is a condo resort, this does mean our rooms are privately owned condos that we manage. With that, we do require the units to be held to high standards in terms of decor and overall condition. We do apologize that this was not clearly communicated to... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The property was beautifully landscaped and steps from the beach. We loved to have our morning coffee on the screened in porch of our condo. The condo was spacious and well appointed. The staff were very service oriented. Having the Baileys Store on property was a plus. Loved our vacation at this resort.

Helpful?
2 Thank Melinda N
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Melinda N, Thank you so much for the five star review! Coffee on the lanai off one of our spacious condos is always a great way to start the day! We are glad you noticed our team's commitment to providing great service and appreciate your recognition. They work extremely hard to give our guests the best possible experience. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,059 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (374)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (83)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (130)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (661)
Viewed
Amenities (184)
Viewed
Beach (41)
Viewed
One Bedroom Coastal Apartment (114)
Viewed
Pool (32)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Coastal Apartment (187)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,338 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sanibel Island's most luxurious resort has just completed a multi-million dollar renovation. Voted "BEST FULL SERVICE RESORT" three years in a row, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa is the centerpiece of this unique barrier island off the southwest coast of Florida. Sanibel is two-thirds nature preserve providing visitors with an experience of Florida the way it used to be. Sanibel Island is a natural playground where you can feel the white sand beach between your toes, take a refreshing swim in our blue-green waters of the Gulf of Mexico or one of Sundial's five pools and bike the miles of paved paths around the island. The Resort offers a wide array of activities and amenities for all ages including swimming in 5 heated pools, HydroGrid tennis courts, cabanas, kayaks, paddle boarding, bike tours, golf, organized activities, marketplace, spa and sea school. One,two and three bedroom residences feature options for views, amenities and the conveniences of home in a tranquil, tropical setting. These Residences offer a full kitchen with housewares, living/dining area, full baths and ample space that is ideal for couples or larger families. Best of all, Sanibel's pristine shell-dotted beaches are just steps away. Voted Best Waterfront Dining in Southwest Florida, the resort's restaurants offer indoor and outdoor dining options and delicious menu selections. Look forward to an authentic experience as your dinner is artfully prepared right before your eyes at Shima Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, the area's only Japanese steakhouse. Sea Breeze Cafe offers casual dining and local, fresh ingredients with a true Sanibel Island tropical flair over looking the Gulf of Mexico. You will also enjoy the tiki-style poolside eatery, Turtle's Pool & Beach Bar, serving up delicious signature drinks and dishes. Slice of Paradice provides the perfect poolside venue for tasty treats such as pizza, ice-cream, hotdogs and salads- perfect for beach-goers and sunset strollers. A daily resort fee includes the use of beach umbrellas and chairs, beach towels, kayaks, paddleboards, bicycles, beach volleyball, fitness center, wifi, organized activities and tennis court access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6521
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: $195 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundial Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Sundial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Beach And Golf Resort
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel Sanibel Island
Sundial Beach Hotel
Sundial Beach Resort
Sundial Beach Sanibel Island
Sundial Sanibel Island
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay