We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sugar Sands By The Sea

Traveler (145)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (164)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sugar Sands By The Sea is a mid-rise, family-oriented, beachfront hotel located on the quiet and desirable west end of Panama City Beach. Just 10 minutes from Pier Park and the epicenter of the beach, Sugar Sands offers beautiful gulf views, a variety of room accommodations with kitchenettes and great rates for family vacations! Spend the day alternating between swimming in the pool and the gulf and then relax on your private beachfront balcony. #ByTheSeaResorts
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot Tub
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair access
Room features
Air conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
329Reviews
423Photos
5Q+A
67Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 93
  • 80
  • 35
  • 40
  • 81
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
+1
This place was dirty and mismanaged. The place was empty but they insisted we wait until 4pm to check in to the room. The room they gave us was run down and dirty. My feet stuck to the carpet so I had to wear my flip flops the entire time. It does have a view of the beach,
Read more
My trophy girlfriend and I were pleasantly surprised by how nice the room was appointed. It appeared new and fresh. Very clean. Ours was a 2nd floor unit on the beach side overlooking the pool. We booked through a third party web site so there was some confusion at check-in but
Read more
Response from BreenaC2, SM Coordinator at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded Mar 4, 2019
Thank you for your kind words on our rooms and hotel. We apologize for the hiccup at front desk with your reservation. We hope to see you again soon. We'd love for you to follow us on our social media!
Read more
Old and worn out room and furniture. Mold growing Forced to leave because of hurricane. Told us we would get a refund for nights not used. Gave us 2 nights refund out of 4 and told us that’s the best they can do. There was NOTHING in their contract about that. It took 4 weeks
Read more
Response from BreenaC2, SM Coordinator at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded Dec 31, 2018
Due to Hurricane Michael, PCB had a mandatory evacuation, which is why we required all guests to leave. We do apologize for the delayed response. The catastrophic Category 4 hurricane knocked out power, cell phones, landlines, internet and running water. Our staff that evacuated were told by Emergency Officials to not return until it was deemed safe. This is why there was a delay in response. Once we were able to get temporary phones and hot spots, we immediately began processing refunds and reaching out to our customers. All guests received full refunds for the nights affected by the hurricane starting on day we received the evacuation notice from the city.
Read more
carpet worn out needs a little pressure washing the hallways and stair wells little paint here and there other then that average i would stay there again like that end of the strip price pretty good parking was good pool was nice hot tub was out of order
Read more
Response from BreenaC2, SM Coordinator at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded Nov 8, 2018
Jack, thank you for staying with us! We will use your feedback on the carpet, hallways and paint during internal review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our pool and our end on the west end of the beach.
Read more
We came for a long weekend getaway. Check in was easy, no fuss, and the agent was super nice. Rooms are very clean. We had 2 queen bed with kitchen and it was very roomy. View from our balcony was amazing!! Pool was clean and the premises kept nice. It's located just outside the
Read more
Response from BreenaC2, SM Coordinator at Sugar Sands By The Sea
Responded Sep 17, 2018
Mandy, thank you for the review. We are very glad to hear that you had a pleasant check-in and that you enjoyed the size and cleanliness of your room. We will be sure to pass your kind words on to both our front desk and housekeeping staff. Thanks for staying with us!
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravelerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorSugar Sands By The Sea
The Beachfront Efficiency Room at the Sugar Sands Inn and Suites
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorSugar Sands By The Sea
The One Bedroom Apartment with Full Kitchen at the Sugar Sands Inn and Suites
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorSugar Sands By The Sea
The Efficiency Sugar Shack Room with Two Full Beds at the Sugar Sands Inn and Suites
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorSugar Sands By The Sea
The Double Queen Beachfront Suite at the Sugar Sands Inn and Suites
Bathroom
PreviousNext
12345632
are pets allowed? if so is there a weight limit?
I've never seen anyone with a pet there. I don't think they are permitted.
0 votes
Show all answers
Was to windy for us to use chairs while we were there but did see them on the beach and I am sure that they are for rent.
0 votes
Show all answers
Not very far, maybe four miles? It's a pretty drive too, and there is an awesome breakfast joint called thomas' that is on the way.
0 votes
This hotel is not a Super 8. I don't know if they have rollaway beds or adjoining. The room I had had two queen beds and a sofa sleeper.
0 votes
I second the buying your own. There's a Wal-Mart not far from there
0 votes
Show all answers
"update mattress, other than that overall good experience "
"I have photos"
"Very nice rooms (beachside) with deck overlooking pool and ocean"
"Get the double queen with kitchenette!"
"Any room on the ocean side 2nd floor and up if you choose to stay here"
PreviousNext
12345614
PRICE RANGE
$114 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sugar sands hotel panama city beachsugar sands motel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Sugar Sands Motel
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida PanhandlePanama City Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
84
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing