We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane

Save
Share
Flaksjoelivegen 82, Venabygd 2632 Norway
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (106)
Dining (20)
Room & Suite (8)

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Venabygd
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane, a mountain hotel in the lovely scenery south of Rondane National Park in Norway.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Hot tub
Indoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Ski In / Ski Out
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
Norwegian

Location

Full view
225Reviews2Q+A2Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 100
  • 91
  • 18
  • 12
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bjorn44 wrote a review Aug 2020
Oslo, Norway233 contributions89 helpful votes
My wife and I booked one overnight stay here in early august, on our tour to Trondheim. We have had a successful visit here once before. This time we aimed for a visit to their Akevittfjøset (The Aquavit-barn) and had good luck with that as well. We arrived early enough for a nice lunch with moose patties on bread garnished by fried onions, followed by waffles with sour cream and jam. Very enjoyable lunch, it was. In the Aquavit-barn we got a nice and interesting story about aquavit as well as the old barn. After that we could buy tastings of any of their aquavits on display, accompanied by "barn-beer" for those interested. Their special designed and decorated taste glasses, we could keep. The dinner menu suited us well and the dishes we chose were very well prepared, delicious, and tasty. We really enjoyed the dinner in their restaurant. Also the breakfast nest morning was to our full satisfaction. All the staff we met here were service minded and helpful. We had a very good stay at Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane. Perhaps the room combined for toilet and shower could have been a little better designed? It appeared a bit cramped, but definitely big enough for one at the time. Anyway, we might come again for the splendid food and nature.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia Hamre, Marketing at Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane
Responded Sep 4, 2020
Thank you so much for your nice review :) We really appreciate that you have taken the time to write this. We are happy to hear that the Aquavit barn was a nice experience and that the meals was good throughout the stay. We appreciate the constructive information about the rooms. We hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
Ann K wrote a review Feb 2020
Cambridge, United Kingdom50 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
I love this hotel and it’s a wonderful place to stay in winter. The staff make you feel so welcome. The food is amazing and the place has good facilities but is quiet and relaxing. The cross country ski trails are well marked and great for beginners or novices. I loved the new skis and boots I hired. They were in good condition and perfect fit. The swimming pool is great to have after a days skiing. I hope to go back again next year. Absolutely loved the place. I also went on a horse sleigh trip from the nearby Venabustallen which was great.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia H, Marketing Manager at Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane
Responded Feb 18, 2020
Thank you so much for your nice review :) This means a lot to us! We will make sure to let the staff know. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and the facilities both inside and outside. We hope you will come back next winter :)
Read more
reise-tanta-di wrote a review Dec 2019
Lafayette, California2,330 contributions245 helpful votes
We spent three days at Spitsbergseter. The resort is large and well maintained. The pools, sauna and hot tub area was a nice place to relax after a long walk. Our room and bathroom were rather small but the bed was comfortable and there were good bedside reading light. The staff was friendly and professional. The buffet dinner was outstanding. Other that the usual Norwegian Christmas food, e.g., pinnekjøtt (lam ribbs), medisterkaker (type of meatballs) and lutefisk (cod treated in lye), there were local specialties such as rype (a wild mountain bird), reindeer, moose, deer and kangaroo meat! What is up with the kangaroo meat? By the way, the lutefisk was excellent. But I wish it was served with crispy bacon bits rather than canned, chopped ham. I have never tasted it with Norwegian red goat cheese before but it was very good. In the evening they had live music and we could dance. The The ‘Aquavit Barn’ next door housed cows from 1850 to 1960. It was now a place to test the many types of the Norwegian drink Aquavit. The resort is a great place to bring a family or a group of friend. The area is good for cross country skiing and fantastic hikes in the summer.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia H, Marketing Manager at Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane
Responded Dec 27, 2019
Thank you for your review :) We appreciate that you have taken your time to write this and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us :) In our Christmas buffets we try to have a mix of traditional Norwegian dishes as you mention but also to bring some exotic flavors to it, for our guests to taste something they have never tried before. Nice to hear that you got to visit the Aquavit-barns where it could also be said that there is something new to taste for almost everyone with over 100 different brands of Aquavit :) Welcome back to us in the future!
Read more
Hanne D wrote a review Aug 2019
Phuket, Thailand84 contributions15 helpful votes
We went there for 2 nights summer'19 while we were in the area. We have never heard about Spidsbergseter, but found it "by accident" while searching for hikes in Rondane that would suite our family with 3 kids on 4, 7 and 12 years old. And we were not dissapointed! Lovely location with lots of history in the walls, perfect for kids to explore. Our kids loved it there! They have a kids room with different types of toys, a pool area with steam bath, baby pool and a climbing wall and an outside area perfect for kids in the summer. In winter they have downhill og XC-skiing. We want to go back in winter. And the food!! They have lots of traditionell norwegian food: meats, fish, veggies and seafood, and they have a dessert table to die for! I have food allergies, and could eat lots of the food. The vaitors were lovely, and so were the reception desk workers. We had a room with a big pull out sofa, and that was perfect for the five of us (the kids love to share a big bed when they can) I can't think of anything negative to say about this place, other that it could need som renovation in the rooms, especially the bathroom. But that was not a problem for us. Really cozy reception area you can sit down to have a drink og a small meal - and they have a small gift/interior shop there as well. We chose the mountain "Muen" for a family trip, and that was a nice trip for us (we have children that are used to walk in the mountains) with beautiful views.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia H, Marketing Manager at Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane
Responded Oct 10, 2019
Thank you so much for the nice words :) We hope to see you again in the future!
Read more
Øyvind S wrote a review Jul 2019
77 contributions20 helpful votes
Rented a cabin and was surprised when I discovered that the fire alarm was opened and had the battery removed. A quick look around also revealed that the fire extinguisher was 6 years overdue for a service. But the worst part was that the hotel did nothing about it even after I contacted the reception repeatedly - unacceptable!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia H, Marketing Manager at Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane
Responded Oct 10, 2019
Thank you for your review. We did take your feedback seriously and all extinguishers were checked and any old ones were replaced, for the hotel/apartments and cabin, by our janitor this summer. We have also made sure that our routines are improved to keep this up to date at all time in the future. We are sorry that you experienced that this was not taken care of straight away when you were staying here. We hope that you had a nice experience otherwise in the beautiful surroundings of Venabygdsfjellet and that you would like to come back in the future :)
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$113 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Spidsbergseter Gudbrandsdal Hotell
LOCATION
NorwayEastern NorwayOpplandRingebu MunicipalityVenabygd
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane
Which popular attractions are close to Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane?
Nearby attractions include Karlsvogna Fjellbad - Spidsbergseter (0.1 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Does Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.