We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mainstay Suites

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mainstay Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 223: English reviews
Opelika, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The personnel here were so very nice! Our suite was roomy, clean, and quiet. It was a great value for all of the room we had. We explored the towns surrounding Port St Joe, so this was a good central location for us.

Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingGirl1951
Foley, Alabama
Level Contributor
162 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The 4 rating is based on interaction with few employees... Who deserve 5s themselves. From the pleasant and helpful front desk, to the cheery gal that prepared breakfast. Wifi.... It is there... Your device sees it.... But dont expect much surfing... Anywhere in hotel. Speeds so slow I outwalked them. I HAVE to mention the sole Sir Roach I battled.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dixiemusicman
TCPMI, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Dixie Music Man, The staff thanks you for the very kind nod:) Our wifi is either really good AND fast, or not. We've thrown $ at the problem with marginal success, we even pay to have a "backup" provider. We are still looking into other options....As for the unwelcome insect, I do apologize. We have regular pest control service... More 

Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
250 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very clean rooms. Helpful staff members. A little ways from down town. But very happy with our stay. Will definitely be starting here again. Great breakfast in the morning. House keeping did a great job

Helpful?
Thank michael m
TCPMI, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

Your kind remarks are greatly appreciated:) And we agree with you wholeheartedly that our housekeeping team is A #1!! We look forward to your next visit. More 

Gulf Breeze, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

I never write reviews until now. Checking in was fine. Went to the pool and it was disgusting. Very dirty. The second floor hallway smelled musty and looked worn. Our room had a single queen and it was placed right next to the AC unit. I mean it is two feet from your face! Whoever designed this room layout was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stuart R
TCPMI, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you were dissatisfied with the guest room on your recent stay with us. It is my understanding that upon arrival you requested an upgrade to a room with 2 queen beds. And while we would have gladly accommodated that request we had no double queen suites available that night. The guest service agent who assisted... More 

Camanche, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

Overnight stay on our way to Alligator Point, Fl. Nice accommodations with friendly staff. Room was clean and the location is very quiet and secluded. The bed wasn't as comfortable as most Choice Hotels, but still ok.

Helpful?
1 Thank shootyeah1964
TCPMI, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We have almost replaced every bed in the hotel with Serta double pillow top mattresses and they are getting rave reviews! Stop in again the next time you are headed to the Point and I guarantee you a comfortable mattress! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2016

Enjoyed the breakfast. Room was nice, clean. It was nice to have a fridge for cold drinks. Staff were friendly and helpful. Only problem was bed was right next to a/c and I had to block vent with sofa cushions to prevent draft blowing on me and getting a stiff neck.

Helpful?
Thank Joy S
TCPMI, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Joy S, We are pleased that you enjoyed the guest amenities and staff service:) Our maintenance team is currently searching for diverters for the ptac units in the queen guestrooms to alleviate the problem you mentioned. The other room types we offer don't present that issue. Thank you again for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback as... More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016 via mobile

My family of 5 needed a last minute hotel on our way to Cape San Blas. After researching several options this seemed to be the only selection that did not require a minimum of 2 night stay. I won't lie. I was expecting the worst and hoping for the best. Pulling up to the hotel, my hope was rising. It... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MRFaulk
TCPMI, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

Score! Great review for Team MainStay! We appreciate you:) Please keep us in mind for your next trip to the Cape! More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile

We really liked the Mainstay. The rooms were spacious and not only were they clean but they had a clean and fresh smell to them. Beds were comfortable and it was nice having a refrigerator. The pool felt like bath water, which we did not mind at all being as our pools at home are very chilly. The free breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Orlandobound88
TCPMI, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

I am so pleased that we were able to accommodate your family's early arrival and provide you with a spacious comfortable guest room and excellent guest services. We appreciate your business and your comments:) More 

Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
193 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2016

Worn out furniture, especially the lumpy bed. Stained carpeting and tv sets which required a Degree in Communications to operate. Breakfast the next morning was no big deal, we decided to get some breakfast on the road instead.

Helpful?
Thank HappyFloridians
TCPMI, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

Dear HappyFloridians, I too am a happy Floridian:) Born and raised in the sunshine state! Your review of your recent stay "stings" a little, but we want you to know that we have already replaced most of the box springs and mattresses with more arriving daily to complete the job. We are converting all of the queen deluxe suites into... More 

Tampa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

The rooms are nice, clean, and spacious. Jeff from management was great. Very close to St. Joseph Peninsula State Park. Includes breakfast again too! We will definitely be back again. Includes breakfast too!

Helpful?
Thank myreviews098
TCPMI, Guest Relations Manager at Mainstay Suites, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are so pleased that you enjoyed the accommodations and amenities:) Jeff is a definite asset to our front desk team, super friendly, and very knowledgeable about the area fishing! See you soon:) More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Saint Joe
2.6 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
17.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
18.1 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
17.8 mi away
Rancho Inn
Rancho Inn
#4 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
18.2 mi away
Coombs House Inn
Coombs House Inn
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 stars 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Mainstay Suites

Address: 3951 E Highway 98, Port Saint Joe, FL 32456-5318
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Port Saint Joe
Price Range: $87 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mainstay Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mainstay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Suites Hotel Port Saint Joe
Mainstay Port Saint Joe
Mainstay Suites Port Saint Joe
Port Saint Joe Mainstay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay