We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6521
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,573 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,527: English reviews
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was a mini vacation for my husband and me. Our condo was very clean, nicely decorated and quiet. We had a "partial gulf view" which was very nice. It was a short stroll to the beach where we collected various shells. We spent. Lot of time at the pool, relaxing and reading with an occasional adult beverage. Special recognition... More 

Helpful?
Thank damily1126
Raymore, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My room was great. The grandkids (and I) loved the shelling. The resort is well kept and offers good food choices. I wish the activities for children were less expensive when you have four children to pay for. Great location on the beach and the salt water pools were refreshing in the evenings. We want to come back next year.

Helpful?
2 Thank 740donnarc
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our family of 4 stayed at the resort for 4 nights. We received warm welcome from Josh at Registration Desk. Josh let us checked in early. We booked 2 bedrooms beach front condo directly with the resort. We received free complement for 4 Dolphin Sunset tour ($30. each), 2 umbrellas and chairs each days on the beach($40 at similar condo... More 

Helpful?
Thank lenadn
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear lenadn, Thank you so much for the five star review! We are thrilled to hear your family had such an amazing vacation with us! Josh is certainly one of our many service superstars, we are glad to hear he took such great care of you. We are also glad to hear you took advantage of one of our awesome... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice place it had everthing we needed as a family. The ocean view was beautiful. The main issue I had was the unit could have been much cleaner. When my kid pulled open the sleeper couch there was still food all over it with ants in it. The toilets had a yellow rim to them. Also, upon checking in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Frank H
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Frank H, Thank you for reviewing your family vacation. We are certainly happy to hear we offered everything your family could need for a well deserved getaway and the beautiful view. However we sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered. If you could please contact Julio Morales, our Director of Services at 239.395.7231, we would greatly appreciate it in... More 

Weston, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The room had balls of hair in the bedroom, everything from the oven was dirty, forks dirty, the carpet is old and disgusting.We found popcorn under the sofas. Missing 2 sets of towels, they brought it and when they cleaned the room we were missing the same 2 sets. Asked for them and never came. Called in the morning and... More 

Helpful?
Thank joamena
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear joamena, Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We sincerely apologize about the issues you experienced and would greatly appreciate you calling Julio Morales, our Director of Services to further discuss the details of your stay. We take our guests' comments very seriously and want to be sure these items are promptly addressed. We look forward to... More 

Cannes, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location for this Sanibel resort. Rooms are 1 & 2 bedroom apartments with full kitchen and right on the water. Amenities include kayaking, paddle boarding, pool with kid's slide, biking, volleyball and, best of all, the beautiful beach. Family had a great experience, and did not want to leave.

Helpful?
3 Thank Oscar V
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Oscar V, Thank you for the perfect review! We are so glad you and your family enjoyed your visit with us on our beautiful island. We look forward to seeing you again soon for more fun in the sun! Phillip Starling General Manager More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

PROS: good for large groups needing to stay in the same apartment with some privacy. Fully equipped kitchen. On site amenities like restaurants and mini mart. Pizza order delivery to rooms. Activities included (beach chairs, umbrellas, kayaks, SUP and bicycles. Breakfast buffet is $15pp includes omelette and waffle station. CONS: Satellite TV goes in and out! So have a back... More 

Helpful?
Thank marleymarls
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear marleymarls, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and bring you experience to our attention. We would greatly appreciate discussing your visit in more details. Please call our Director of Services, Julio Morales, at 239.395.7231 at your earliest convenience. Phillip Starling General Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed in the L-Block of the Sundial resort a few weeks ago and the apartment we had was really nice, roomy and clean. All the staff members were really friendly and helpful. The snack food at the main pool is really good especially the Alligator gumbo and the chicken finger platter. Overall I can really recommend the Sundial Resort

Helpful?
2 Thank capojar
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear capojar, Thank you for taking the time to review your relaxing getaway! We are glad you enjoyed the spacious and clean unit and that our team was so friendly and helpful. The Alligator gumbo is quite tasty and the chicken fingers are always a hit! We appreciate you recommending our Resort and look forward to seeing you again soon.... More 

Englewood, Colorado
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great beach, very nice staff and nice pool. The negative was that upon arriving, our condo was dirty. It looked like the tile floors had not been mopped or vacuumed in quite awhile. The carpet in the bedrooms were filthy as well. You could tell that it had not been thoroughly cleaned in between guest stays. There were crumbs of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jill M
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jill M, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We are certainly happy to hear that you enjoyed the beach and pool and that our team was so nice, but sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced with the Housekeeping service. We would greatly appreciate you contacting our Director of Services, Julio Morales, at... More 

Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A great resort for family activity: kayaking, paddle boarding, shelling etc Nice and friendly staff. rooms are clean and nicely equipped for cooking in if you desire. However, most people here are on vacation and are not going to keep to their normal routine. I feel that the snack bar and concessions need to have later night time hours to... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Carrie W
PStarling, General Manager at Sundial Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Carrie W, Thank you for reviewing your time at the Sundial Beach Resort & Spa! We are so glad that your family enjoyed all of the activities we have to offer and that our team was so friendly. Our units do offer full sized well equipped kitchens which allow guests to stay in for meals, but as you said... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,059 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (374)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (83)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (130)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (661)
Viewed
Amenities (184)
Viewed
Beach (41)
Viewed
One Bedroom Coastal Apartment (114)
Viewed
Pool (32)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)
Viewed
Three Bedroom Coastal Apartment (187)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,101 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,332 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sanibel Island's most luxurious resort has just completed a multi-million dollar renovation. Voted "BEST FULL SERVICE RESORT" three years in a row, Sundial Beach Resort & Spa is the centerpiece of this unique barrier island off the southwest coast of Florida. Sanibel is two-thirds nature preserve providing visitors with an experience of Florida the way it used to be. Sanibel Island is a natural playground where you can feel the white sand beach between your toes, take a refreshing swim in our blue-green waters of the Gulf of Mexico or one of Sundial's five pools and bike the miles of paved paths around the island. The Resort offers a wide array of activities and amenities for all ages including swimming in 5 heated pools, HydroGrid tennis courts, cabanas, kayaks, paddle boarding, bike tours, golf, organized activities, marketplace, spa and sea school. One,two and three bedroom residences feature options for views, amenities and the conveniences of home in a tranquil, tropical setting. These Residences offer a full kitchen with housewares, living/dining area, full baths and ample space that is ideal for couples or larger families. Best of all, Sanibel's pristine shell-dotted beaches are just steps away. Voted Best Waterfront Dining in Southwest Florida, the resort's restaurants offer indoor and outdoor dining options and delicious menu selections. Look forward to an authentic experience as your dinner is artfully prepared right before your eyes at Shima Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, the area's only Japanese steakhouse. Sea Breeze Cafe offers casual dining and local, fresh ingredients with a true Sanibel Island tropical flair over looking the Gulf of Mexico. You will also enjoy the tiki-style poolside eatery, Turtle's Pool & Beach Bar, serving up delicious signature drinks and dishes. Slice of Paradice provides the perfect poolside venue for tasty treats such as pizza, ice-cream, hotdogs and salads- perfect for beach-goers and sunset strollers. A daily resort fee includes the use of beach umbrellas and chairs, beach towels, kayaks, paddleboards, bicycles, beach volleyball, fitness center, wifi, organized activities and tennis court access. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sundial Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 1451 Middle Gulf Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6521
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: $196 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sundial Beach Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Sundial Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundial Beach And Golf Resort
Sundial Beach & Golf Hotel Sanibel Island
Sundial Beach Hotel
Sundial Beach Resort
Sundial Beach Sanibel Island
Sundial Sanibel Island
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay