We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Song of the Sea

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Song of the Sea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

642 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 586: English reviews
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Song of the Sea is our favorite place to stay on Sanibel Island. Over the years we've tried other hotels but always return to Song of the Sea. The quiet setting is wonderfully relaxing and the white sand beach uncrowded in late November. The location at mile 1.5 makes it a good beach walk down to the lighthouse and back....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karianne71
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Karianne, Thank you for sharing such a complimentary and very detailed review of your stay. It means the world to our staff and me that we've become your favorite resort on the Island! I'm glad you found so much to your liking and glad that the issues you mentioned didn't diminish your desire to return. Please make sure to...

Aiken, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After many repeat visits (9) the , we have given up on The Song. They refuse to replace worn out appliances, furniture, tile, etc. . They never clean the tile and bathrooms have mold. Last visit had stains on all the furniture. Grounds well kept and quiet but there are better options on the island where management is committed to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RickMartha
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear RickMartha, While I appreciate the time you took to share your impressions and sincerely apprecite your loyalty, I'm sorry to hear that you have continued to find issues with your stays at Song of the Sea. I would like to do more than apologize as it is very concerning that we would lose a loyal guest over issues that...

CT
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for a week at the beginning of November. Second visit for us and happy to find all was just as it had been in 2013. We arrived right at 5pm when the office closes and there is a notice to go to the sister inn next door to register and get the key (which we had to do the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jewelee
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Jewelee, Thank you for sharing such a nice review on Trip Advisor. I'm certain other travllers will enjoy learning of your wonderful experiences during your visit as much as I did. You very nice comments regarding our staff and I will be sure to pass this along to them so they can see how much their efforts to make...

Lumberton, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at Song of the Sea 11/18 for one night. I have been going there for 20 years. I booked through Orbitz because they had the best rate (by $10). The room was advertised as "ground floor ocean front". For those who have not been, this is a pretty small resort. The back shutters are generally brown wood, there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bubble0309
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Bubble0309, I was very concerned to read your impression of our resort. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you experienced regarding your view as wel as the condition of your room, which is and I'm sure you can see from every other review of the resort, not our standard. We welcome hunderds of Orbitz trevellers every year and...

Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were only able to spend one night here, and we will definitely be coming back. The staff was great, we were very early for check in and even though our room wasn't ready they let us know all the things we could do while we were waiting for them to call. We walked right on down to the beach,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irish198863
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Irish, So nice to hear about your visit! It looks like you were able to take full advantage of all we offer our guests at Song of the Sea during your short visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions. I hope you'll visit again when your travels bring you back to Sanibel Island. We look...

Lake Delton, Wisconsin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A romantic yet cozy resort right on the gulf. Clean,quiet and homelike. Free continental breakfast every morning. Stay busy shopping or just rest by the 🏊 pool. A bottle of complimentary wine 🍷 awaits your visit in your room. Come and 😊 enjoy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sixxpak
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Sear Sixxpak, Thank you for sharing the impressions of your visit. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found the romance that we hope all of our guests will be fond of. Please let us know when your travbels bring you back - we look forward to hosting you again! Sincerley, Bill Wellman General Manager The Inns of Sanibel 239-472-3181...

Sterling Heights, Michigan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice Eclectic type Motel efficiency units. The rooms were clean, pool was very nice. Pool was little cool and the hot tub a little too hot. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. The bike's were free to ride but hard to ride long term, old fashion bikes that you peddle backward to stop. Speed limit on the island is 35mph...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John Q
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear John, Thank you for the very nice review of your stay! I'm glad that your enjoyed your visit overall and sincerely appreciate your resounding review of our restaurant (Sea Star Cafe) - I will make sure to pass that along to the staff there. I'm glad you also found our beds to be as comfortable as a Ritz-Carlton bed;...

Reviewed November 2, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I really enjoyed song of the sea. The view was lovely and you cannot beat such a short walk to the beach. The included breakfast has fresh fruit. We enjoyed our screen porch balcony. The room and furniture were fine but nothing special.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timothy R
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Timothy, Thank you for choosing Song of the Sea for your honeymoon getaway. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and found so much to enjoy about the resort. Congratulations on your wedding and I hope you'll return to celebrate many more special occassions with us! Sincereley, Bill Wellman General Manger The Inns of Sanibel bwellman@theinnsofsanibel.com 239-472-3181

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 1, 2016 via mobile

This is our 5th visit, our first being in our honeymoon 21 years ago. This is a small, intimate hotel, lovely grounds, spacious rooms with all the amenities to self cater if you wish, a glorious pool and jacuzzi. It's worth staying just for the breakfast alone which is one of the few hotel breakfasts I've had where I've been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Polly-from-Beds
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

I'm so glad you found a great place to unwind, and can't thank you enough for your loyalty over so many years. Your very nice comments about our staff, our breakfast, and our facilities are very much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions - we look forward to welcoming you back to paradise soon. Sincerely,...

Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Song of the Sea for our anniversary. The seashell pink colored buildings were not impressive at first glance and we never found an elevator to get to our second floor room. However, our room was very spacious with beach-themed furniture and decor. It looked newly painted. The bathroom, while on the small side, had been updated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eileener195
Bill W, General Manager at Song of the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Eileen, I'm so glad we could be part of your very special celebration. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and the details of your impressions with other travellers. We work hard to keep the property looking great and make sure our guests have memorable experiences when they visit. Please let us know when you plan...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

607 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (322)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (70)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (118)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (263)
Viewed
Amenities (28)
Viewed
Beach (32)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (92)
Viewed
Pool (27)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
The Hotel (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,868 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
624 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
Holiday Inn Sanibel Island
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Song of the Sea is a romantic Beachfront European style inn located on beautiful Sanibel Island. This intimate inn offers individualized personal service with picturesque views of the beach and the warm Gulf waters on the horizon. To welcome each guest, the Inn offers a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. The newly updated guestrooms and suites feature rich combinations of mahogany toned wood and wicker combined with fabrics in shades that mimic the sun-soaked sand just steps away. After a day in the sun, relax by watching the new 42" flat panel television or enjoy a glass of wine on the screened balcony. All of the accommodations feature demi-kitchens to create the perfect vacation home away from home. Greet each morning with a complimentary continental breakfast complete with make your own waffles, an assortment of breakfast breads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee in a beautiful setting on the Inn’s lanai. After breakfast, relax by the pool and spa or take a long bicycle tour of the island’s 23 miles of bike paths. The bicycles are compliments of Song of the Sea. Explore the natural beauty of Sanibel, with two thirds of the island a nature preserve, or find a special treasure in one of the shops on Periwinkle Drive. Whether you chose to relax or explore, Song of the Sea gives each guest the peaceful solitude to reconnect with nature and loved ones. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Song of the Sea

Address: 863 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7098
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Price Range: $199 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Song of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Song of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Song Of The Sea Hotel Sanibel Island
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Song of the Sea staff and other travelers.
9 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Newton, New Jersey
over a year ago
Rochester, New York
over a year ago
Stewartsville, New Jersey
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Song of the Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“room 4101 was and excellent location close to breakfast and walk out to pool even see the beach at distance.”
 of 5 bubbles johnq718, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Second floor gulf front suites offer the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles Danh234, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
“Two buildings next to pool have indirect views from second floor only. Third building has a direct ocean view from the second floor only.”
 of 5 bubbles dwmillerde, Oct 7, 2016 | Read review
“another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles whalewatcher09, Sep 25, 2016 | Read review
“Request ground floor if you want to avoid stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles warrenr938, Aug 10, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay