We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sugar Sands By The Sea

Traveler (145)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (164)

About

#35 of 51 hotels in Panama City Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sugar Sands By The Sea is a mid-rise, family-oriented, beachfront hotel located on the quiet and desirable west end of Panama City Beach. Just 10 minutes from Pier Park and the epicenter of the beach, Sugar Sands offers beautiful gulf views, a variety of room accommodations with kitchenettes and great rates for family vacations! Spend the day alternating between swimming in the pool and the gulf and then relax on your private beachfront balcony. #ByTheSeaResorts
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot Tub
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
330Reviews
5Q+A
67Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 93
  • 80
  • 36
  • 40
  • 81
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
First, it is a decent basic "motel". 13 miles from main Panama city. But... They charge you a 10.00 per night resort fee. THIS IS NOT A RESORT! IT IS A MOTEL! THEY DON'T EVEN PROVIDE A BASIC CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST. There is a 3.26% destination fee! What? am I having a car
Read more
Response from BreenaC2, SM Coordinator at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded 2 weeks ago
David, we are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do have a daily resort fee that covers parking and Wi-Fi and allows you to receive a 10% discount at all Barefoot Restaurants.
Read more
+1
This place was dirty and mismanaged. The place was empty but they insisted we wait until 4pm to check in to the room. The room they gave us was run down and dirty. My feet stuck to the carpet so I had to wear my flip flops the entire time. It does have a view of the beach,
Read more
Response from BreenaC2, SM Coordinator at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded 4 weeks ago
Mandie704, we are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We will address your comments on the condition of the room and property with both our Director of Housekeeping and Director of Maintenance. We recently went on TripAdvisor to change the name of Sand Sand Inn and Suites (the name prior to changing ownership to By The Sea Resorts) to Sugar Sands By The Sea. For some reason, there was a technical error and it changed to the overall brand name, but we have gone in and rectified the situation. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Read more
My trophy girlfriend and I were pleasantly surprised by how nice the room was appointed. It appeared new and fresh. Very clean. Ours was a 2nd floor unit on the beach side overlooking the pool. We booked through a third party web site so there was some confusion at check-in but
Read more
Response from BreenaC2, SM Coordinator at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded Mar 4, 2019
Thank you for your kind words on our rooms and hotel. We apologize for the hiccup at front desk with your reservation. We hope to see you again soon. We'd love for you to follow us on our social media!
Read more
Old and worn out room and furniture. Mold growing Forced to leave because of hurricane. Told us we would get a refund for nights not used. Gave us 2 nights refund out of 4 and told us that’s the best they can do. There was NOTHING in their contract about that. It took 4 weeks
Read more
Response from BreenaC2, SM Coordinator at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded Dec 31, 2018
Due to Hurricane Michael, PCB had a mandatory evacuation, which is why we required all guests to leave. We do apologize for the delayed response. The catastrophic Category 4 hurricane knocked out power, cell phones, landlines, internet and running water. Our staff that evacuated were told by Emergency Officials to not return until it was deemed safe. This is why there was a delay in response. Once we were able to get temporary phones and hot spots, we immediately began processing refunds and reaching out to our customers. All guests received full refunds for the nights affected by the hurricane starting on day we received the evacuation notice from the city.
Read more
carpet worn out needs a little pressure washing the hallways and stair wells little paint here and there other then that average i would stay there again like that end of the strip price pretty good parking was good pool was nice hot tub was out of order
Read more
Response from BreenaC2, SM Coordinator at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded Nov 8, 2018
Jack, thank you for staying with us! We will use your feedback on the carpet, hallways and paint during internal review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our pool and our end on the west end of the beach.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$124 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sugar sands hotel panama city beachsugar sands motel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sugar Sands Motel
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida PanhandlePanama City Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
84
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing