We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Dolphin Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Black Dolphin Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

431 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 427: English reviews
Start your review of Black Dolphin Inn
 Click to rate
Mal Pais, Costa Rica
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent two nights at the Black Dolphin on our way up the coast. Our one word descriptions are as follows: Immaculate, Tasteful, Inviting. We opted for a bit more privacy so the Honeymoon suite was the perfect decision..a private patio, and fabulous jacuzzi tub, along with one of the most comfortable beds and pillows greeted us. Smiles all around....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ManaNina
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for your lovely review of our award-winning boutique inn. We pride ourselves on providing a warm, enriching, and genuine guest experience that not only provides value to our guests - but which creates a compelling reason for our guests to return. The true test of any high-end establishment is not whether they...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a lovely Inn, the rooms are well furnished and spacious.We had two balconies one overlooking the river where the dolphins swim. The breakfasts are delicious and cooked to order in front of you. They also have a jetty that you can sit out on and enjoy the wild life on the river. The owners are really friendly and can't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lorna B
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor review. It was certainly a pleasure to have you as our guests and we greatly appreciated your positive comments regarding our delicious cooked-to-order breakfast, our water-front location where dolphins are on our daily guest list and of course - our friendly staff who love to pamper our guests....

Wellington, Florida
Reviewed February 12, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I spent 3 glorious days in the Honeymoon suite overlooking the River. The room was spotless and so warm and cozy with a wonderful jacuzzi tub. The balcony was lovely and very private. Now on to the food. Breakfast was so fresh and delicious. Cooked to order. There was fresh fruit and snacks out to enjoy anytime....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grossmanmarta
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you so much for sharing your recent travel experience with us via your post on TripAdvisor. We are so thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we can't thank you enough for your kind words regarding the Honeymoon Suite, our great breakfast and related dining amenities, and of course - our attentive...

Lake Placid, New York
Reviewed February 10, 2017

What a fabulous stay we had at the Black Dolphin Inn! The innkeepers have created a luxurious, perfectly maintained b and b with all the amenities one might desire. We so enjoyed lounging at the waterside dock, exploring the beaches of New Smyrna, just a short drive away, and strolling the lovely neighborhood of the inn. Breakfast was artfully prepared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coleen S
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! We were delighted to be the recipient of your wonderful TripAdvisor review. Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our luxurious facilities and amenities - along with your accompanying narrative regarding the host of diversions that our guests can enjoy in our coastal village of New Smyrna Beach. Lastly, thank you for...

Reviewed February 7, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I have stayed at the Black Dolphin quite a few times in the past 3 years! It is by far our favorite getaway!! We even decided to get married in New Smyrna Beach and spend our honeymoon there because of the Black Dolphin. Each room we have stayed has its own unique design and feels separate from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brita J
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for your wonderful TripAdvisor review. There is really no business that is more dependent on customer feedback than the hospitality industry and we are so pleased that you took your valued time to share your recent travel experience with us. After so many visits with us over the past 3 years -...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed February 2, 2017 via mobile

We brought a visitor from England to the Black Dolphin to experience coastal Florida. It is a warm, homey inn with a welcoming soul. Beautiful rooms and grounds. Brett & Sheila treat you like family. The private dock across the street is the quintessential definition of serenity. And their home-cooked breakfast is extraordinary. 5 star food in a breathtaking setting....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheOranges
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! It's always great to hear from our guests - especially from someone like yourself who has posted an amazing 347 reviews on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased and honored to be ranked as one your favorite B&B's in the United States. We are indeed humbled by your wonderful remarks and deeply appreciated your generous...

Frankfort, Kentucky
Reviewed February 2, 2017

My friends and I recently had the privilege of staying at the Black Dolphin Inn, and it did not disappoint, we were treated like royalty! The hotel was chosen due to its proximity to Daytona since we were in town for the Rolex 24 Hour Race. The rooms were so clean and beautiful. The BEDS were fantastic (including the bedding),...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michellegoins
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you so much for your insightful TripAdvisor review - and for your accompanying photographs of our award-winning boutique inn. We were delighted to hear that you were treated like royalty and that our staff was amazing in providing for your comfort and well-being. We really loved the vibe of the Rolex 24 Hour...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed January 31, 2017

Stayed in the honeymoon suite and made great use of the hot tub. Woke up to a large breakfast made-to-order for us on the first floor. Everything was very clean and well maintained, and the service was great.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kcremonese
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! We are so pleased that you enjoyed a romantic getaway at our award-winning boutique inn. We appreciated your kind remarks regarding our honeymoon suite, great service, and cooked-to-order breakfast. We hope that we will have the pleasure of your company the next time you plan to return to New Smyrna Beach. Brett P Smith,...

Reviewed January 26, 2017 via mobile

Black Dolphin Inn made our getaway to New Smyrna Beach an unforgettable one. Room was fantastic, even for our dog. (Pet friendly) Location superb. And the morning view indescribable. I'd highly recommend this for any couple looking to enjoy some quiet, together time.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rick F
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you for your 5 star TripAdvisor rating of our award-winning boutique inn. We are so pleased that your romantic getaway was special and unforgettable. It was so nice of you to mention our "pet-friendly" unit which was fantastic, our superb location, and our waterfront views which were indescribable. We can't wait for you...

Lake Mary, Florida
Reviewed January 26, 2017

This Inn is beautiful! The owners and staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room had a private deck with an incredible view of the Intercoastal. There is also a covered dock with tables and chairs. We watched a distant thunderstorm from the dock until it became a local thunderstorm. I recommend the BDI highly. Very interesting architecture, very clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fritz145
Brett S, Owner at Black Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from the Black Dolphin Inn! Thank you so much for posting such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you want to return for a future visit - which is the nicest compliment we could receive. We are so appreciative of you laudatory comments in which you described all of...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

312 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (156)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (156)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (82)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Smyrna Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
Hampton Inn New Smyrna Beach
#1 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
751 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN New Smyrna Beach Ho...
#2 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
824 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Riverview Hotel
The Riverview Hotel
#3 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Islander Beach Resort
Islander Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
220 reviews
1.9 mi away
Coconut Palms Beach Resort 2
Coconut Palms Beach Resort 2
#7 of 13 in New Smyrna Beach
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Night Swan Intracoastal Bed and Breakfast
Night Swan Intracoastal Bed and ...
#1 of 10 in New Smyrna Beach
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A quaint Old Florida beach town is the setting for this elegant Spanish-Isle boutique inn overlooking the Indian River on Florida's East-central Atlantic Coast. Opened in 2013 after an extensive renovation,the Black Dolphin is the recipient of the 2014 Traveler's Choice Award as one of the Top 10 Inns in the US, 2014 & 2015 AAA Four Diamond Award, 2013 & 2014 BedandBreakfast's Top 10 Beach B&B's worldwide, iLoveInns's Top 10 Romantic Inns in the US, Fodor's Choice Award, and the Guardian's Top 10 B&B and Guest Houses in Florida. The 14-room inn gets its name from the plentiful dolphin who gracefully patrol the waters off its dock. Accommodations include guest rooms and suites with balconies and outdoor terraces, elegant Euro-style bedding, and spa-inspired bathrooms with jetted tubs. Furnishings vary in each room with original artwork and antiques tastefully integrated with modern sensibilities and decor. Eight of the suites and guest rooms are equipped with wet bars. Guests share the modern and expansive Great Room on the first floor level which includes a bar, open kitchen, sitting area and breakfast room. A complimentary continental breakfast is served daily with a full Southern-style breakfast on weekends. You are within walking distance of the shops and restaurants in New Smyrna Beach's historic downtown and a short distance from the seaside community's sprawling beaches, surf shops, and Flagler Avenue's beach-side galleries and eateries. Overnight dockage is available for guests with boats , and fishing opportunities are abundant in the backwaters and bays of the Indian River and nearby Canaveral National Seashore Park. Or just sit on the dock, sip a glass of wine, and watch the dolphins swim by. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Dolphin Inn

Address: 916 S Riverside Dr, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32168-7449
Location: United States > Florida > New Smyrna Beach
Price Range: $211 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Dolphin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Black Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Black Dolphin Inn staff and other travelers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Black Dolphin Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Honeymoon suite is fabulous for privacy and a lovely patio to the water. Highly recommend.”
 of 5 bubbles ManaNina, 1 week ago | Read review
“Ask for a river view”
 of 5 bubbles 131lornab, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“We stayed in room 103, it did not have a water view but I would request this room again!”
 of 5 bubbles michellegoins, Feb 2, 2017 | Read review
“Each room is different so call and speak with them for a recommendation after touring their web cite.”
 of 5 bubbles scottsM4801BT, Jan 12, 2017 | Read review
“Room 202 (our favorite) and 204 (2 smaller room suite) offer best porches and views of the water.”
  • View of Intracoastal from our room
 of 5 bubbles hollye648, Jan 7, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question