We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Beach Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Beach Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

446 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 302: English reviews
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Horrible, nothing like the photos on their website No customer service etiquette. Staff were rude. Rooms were very disappointing. Cracked walls, leaky faucets. Manager was just as rude as her staff!!! Not worth the rate. I don't recommend it!

Helpful?
Thank Janette A
IngridHA1973, Director of Sales at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Janette, we are sorry that your perception of the room was different from what it shows on the internet. We do not use professional services for our pictures but are only taken with our camera and download them directly to the internet. We don't even use Photoshop. Regardless, our budget/economic hotel's prices are based on offer/demand for similar... More 

Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Location is just perfect, the next street is Ocean Drive and the Beach, opposite to the Hotel you have a Walgreens (Supermarket). We booked a normal room but got an upgrade to a "Villaroom" which was great, huge with a Sofa and even a kitchen, nice Bathroom, everything was clean and newly renovated, it only had a strange odor... More 

Helpful?
Thank sun900
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016

I have stayed in this hotel for 1 night when visiting Miami with my husband. The room was bigger size then expected however with interesting smell, which gave me headache. The hotel offered glass of wine each in the bar, which was a nice touch but we didn't try it. The reception staff always looked too tired and couple of... More 

Helpful?
Thank So A
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

I was allocated a room on the second floor and someone helped me with my suitcase upon check in but upon check out I had to drag it downstairs myself (I didn t ask anyone as it was morning). The room was big and huge bed, it wasn t really well cleaned so ok-ish. The bathroom small and shower made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daniela T
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016 via mobile

The service was great until it was time for the staff to honor their promotional upgrade if you booked through their website and stayed at least 2 nights. First I had to inquire about it (as if it was going to be offered). Then coincidentally when I asked, "the room wasn't ready and come back tomorrow to check". When I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank G G
IngridHA1973, Director of Sales at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. G.G: We are sorry about the confusion. The Complimentary upgrade is based upon availability (this is informed in the website) and we can honor it an average of 90% of the time. I am sorry this wasn't your case. If there is something we are proud of and we never have complaints is about the cleaning. I would... More 

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2016

Check in was smooth and the staff were nice. The rooms were a bit tight but luckily there was only 3 of us in the room. the location is ideal because it's only a block from the beach and nightlife. It's across the street from Walgreens and other variety of stores. There's a really good sandwich and smoothie stand called... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Val J
IngridHA1973, Director of Sales at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Val for your honest review! We hope to have you back soon! More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

This is a bargain hotel so it has its issues, especially like the wiring only a few outlets. But a good deal for an all guys or all girls trip where you are likely to spend less time in the room. They even have a nice patio facing the walgreens across the street, so you still see plenty of action... More 

Helpful?
Thank mcnraven2
IngridHA1973, Director of Sales at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Mcnraven2 for your honest review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you back soon! More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2016 via mobile

It is an ok place, i was on budget and i wanted to feel the beach and i got what i wanted. relatively old but feels clean, breakfast was nothing fancy, valet parking is ridiculously expensive, use the public parking just a block away, i wish there was a refrigerator in my room

Helpful?
1 Thank Serdar S
IngridHA1973, Director of Sales at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Serdar for your review. We are int he process of doing a "face-lift" to our installations :-). We hope to have them ready soon and that you can visit us again. We know that valet parking may seem expensive but prices are regulated by the City of Miami Beach and still cheaper than other big cities such as... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016

I tried booking at this hotel but ended up cancelling my reservation a month in advance. Through booking.com I had free cancellation until 3 days to arrival but they ended up charging me anyway! I tried speaking to Ingrid in sales and she was beyond rude and very condescending. I even tried reaching out to Venecia the general manager, and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LotusFlower94
IngridHA1973, Director of Sales at The Beach Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LotusFlower, if you would take the time to read the policies for deposit stated in the agreement you signed with the hotel when you book your room, you should understand where it reads "Deposit Policy: 100% of the first night will be charged a any moment after this reservation is confirmed", then you wouldn't felt mistreated as you are... More 

Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2016

Best hotel in area for the price. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would stay again. The only complaint was the noise from the other rooms. I would stay here again when I visit Miami. Best hotel for the value.

Helpful?
Thank Latasa G
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

315 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (111)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (190)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
City View Guest Room (49)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (102)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
City Center
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
#86 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
Ocean Reef Suites
#142 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Kent Hotel
#134 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Hotel Shelley
#112 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,230 reviews
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#174 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Beach Plaza Hotel is a historic, three story boutique art deco property that is located in the heart of South Beach. With just one block from the beach, the hotel offers charm and elegance in service and style. With our newly renovated hallways, our intimate lobby bar and our friendly staff, the hotel maintains its historic heritage while offering a modern environment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Beach Plaza Hotel

Address: 1401 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Price Range: $105 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your The Beach Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Miami
Beach Plaza Hotel
South Beach Plaza Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay