We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
221 E 4th Ave, Mount Dora, FL 32757-5535
E-mail hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Travelocity
Vio.com
View all 5 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (109)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (15)

About

#5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dora
Location
5.0
Cleanliness
4.9
Service
5.0
Value
4.8
Nestled in a secluded location in historic and romantic Mount Dora, experience gracious hospitality, superb cuisine and comfortable lodging. Conveniently located in downtown, you can walk to all the restaurants, shops and other recreational activities Mount Dora has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Boating
Hiking
Kids stay free
Non-smoking hotel
Umbrella
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Tennis court
Canoeing offsite
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Radio
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Chinese
330Reviews3Q+A79Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 287
  • 30
  • 7
  • 5
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
ladyfish574 wrote a review Oct 2022
Fort Lauderdale, Florida187 contributions78 helpful votes
This bed and breakfast is just wonderful. Small intimate, super clean. Victorian feel. We were fortunate to get a first floor room- priceless. Called the Elsie room. Huge bathroom keyless entry. Breakfast are vouchers to a lovely . cafe just down the street from the b&b . Lovely breakfast. It is one block from the historic downtown. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ellen g wrote a review Apr 2022
tampa29 contributions27 helpful votes
Property's Favorite Review
This Inn is a magical place of old world elegance. The porch welcomes you with rocking chairs facing a glorious lake and classical music playing quietly. The staff is the backbone one this place: they maintain this 1883 beauty with love and attention. Every little detail is attended to. The rooms are small but lovely with towering windows. The grounds are majestic with exotic foliage and statues. The location is perfect: hidden away from the bustling quaint town. Breakfast on the porch is a civilized way to end your trip before check out. Not cheap— but a treat you will treasure! Highest praise!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: No elevators— built in 1883
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
BettyRL wrote a review Jul 2022
Miami Lakes, Florida4 contributions2 helpful votes
They gave us a room that was RIGHT next to a storage room! Wall was our room wall. Employees were going in and out of the storage LATE at night, and in the early morning! We could not sleep! Room was at end of building, bottom floor, has puddles to enter room. Room and bathroom had not been updated, smelled stuffy.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Rifat, Owner at Mount Dora Historic Inn
Responded Aug 22, 2022
Thank you for your feedback. Can you please confirm the address of where you stayed and the dates of your stay? Your description does not seem to match the Mount Dora Historic Inn. Our innkeepers are only there during check-in and check-out. We do not have any activity at night nor do we have a storage room located next to a bedroom. I am not sure how a puddle could form on our hardwood floors. Again, we think you have addressed the wrong hotel. Upon taking ownership in May, we added smart TVs, USB ports, Alexa clock radio devices, and bidets. Please contact me directly. Thank you, Rachel Proprietor Mount Dora Historic Inn (352) 735-1212
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelguys2 wrote a review Jan 2022
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida184 contributions92 helpful votes
Beautiful charming spotless ..but No way could anyone give less than 5 stars so I shall not but the pillows ! Please upgrade to a wee bit softer pillow. That being said this place has charm, lots of it. A two minute walk to restaurants and window shopping. We love it but for the pillows! I did not get a good night sleep after almost 400 miles of driving. I’m sure some will love them but for me a pillow and nice mattress will make or break a good nights sleep. Don’t turn away from this historic BnB and never give it less than 5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
JessieBeth wrote a review Jan 2022
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania186 contributions60 helpful votes
+1
I had lunch in Mt Dora probably 15 years ago and wanted to come back on a trip with my husband. It was truly better than I remembered! We decided to stay at the Inn because it's directly on the water and historic. We booked the "budget" rate for first available room since we were only staying one night. Well, when we checked in, I asked if there were any better rooms available and we were graciously gifted with the room that has a massive veranda! It is covered and overlooks the grounds, pool, and lake. There ended up being a huge pouring rainstorm that night and we got to sit there and listen to the rain. It was truly magical :) The grounds are stunning, the staff is amazing, and the rooms are so quaint! Please understand that you are renting a historic building, so it is not modern in many ways, but it's certainly charming! Personally I love charactor, and this property is well loved and maintained. Besides, how much time do you spend in your actual room when the town of Mt Dora is just the bee's knees? I will 1000% recommend this stay and later this year we'll be back again!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Kathy G wrote a review Dec 2021
Winter Park, Florida42 contributions11 helpful votes
+1
We stayed two nights in Elsie's Room, which is right off of the dining room. The room is quaint, roomy, and beautifully decorated. It has a large attached bathroom. We were concerned that we might be disturbed by noise as all other guests must pass through the dining room to get to their rooms. This was not the case at all - we enjoyed a good night's sleep both nights. In the evenings after our adventures in Mount Dora, we relaxed on both of the front porches (one upstairs and one downstairs.) There is convenient parking on the street or behind the inn. There are hot beverages and snacks available 24 hours in the dining room. Because of covid, breakfast was at Cody's, a block away - lots of choices and good food. It is literally a block to the Mount Dora shops and restaurants. We walked everywhere - to the shops, the restaurants, Sunset Park, Donnelly Park, and the boardwalk along the lake. Lily, the innkeeper, is very cordial and made sure we had everything we needed. She keeps the inn very clean and tidy. We are already making plans to return in 2022!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
dazeymcpeter wrote a review Nov 2021
4 contributions
Great stay! Ana and Lilly were very gracious. Neat, clean, comfortable, very convenient to all the shops, restaurants and nature walk. We will be back! One of our top stays in Mt.Dora. Merry Christmas!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nancy By The Bay wrote a review Jun 2021
Venice, Florida12 contributions5 helpful votes
We just spent a weekend at the Historic Inn. We chose an upper floor room. It was very charming and comfortable. There is a small balcony where we enjoyed people watching and a glass of wine. The host was most gracious and accommodating to us. Will definitely return in the future
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
dormir4u wrote a review May 2021
Jacksonville, Florida39 contributions60 helpful votes
We enjoy staying at B&B’s when we travel for the attention to detail and uniqueness of the stay that you do not receive at a hotel. This was not that type of experience. There was NO attention to detail. We were not greeted upon arrival, there were no helpful hints about Mount Dora, recommendations for dinner or suggestions on things to do. The house space had been maximized for rooms to rent, thus no sitting area. Perhaps because of COVID, the coffee service was a Keruig coffee maker and grocery store purchased granola bars, with a voucher for breakfast at a cafe 2 blocks away. The cafe was lovely, perhaps the highlight of our stay at this establishment. The house was historic with very few updates. There were power strips scattered along the pine floor which did not seem a safe choice in an older house. The furnishings had potential which had not been realized in its present state. There was no service … the room was never refreshed, the bed was left for us to make, no one ever checked to see if we needed anything. We had to call on our cell phone to ask for glasses because no one would answer the door of the innkeepers residence. There is much more that I could report, but suffice it to say that we felt that we chose poorly. There are other B&B’s in Mount Dora which we will choose from for our next visit, all at comparable pricing. This stay was as if we were in a motel (not hotel) without any service.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ana Tuttle, Owner at Mount Dora Historic Inn
Responded May 22, 2021
Thank you so much for staying with us and submitting your feedback. We are deeply sorry and disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. Due to COVID, we have had to make several adjustments to our services, but hope to resume normal operations once it is 100% safe to do so. As our inn is small, it makes social-distancing quite a challenge, thus the changes we have put in place. We send all our guests an email prior to their arrival stating the changes we have in place. We are living in very uncertain times and we want to do everything possible to make sure that our staff and our guests are safe. Once again, thank you so much for your review and we hope to get things back to "normalcy".
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sandy s wrote a review Feb 2021
Holmes Beach, Florida89 contributions28 helpful votes
We stayed in the cottage called Nantucket. 2nd time there. 1st time it was so noisy with the people upstairs with dog. This time is was so quiet. The small cottage is very clean and filled with anything yo want except food of course. We were in Mt Dora on a Monday and it seems that is the day the town shuts pretty much down, however we did find a restaurant with 1/2 off all drinks all day. Great Birthday!!!!!! Thanks to Ana who helped us.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: all rooms looked nice
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ana Tuttle, Owner at Mount Dora Historic Inn
Responded Feb 4, 2021
Thank you so much for staying with us and sending us your feedback. In addition, we are so grateful that you gave us another chance and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay and your birthday! We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$210 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mount dora historic hotel mount dora
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaCentral FloridaLake CountyMount Dora
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOUNT DORA HISTORIC INN - Updated 2022 Prices & B&B Reviews (FL)

Frequently Asked Questions about Mount Dora Historic Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Mount Dora Historic Inn?
Nearby attractions include Mount Dora Ghost Tours (0.2 miles), Modernism Museum (0.03 miles), and Mount Dora Olive Oil Company (0.09 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mount Dora Historic Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Mount Dora Historic Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Mount Dora Historic Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Mount Dora Historic Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mount Dora Historic Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Goblin Market, Magical Meat Boutique, and Village Coffee Pot of Mount Dora.
Is Mount Dora Historic Inn located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.1 miles away from the center of Mount Dora.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mount Dora Historic Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to Mount Dora Historic Inn?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Donnelly House (0.1 miles) and Eustis Historical Museum and Preservation Society (4.8 miles).