We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Song of the Sea

Traveler (425)
Room & Suite (173)
Pool & Beach (155)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Song of the Sea is a romantic Beachfront European style inn located on beautiful Sanibel Island. This intimate inn offers individualized personal service with picturesque views of the beach and the warm Gulf waters on the horizon. To welcome each guest, the Inn offers a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. The newly updated guestrooms and suites feature rich combinations of mahogany toned wood and wicker combined with fabrics in shades that mimic the sun-soaked sand just steps away. After a day in the sun, relax by watching the new 42" flat panel television or enjoy a glass of wine on the screened balcony. All of the accommodations feature demi-kitchens to create the perfect vacation home away from home. Greet each morning with a complimentary continental breakfast complete with make your own waffles, an assortment of breakfast breads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee in a beautiful setting on the Inn’s lanai. After breakfast, relax by the pool and spa or take a long bicycle tour of the island’s 23 miles of bike paths. The bicycles are compliments of Song of the Sea. Explore the natural beauty of Sanibel, with two thirds of the island a nature preserve, or find a special treasure in one of the shops on Periwinkle Drive. Whether you chose to relax or explore, Song of the Sea gives each guest the peaceful solitude to reconnect with nature and loved ones.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Breakfast Available
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Bay View
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
51Somewhat walkable
Grade: 51 out of 100
73Restaurantswithin 5 miles
63Attractionswithin 5 miles
793Reviews
704Photos
20Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 422
  • 250
  • 70
  • 29
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We just completed our fifth stay at this hotel and this has been the best yet. Over the years their were some ups and downs but this year we saw visible signs tha upgrades are being added. The room we stayed is had a new ac unit and it was quiet and reliable. Brand new washers
Read more
Response from Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Linda, What a wonderful review you've shared. Thank you! I'm so glad you found everything at Song of the Sea so much to your liking and noticed a few little touches that have been added since your last stay. I will be sure to pass along all of your very nice compliments to our staff - particularly Jacqueline in housekeeping. We all enjoyed having you with us again, and sincerely appreciate your loyalty. Your suggestions regarding our stoves are appreciated; we will be sure to taken them into account as we strive to continually improve our guests' experience. We look forward to seeing you again next year, and thank you for being our guest once again. Sincerely, Bill Wellman General Manager
Read more
After leaving the grey skies, cold temperatures, and snow of Ohio Sanibel and The Song of The Sea was a burst of color and sunshine. This was our 5th or 6th trip to Song of he Sea and we are looking forward to going again. The rooms are nice, the beds are comfortable, and the
Read more
Response from Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea
Responded 1 week ago
Wow! Thank you for sharing such an amazing review! I'm so glad your visit to Song of the Sea exceeded your expectations. You've done a great job describing all that our guests love about the resort and the experience of immersing in the relaxation of our beautiful island. I'm glad you appreciated the little touches that make this Inn so special. Thank you for being our guest. We look forward to seeing you again when your travels bring you back our way! Sincerely, Bill Wellman General Manager
Read more
We went for a mid winter getaway and coming from Va, took a guess at which property to stay at - we were glad we chose "Song of The Sea". They totally met our needs for a sparkling pool, roomy outside hot tub, bikes and even a hammock to lounge in during our stay. Breakfast was
Read more
Response from Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea
Responded 4 days ago
Dear Soozunn, We're so glad you found us for your winter getaway, and it's nice to see what a great stay you enjoyed! Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your impressions. It's great that you had an opportunity to experience the Sanibel farmer's market, it really is a special attraction that not allot of our guests take the time to experience. Please let us know what we can do to make your next stay even more memorable. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Bill Wellman General Manager
Read more
+2
This was our second stay at an Inns of Sanibel property. We loved Song of the Sea. The employees are friendly and helpful. Steven, John, and Sophia extended every courtesy. The rooms and property are clean. Our bed and pillows were comfortable (we can be picky). Having a
Read more
Response from Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear 2-NJ-Z's... Thank you so much for sharing such a nice review of your recent stay at Song of the Sea. I'm glad you have fallen in love with our very special inn, and appreciate your loyalty - it was our pleasure to welcome you back. I will be sure to pass along all of your very nice compliments to our staff for the service, the cleanliness of your room and the resort, and the amenities that made your stay so memorable. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Bill Wellman General Manager
Read more
We were treated and greeted well during our stay. Loved the room....and the complimentary bottle of wine chilling in the fridge! Our room had a fully supplied kitchenette (including toaster and blender!), a king size bed, a small dining table, plenty of lighting, good sized
Read more
Response from Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Japsi What a wonderful review you've shared with other travelers - thank you for taking the time to do so. I'm so glad your visit was such a memorable experience - from the attentive and friendly service of our staff to the amazing sunrises over the Gulf, it's perfectly understandable why you had a hard time leaving us. Please know that we can't wait to see you again when you're ready for your next Island getaway! Thank you for being our guest. Sincerely, Bill Wellman General Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Business Center & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementSong of the Sea
Guest room
Photo provided by managementSong of the Sea
Guest room
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorSong of the Sea
The One Bedroom Suite at the Song of the Sea
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorSong of the Sea
The One Bedroom Suite at the Song of the Sea
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorSong of the Sea
The One Bedroom Suite at the Song of the Sea
PreviousNext
12345635
Yes, we stayed on top floor, and had a beautiful view of the gulf! The pool was right outside/below our room, so we couldn't really hear the ocean too much. A very short, easily accessible walk to beach!
1 vote
Show all answers
Good morning. We're seeing much-improved conditions beginning last weekend and as of yesterday the air is clear with no one reporting respiratory issues and the water much cleaner. NOAA upgraded it's forecast from "high" to "moderate" in terms of the actual algae blooms which is also great news. We strolled the beaches of all of our Inns this morning and it's great to see our guests relaxing on clean beaches, thanks to the efforts of the City of Sanibel crews with the assistance of our own staff. We're seeing all of this as a positive trend! Please know there are many things to do on Sanibel Island - from biking to dining, to exploring Ding Darling, museums, and relaxing at our pools - but at this time, our beaches look great!
0 votes
We were there in June and it was glorious
1 vote
Show all answers
Good afternoon and thank you for your question. We are currently planning to renovate 50% of our kitchens this year at Song of the Sea. Our designer and architect are actively involved in the process and we hope to be moving forward with the actual work in the next few months.
2 votes
Show all answers
PeterJ 911 is correct. We replaced our washers and dryers with brand new units just a few months ago.
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234
"We love the first floor room with the screen door acces to the pool and a place to safely stor our bikes"
"All 2nd level rooms have a view of the ocean."
"We loved our PARALLEL to the Gulf room. Several rooms are at a right angle to the water."
"The ground floor rooms have a doorway from the balcony for direct access to the courtyard, pool, and boardwalk to beach."
"Pick another place!"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
$223 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
song of the sea hotel sanibel island
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSouthwest Gulf CoastSanibel Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing