We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
5400 Plantation Road, Captiva Island, FL 33924
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Senior Discount
travelup.com
$552
View deal
ZenHotels.com
getaroom.com
$539
View deal
FindHotel$577
Priceline
Hurb$662
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (2963)
Room & Suite (1088)
Videos (2)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 06/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from South Seas Island Resort
Updated 06/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 4 hotels in Captiva Island
Location
4.6
Cleanliness
4.0
Service
4.0
Value
3.5
South Seas Island Resort is located on 330-acres on tropical Captiva Island, on the west coast of Florida, just off the beaches of Fort Myers, Fl. South Seas is an iconic resort village combining a natural wonderland with modern resort amenities and accommodations. The resort offers many styles and sizes of accommodations including guestrooms, one to three bedroom villas (condominiums), cottages and spacious private homes. Activities at the resort include tennis, golf, water sports programs including kayak tours, boating and parasailing. Kids will have a great time at the Sanibel Sea School while learning about the surrounding environment. Enjoy three lagoon style pools, complete with private cabanas located at the Pointe and H2Whoa! With two fun water slides. The resort also features some of the best shelling in the world on the miles of sugar sand beach. For relaxation, the Kay Casperson Boutique and Spa is located in the South Village, providing special pampering with a complete spa treatment menu.Dining at South Seas Island Resort is as varied as the activities, with The Harbourside Bar and Grill and The Pointe located at North Pointe. Visit Scoops & Slices, located next to The Pointe, for ice cream or coal fired pizza. In the South Village, other options include Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille, Starbucks and the Captiva Provision Company, a gourmet deli.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Poolside bar
Golf course
Tennis court
Fishing
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Concierge
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Safe
Iron
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee
4631Reviews389Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 2,136
  • 1,157
  • 686
  • 359
  • 293
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Nancy G wrote a review Jun 2022
32 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
4 nights stay and had not been in many years. The property overall is still beautiful & the amenities are very nice. Stayed in the Harbourside Guest Rms, The room had a beautiful view & the dolphins swimming right beside the hotel can't be beat. However, they really need to upgrade the rooms. The rooms keys are the type that deactivate when they are near a cell phone. Not very convenient when the front desk is 2 miles away. They should upgrade their access system with newer technology, Exterior hallways & stairs were dirty and not cleaned at all while we were there. They also get very wet when it rains and we were actually walking through puddles on the stairs from our room. The water was never cleaned up, which was very dangerous. We took the elevator up to our room when we first arrived with our luggage. The elevator was slow & was not clean. There were lights out in the cab and the light lenses were dirty with bugs. We arrived in our room & pulled out the luggage racks for our bags. One rack was ripped, but we managed to balance one of the smaller bags on it. The refrigerator was small but handy, however, there was rust on the bottom. The room was very poorly lit with only two little lamps with the old CFL bulbs in them for the entire room. We had to use the daylight to see anything in the room. The room needed new carpet as it was stained, the HVAC vents were dirty and there was damaged baseboard and vanity legs that were crumbling.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, General Manager at South Seas Island Resort
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Nancy, It was a pleasure to welcome you back after so many years and we are pleased to read that our resort still holds a special place in your heart. We trust you had great fun exploring our 300 tropical acres and we hope a few hours were enjoyed on the beach or beside our pools. We appreciate your valuable feedback regarding your room and we trust you heard that our resort was recently acquired by new ownership. With that in mind, guest feedback is highly valued during these times, as we are creating plans to further enhance the property in the months and years ahead. We thank you again for letting us know what you most enjoyed and your noted areas of opportunity are of great value as well. We apologize for any challenges, and we look forward to earning a full list of things you love the next time you join us. Until then. Warm regards, Alastair Jones Resort Manager
Read more
Christine R wrote a review Jan 2022
Beverly Hills, Michigan2 contributions
+1
Hotel's Favorite
Dear Shawn, We had the best time and excellent service from Chantal at the front desk. She took care of us from the moment we walked in the front lobby until the moment we checked out! We will be back! The Randall’s🌴❣️😎
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, General Manager at South Seas Island Resort
Responded Jan 14, 2022
Greetings ChristineR383, It was a pleasure to welcome you and yours and we thank you for taking the time to share such thoughtful feedback regarding your recent South Seas retreat. We are fortunate to have the best hospitality professionals in central Florida and your kind words regarding Chantal and the efforts she took in making you feel at home will be celebrated with her and our greater team. On behalf of all of us, the pleasure was ours and we will be counting the days until your return. If we can assist in planning a spring or mid-summer retreat, we invite you to be in touch. All the best, Shawn Farrell General Manager
Read more
Luxury Review wrote a review Jun 2022
Jacksonville, Florida22 contributions18 helpful votes
The hotel is in a fantastic place with great beaches and surrounding natural landscape but unfortunatlely the hotel is stuck in the 80s. Not much attention has been paid to this enormous resort that has tremendous potential. Unfortunaltey have not found a resort in Sanibel or Captiva that lives up to the word luxury. The room looked old and the entire site was old and delapated. Even the parking lot was full of defects with a deck needing repair. The tennis courts appeared well kept and the beach was naturaly beautiful. The concept of food, actiivities, and drinks on the beach fell short as the food was not good and the overall appearance was dated, delapadated and old except for the beach itself. In addition; the hotel was very unkept with laundry and garbage in hallways and visible in the parking lot. While the room was clean and furniture was updated, the room itself was narrow and dark. Hotel room Room was dated and needed to be completely redone. If you like the 80s youll like it here. The masterbedroom shower and sink had poor drainage to call for repair. Plug in this bath also didn't work. It was dark and narrow. Hotel exterior Dated and needed at least a new coat of pain or rather to be redone. Alot of laundry and garbage in halls and visible in parking lots and elsewhere. Staff Harborside restarant had good food and service. The reception area was not knowledgeable Pool Dated Reception/Lounge Welcomed by someone who was not knowlegable about the hotel. Had to inquire the next morning about web access, activities, and room service
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for an updated room if they exist as the units are individually owned.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, General Manager at South Seas Island Resort
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Luxuryreview, Greetings to you and yours and thank you for sharing your review. While we are pleased to read that your dinning experiences were well enjoyed, as was your time at the beach, we are sorry to learn that other experiences fell short of expectation. We value the feedback provided and with new owners now leading the resort, your comments will be reviewed in depth as we continue to take action to elevate the guest experience. We know we fell short in earning your seal of approval but with change on the horizon, we do hope another visit will one day be planned as we would like nothing more than to win your heart with a more treasured Captiva retreat. Until then. Warm regards, Alastair Jones Resort Manager
Read more
Fsuebee wrote a review Jun 2022
Florida16 contributions19 helpful votes
We absolutely love this place. My family and I have been been coming here for the past several years. If we are able to find a deal we will book 2 or 3 times in a year. We just came back from a 5 day stay. Chantel at the front desk helped us with checkin. She was absolutely amazing!! Please consider giving this young lady a raise. She was friendly, kind and welcoming. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. My only complaint on this trip was housekeeping and the beach setup. We dealt with some New Jersey group of about 20 that liked to set up infront of hotel guest. It didnt appear that they were guest as they did not have bracelets on. They brought their own chairs and umbrellas and completely blocked everyones view. I didnt think this was allowed. However the beach boys said there was nothing they could do about it. They also had a dog that ran around loose bothering all guest. Again I didnt think dogs were allowed on the beach. But oh well. The other concern was housekeeping. In the 5 days we were there they only came to clean once at 400pm when we had just gotten back from the beach. I requested that they return later as we were about to shower and they never did. Five days of no housekeeping was pretty bad. Besides those 2 things South Seas met all our expectations. We love coming here and we will be back. But please keep your pricing reasonable. It has increased quite a bit in the last year.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and get a golf cart!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, General Manager at South Seas Island Resort
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Fsuebee, Greetings to you and yours and thank you for our South Seas loyalty. We are elated to read that we continue to impress, and we thank you for sharing insight into your most recent South Seas visit. As your comments note, our two miles of beaches provide the perfect place to relax and recharge and we apologize if other beach-goers imposed upon your experience. We will investigate the matter with the off-leash dog, and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We value your added feedback and apologize if our current approach to housekeeping service caused any inconvenience. It appears that your request for later service was somehow missed and we again extend our regrets. On behalf of all of us, we trust that we will soon have the pleasure of hosting you again and we invite you to subscribe to our “Keep in Touch” website feed for early-bird information related to various specials and promotional rates. Until next time. All the best, Alastair Jones Resort Manager
Read more
David B wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
After 20+ years of visiting, we decided last week's visit will be our last. Overall a beautiful resort with great beaches and pools (perfect for families), the accommodations are just too inconsistent and with recent significant price increases, just not realistic any more. There has been a change in ownership of the property from what I understand, and old staff who used to make sure that repeat guests like us always got good rooms are gone. For the very high price per night to have substandard accommodations and shoddy housekeeping, it just doesn't make sense any more. With regard to housekeeping specifically, we were promised daily service upon request, but it never happened. Keep that in mind if you decide to stay here as well.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, General Manager at South Seas Island Resort
Responded 6 days ago
Dear davidbX8250MZ, Captiva is a piece of paradise, and we take effort to ensure that our resort is as well. We thank you for your endless years of loyalty and we apologize if your most recent visit fell short of what you have come to love most about our resort. We appreciate you taking the time to craft your thoughtful review and we hope you take comfort in knowing that your comments have been heard. As you’ve noted, new owners have recently taken on the hotel and with that, endless upgrades and exciting changes are on the horizon. We understand we fell short during your most recent visit though we hope one more chance will be provided as we would love nothing more than to restore your confidence in the treasured moments you have come to expect when settling in for a beachside retreat. If I can offer my personal assistance in planning your return, I invite you to be in touch. Warm regards, Alastair Jones Resort Manager
Read more
dks657 wrote a review Jun 2022
Council Bluffs, Iowa1 contribution
We've stayed at this property multiple times and each time it would appear to get better. We arrived and attempted to check in, only to find out our room wasn't ready because of a late check out. Our reservation host couldn't be nicer and personally left the front desk (not busy) to check on our room. We were in the room within 30 minutes after a nice tour of the facility. Room was a 3 bedroom condo over looking the boat harbor located just behind the reservations building. Lots of parking and room looked great. Our only disappointment was the lack of certain pots/pans/utensils in the condo but we made due. The stay went way too fast but we had an amazing time; while the resort was busy, we were advised the local "snow bunnies" had just departed, making the island much more accessible due to the limited traffic. I literally couldn't have asked for a better vacation. Normally, I will look for and find something to complain about (just my nature) but I couldn't find anything I would have changed. (Okay, I did get a little pissy about paying $6.50 for two cans of corn at the Ship Store but.......) Overall, a great experience and I will definitely return to South Seas. Shout out to the reservations hosts, housekeeping, maintenance and Building & Grounds. This area had just been hit by a tropical depression that dumped 10-15 inches of rain days before our check in. Place looked great for having to weather that.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, General Manager at South Seas Island Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear dks657, Our team extends a cheerful hello to you and yours and we appreciate the shout-outs noted within your review. It sounds as if we impressed at every turn and we have already celebrated your kind words with our various teams, including those at the front desk, our housekeeping colleagues and those who keep our 300 tropical acres so immaculately pruned. We trust future South Seas visits will soon be planned and we invite you to be in touch if we can assist in planning your next Captiva retreat. Until then. Warm regards, Alastair Jones Resort Manager
Read more
familytraveller wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
We stayed at the Bayside Villa 2-bedroom. The suite was smelling mold pretty bad and we found pieces of broken glass on the carpet. The only two amenities are the beach and the main pool. The beach is nice but hard to get to and parking is for golf carts only. The pool is ok with two slides, but far from nice. The restaurants are 30min drive from the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay away from the Bayside Villa rooms
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, General Manager at South Seas Island Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear ftH9095HL, Greetings from Captiva and thank you for sharing your review. We understand you left the island feeling disappointed though we fear you may have missed a great deal of what our resort has to offer. Beyond our two miles of beaches and multiple pools, the resort offers golf, tennis, kayaking, fishing excursions, jet-skiing, child-friendly activities and so much more. In addition, we offer several on-site eateries within the resort grounds and several other local options are just a short walk from our front gates. We apologize again if these details were not known and we hope treasured moments and great dining will be enjoyed the next time you join us. Kind regards, Alastair Jones Resort Manager
Read more
crystal h wrote a review Jun 2022
McDonough, Georgia2 contributions3 helpful votes
Don’t pay attention to all the negative reviews! This was our first time to Captiva & we had a Wonderful experience!! All of the staff was very friendly & went out of their way to make our 30th anniversary trip one we’ll always remember!! The tennis villa we stayed in (3124) was newly remodeled & super nice!! Bed was super comfy, water pressure in the shower was great & we had everything we needed for our 5 day stay, no complaints whatsoever!! Only suggestion would be for resort to add sidewalks
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, General Manager at South Seas Island Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 527crystalh, Happy Anniversary once again to you both and our entire South Seas team thanks you for the glowing review and thoughtful recommendation. It was a joy to serve as the host for your romantic retreat and your kind words regarding the genuine hospitality provided by our team have certainly captured our attention. On behalf of all of us, the pleasure was fully ours and we wish you both endless years of health, happiness, love, and future South Seas visits. Until next time. Warm regards, Alastair Jones Resort Manager
Read more
Donna W wrote a review Jun 2022
Orlando, Florida30 contributions33 helpful votes
The beach is difficult to get to, impossible if you are in a wheelchair. There are small unimpressive pools at each individual resort and the bigger pool with slides is far and crowded. And other then pools and an inaccessible beach there is not much more there. Not worth the premium price at all.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, General Manager at South Seas Island Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Donna, Our team extends a warm hello, and we thank you for sharing your review. As your comments note, our resort is quite expansive, covering over 300 acres of land. With that, our various amenities and accommodations are spread throughout our grounds and we apologize if this created any difficulty in navigating your points of interest. Should you join us again, if there is a specific amenity you prefer to be close to, we invite you to reach out to our Reservations Team so that this request can be noted on your reservation. We thank you once more and we hope your next visit results in the treasured moments we are known to create. Until then. Warmest regards, Alastair Jones Resort Manager
Read more
eadavis2022 wrote a review Jun 2022
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina1 contribution
Reservation system is in bad need of revamping. Very confusing Front desk people had not been informed about many things. Felt sorry for them. Grounds were very pretty. Villa’s need some updates for the price you pay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from B P, General Manager at South Seas Island Resort
Responded 1 week ago
Dear eadavis2022, June is a lovely time to visit Captiva and we are thrilled to learn that you and yours had an enjoyable visit. We thank you for letting us know what you most enjoyed and your feedback regarding areas of opportunity is received with equal appreciation. It would be a joy to one day welcome you again and we look forward to shining even brighter upon your return. Warm regards, Alastair Jones Resort Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$269 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
south seas island hotel captiva island, south seas island captiva, south seas island resort
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaSouthwest Gulf CoastCaptiva Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
458
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about South Seas Island Resort
Which popular attractions are close to South Seas Island Resort?
Nearby attractions include Captiva Beach (1.7 miles), Captiva Chapel By-The-Sea (2.1 miles), and Blind Pass Beach (4.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at South Seas Island Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at South Seas Island Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at South Seas Island Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at South Seas Island Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to South Seas Island Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Captiva, Mad Hatter Restaurant, and Sunset Grill Incorporated.
Are there opportunities to exercise at South Seas Island Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at South Seas Island Resort?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does South Seas Island Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to South Seas Island Resort?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Randell Research Center (8.2 miles) and Traders Hitching Post (9.5 miles).
Does South Seas Island Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbor view available here.