We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza South Beach - Z Ocean Hotel, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
8 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$510
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/09/22
Priceline
$510
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/08/22
Traveluro
$462
View deal
CrownePlaza.com$510
FindHotel$510
travelup.com$557
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1337)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (542)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Crowne Plaza South Beach - Z Ocean Hotel, an IHG hotel
Updated 11/20/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#98 of 241 hotels in Miami Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Gold level
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
Wifi
Paid wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Nightclub / DJ
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Full body massage
Massage
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Bathrobes
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Whirlpool bathtub
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 2 more
2468Reviews73Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,539
  • 550
  • 156
  • 95
  • 128
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
ChiTown847 wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
There are a lot of echoes of past glory in this unique, relatively small 3 level property. Highlights include level 2 with the veranda suites that walk out onto the pool deck, which we loved as this was a kidless vacation for us. If you have young kids, you totally do not want to be on level 2 for safety reasons though. The hot tub is fantastic out there and maintained well. It is very hot though, so again, not for kids. Caveat: we saw 0 children at this hotel during our stay, which was fine for us getting away without ours. But the rest of the experience was uneven and often disappointing leaving you the feeling you're staying at a has been joint that Crowne Plaza doesn't care much about. It's hard to say how much is covid or systemic for the property, but it was a really skeleton crew, and as other reviewers have said you have to ask for everything. Your room won't be serviced unless you ask. You won't even get towels unless you ask. If you ask for towels expecting washcloths... don't be surprised when you only get towels. The front desk staff on check in (1 guy, struggling to stay awake it seemed) was... pretty gruff honestly - not something I was expecting at a hotel that fancies itself 4 star. Broken stuff: shower temp control (seemingly random function), hair dryer (they scavenged a dirty but operational one from another room for us on request), an alarm on the slider to the pool that nearly kept us from using the best feature of our room), even the automated help line had out of date information about the pool being down for maintenance (it was not). Good stuff: on-site dining at Front Porch was good. Parking at $35/day felt very worth it and their valets were outstanding. The pool and hot tub are really great and direct access from a level 2 room is a stand out feature of this unique property. If I had it to do again, I'd have looked at other hotels further south nearer to muscle beach and the bulk of what's happenin, but .. that pool access and the surreal water pressure of the shower (when it was hot) was pretty sweet.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Scenic38600867664, General Manager at Crowne Plaza South Beach - Z Ocean Hotel, an IHG hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
We appreciate the feedback, ChiTown847. We're happy you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our pool area, hot tub, on-site dining, parking options, valet service, and accessibility. However, we're disappointed that your stay with us was less than ideal. We regret that our amenities and accommodations provided challenges for your stay. We'll address your concerns with our team moving forward. We look forward to hosting you again soon for a more positive experience.
Read more
Nequesha J wrote a review Dec 2021
Griffin, Georgia4 contributions
The photos on the website are very misleading. The property needs a lot of maintenance work. There are also some improvement opportunities with simple housekeeping. For starters there was a bag over our smoke detector. The floors were very nasty. Seemingly like they hadn't been mopped in weeks. We had a TV and a fridge that were in operable. The light bulb should have been replaced over the mini bar, it was not. The sink at the mini bar was stopped up. There is a seat in the shower that constantly fell. Now on to the reason I booked this property, the hot tub. We did not have the patio furniture as displayed in the pictures. The area just looked old and worn. The actual hot tub does not get hot. I called the front desk and asked why the buttons were like that and how do we make the water hotter and was told we can't. It was literally like a warm tub of water with jets in it.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Scenic38600867664, General Manager at Crowne Plaza South Beach - Z Ocean Hotel, an IHG hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for reaching out to us, Nequesha. We sincerely apologize for the communication errors on our booking sites and we will make sure they are updated as soon as possible. We will also take into account the maintenance work you mentioned in your review, including housekeeping, the TV and fridge in your room, the lightbulb, sink, and hot tub. We will let the appropriate team members know in order to repair the amenities you mentioned. We appreciate your feedback immensely and we'd still like to invite you back soon so we can provide you with the positive experience you deserve.
Read more
renee981 wrote a review Dec 2021
Ashburn, Virginia1 contribution
The valet started great until Tuesday morning when I discovered that the key box was not locked I could of taken my car without the staff knowing because he was in his car sleeping I was there for a hour until my boyfriend saw the guy in the car he had to knock on his window to wake him up. They didn't accommodate for the security issue and me waiting for my car after an hour I texted for my car to brought out. Z Ocwan staff was missing too the spa suite was dirty and was moved and told there are no other rooms so I'm pretty stuck as the rate for 2 nights 1009.00 and it wasn't like the pictures no bench near the jacuzzi. Some of the staff was really nice and the customer service called the hotel and sent a fax and no one answered their calls either.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Scenic38600867664, General Manager at Crowne Plaza South Beach - Z Ocean Hotel, an IHG hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
We appreciate you taking the time to reach out to us, renee981. We are deeply disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. We pride ourselves on our welcoming, kind staff, so it is upsetting to hear about this kind of service. We will let our management team know about your experience and see what we can to ensure this won't happen again in the future. If there is anything we can do to accommodate a future stay with us, please let us know. We'd love another opportunity to show you how amazing we are so we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Read more
Jeanpaulmorgado wrote a review Dec 2021
Miami, Florida1 contribution
When I arrived and I checked In, the floor of the room was dirty , I mentioned it to the front desk and the cleaning crew came down and started telling me that if I didn’t like it that I can go to another hotel , that there is plenty in Miami Beach . I’m from Miami , so I held my composure but after spending $1k on a room and be told by a janitor that go some where else if I don’t like it , is unacceptable . I work for a company that strives to provide the best customer experience , in your case it lacks that . Better business Bureu can be involved , it makes no sense I should have someone disrespecting me before I have even used the hotel room . Definitely a bad experience and the bad reviews is deserved. I hope this comes into consideration for future incidents to be avoided , I understand training is expensive but it’s definitely needed !
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Scenic38600867664, General Manager at Crowne Plaza South Beach - Z Ocean Hotel, an IHG hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing your feedback, Jean. We regret that your experience with us was less than ideal. We're disappointed to hear the service you received wasn't up to par. Providing our guests with exceptional service is something we take seriously. Please know this will be addressed with the appropriate members of our team so we may improve for the future. We hope you'll give us another chance to show you the service we're truly capable of providing.
Read more
J C wrote a review Dec 2021
Saint Cloud, Florida69 contributions21 helpful votes
The location is great, the hotel isn’t what it used to be. Apparently there’s a mix of hotel rooms and people owning some rooms? The room overall was good. Very clean. Full of amenities inside the room. A few ants here and there. The upstairs patio on the suites is very run down and not in great shape. The Jacuzzi was horrible. An attempt to repair it was made, and also recently painted the surface. Made it dangerously slippery, slipped twice in it myself and had to leave early as I was injured. The valet at the property is horrible. Caused severe damage to my car. Not sure if I will ever go back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Scenic38600867664, General Manager at Crowne Plaza South Beach - Z Ocean Hotel, an IHG hotel
Responded Dec 7, 2021
We appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your feedback, J C. Although we’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed our prime location, it’s disappointing to hear that you weren't completely satisfied with our accommodations. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service and a comfortable environment to our guests at all times so please know that your concerns will be addressed to the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We do hope you allow us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$212 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
crowne plaza miami beach, miami beach crowne plaza, de soleil south beach, vincci south beach, regent south beach
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaMiami BeachFlamingo / Lummus / City Center
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Crowne Plaza South Beach - Z Ocean Hotel, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Crowne Plaza South Beach - Z Ocean Hotel, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Art Deco Tours (0.04 miles), South Beach Room Escape (0.2 miles), and Collins Avenue (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Crowne Plaza South Beach - Z Ocean Hotel, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Crowne Plaza South Beach - Z Ocean Hotel, an IHG hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Crowne Plaza South Beach - Z Ocean Hotel, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Crowne Plaza South Beach - Z Ocean Hotel, an IHG hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crowne Plaza South Beach - Z Ocean Hotel, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pane & Vino, Grafa Pizza&Pasta, and BiCE Cucina.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crowne Plaza South Beach - Z Ocean Hotel, an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness center, and fitness classes during their stay.
Is Crowne Plaza South Beach - Z Ocean Hotel, an IHG hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the center of Miami Beach.
Are any cleaning services offered at Crowne Plaza South Beach - Z Ocean Hotel, an IHG hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Crowne Plaza South Beach - Z Ocean Hotel, an IHG hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Russian, and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to Crowne Plaza South Beach - Z Ocean Hotel, an IHG hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Freedom Tower at Miami Dade College (3.8 miles), The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (0.4 miles), and Art Deco Historic District (0.5 miles).