We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$309
View deal
Booking.com
$309
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/14/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Hotel
$232
View deal
Hotels.com$309
Travelocity$309
Trip.com$324
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (694)
Room & Suite (237)
Pool & Beach (204)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 05/12/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Song of the Sea
Updated 05/12/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 20 hotels in Sanibel Island
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.3
Service
4.5
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
Song of the Sea is a romantic Beachfront European style inn located on beautiful Sanibel Island. This intimate inn offers individualized personal service with picturesque views of the beach and the warm Gulf waters on the horizon. To welcome each guest, the Inn offers a complimentary bottle of wine upon arrival. The newly updated guestrooms and suites feature rich combinations of mahogany toned wood and wicker combined with fabrics in shades that mimic the sun-soaked sand just steps away. After a day in the sun, relax by watching the new 42" flat panel television or enjoy a glass of wine on the screened balcony. All of the accommodations feature demi-kitchens to create the perfect vacation home away from home. Greet each morning with a complimentary continental breakfast complete with make your own waffles, an assortment of breakfast breads, fresh fruit, juice and coffee in a beautiful setting on the Inn’s lanai. After breakfast, relax by the pool and spa or take a long bicycle tour of the island’s 23 miles of bike paths. The bicycles are compliments of Song of the Sea. Explore the natural beauty of Sanibel, with two thirds of the island a nature preserve, or find a special treasure in one of the shops on Periwinkle Drive. Whether you chose to relax or explore, Song of the Sea gives each guest the peaceful solitude to reconnect with nature and loved ones.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycle rental
BBQ facilities
Newspaper
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Bicycles available
Fishing
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
1020Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 594
  • 280
  • 80
  • 38
  • 28
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Stlarch40 wrote a review Jul 2022
Harvester, Missouri6 contributions2 helpful votes
Exactly what we were looking for, close to family member’s time share. Loved large refrigerator. Nice hotel breakfast. Fruit was great. Clean. Friendly staff. Pool was great and not too crowded. Will certainly be back next year if we don’t buy a time share.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brad Stanze, Guest Services / Front Office at Song of the Sea
Responded 4 days ago
Greetings, Thank you for sharing your past stay with us! I am pleased to see you had enjoyed so many areas, we hope to see you again next year! Until then, take care and safe travels!
Read more
Mrs T Carrasq wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Place was great, clean and great service. The structure is not modern, but they are clean and bathrooms are renovated (a big deal for me). Love the vintage decoration inside as well and it felt so cozy. Anvar in front desk was amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brad Stanze, Guest Services / Front Office at Song of the Sea
Responded 1 week ago
Hello tcarrasq, Thank you for sharing your experience here at the Song of the Sea! I am pleased to see you had such a wonderful time here while in town with us, with a special shoutout to our outstanding team member - Anvar -who is indeed a crucial member of our team. We hope to welcome you back in town with us again in the near future! Until then, safe travels!
Read more
purpleij wrote a review Jul 2022
Sarasota, Florida221 contributions150 helpful votes
+1
My husband and I stayed at Song of the Sea for 2 nights/3 days. I picked this place primarily because of location and the floors were not carpeted (my preference). We were pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness and ample size of the room. We reserved a partial ocean view in the 2nd floor which didn’t afford you much of the ocean view but given the time of year it was too hot to sit in the screened in balcony anyway. Here are some pros and cons. Cons- The property is dated with 2 floors with the upper floors providing the most privacy. The kitchenette is small but they do provide a full size refrigerator. However the funky little coffee maker in the room only takes their pre-packed coffee pods and not good. The pool is small with a few number of chairs that we noticed were taken early on. While they tell you there is a beach chair attendant for the beach chairs we never saw one and it was on a first come first serve basis. Lastly, the bed pillows were small. Upon departure we recommended they provide normal size pillows. Pros- the property was quiet, well maintained and clean. Breakfast is continental with plenty of items to choose from; cereal, bagels, muffins, waffles, hard boiled eggs, fruit etc. and the attendants were very nice, and made sure everything was right. The sitting area was outside on a lovely patio. There are complimentary bikes and helmets, kayaks and paddle boards to use. They have a larger sister property right next door you could use which looked newer but was busier and noisier with a larger pool and bar so depending on what you like you could choose either. Based on the resort offerings we would recommend. Dinners- the first night we went to Doc Ford’s Rum Bar in Sanibel, very casual. Recommend you go early (6 ish) because after that the waiting was crazy. It’s a good place for burgers, sandwiches etc. The highlight of our dinner was the grilled oyster appetizer that was great everything else was average. 2nd night we went to Mad Hatter, phenomenal! It’s adjacent to the ocean and you could see the sunset from there. The atmosphere is eclectic with the host wearing the most outrageous “Alice in Wonderland” fitting suit, but the service was exceptional. For appetizers we had a shrimp wrapped in philo dough and the Mad hatter salad, both very good but the entrees were the stars, black grouper over mashed potatoes and I had the triple tale fish over risotto. Both excellent! Fine dining! Location was good!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brad Stanze, Guest Services / Front Office at Song of the Sea
Responded 1 week ago
Hello purpleij, Thank you for sharing your insight on your past stay with us here at Song of the Sea - it is truly appreciated! Rest assured, we will take the areas of concern under consideration to be addressed ASAP. Especially the experience in regards to the recreational aspects of your stay. For the future, we do provide standard coffee pots upon request that can accommodate filters and any flavor of coffee that may be brought by our guests! I am very pleased to see that had enjoyed many aspects of your stay, we very much look forward to hosting you and your family/friends again in the near future! Until then, take care, and safe travels!
Read more
venturefree2019 wrote a review Jul 2022
Independence, Kentucky41 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
The common areas are beautiful and taken care of. The hut tub is hot and clean. The size of pool is all you need. Just a few steps to the ocean. Very convenient to have the bikes, kayaks and paddle boards on hand. The breakfast has the best strawberry-lemonade made by a local. Don't pass up trying it! Pack bug spray for evening walks. The beds were very comfy. Included in your stay is a bottle of wine in the refrigerator. Negative: the kitchen and bathroom are worn and dated but the prize is the beach anyway, so who cares.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brad Stanze, Guest Services / Front Office at Song of the Sea
Responded 1 week ago
Hello venturefree2019, Thank you for sharing your experience from your past stay with us! I am very happy to see you had such a wonderful time while in town with us! Rest assured, we will be taking the negative under review and addressing ASAP! Indeed the prize is the beach, but we aim for the whole experience to be a prize. We very much look forward to welcoming you back into town with us to provide a 5-star experience here at Song of the Sea!
Read more
Todd Schmidt wrote a review Jul 2022
St. Petersburg, Florida1 contribution
We booked a room for 2 nights. We checked into our room, then checked the pool temperature. The water was too hot to enter. We then went to the Island Time bar at Sanibel Inn. While talking to staff and other guests they mentioned that the pool water was always hot. We decided to head to the beach. We received a text message that all chairs would be removed from the beach at 5 pm. So we took our own. When we reached the beach it smelled like red tide. We couldn't stand staying at the beach. I called Sanibel Inn since Song of the Seas office closes at 6pm. No one would answer the phone. I drove over to Sanibel Inn and spoke to the desk clerk. She said I could leave but I'd be charged for the night. She said that management would call me the next day. Brad Stanze, Front Desk manager called the next morning and said they pool techs checked the pool and said the water temp. was 80 degrees, and no guests have made any complaints about the pool or smell at the beach. He also said their policy is once you check in you are charged fully no matter if you have concerns or not. I would never stay at this place or their sister places either.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Wellman, General Manager at Song of the Sea
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear a07746, It's disappointing to hear of your experience.  We strive to provide exceptional, friendly service and our staff and leaders work hard to ensure our guests have the vacations of their lives.  As I'm sure you've seen from many, many reviews, the service from our staff at Song of the Sea and our other hotels is consistently noted as exceptional  by our guests. I discussed this matter with our team, and it appears that situations you mentioned were simply not as you had assumed them to be. Regarding your concerns about red tide in the area, it had simply been non-existent along the Florida coasts during your visit and has been for many, many months. I personally review the data on this weekly and observe the Gulf waters multiple times a week, and there have not been even trace amounts in the NOAA studies and others that we review.  We have had no other guests mention any impact from red tide while you were here or at any time recently or since. Brad discussed this with you and explained where you could verify this information.  It seems that something affected you but please trust that it was unlikely to be red tide. Regarding the pool temperature - to clarify what may have been a misunderstanding from Brad's explanation, yes, our pools are heated but they are never heated above 80 degrees. I will add that if the water temperature registers at or above that temperature, the heaters automatically shut down.  That is generally the case throughout the summer and certainly while you were here due to the high summer air temperatures. Again, we have had no other guests mention this as an issue while you were here or at any time recently prior or since. I respect your impressions and again, I'm sorry that you felt we let you down.  It's disappointing that amidst Brad's efforts to assist you, it seemed you did not trust the facts  that he conveyed. As far as offering compensation to our guests with concerns, we would never be that inflexible if concerns are raised that warrant an adjustment. I truly hope that you will consider being our guest again at some point in the future and please feel free to reach out to me directly if there is anything we can do to assure you have a great visit. Sincerely, Bill Wellman General Manager The Inns of Sanibel
Read more
Ron R wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Super friendly and helpful staff (Mikey at the front desk was great). Well maintained older property in a relaxing setting on a nice part of the beach. Very comfortable and immaculately clean rooms. Pool was small but pristine and uncrowded. Nice basic breakfast included with fresh fruit, waffles, yogurt, boiled eggs, etc.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brad Stanze, Guest Services / Front Office at Song of the Sea
Responded 1 week ago
Hello ronrA4445KE, Thank you for sharing your past experience with us! Mikey is indeed one of our key team members here at Song of the Sea, I am pleased that you had the opportunity to connect with him while in town! We certainly hope to see you again in the near future, until then, take care and safe travels!
Read more
Lori M wrote a review Jul 2022
Florida17 contributions13 helpful votes
We relocated to this charmer after two disappointing nights of sleep at a sister hotel. The room was very comfortable and well equipped. We loved our pool / ocean view and ending/starting our days on the balcony. The breakfast served was nicely done. The only issue was people 'saving' beach set-ups all day. It was frustrating to see saved chairs still empty at 2PM. I def think the vibe here is more adult oriented than family. The hotel next door is more a family situation. Would definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brad Stanze, Guest Services / Front Office at Song of the Sea
Responded 1 week ago
Hello lorimH2090JJ, Thank you for sharing your past stay experience with us! I see this was overall as very positive experience, which we certainly hope will allow the opportunity to host you again. Please accept my sincere apologies in regards to your poor experience at our sister property, as well as the concerns regarding our recreation availability. If you would like to connect with this directly, I am available to discuss further! You can reach me directly at: bstanze@theinnsofsanibel.com We look forward to the opportunity in hosting you again in the near future!
Read more
walshwku wrote a review Jul 2022
Orlando, Florida12 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Song of the Sea was amazing! The grounds were absolutely beautiful. We couldn't get over the views. Our room with a kitchenette and two queen beds (which were like sleeping on clouds) was exactly what we needed for our family of four. The provided breakfast, which we ate on their patio, was the perfect way to start the day. Everyone that worked there were very friendly and informative. Next time we stay we want to take advantage of the bikes, kayaks and paddle boards. Book at Song of the Sea, you will want to stay forever!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rhonda R wrote a review Jun 2022
Friendsville, Tennessee8 contributions
We just returned from a "Girl's trip". We enjoyed a pool front room. The room was perfect with a frig, stove, microwave if you wanted that amenity. The room was spotless, daily housekeeping, plenty of towels. The Continental breakfast was fresh and the little patio for eating was perfect or trays available to take to your room. The property was spotless, staff could not be more accomodating. Beach chairs set up for you each morning, beach towels available, very short walk to beach. Perfect in every way!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ground level met our needs. I would have been happy with any of their rooms.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Brad Stanze, Guest Services / Front Office at Song of the Sea
Responded 1 week ago
Hello rhondarK98GA, Thank you for sharing your experience on your past "girl's trip", it appears this trip was a success! I see the Song of the Sea as a potential spot for this special trip for years to come! We very much look forward to hosting you again, take care and safe travels!
Read more
Ms Kot wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
They gave us 3(!) towels and no bathroom rug for 2 adults and one child. We went to ask for more, but nobody ever brought it to us. It's a good thing that we brought our beach towels. The bed was just awful. All the linens were damp. It felt like a waterbed, since when my husband would turn on his side, I was almost falling off on my side. I've never had such a bad night sleep ever! Pillows were tiny and we had to use 3 for it to be tolerable. Breakfast consisted of stale bagels and waffles. We paid $500 and got a Motel 6 service. I am glad we stayed only one night. We are definitely not coming back there
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Wellman, General Manager at Song of the Sea
Responded Jul 1, 2022
Dear Art, I'm so sorry you did not have the experience that you hoped for. It's our mission to exceed our guests expectations and clearly it seems we did not do that. Please accept my most sincere apologies - Song of the Sea is one of the highest-rated experiences among all Sanibel Island accommodations and has the highest level of guest loyalty of our four Inns so it's surprising that you encountered so many issues - obviously, your experience was not up to our usually and consistently high standards. Please know that I am addressing the issues and appreciate your calling them to our attention. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience in a bit more detail and perhaps see if we can find a way to make this up to you. Please contact me directly at your earliest convenience. Thank you for being our guest - I look forward to hearing from you soon. Sincerely, Bill Wellman General Manager The Inns of Sanibel 239-472-3181 ext. 6308 bwellman@theinnsofsanibel.com
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$346 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
song of the sea hotel sanibel island
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSouthwest Gulf CoastSanibel Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Song of the Sea
Which popular attractions are close to Song of the Sea?
Nearby attractions include Sanibel Causeway (0.5 miles), Sanibel Moorings Botanical Gardens (0.06 miles), and The Bait Box (0.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Song of the Sea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Song of the Sea?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Song of the Sea?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Song of the Sea?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Song of the Sea?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cielo, Sanibel Fresh, and Lazy Flamingo II.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Song of the Sea?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Song of the Sea?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Song of the Sea?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Sanibel Historical Museum and Village (2.4 miles) and USS Mohawk CGC Veterans Memorial Reef (4.1 miles).
Does Song of the Sea have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Song of the Sea accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.