The Hideaway Retreat

The Hideaway Retreat

Traveler (231)
Pool & Beach (32)
Looking out at our “premium waterview”
Room & Suite (8)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#2 of 4 campgrounds in Navarre
Location
4.8
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
4.5
Value
4.6
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
The Hideaway Retreat is a vintage waterfront campground with 742 ft of private beach, 50 RV sites, 10 Tent Sites and Beach House located in Navarre Florida. Nestled under oak and magnolia shade trees, our tent and RV camping retreat is a hidden gem. It's where you go to reconnect with nature and one another the old fashioned way, in person.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Self-serve laundry
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Mid-range
181Reviews0Q+A17Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 138
  • 11
  • 5
  • 11
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
cipcoll wrote a review Aug 2020
Orlando, Florida
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Traveling as a couple with a dog that usually has to stay back in the RV when we go to the beach, this gem that actually welcomes dogs on their beach just steps from our site premium water front site (#37), made for a super fun stay. This beach is on the sound, so don’t expect the emerald green water but it’s super clear and lovely! There were always floats available for use right on the beach which was really convenient. Everyone was very responsible for cleaning up after their pets and let’s face it “dog people” are fun and friendly. We lost power while we were here but the office quickly responded with a converter to borrow. Will return!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Deirdre wrote a review Aug 2020
Ooltewah, Tennessee
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We tent camped with our puppers tagging along. It was an amazingly relaxing trip. Dogs are not allowed on the main beach in Navarre so this was definitely a blessing. I think the best part was being able to snorkel and not worry about the waves and tide being too strong. We could go out farther than you would be able to on the open beach. The water was so clear you could see all the way to the bottom of the ocean and touch so far out. The bathroom/showers were cleaned all the time. The laundry room was spotless and well maintained. We are planning a trip back in November!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gerald C wrote a review Nov 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We've traveled via RV from California to Florida since May 2019. This campground is our favorite. Beautiful magnolia trees and right on the beach. The dogs can enjoy the beach without leashes. Sunsets are spectacular! The sites are well kept with hard packed gravel and many sites have wood deckings. The bath houses are clean and the showers are new with stone tiles. The staff is friendly and helpful and the owner is charming and welcoming. We've been here twice and scheduled to return next year!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Hideaway Retreat, General Manager at The Hideaway Retreat
Responded Dec 9, 2020
Oh we're so happy to hear your affection for our little gem! And, your positive comments about our friendly and accommodating staff is most appreciated! We love hearing of the beautiful memories you created and look forward to your next stay with us. And, we LOVE rewarding such positivity...so, we're adding your name to the list to receive our "Hideaway Happy" your next stay! Can't wait to have you back soon! Many blessings
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KarenC wrote a review Jun 2020
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Campground has potential. Large trees and a 370 ft dog friendly beach. However we were moved to site #2 after booking a larger pull through site. Site #2 was against the bathhouse, all dirt and gravel with broken cinder blocks, pieces of wood and broken glass. The back side was up against a chain link fence. There were plenty of other sites that were empty and nicer that also had picnic tables, but because or trainer is smaller than the large Class A's they put us in this spot instead of the one we paid for. They need to fix this site by cleaning it up and laying sod, or pavers or putting in a wooden deck and adding a picnic table. We left early without getting a refund.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Hideaway Retreat, General Manager at The Hideaway Retreat
Responded Dec 22, 2020
Hi Karen Choate, just as we stated in your review on Google, we're sorry to hear your feedback. We're confused as to why you did not address any of this with us when staying with us? We wish you would have given us the opportunity to clarify some things and make it right for you. For example, the blocks and wood at your site that you are referring to is there as a courtesy to our guests to help them level their rig. They're leveling blocks. I have no idea about any broken glass, perhaps the previous guest broke something? But we would have most definitely cleaned it up right away, had you brought this to our attention. We have plenty of picnic tables, people move them around all the time and we would have happily provided one to you had you requested it. Some guest bring their own tables and do not need them. Yes, we do have sand on property, you are camping at the beach after-all, right? : ) Did you request a site with grass? I don’t see that you did. But, please let us know next time and we’ll be happy to recommend a site for you! Although we cannot control how people choose to perceive our campground, we are always looking for ways to improve our campers‘ experience and appreciate all feedback. So thank you. We would love for you to give us another try and communicate your expectations, so we can help you have an enjoyable time. We do wish you many happy days on the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katheryn wrote a review Jun 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a ocean view tent site. We were told that it had electricity and water and access to a picnic table. When we arrived, we were taken to a yard adjacent to an abandoned house and informed that we would be sharing this small space with 2 other tent campers. Our electricity was an outlet attached to the abandoned house 45 yards away. Our water was a a spigot that had to be shared with all of the campers in that area (also attached to the house). There was no parking!!! We we asked to park in the “overflow” parking area next to the bath house but there was no parking space due to RV’s being housed in that area. This was NOT an actual tent camping site thus the price we were charged was grossly overpriced. The view of the water was particularly obstructed by the empty house directly in front of us. We booked this place because it had all good reviews (4.5 out of 5) except for 2 poor experiences. Unfortunately, the two negatives were completely true. I am very disappointed and afraid they will not refund our money for the remaining 4 nights we booked due to a no refund policy for early departures. We will be leaving in the morning to check into a hotel since no other campsites are available. The sad thing is that our campsite is just as expensive as the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Hideaway Retreat, General Manager at The Hideaway Retreat
Responded Dec 22, 2020
Hi Katheryn, thanks for your feedback. We are not "Ocean" view...perhaps you mistakenly booked at the wrong campground? We have "Soundview." I can see how we could not have met your expectations from the very beginning if you thought you were booking on the Gulf. Yes, we provide an electrical cord for tent camping. It is "tent" camping. Many campgrounds do not even provide water and power at their tent sites so our tenters are happy to have it provided. If you were expecting something more such as being able to flip a switch, perhaps you might want to consider booking an RV camper or hotel room next time. We're sorry we couldn't meet your expectations and appreciate your feedback. Many blessings to you Katheryn!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lauraleey wrote a review Jan 2021
Blythewood, South Carolina
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent two weeks at this special campground and really enjoyed its location, amenities and unique natural setting. This campground sits on the Santa Rosa Sound with water views and stunning sunsets. It’s very close to the causeway that will take you to Navarre Beach and close to shopping and restaurants.
My favorite feature of this campground though is the amazing magnolia trees that are throughout this charming and picturesque place. The amenities include a spotless laundry, small dock (perfect for watching the sunsets) and common area with many games like cornhole and ping pong as well as pretty, vintage style swings suspended from giant trees. This area also has a fire pit and sparkling lights that come on at night to make a nice centerpiece for family gatherings.
I rarely give campground reviews but the Hideaway is too special to not share.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erin wrote a review May 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Tent sites are nestled in the very front of the park closest to the front fence and busy highway (where apparently drag racing happens all night long). Sites are not designated but more, “this is your area and we hope you can fit”. I was told via email I had lot 27 and apparently 4 other families did as well. No private fires, no private hook ups (We ran off our neighbors post with a splitter), no parking space.

Dumpster overflows onto the ground causing nauseating smells so unbearable that sitting at the tent site is not an option, even if adequate space were available to do so. There is currently an air freshener taped to our fans.

Women’s bath house, though beautiful and moderately clean, smells like sewage.

Parking - well there is none. Our car is currently parked between trees so close that we actually have to push upon the tree to get in/out. We also have our tent-neighbors blocked in (with their permission; they were wonderful). What was overflow or “our designated parking” when we got here is now new tent sites.

This was a trial run to see if it were suitable to bring our children. I find the good and bad sit at about similar rank but I could not be more thank for NOT having our children here. I will NEVER be back to tent camp. RV or camper spots seem much more accommodating and tended to than tent spots and will be the only way we would return for a second chance. If parking/overcrowding and smell weren’t an extreme inconvenience, this place would be the perfect camp destination.

Coming from a sleepy rural Midwest town, I didn’t expect the same silence and fireflies but I did expect sleep without the noise of a drag strip, a place throw my trash away, fresh air to sit around and wind down, and a place to park.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CamptownRoadie wrote a review Sep 2022
Hartselle, Alabama
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Campers beware of an amazing place! Every last little detail has been put into place to make this a magical little campground. The owners have gone above and beyond to give this campground an old school Florida feel. Everything from the limestone roads, beautiful live oaks, manicured grass and abundance of plants, this campground is gorgeous.

The beach area is well kept and a great place to spend the day if you do not want to go to the main beach. This spot is on the bay and there is plenty of room to hang out and relax. The water is no more than waste deep with very little waves so it makes a great place to paddle board or just jump on a float and relax the day away.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and even the owner is heavily involved in making sure everyone has a wonderful experience. If I could give 10 stars out of five I would.

One note to be aware of they do not do after hours arrivals. When I asked I was confused as to why this was not an option but after seeing the campground I understand why. There are plenty of spots and plenty of room for all sizes of rigs so do not shy away from this. They have a few reasons to not allow late arrivals and they are warranted. First of course is to not disturb other guests coming in late. This is the most relaxing campground I have ever been to and removing the late arrivals helps to keep you from being disturbed in the night. The main reason I feel they do not want late arrivals is the trees. The property is covered in live oak trees and navigating them with a large camper could be tough in the dark unassisted. The staff does a phenomenal job of helping people get their campers in the spots and out upon arrival and departure. When planning on coming in to this location just make time to get in during office hours and you will have the most amazing experience in what I would call Florida’s most beautiful little secret campground.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul L wrote a review May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This has been an amazing adventure. I don't know where to begin. The location for one is perfect just hop skip to the sound. Very well maintained. Wi-Fi showers water and electricity. The staff... Nothing less than perfect. The owner is exceptional and has gone above and beyond what I could ask for in a person. She has been a godsend for me. RV and tent sites available at low affordable costs and just meeting new people everyday is absolutely fabulous. The Hideaway retreat is definitely a spot to check out.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nan wrote a review May 2021
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Hideaway Retreat needs to update their website. The pictures and information are very outdated.

To begin with, be careful of the massive potholes upon entering the campsite.

The newly renovated women's bath house is in dire need of attention. I recently spent 7 days at Hideaway and no attempt had been made to repair the hole in the drywall between the two restrooms. I mentioned the damage to the folks in the office and they were well aware of the damage. It appears that the bathroom is serviced once a day, you can imagine the overflow of the trash can; and the white bath mats found in the shower area are disgusting! A lot of neglect in this department.

Mother Nature has surely hit the gulf coast hard and the beach area has much erosion. Still beautiful just another area that needs to be maintained.

On a positive note, it is nice that dogs are allowed on the private beach.

If you plan to have a fire in the community fire pit, bring along your own wood.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Boo wrote a tip Feb 2024
Nemo, South Dakota34 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plan your exit to avoid tree issues if you have a big rig."
Read full review
J W wrote a tip Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The entrance is tricky to find. It is directly across from the Tom Thumb gas station right before the traffic light. No fires at site."
Read full review
Marcela g wrote a tip Jun 2023
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you book with ample time, this resort gets booked up fast!"
Read full review
Vacation53885928035 wrote a tip May 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"No security, lock everything up. Anyone can enter at any time. Bathrooms are moldy and smelly"
Read full review
John P wrote a tip Mar 2023
Starkville, Mississippi1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Has grounds cats, very pet friendly "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Navarre area.
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida PanhandleNavarre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE HIDEAWAY RETREAT - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Hideaway Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to The Hideaway Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Navarre Beach (3.4 miles), Santa Rosa Island (4.9 miles), and Navarre Beach Sea Turtle Conservation Center (3.4 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Hideaway Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and self serve laundry.
Is parking available at The Hideaway Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Hideaway Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tommy's New Orleans Snoballs, Scooter's Fish House, and Cactus Flower Cafe of Navarre.
Are pets allowed at The Hideaway Retreat?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Navarre HotelsNavarre Hotel DealsHotels near The Hideaway Retreat
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars