We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Expedia.com$59*
View Deal
#5 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,379 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,359: English reviews
Corbin, Kentucky
Reviewed July 12, 2015

Very clean they cleaned our room anytime we asked, comfortable place to staythe bed was comfortable . It was very quiet even though it was less than a mile from interstate. would stay here anytime and recomend it to family and friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TBen53
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review

"Very clean," is your experience of the Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. Dear Guest, let me assure you that cleanliness is something we will not knowingly compromise on. We will work hard towards giving the guests the very best we possibly could give. In this regard, let me tell you that the Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala is one of...

Mansfield Center
Reviewed July 11, 2015

recently i stayed at Howard Johnsons due to a death in the family. Jane you provided comfort at our time of need. Cedric you are the best, Thanks for locking in our rate. Its hard to say goodbye to such great people and ho-jo'S we have stayed in Ocala on several occ and have always enjoyed our stay. This motel...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail R
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review

Yes, the "rooms will totally be redone in the fall." You got that right. Not only the rooms, but also the outside. It is getting a major face lift, and an expensive one. FYI, the Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala is one of the three properties worldwide that has signed up for the major renovation under the new Howard Johnson...

Reviewed July 8, 2015 via mobile

I am extremely happy with the Howard Johnson this is our 3rd stay in 3 weeks and I have nothing but good things to say about them. We are here on business and are not expecting much. The rooms are very clean, they smell nice, the restaurant food is decent for the price and they will deliver to your room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Danielle L
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review

You are "extremely happy" with the Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala because at this motel you find good value for your money. "Very clean" rooms, good size flat screen TV, decent food for the price, no issue with the internet, friendly staff is what you got at HoJo Ocala. This is what we strive very hard to convey to every...

Reviewed July 7, 2015 via mobile

Staff was very helpful and super friendy...carpet in room was old and dirty...blow dryer didn't work...breakfast wasn't good at all! Other then that we enjoyed the hot tub and pool love that it was open late!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jennifer M
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review

Yes, the "staff is very helpful and super friendly." This is because we want to give you, our guest, the best we possible could give. I am very disturbed, however, that you were not happy with the room and the amenities. I have personally taken the responsibility to make sure that the items you have mentioned are checked and taken...

Holiday, Florida
Reviewed July 6, 2015

Very clean place and a friendly staff. I was, however, accidentally checked into one room and given the keys to a different room. So, it was a surprise when someone tried to enter the room in which I was staying. The desk called, admitted the error and corrected the issue. I applaud the staff for taking responsibility in making an...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank perryc393
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review

Dear Guest, you write your experience as "very clean place and friendly staff." This is what we strive very hard to give to every guest that walks on the grounds of Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know of your experience. What is very disturbing, however, is that we made...

South Miami, Florida
Reviewed July 5, 2015

It had been a while since my last stay at a Hojos. In fact the last time I stayed in one my parents paid! LOL I was in town for a wedding and needed a family friendly place to stay. The room was dated but very clean. The plumbing had issues but they fixed it with great speed. The restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RS W
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review

Our dear guest, your suggestion to others about Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala is "if you need a clean place to stay in the Ocala area, give it a whirl...They even give breakfast!" Yes, they give a deluxe complimentary breakfast that includes hard-boiled eggs, bananas, make your own waffle, variety of cereals, breads, home-made banana muffins, tea, coffee, etc. And...

South Point, Ohio
Reviewed July 2, 2015

A family friendly place that is very clean and the staff was polite and helpful. The pool was nice and the mini gulf was a great activity for the kids. I'll be staying here again on my way back from Key West, Fl. Also this Inn is just off I-75 which was very convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frances B
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review

Your experience of the Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala is 'family friendly place,' 'very clean' and 'the staff was polite and helpful.' Our dear guest, these are the principles by which we govern our business and I am delighted to hear from you that you actually experienced all these things. The HoJo team strives very hard to convey to every...

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Reviewed July 1, 2015

This motel was okay. The room appeared clean and was spacious enough. I was afraid it would be loud because it is very close to I-75 but I did not hear any road traffic overnight. The restaurant attached to the lobby is convenient but the food is not particularly good. Not much selection and not really well prepared. I could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarciaC22
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review

"The room appeared clean and was spacious enough," was your experience. Let me assure you, dear guest, that we will strive hard to give you, our guests, the best we possibly could give you. Although close to I-75, you did not 'hear any road traffic overnight" because we have changed the glass in the windows to sound proof glass. Unfortunately,...

Elkhart, Indiana
Reviewed July 1, 2015

Very nice, clean, and comfortable...all the amenities. I arrived at 3:30am, and was given a late checkout for free!!! defiitely will stop here again! the pool area was away from the rooms, which is a plus if you sleep late!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maryann38311
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review

"Very nice, clean, and comfortable... all the amenities," and your description has succinctly stated what the HoJo team strives very hard to convey to every guest that walks in the Howard Johnson Inn of Ocala. Thank you, thank you and thank you, dear guest, for taking time to let us know about your experience. In order to be the best...

Vancleave, Mississippi, United States
Reviewed June 30, 2015

We booked this hotel for one night on our way to Miami. It was a very nice room for the price and the grounds and room were very clean. The hotel staff were very friendly. We chose to eat in their restaurant and as I did not care for what I ordered, our waitress was so sweet and kept apologizing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa A
Nurjehan S, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this review

Thank you, dear guest, for taking time to let us know how and where we need to improve. "Nice room for the price" is one of our principles on which we do business. We strongly believe in giving value to all the guests. And second thing you experienced is "very clean' room. For sure, we strive very hard to maintain...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (110)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
05/07/2017 05/08/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 34 in Ocala
313 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#9 of 34 in Ocala
306 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocala Park Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ocala
12.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Price Range: $60 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL staff and other travelers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
8 months ago
Palm Coast, Florida
over a year ago
Marshall, Wisconsin
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Stay away from pool rooms as it was very noisy at night”
txinfl, 1 week ago | Read review
“If you have difficulty with stairs, request a first floor room as outside stairwell might be difficult for someone with mobility issues.”
sharonp48, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Call ahead for larger rooms or smoking rooms”
brucew229, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“quiet ground floors even facing the hwy...black out shade---excellent!!!!”
R1401HKdeborahc, Mar 19, 2017 | Read review
“Well I like the ground floor across from the front desk.. Quick trip for a free breakfast. A nice dinner, beer and wine etc. lol.”
Bamartin50, Mar 4, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Expedia.com
$59* /night
View Deal
HotelQuickly$80
Booking.com$59
Orbitz.com$59
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates