We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1409 Lincoln Rd, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2108
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$109
View Deal
Free cancellation until 12/12/20
FindHotel
$191
$104
View Deal
SAVE $87
Agoda.com$109
Snaptravel$191
Priceline
View all 15 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (221)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (2)

About

#1 of 166 Specialty lodging in Miami Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Hôtel Gaythering is Miami Beach's only Gay Hotel. It is located in South Beach where prestigious Lincoln Rd meets the Bay. Behind its original facade, nothing has been spared to provide a unique experience. Our amenities reflect the fact that luxury is no longer about spending the most money. It is about getting the best value and being made to feel special. We want to help visitors to become instant locals. Our staff has a wealth of knowledge and passion about its community. We love to share this with our guests. Our lobby is the heart of our Hôtel, a communal space where guests and locals can “Gayther”. It is a place where relationships can organically unfold thus creating a sense of community within the Hôtel. The Bar and Library serve as incubators for productive minds, as well as casual communal experiences. We promote “Gaythering” and socializing with activities and curated programming. Guests and local members might also want to take full advantage of the complimentary use of our “Men Only Self-Spa” feat Hamam/Mud Lounge, Jacuzzi, Steam Room and Sauna. The perfect place to relax and recharge. We welcome anyone with an explorer’s spirit committed to take an active part in bettering their life without taking anything too seriously. "We might not have it all together, but together we have it all”.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Spa
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Evening entertainment
Adults only
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
653Reviews22Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 417
  • 154
  • 50
  • 10
  • 22
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Adam Singer wrote a review Apr 2020
Boca Raton, Florida9 contributions1 helpful vote
If you're looking for a welcoming place to stay in south beach the Gaythering is it. I have stayed here multiple times and enjoyed the morning breakfasts, the evening events, whether bingo, karaoke, or bears and hares. Great friendly bar with a local neighborhood vibe. The staff is friendly and attentive and the rooms are great, the sauna downstairs is an added bonus when looking to blow off some steam. I always recommend the Gaythering to visitors of Miami Beach.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sam M wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
Stayed in the crates Feb 2020 and to be honest can not fault the place. As a solo traveller the set up of the crates gives your own privacy and a social element when it comes to meeting others. Usually a few days away solo is enough for me but I was not ready to go home after staying at Hotel Gaythering. My experience of other guests in the crates was also super respectful which surprised me as I wasn’t setting high expectations. Feeling at home straight away was the icing on the cake - cannot fault the entire experience!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from GaytheringCrew, General Manager at Hotel Gaythering
Responded Apr 6, 2020
Thank you for the great review and rating! Hope to host you again soon
Read more
DrewM wrote a review Jan 2020
30 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Highly Recommended but know what you're letting yourself in for. So the Crates are part of the Gaythering Hotel but is very different from the main hotel.... the owners have been able to offer access to their lovely hotel but at an economical price. When the main hotel rooms cost a few hundred dollars (and look beautiful), the Crates are cheap, basic but adequate. The walls are basically ply boards that dont go to the ceiling, you can hear your neighbours even if they whisper and the restroom/shower is communal..... but the beds are comfortable, the aircon is good and you get full and free access to their small sauna, decent quality breakfast, free beach shuttle, free bike hire, free coffee all day and lovely lovely lovely staff. The location is also decent with some good restaurants nearby. The bar has daily happy hour and the clientele are friendly and fun as well as theme nights. The Crates are not the place to take your one night stand, there is very little privacy but you have free access to the sauna for that. Set your expectations before you go and you'll love it!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from GaytheringCrew, General Manager at Hotel Gaythering
Responded Apr 6, 2020
Thank you very much for taking the time to share this review! We appreciate it
Read more
Alessandro wrote a review Jan 2020
London52 contributions35 helpful votes
This was our fourth stay at this hotel. During our stay it happened to host many guests from the Atlantis Cruise, so regular guests such as ourselves became second class citizens. Shuttle to Haulover Beach scrapped two Sundays in a row (‘Priorities’ we were told when we asked for an explanation). Noise at all hours. (False) fire alarms going off two weekends in a row. You couldn’t sit outside as that’s the smokers’ lounge, you couldn’t sit inside as the breakfast room was at full capacity. Staff seemed either stressed out (understandably) or inconvenienced, apart from the lovely Breakfast Lady whose customer service skillset was still functioning. Lastly, this was the second stay at the Gaythering where we got charged in full right after reservation. An ‘error’ we were told, followed by a refund, so check your card statement once you book you book. If you're into Spring Break, this is for you. If you're looking for Miami Cool, stay elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay in corner rooms on 3rd floor (less noise)
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from GaytheringCrew, General Manager at Hotel Gaythering
Responded Apr 6, 2020
Thank you Alessandro for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that this stay was not how you expected and we were unable to provide the high standards of customer service we typically do. There are many large scale events that can change the clientele of the hotel, specifically when they are gay themed events like an Atlantis Cruise that is docking in our city. I am sorry if you felt this event weekend had dominate the property. We have actually stopped our Shuttle Service for this exact reason, we were not receiving enough interest in the trips. We unfortunately were only able to make the trip if more than two people had signed up to go, with the lack of interest in these trips we had to think of cost and ended up deciding on stopping this completely. It seems this was the case during your stay, as with many other times it became more of a disappointment for those who wanted to go than an amenity we could offer all the time. I am sorry to hear you were not able to find a set during breakfast. Aside from the main breakfast area (20 people) we also have a library space in our lobby which can accommodate up to 25 people sitting at tables and sofas. With just 25 rooms, this must have been a moment when the full hotel was at breakfast at once! I admit this is a rare occurrence but it is possible and I apologize you had to experience this. I took a look at your last four reservations and I see that in 2019 we made the mistake of taking full payment and within a day refunded the balance of our mistake. Your other two reservations were charged the correct deposits and the third reservation was booked through a third-party website (like expedia) and you paid directly to them upfront. I truly hope this past experience does not stop you from a return visit as we would love the chance to host you again.
Read more
Steve H wrote a review Dec 2019
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Centrally controlled air by the hotel, keep it at 80 to reduce costs. Smells like bleach the elevator doesn't work management banged on the door at 1143 essentially throwing me out No overnight service Lobby is locked No water in the room
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote2 Reposts
Helpful
Share
Response from GaytheringCrew, General Manager at Hotel Gaythering
Responded Jan 1, 2020
I am sorry to hear of the issues you encountered but I would like to clarify a few things so there is no confusion from potential guests. Our central air is controlled by each guest room by using the thermostat in their room, management has put restrictions on them where they cannot go lower than 61 or higher than 78 (turning over to heat). I am sorry if you felt your room was not cool enough but being in Miami Beach it is very difficult to have an AC unit cool a room lower than 68 degrees. We do use bleach to clean our restrooms in the common areas as well as the guest rooms and our sauna facility. The use of bleach is a common practice in any location that cleans professionally. This is true, we had a malfunction with our elevator on 12/26 which caused us to close the elevator down for safety concerns until a part was ordered and delivered. Unfortunately this was poor timing and most elevator part facilities were closed for the holiday. The part that had broken was our door sensor and without the repair the door was opening and closing every 20 seconds. We were however able to have a part shipped in to Miami and the elevator was fixed on 12/30. Our front desk team does make rounds in the morning if guests are unable to answer the in room phone and have not alerted us of a late check out request. We allow for a 30 minute grace period after our 11am check out, but being a small property with just 25 rooms we need to make sure we have all rooms clean and ready by 3pm for check in. I apologize for the inconvenience. Our front desk is staffed 24 hours a day however we do lock the lobby door at 12am on weekdays and 2am on weekends. This is for the safety of our overnight crew who is working the front desk alone. There is a sign at our front door mentioning this and a phone next to it that if picked up calls immediately to the front desk who then comes to open the door. We do not provide any minibar services in room however guests are welcome to any soft drinks from our bar, a hot/cold water dispenser at the front desk and a full service coffee bar at any hour it is requested.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$86 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaMiami BeachWest Avenue
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Gaythering
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Gaythering?
Nearby attractions include Colony Theatre (0.3 miles), Best Miami Party Boat (0.2 miles), and Purdy Lounge (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Gaythering?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a spa.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Gaythering?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Gaythering?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Gaythering?
Conveniently located restaurants include CVI.CHE 105, Full Bloom Gourmet Vegan Cuisine, and Tequiztlan.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Gaythering?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Hotel Gaythering located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Miami Beach.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Gaythering?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Gaythering?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Freedom Tower at Miami Dade College (2.9 miles), The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (0.7 miles), and Art Deco Historic District (1.1 miles).
Is Hotel Gaythering accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.