Hotel Gaythering

Hotel Gaythering

Traveler (227)
Petite King
Room & Suite (71)
Dining (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
$125
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Only 1 left at
$125
Breakfast included
$123
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#2 of 13 special hotels in Miami Beach
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.5
Value
4.4
This property has identified as Hispanic/Latinx-owned and LGBTQIA+-owned.
Tripadvisor does not verify the accuracy of this information.
Why stay at a gay friendly hotel, when you can stay at a friendly gay hotel? Our MiMo style, 1958 building lives in the heart of a Miami Beach gayborhood, catering exclusively to gay guests who want to experience a local's life. Hotel Gaythering, Miami Beach’s Gayest Hotel; is homey yet sexy, chic yet masculine, and located just steps away from local restaurants, shops and other bars. Gaythering Bar is the epicenter of the local gay community. Affordable Beer & Cocktails surrounded by the gayest of the gay and events like Karaoke Mondays, Trivia Wednesdays, and Bingo Thursdays. Gaythering Sauna has become the ideal place for gay guys to unwind. Offering both visitor and local passes, there is a Dry Sauna, Steam Room, Jacuzzi, Showers, locker room and changing areas. Open Daily from 12pm-12am with extended weekend hours until 2am.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot tub
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Evening entertainment
Spa
Adults only
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish

Location

1409 Lincoln Rd, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3256
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 87 out of 100
87
Miami Intl Airport
Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport
19.6 mi
See all flights
678Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 432
  • 158
  • 52
  • 11
  • 25
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
DrewM wrote a review Jan 2020
41 contributions12 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Highly Recommended but know what you're letting yourself in for. So the Crates are part of the Gaythering Hotel but is very different from the main hotel.... the owners have been able to offer access to their lovely hotel but at an economical price. When the main hotel rooms cost a few hundred dollars (and look beautiful), the Crates are cheap, basic but adequate. The walls are basically ply boards that dont go to the ceiling, you can hear your neighbours even if they whisper and the restroom/shower is communal..... but the beds are comfortable, the aircon is good and you get full and free access to their small sauna, decent quality breakfast, free beach shuttle, free bike hire, free coffee all day and lovely lovely lovely staff. The location is also decent with some good restaurants nearby. The bar has daily happy hour and the clientele are friendly and fun as well as theme nights.

The Crates are not the place to take your one night stand, there is very little privacy but you have free access to the sauna for that. Set your expectations before you go and you'll love it!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GaytheringCrew, General Manager at Hotel Gaythering
Responded Apr 6, 2020
Thank you very much for taking the time to share this review! We appreciate it
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sam M wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in the crates Feb 2020 and to be honest can not fault the place. As a solo traveller the set up of the crates gives your own privacy and a social element when it comes to meeting others. Usually a few days away solo is enough for me but I was not ready to go home after staying at Hotel Gaythering.

My experience of other guests in the crates was also super respectful which surprised me as I wasn’t setting high expectations. Feeling at home straight away was the icing on the cake - cannot fault the entire experience!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GaytheringCrew, General Manager at Hotel Gaythering
Responded Apr 6, 2020
Thank you for the great review and rating! Hope to host you again soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cory C wrote a review Jan 2022
5 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night in a "Fun King" in mid-January 2022. Upon arriving a bit early, we were able to leave bags with the hotel before heading out to enjoy South Beach. Check-in was easy later in the day, and the room itself was spacious and comfortable, outfitted with both standard amenities and assorted fun time accoutrement. (Only recommendation would be to add an iron/ironing board in room!) It was a tad loud overnight, but the energy and fun vibes of the stay outrank leisurely sleep at this particular specialty hotel.

With respect to the property overall, the place is clean, well kept and welcoming! We found bar service to be quick. The sauna provided great, entertaining recreation. The Sunday Fun Day activities were fun to watch. Breakfast service was a nice bonus. The staff are accommodating professionals who work to create a positive experience for property guests.

Part of what we most love about Hotel Gaythering, and what most motivates our assured return, is the spirit of camaraderie and openness that greets all guests.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt Downey, General Manager at Hotel Gaythering
Responded May 25, 2022
Thank you so much for this review! Really happy to hear you enjoyed yourself and we were able to provide such great service. See you next time! (and yes...we've added ironing boards to all rooms!)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alessandro wrote a review Jan 2020
London52 contributions74 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our fourth stay at this hotel. During our stay it happened to host many guests from the Atlantis Cruise, so regular guests such as ourselves became second class citizens. Shuttle to Haulover Beach scrapped two Sundays in a row (‘Priorities’ we were told when we asked for an explanation). Noise at all hours. (False) fire alarms going off two weekends in a row. You couldn’t sit outside as that’s the smokers’ lounge, you couldn’t sit inside as the breakfast room was at full capacity. Staff seemed either stressed out (understandably) or inconvenienced, apart from the lovely Breakfast Lady whose customer service skillset was still functioning. Lastly, this was the second stay at the Gaythering where we got charged in full right after reservation. An ‘error’ we were told, followed by a refund, so check your card statement once you book you book. If you're into Spring Break, this is for you. If you're looking for Miami Cool, stay elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay in corner rooms on 3rd floor (less noise)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GaytheringCrew, General Manager at Hotel Gaythering
Responded Apr 6, 2020
Thank you Alessandro for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that this stay was not how you expected and we were unable to provide the high standards of customer service we typically do. There are many large scale events that can change the clientele of the hotel, specifically when they are gay themed events like an Atlantis Cruise that is docking in our city. I am sorry if you felt this event weekend had dominate the property. We have actually stopped our Shuttle Service for this exact reason, we were not receiving enough interest in the trips. We unfortunately were only able to make the trip if more than two people had signed up to go, with the lack of interest in these trips we had to think of cost and ended up deciding on stopping this completely. It seems this was the case during your stay, as with many other times it became more of a disappointment for those who wanted to go than an amenity we could offer all the time. I am sorry to hear you were not able to find a set during breakfast. Aside from the main breakfast area (20 people) we also have a library space in our lobby which can accommodate up to 25 people sitting at tables and sofas. With just 25 rooms, this must have been a moment when the full hotel was at breakfast at once! I admit this is a rare occurrence but it is possible and I apologize you had to experience this. I took a look at your last four reservations and I see that in 2019 we made the mistake of taking full payment and within a day refunded the balance of our mistake. Your other two reservations were charged the correct deposits and the third reservation was booked through a third-party website (like expedia) and you paid directly to them upfront. I truly hope this past experience does not stop you from a return visit as we would love the chance to host you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tavia N wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a last minute weekend trip to South Beach. I was apprehensive since it was the height of Spring Break. And I was flying solo. What a breath of fresh air this Hotel was! Located on the quiet side of the island, I could bike or Uber to the beach in minutes, and there was everything on site to keep me relaxed and entertained. Walk to restaurants and shops, while an afternoon away at a French cafe on Calle Espanol. The staff is friendly yet discreet, the rooms are beyond fabulous (a friend who was staying in a nearby AirBnB gaped when he saw my room), and the crowd at the bar is friendly. I will definitely come back to the Gaythering and recommend it my friends. Just not the Spring Breakers!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt Downey, General Manager at Hotel Gaythering
Responded May 25, 2022
Thanks so much for this great review! Looking forward to that return visit
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Adam Singer wrote a review Apr 2020
Fort Lauderdale, Florida9 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
If you're looking for a welcoming place to stay in south beach the Gaythering is it. I have stayed here multiple times and enjoyed the morning breakfasts, the evening events, whether bingo, karaoke, or bears and hares. Great friendly bar with a local neighborhood vibe. The staff is friendly and attentive and the rooms are great, the sauna downstairs is an added bonus when looking to blow off some steam. I always recommend the Gaythering to visitors of Miami Beach.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark M wrote a review Jan 2022
Palm Desert, California51 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my second stay at the property and the quality of the service has not changed. The staff is very welcoming and friendly. What makes Gaythering a great place to stay is 1) it’s pet friendly (no additional fee) and 2) the location. It is walking distance to many of the restaurants and shops in South Beach. Gaythering is my go to place to stay when I’m South Beach!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Parking is offsite but it is secured. You can park and leave your car during your stay since...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt Downey, General Manager at Hotel Gaythering
Responded May 25, 2022
Thanks Mark! See you on the third visit
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve H wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose this spot because our last minute travel, during the crowded Spring Break season, meant it was one of the few available. Some of the online info left my daughter concerned, but a call to the front desk put us at ease, and our 2 night stay surpassed our expectations. Terrific, helpful, friendly informed staff made all the difference- we visited the farmers\flea market, biked to the beach, saw Wynwood Walls, (and the free Botanic Gardens) ate at their excellent recommendations and had a fabulous visit. Our room was big, comfy, fully stocked with all we could want- and the decor was a hoot! Much love to this place for making our first Miami stay memorable. (bikes and breakfast included)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Some reviews remarked about noise, but our room, 3060 was quiet-
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Matt Downey, General Manager at Hotel Gaythering
Responded May 25, 2022
Really glad to hear our staff made such a great impression. We would love to host you guys again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Maciej K wrote a review Apr 2024
7 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked the Studio King for my husband’s 40th birthday trip. We arrived in the afternoon and the room was ready, as we decided to extend the stay we booked the Fun King room for extra night but asked if we could keep our Studio King for the whole duration. That was not a problem as Fun King is their top room. Room was of a good size, though a bit dark. Nice bed, ok bathroom with ok ish amenities. Our room was on American 2nd floor (1st floor for the rest of the world) and although not above the bar it was rather noisy till late from the front courtyard. We got welcome drinks as part of the package though rather rude and obnoxious bartender (can’t remember her name) said she knows nothing about it, her attitude was the main reason for us not wanting to hang out in the bar. We were allowed two drinks a day including g during breakfast. On the last day we’ve first checked out to speed up the process and then went for breakfast, only to be told that we can’t have the drinks with breakfast as we just checked out?!? If we’d done it other way around the drinks would’ve been fine. We used the sauna which is small but very busy especially in the late afternoon and evening. Good 25 min walk to ocean drive so if you like to be close to the beach be prepared walk or take a cab. We didn’t use their bikes as they restrict the usage and you need to return them by certain time (can’t remember exactly). Overall an ok hotel that could do with polishing their customer service skills.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: If you are after a quiet place to relax, this hotel isn’t for you. Average breakfast too.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Manny P wrote a review Mar 2023
2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sunday drag queen host "BONIE BUILDER" is rude and disrespectful. His/her approach to clients/community is contemptuous, the lack of respect is appalling. I was approached by her/he out of the blue and she openly offended me for no reason. If you are planning to spend a nice Sunday having a drink with friends don't go to this place where you may be discriminated irrationally. Although she/he came and apologized, I wanted to make sure no one else is treated such way. Thank you to several other staff who supported me in pursuing this compliant. No member of our LGBT should be going through this unpleasant experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracy C asked a question Mar 2021
Milwaukee, Wisconsin38 contributions37 helpful votes
The sauna world pool and stream room's are closed. What's open from 5pm-11pm
Answer from Hotel G
We have just reopened our Sauna with limited capacity and other restrictions. Our Sauna and Bar are both open daily from 5pm-12am.
R0bW84 asked a question Mar 2019
Aldridge, United Kingdom73 contributions24 helpful votes
Does the hotel have rooms for wheelchair users?
Answer from GaytheringCrew
Miami Beach, Florida
Hi there! Thanks for thinking of staying with us. We have rooms in our Petite King room category that designed for guests who use wheelchairs. When booking please select a Petite King room and a few days before arrival call in to our front desk to alert us so we can assign rooms accordingly.
Answer from Tilo
Berlin, Germany282 contributions29 helpful votes
Hi, There is no extra surcharge or fee. Only the regular American fees / vat.
nyctravelguy777 asked a question Jan 2018
New York City, New York102 contributions11 helpful votes
Do you have arrangements with a parking garage and gym? Which ones and how much do they cost? Thanks.
Answer from felicia_mcnair
1 contribution
They have a parking garage when you book with the hotel. It's around the corner from the hotel. You can in front of hotel to unload and load then park your car. I hope this helps.
Guneycan wrote a tip May 15
Santa Clara, California153 contributions55 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"No parking, no room service, no ice machine, not secure hotel"
Read full review
Maciej K wrote a tip Apr 2024
7 contributions3 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are after a quiet place to relax, this hotel isn’t for you. Average breakfast too."
Read full review
Heine Husted H wrote a tip Jan 2024
Copenhagen, Denmark394 contributions120 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breakfast is not great"
Read full review
Noel B wrote a tip Sep 2023
Barbados10 contributions23 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"I would not recommend"
Read full review
jeffersuk-1 wrote a tip Apr 2023
Bristol, United Kingdom134 contributions70 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go with an open mind"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Miami Beach area.
PRICE RANGE
$141 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaMiami BeachWest Avenue
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL GAYTHERING - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Gaythering
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Gaythering?
Nearby attractions include Colony Theatre (0.2 miles), Purdy Lounge (0.2 miles), and 1111 (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Gaythering?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a spa.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Gaythering?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Gaythering?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Gaythering?
Conveniently located restaurants include CVI.CHE 105, Pummarola Miami Beach, and Mister O1 Extraordinary Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Gaythering?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna during their stay.
Is Hotel Gaythering located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Miami Beach.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Gaythering?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Gaythering?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Black Police Precinct and Courthouse Museum (3.7 miles), Freedom Tower at Miami Dade College (2.9 miles), and The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (0.7 miles).
Is Hotel Gaythering accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Miami Beach HotelsMiami Beach Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Miami BeachHotels near Hotel Gaythering
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars