We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
6800 Sunshine Skyway Ln S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711-4901
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler (362)
Room & Suite (268)
Pool & Beach (159)

About

#21 of 49 hotels in St. Petersburg
Location
3.9
Cleanliness
3.7
Service
3.9
Value
3.7
Covid 19 Update: After a yearlong journey, we are happy to welcome back our customers. Please read below as some services will be limited or not available at all. All food and beverage outlets will remain closed until further notice. We will maintain a very limited grab and go selection for light snacking for our customers in the main registration building. For your convenience, a list of nearby restaurants and bars which are open to the public as well as food delivery services and nearby grocery stores will be available. Limited housekeeping services available upon request. Pools, fitness center, playground and shuffleboard courts will all be open. Masks and social distancing recommended inside all public buildings. We recommend masks and social distancing outdoors when near other people. Guests arriving will experience enhanced safety protocols. Hospital grade disinfectants will be sprayed daily throughout all guest and public areas using electrostatic sprayers. Each guest room will be thoroughly disinfected prior to a guests arrival. Guests will find multiple placements of hand sanitizer stands and friendly reminders about safe practices. To ensure we properly execute these new safety protocols, we have required both management and staff to complete specialized COVID-19 training provided by the National and State Hotel and Restaurant Associations. We are minutes from Fort Desoto Park and the Gulf beaches. We are also in close proximity to downtown St. Petersburg and all it has to offer: Tropicana Field-home of the Tampa Bay Rays, The Pier, Salvador Dali Museum, Mahaffey Theater, and Jannus Landing. For the business traveler, we are close to Eckerd College, USF, St. Pete College AllState Center and all Children's Hospital. Our guests will enjoy all the amenities of a full service resort. Stay in touch with your friends and family with our complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. Take time to enjoy our pools, hot tub, volleyball court, bicycle rentals, tennis courts, shuffleboard courts, and fitness center. You can relax at the Nepa Hut Beach Bar overlooking Tampa Bay and the world famous Sunshine Skyway Bridge, unwind in Nemo's Lounge, dine in Periscopes waterfront restaurant with views of our marina, or have a relaxing lunch poolside at the Banyan Tree Deli.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Children's playground
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Game room
Tennis court
Billiards
Fishing
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Harbor View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
780Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 213
  • 241
  • 161
  • 86
  • 79
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lisa H wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
This place has potential but the bar and restaurant was closed. It had 2 nice pools and a nice view of the beach. The room was small. The shuffle board was fun but run down. They only had 60 rooms open.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
stpenroute wrote a review Mar 2022
Huntington, New York25 contributions6 helpful votes
THIEVES!! I never got to stay... A glitch in the reservation system gave me a room for the very next day! The Hotel Magnuson blamed Priceline and said they have to fix it and Priceline blamed the Hotel Magnuson and said THEY have to fix it. In the meantime, I'm out $200+ because NO ONE wanted to do - anything - to refund my money except blame each other. This is EXTREMELY POOR business practices, a disgusting display of customer service, and uncaring people on both ends. Please be very very very careful when reserving anything through Priceline. Both the Magnuson and Priceline will look for ANY excuse to literally steal your money!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Springman, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Responded Mar 4, 2022
Good morning Scott, We have no record of a booking for you and we believe you are reviewing the wrong hotel - You may contact us directly at 727-867-1151 - we are located at 6800 Sunshine Skyway Lane South, St. Petersburg Florida, 33711
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vivi D wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
We spent yesterday night at Magnuson, in St. Pete. At 2.30 am we heard an explotion and then we lost power. Consequently, our A.C. stopped to work, so we coudn't sleep anymore. When I complained with the lobby man, he said he couldn't offer me a refund because I prepaid my room. That's a stupid excuse, I always book with booking and so I always prepaid my room, but anytime I had a problem, other hotels were able and prompt to refunde me. Beside that, they are still keeping all food and drink service closed because of Covid, they just have vendor machine. The private beach smells horrible.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Springman, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Responded Dec 14, 2021
Thank you for your comments and review 782vivid. Unfortunately, the transformer explosion which occurred at 230am was beyond the control of the hotel. Best wishes.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stacy A wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
My son and I planned a fishing trip to the Skyway and stayed here and will definitely be back. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Many amenities on site, I especially loved the heated pool. Close to restaurants and stores.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Springman, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Responded Apr 26, 2021
Thank you for your review and comments stacya1121. We hope to see you again on a future fishing trip to St. Pete! Best wishes.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandi wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Friendly front desk staff, easy check in process. Stayed here for 4 nights. My view from my room was of a tree. If I leaned far over the balcony I caught a glimpse of the ocean to my right. The rooms were clean, beds not so comfy. The resort could use come updating because pictures vs. real life view are not the same. For the price though you get what you pay for. Convenient parking. Beach was not upkept and the ocean was very dirty- we didn't swim in it. The restaurant part of the resort was closed. While fishing by the rails on the side of the marine We had an Employee by the name Joel approach us I guess pre-assuming that we were by the ramps where the boats were because of someone aka white older lady that lives on those boats stating people of color where by the ramp not asking just straight accusing that we were the ones of color on those ramps. Not knowing that the people of color that were walking down the ramp were people getting on some charter boat leaving from those ramps! Please be mindful if your staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Springman, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Responded Apr 16, 2021
Thank you for your review 365Sandym. My apologies you didn't enjoy the view from your room. Our property is located on Tampa Bay but not all of our rooms have a water view. Best wishes.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wailyn wrote a review Oct 2020
Bend, Oregon8 contributions1 helpful vote
Hard times are being met with a smile. The staff here is just so amazing! In addition to being a great property with amazing amenities the staff took it that extra mile. Thanks so much for all of the great service and light hearted jokes. It made our visit all the better !
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Springman, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Responded Oct 22, 2020
Thank you so much for this great review. Hope you stay with us again on a future trip. Best wishes.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
1610mikeb wrote a review Mar 2020
6 contributions3 helpful votes
I will start by saying the grounds and the beach are nice. Also the location is off the beaten path, but still close to shopping and easy access to 275. However, the room was run down, grubby and in need of major updates. I do not know how this place has the number of excellent reviews it does... The toilet did not work and the person sent down could not fix it so I ended up having to fix it myself. The furniture was old and in rough shape. Even the sink was not secured in the counter and would move around when you turned on the faucet... While not the worst motel out there, I was not impressed for what they charge for a night. They really need to put better care into cleaning and updating the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Choose a marina view room if you can
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Springman, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Responded Mar 26, 2020
Thank you for your review and comments 1610mikeb. Our apologies you had this experience with us. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We will reach out to our housekeeping staff regarding your concerns. Best wishes.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KathyCS2015 wrote a review Mar 2020
Austin, Texas4 contributions1 helpful vote
Without a doubt the filthiest most disgusting place I have ever stayed. In the middle of Corona virus outbreak and I got into bed here to find pieces of paper and dirt in the sheets. They had not put clean sheets on the bed for our stay. Room is filthy and smells like mildew. Bathtub moldy. Ratty towels. Awful. Stay away.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Springman, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Responded Mar 6, 2020
Thank you for your review and comments. My apologies you had this experience during your stay. It's certainly not an occurrence that should have happened. Rest assured I will reach out to our team to ensure this does not happen. I will ask of you if you can provide me with the room number you were in and the dates you were here so we may investigate further. Best wishes.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
talbratton wrote a review Mar 2020
Gulfport, Florida23 contributions39 helpful votes
This is the hotel I have everyone stay at. I used it when I was moving here and now it is the go to place. It is a very active pool area and a lot of singles meet up there. The value is good and it is so easy to get to everything local.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Springman, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Responded Mar 6, 2020
Thank you for your review and comments Talbratton. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trek746924 wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
Beautiful location ,nice room ,minor issues one lite bulb burnt out .wallpaper loose in a couple areas ,bathroom door warped on bottom ,one plate. Nice hot water &pressure in shower .Nice little kitchenette in room.Had to pay for coffee in lobby. Jeff at the desk was efficient.We didn't receive the call the earlier staff said we would get when room was ready . The person working in the hut bar was friendly and outgoing .Pool was nice and not crowded .We did not eat at the Periscope restaurant.Because whenever we went thru .there was no one eating . Tuesday.5:30 staff wrapping napkins at one table .And one customer. I was disappointed there isn't any Recycling being done.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Suggest was water view room if you want to enjoy the beautiful water ,beach .
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Springman, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Responded Feb 26, 2020
Thank you for your review and comments Trek746924. We're happy you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will join us again in the future on another trip to St. Pete. Best wishes.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$223 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn st petersburg, holiday inn marina cove, holiday inn saint petersburg, saint petersburg holiday inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort St Petersburg - Marina Cove
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSt. Petersburg
NUMBER OF ROOMS
155
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MAGNUSON HOTEL MARINA COVE - Prices & Resort Reviews (St. Petersburg, FL)

Frequently Asked Questions about Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove
Which popular attractions are close to Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove?
Nearby attractions include Outerlife Studios - Escape Room St. Pete (4.5 miles), Hatchet Hangout - Axe Throwing St Pete (4.5 miles), and Zubrick Magic Theatre (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove?
Conveniently located restaurants include Buona Ristorante, Odis mediterrean kitchen, and Cafe Soleil.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Magnuson Hotel Marina Cove have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.