We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Old Powder House Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Augustine
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Old Powder House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 193: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was my fourth stay at The Old Powder House Inn and it was wonderful as expected. Suzanne and Bob were very welcoming and knowledgable of the sites and accommodated us for our travel needs. The B&B location is perfect walk to all the sites in old town. Loved the veranda- had morning coffee and evening wine, both are complementary,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lore M
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the start, Bob and Suzanne, owners of the Old Powder House Inn made our family feel right at home. Our room was charming and we thoroughly enjoyed our morning coffee and gourmet breakfasts. We loved the location of the Inn in Old Town; in close proximity to so many amazing things to see and do in St. Augustine. At... More 

Helpful?
Thank calypso1708
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My second visit to The Old Powder House Inn was even better than my first…if that’s possible. FIVE-stars both times! The breakfasts were amazing. Suzanne and Bob Hailey clearly love creating gourmet dishes that are as delicious as they are beautiful to the eye. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable. The FREE ON-SITE PARKING was a huge convenience and... More 

Helpful?
Thank KarlaAnna
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family visited from Washington State in July and found the Inn to be charming, well taken care of, and (most importantly to me) adequately air conditioned. Our room looked onto the street and opened onto a lovely balcony. The food was great and the owners are delightful hosts who were very helpful in recommending places to visit. Because of... More 

Helpful?
Thank John H
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had the pleasure of staying at The Old Powderhouse Inn recently and was so impressed with the charm and and comfort. It was very clean, the food was excellent, and the hosts went out of their way to help my husband and me feel at home. They directed us to several of the fun and unique tourist spots and... More 

Helpful?
Thank LWBeck
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our bedroom (Enchantment): Awful! Tiny. Poorly maintained - wall paper peeling, furniture worn, humidity seeping into window joints. When we arrived in our room the ceiling fan, A/C and dehumidifier were all running - necessary but very noisy. Our bathroom: not large enough to comfortably accommodate an adult. Breakfast: inflexible hour. Service at 9AM sharp only. Fixed menu. Management is... More 

Helpful?
Thank landr20162016
BobHandSuzanne, Owner at The Old Powder House Inn, responded to this review

It sounds like your special visit to our special city was not so special. We are so sorry you had that experience, and can't imagine why something like that would happen at the Old Powder House Inn. So please come back. We always want our guest to have a magical experience in our magical city. More 

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

What a charming B&B right in the great part of Old Town within walking distance from all the main sights, restaurants, and bars. Complete privacy with own beautiful bedroom/bath. So many gorgeous rooms to pick from - all decorated differently. The Breakfasts are amazing, the smiles and warmth an big added bonus. We loved the Garden Room and the Memories... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MarsyG
BobHandSuzanne, Owner at The Old Powder House Inn, responded to this review

St. Augustine is a fabulous walking city, and we're so glad to be right in the middle of everything. We're wondering which of our unique room you'll choose next. Our housekeepers take great pride in their work and are so glad you noticed. We will be thrilled to host you again soon. We've got plenty of smiles at the Old... More 

Abbeville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

Suzanne and Susan treated us like family from the first conversation about booking. We arrived to wine and cookies along with a big smile. Issues were quickly cleared, 98 degree weather caused AC problems but Susan immediately took care of it. Breakfast was right on time and delicious. Great night at The Old Powder House Inn!

Helpful?
1 Thank 2_S0uthernTravelers
BobHandSuzanne, Owner at The Old Powder House Inn, responded to this review

Hurry back so you can sit on the veranda and have that glass of wine and as many chocolate chip cookies as you'd like. We have so much fun welcoming you to the Old Powder House Inn. Hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2016

Excellent place. This was our first time saying at a B and B. The owners, Bob and Suzanne treated everyone amazing. Their breakfasts were great too. They gave us insight into the area. The rooms were well taken care of.

Helpful?
1 Thank Drdarren1
BobHandSuzanne, Owner at The Old Powder House Inn, responded to this review

Your comfort is what we think is the most important, and we're so glad you chose us for your first time at a Bed and Breakfast. Everyone here at the Old Powder House Inn is ready for your return so we can welcome you back to our fabulous city. More 

florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

We just arrived home from our weekend in St. Augustine. Loved everything about our stay at Old Powder House Inn. Let me start by talking about the owners, Bob and Suzanne. They are the Ultimate hosts. They went above and beyond my expectations. We had a wedding to attend and it was walkable in shorts, but, we were all dressed... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mamanole
BobHandSuzanne, Owner at The Old Powder House Inn, responded to this review

Dressed up and looking good, we might add. It was our pleasure hosting you at the Old Powder House Inn. Please come back soon. You make the place look good. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

127 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (104)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Augustine hotels
0.2 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#5 of 77 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. A...
#4 of 77 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Ba...
#12 of 77 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 stars 1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autogr...
#14 of 77 in Saint Augustine
4.5 of 5 stars 1,547 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
Carriage Way Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 31 in Saint Augustine
5.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1899, this inn has nine guestrooms all with private baths. Located in the center of the historic district, it's just a short walk to museums, historic attractions, restaurants, art galleries and gift shops. A three course gourmet breakfast is served every morning at 9. The sprawling verandas are the place to relax after an exciting day in our fabulous city. Complimentary beverages, fresh baked cookies and snacks are always available. Private on-site parking. We'd love to have you stay with us. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Powder House Inn

Address: 38 Cordova St, Saint Augustine, FL 32084-3629
Location: United States > Florida > Saint Augustine
Price Range: $125 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Powder House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old Powder House Hotel Saint Augustine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing