Summit Beach Resort

Summit Beach Resort

No area to put your shampoo or soap.
Traveler (668)
Panorama at The Summit Condominiums
360
Panoramas (8)
Left over chicken nugget in pantry
Room & Suite (335)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#64 of 71 condos in Panama City Beach
Location
4.1
Cleanliness
2.8
Service
3.0
Value
3.1
The Summit Condo located on the beautiful white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico in Panama City Beach, Florida. Spectacular views and gorgeous sunsets from the 14th floor ocean front balcony. The Summit is next door to the very popular Spinakers Beach Club and Club LaVela.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Canoeing
BBQ facilities
Paid public parking on-site
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Diving
Game room
Squash
Windsurfing
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shops
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Refrigerator
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Thai

Location

8743 Thomas Drive, Panama City Beach, FL 32408
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 59 out of 100
59
Northwest Florida Beaches Intl Airport
Destin Airport
44.8 mi
See all flights
973Reviews50Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 229
  • 207
  • 146
  • 118
  • 273
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Angie H wrote a review Oct 2020
Jasper, Alabama76 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We found this resort on Groupon and purchased a two night stay at a great rate. Upon arriving we were pleasantly surprised to find that they have security monitoring their property so we felt safe almost immediately from the time we arrived till we left. Check-in was quick and easy and we first went to our room which was another pleasant surprise. We were expecting a small one bedroom room and were greeted to a large condo that had enough beds to sleep between 6 to 8 people depending on size. It had a washer and dryer, first I've ever seen in a condo, a sink with a garbage disposal, another first. A dishwasher a full size refrigerator and all the things you need to equip it. It had pots, pans, dishes,glasses,silverware,serving dishes it even had salt and pepper shakers! The bedroom was large with a king size bed, a large bathroom with a large shower and double faucet sink. It was colorfully decorated with beach themed items and another surprise,plenty of pillows on the bed and extra in the closet. I say that because usually you are barely given two and have to beg for more at most places. The other bathroom was also fairly large with a nice sized shower and single sink with plenty of towels. The extra bedroom featured a single sized bed and nightstand and there were two small beds in the living room in leu of a couch. There was a coffee table, a dining table and chairs and more beach themed decor. The large patio featured two chairs and a small table and best of all, an amazing view. The resort features two large swimming pools, two hot tubs, a baby pool and a tiki bar. I suffered a low blood sugar episode and needed some juice to raise my sugar quickly and the kind bar tender at the tiki bar gave me not one but two glasses of juice and seemed to genuinely care about my health. There is also a small restaurant named bikini bobs. It features your usual generic beach food and mixed drinks. I got a bbq sandwich and could tell it was from frozen. My husband got an order of chili cheese fries and they made sure you got your money's worth. The box was full to bulging almost. After we ate we made our way to the beach and just enjoyed being together for our 21st anniversary. I would definitely recommend the summit and plan on returning in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Resort Collection, General Manager at Summit Beach Resort
Responded Nov 2, 2020
Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay at our resort. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit! We are continually striving to exceed our customer’s expectations and your input is truly appreciated.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Holly B wrote a review Dec 2020
Lee's Summit, Missouri2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The space in this room was great. We had a 1 Bedroom Unit which had a king bed, fold out sofa and a set of bunk beds built in to the hallway wall. I am thankful that my eldest son was able to use the fold out couch as there was a box spring on the bottom bunk instead of a normal mattress. The floors in the resort could use a good cleaning... my kids feet were very dirty and after the first day I wouldn't let them walk barefoot in the room. The pools were nice and clean but the hot tubs are in dire need of a remodel... the ground around the hot tubs is cracked and is in dire need of an update.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: December 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Resort Collection, General Manager at Summit Beach Resort
Responded Jan 7, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay! We will be sure to pass along the feedback of the needed hot tub updates to the HOA so they may address this issue. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We do suggest that you reach out to the individual/management company you booked with in order to notify them directly of the issues you experienced inside of the unit. Thank you again, your feedback is truly appreciated.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kms430 wrote a review Jun 2020
Henderson, TN39 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I have just returned from a short trip with my daughter and granddaughters (6&8) and our first time staying at The Summit. After reading the reviews regarding the elevator issues, I rented ground floor Unit #108 through Resort Collection via VRBO and we were not disappointed! The condo was a bit musty when we arrived, but it aired out quickly. The master bedroom is roomy with a comfortable king bed. Even the sofa bed wasn't too bad. There are 1-1/2 baths which are small, but sufficient. The kitchen is also small, but workable with everything you could possibly need. Washer & dryer in the unit is another plus! The porch is open to the grassy area and just steps to the pool. We enjoyed the on-site market, Bikini Bob's, the Tiki Bar and the music and overall fun atmosphere at the Summit. The access to the beach is also close and easy with a ramp as well as a wheelchair mat that takes you to within steps of the ocean and makes walking a lot easier. There are grilling areas at either end of the building. We will definitely be back again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Resort Collection, General Manager at Summit Beach Resort
Responded Jul 14, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and vacation while here at the Summit in Panama City Beach, FL! We look forward to your future stay!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bryce wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
With high anticipation and optimism for the week stay my friends and I had ahead of us, the summit did little to nothing to impress us. Every morning we were awaken by construction on just about every floor at 8:30 a.m. (so much for getting a good nights sleep while on vacation). The poorly ran institution also failed to alert us of turning the water off for the entire building as it was off for the second half of the day. In result to the water being turned off we were unable to complete the dishes (which was asked of us to do before leaving to avoid additional fees). To my surprise I was fined $145 for a simple clean up of dishes and the normal cleanup of a room after a group stays (sandy floors from the beach, unmade beds, small messes here and there). While the trip cost over $2,000 (which is completely outrageous for everything we went thro, which I’ll repay again... all day construction, water turned off a day, and hardly functioning elevators) we were not treated as we were customers but merely treated as money; they didn’t care about our satisfactory stay and most of the time gave us a “so be it” answer to our problems. We were forced to pay before we got there and were not notified of any construction that we soon would see took over the entirety of the resort. I would not recommend visiting this place to anyone and most certainly not for anyone expecting to be treated the way they had paid for. Look into another place to vacation at and please take this warning as a sign to look elsewhere as there was little to no advantages to staying at this resort who cares nothing about the customers stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ResortCollection, Front Office Manager at Summit Beach Resort
Responded Mar 20, 2020
Thank you for staying with us. I do apologize you were not informed about the construction before you arrived. We have posted signs at our property to keep our guests informed of our updates at this time. I would suggest you contact who you rented from to discuss the fees if you were unable to complete their check out instruction due to maintenance issue with the building. Thank you again for your comments.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Demetra S wrote a review Aug 2020
6 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent $320 on a condo (unit 1318) through an owner, and upon arrival, decided we couldn't stay- it was gross. Elevators were slow or didn't work. Kitchen and bathrooms were in terrible overall condition. I felt uncomfortable letting my kids or parents touch anything in there. When I opened the sleeper couch the mattress was stained and ripped. There were no sheets to be found for the sleeper couch, and the drawers and cabinets contained trash/junk/ and smelled bad. The front desk can't help because they aren't associated with the privately owned units. When I texted inquiring about sheets, they told me there should be some in the closet but I only found dirty pillows. Yes there is an ocean view, but there is also a "gentlmen's club" and amusement park ride called Vomitron across the street. I've inquired about a refund and haven't heard back from anyone. I would characterize the entire experience as Hotel Vomitron! We stayed only long enough for me to rebook us a room at the nearby Hampton Inn Suites which was lovely thank goodness!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Do Not Stay Here.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Resort Collection, General Manager at Summit Beach Resort
Responded Aug 28, 2020
We are displeased to hear that you had these issues during your recent stay. We do recommend that you reach out to the company you booked with in regards to the compensation that you mentioned above. We do value your feedback and will pass along to the correct departments.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lindsey M wrote a review Jul 2021
Chesterfield, Missouri1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Rented through VRBO
My family (myself, husband and 7yr old) visit the area frequently and have stayed at different condos along the beach. Our favorites were booked up so we chose this one as the price was similar to what we have paid. We will NOT return to this unit. It is not comparable to others in the price range.

Pros- Nice pools that stay open later than others. Tiki Bar and Bikini Bob's are convenient. Kids toys and boogie board in unit. Easy beach access and lifeguard present on a red flag day. Gated parking lot with dedicated spots for unloading near entry. Keyless entry to unit. Nicely decorated.

Cons- Major buildup of dust/dirt on walls and vents. Toothpaste and snot stains on walls and surfaces. Brown stains on couch and dining room chairs that I mostly scrubbed off. Smoke alarm opened and missing battery. Light fixtures rusting, missing cover or not working at all. Bathroom towels that smell dirty or have large stains. No pizza pan. Elevators in constant disrepair. The far right elevator needs to be pushed closed in order for it to operate. The 2nd middle elevator trapped us on a floor for a scary few minutes then bounced around to different floors. We resorted to using the stairs, which isn't exactly relaxing when you are on the 11th floor and lugging beach equipment around.

After returning home, I requested my cleaning fee be refunded and was denied. The owner did not apologize for the condition of the unit nor make any attempts to rectify the situation.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Choose a different unit.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cody Silvers wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place has bounced back from the damage left behind From hurricane Micheal.The pools and hot tubs have been redone. The boardwalk to the beach is nice clean wood without splinters like I’ve seen at other places I’ve stayed. I highly recommend staying here for your next beach trip. The owners and guests we interacted with were friendly and had great info about the area when it came to fun things to do and the best restaurants to eat at. Check the Summit out! You will not be disappointed. I can’t wait to come back this fall and see the improvements they’re currently working on. PS: Bikini Bobs restaurant on property is the best value beach front food you’ll find anywhere!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ResortCollection, Front Office Manager at Summit Beach Resort
Responded Mar 6, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with details of your recent stay! We are glad to hear that you found the renovations that have been completed appealing and we are also looking forward to the completion of the remodeling! We look forward to your future stay here at the Summit!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
F J wrote a review Apr 2021
7 contributions
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hello,
It has been over a week since my last email and still have not received any response recognizing the major troubles.
We booked our stay at your property and expected to arrive at a clean condo, especially with the Housekeeping fee ($150) that was included as part of the charge. Instead of relaxing and enjoying our time with family here, mind you with my husband having physical disabilities, we were stressed and looking for solutions to resolve the problems in your property.
We have only brought to your attention what is the most bothersome out of our stay, but there were plenty more issues we did not want to make a weighty situation out of when we got there but I will mention all: the toilet in the bedroom smelled like a Porta potty, it was making noises every 2 minutes at night, clogged shower drain where we had to pull out a nasty clump of hair, stickiness on the balcony floor, damaged and soiled furniture, the pull-out sofa bed was not cleaned, lack of guaranteed set of bedding sheets (we knew to bring our own items that mentioned wouldn't be provided).
In the last 15 years of using Vrbo, this is the first time we had such a seriously poor stay that we felt compelled to write a negative review. I am trying to be honest and fair and am hoping the same from you. I would like us to come to a resolution as I do not want to put everything that has already been mentioned in a review where the general public would see that the Summit has failed to satisfy their customers. This is even alluding to, in the midst of Covid pandemic where cleanliness is of the utmost importance, the Summit cannot warrant the safety of their dwellers when arriving.
At this point, with lack of acknowledgement and response to my last email, we are no longer satisfied with $200 as a refund; we demand a solution to this matter as suggesting a $100 is barely enough to compensate for the distress and troubles we experienced during our stay at your property.

I have attached photos as proof and would like for you to see that we are being honest about such troubles.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
trixi wrote a review Jan 2020
Chisago City, Minnesota570 contributions66 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I rented a one bedroom unit through Resort Collections for 6 weeks. There was never any notification that there would be construction noise in the rooms below us and beside us from 8:00am-5:00pm six days a week. There was no escape on the balcony as they had table saws in use there also. One pool was unusable because it was being repaired. It was a nightmare!!! The water was frequently turned off and the elevators were also being repaired. Why was this not disclosed when we showed an interest in renting from this resort? So very disappointed and cannot recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Avoid this resort. Most rooms and front office and pool under construction!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ResortCollection, Front Office Manager at Summit Beach Resort
Responded Jan 30, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns from some of the issues you experienced during your stay. I am sorry to hear that you experienced so much construction during your stay. Unfortunately we are not notified of when other units are doing construction work in their unit(s). There are quite a bit of owners that are taking advantage of the slower season to remodel their unit while they are vacant. The property is also taking advantage of this as well and making improvements where they see fit. At anytime during your stay if you are experiencing these issues you may reach out to the front desk to assist you, when the front desk is not available they do have an after hours property that may assist you as well. We do hope that you revisit the Summit next winter to enjoy the property once it is finished with renovations, we have not received notice of any construction for next year at this time. Thank you again for expressing your concerns.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kamryn U wrote a review Jul 2021
Douglasville, Georgia1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed here at the summit twice, both with disgusting rooms. We usually travel with a group because the rooms are made to accommodate a small family, but you could fit up to 6. The main master bed, the bunkbeds in the hallway, and the pull out couch. Both times I have stayed at the Summit, I found things between the mattress and the rail to the bunk beds. I just found 2 suckers by the mattress, which really motivated my urge to leave a bad review. We arrived today, and I have only had bad experiences. The elevators at slow, sometimes skips floors, and hot. Tonight when at the pool, someone was very intoxicated dancing, and theirs no security. The pull-out couch had sand all over it. It like when they are cleaning they just come in and change the sheets (HOPEFULLY). The floor also had sand everywhere, but what do you expect its the beach sand gets everywhere. I would definitely not recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RiffeFamily asked a question Jun 2023
Cibolo, Texas85 contributions14 helpful votes
What form of payment is accepted for beach rental chairs?
Answer from Lori C
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Sorry I can't answer that. We never rented Beach chairs. And I'm not even sure if they have any. This was never offered to us as a service.
lee A asked a question Feb 2021
Rogersville, Alabama
Smoking policy?
Answer from Bradley K
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Should never ever smoke, aren't you old enough to know it gives you cancer? Have you ever seen a close friend die from lung cancer?
Answer from StephG
5 contributions
I didn't see a playground on the beach when we were there in August, 2020.
Answer from Cissy C
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Gym was open 2 weeks ago when I visited
pamben63 wrote a tip May 3
Gainesville, Georgia9 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"The beds are atrocious. "
Read full review
Vivrant C wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you're not bothered by roaches, dirty let out beds, cold showers, or owners that don't reach out in a timely manner. This is your place."
Read full review
Chuck D wrote a tip Oct 2023
Maryville, Tennessee23 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"find a good spot on beach early before the kids get out and take a large area."
Read full review
cplot wrote a tip Sep 2023
Urbana, Illinois256 contributions57 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Private community. Security on site. Gate attendant and arm bands are checked"
Read full review
TravelOneDvr wrote a tip Sep 2023
Johnstown, Colorado52 contributions54 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Vacasa condo management was less than satisfactory in my experience. This, of course, is related to the specific condo I rented."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Panama City Beach area.
PRICE RANGE
$222 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the summit condominiums hotel panama city beach, summit condominiums panama city beach, summit panama city beach, summit condominiums hotel, the summit panama city beach, panama city beach summit, summit panama city fl
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Summit Condominiums
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida PanhandlePanama City Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
138
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SUMMIT BEACH RESORT - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Summit Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Summit Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Panama City Beach Winery (0.2 miles), Slingshot & Indy Speedway (0.1 miles), and Beach Island One Stop Beach Sop (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Summit Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Summit Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Summit Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Summit Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Summit Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hershey's Beach Ice Cream Shop, Guadalajara Mexican Grill, and Hammerhead Fred's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Summit Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Summit Beach Resort?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Summit Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Russian, and Thai.
Does Summit Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Summit Beach Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Panama City Beach HotelsPanama City Beach Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Panama City BeachHotels near Summit Beach Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars