Sonder The Deco

Sonder The Deco

Traveler (31)
Room & Suite (7)
Pool & Beach (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#6 of 13 special hotels in Miami Beach
Location
4.4
Cleanliness
1.0
Service
3.8
Value
3.9
Lush palm trees, poolside hangs, and a classic South Beach vibe — embrace the Florida lifestyle at The Deco. Designed into four buildings by architect Henry Hohauser, each has a stylized geometric chevron look. All rooms feature a modern design, artisan coffee, and a Roku TV to stream your favorite movie. Take your relaxation up a notch under a poolside cabana and courtyard seating with tall umbrellas. The fitness center is equipped with cardio machines and dumbells. Plus, you’ll be a five-minute walk from the beautiful beach and boardwalk. And around the corner, you can have a glimpse of glamor at the famed Versace Mansion. At The Deco, have your Miami Beach moment. Use the Sonder app to navigate your stay from start to finish. Check in. Request amenities. Connect to WiFi. Contact customer support. All via our small (but mighty) app. Whatever you need, we’ve got you covered. This Sonder has a front desk which is staffed 24/7. Our on-site team is available to ensure you have a better stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour front desk
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Private check-in / check-out
Room features
Air conditioning
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Art Deco Style
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish

Location

1050 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Miami Intl Airport
Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport
20.2 mi
See all flights
28Reviews2Q+A8Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 14
  • 5
  • 1
  • 1
  • 7
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ina t wrote a review Oct 2023
New York City, New York15 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice pillows and no secondhand smoke like across the street! Be careful not to trip over the door tracks- in Miami the glass and tracks have to be bigger and heavier than other places bc. of hurricanes. I did trip but it's not their fault. Posh feel to the place. Pool is pleasant. Could use a bit more shade. Nice staff and very clean!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fred G wrote a review Dec 2023
New York City, New York9 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This could easily be a 5-star review... but: the elevator is out with no signs of being fixed or even any response from Sonder's "Ask Us Anything" text "service". I'm on the 3rd floor. I'm 60 years old but in pretty good shape (I rented a bike for the week to do cycling while here!)... so: every day, sometime multiple times per day, I get to lug my bike up three flights of stairs. And of course there is luggage (thankfully only one trip each way). What about everyone else? Families? Old people? People not in great shape? Tough sheet.

Seemed pretty obvious from the Out of Order sign and the general state of the lobby that a repair person wasn't showing up anytime soon. And sure enough, they never did... I'm here a full week. On top of this, as I mentioned before, I mentioned the problem to Sonder by text multiple times, and never got so much as a reply of any sort. Ask them anything else... they'll reply. So that's why this review is called "Don't Ask, Don't Tell". Obviously the elevator isn't working, no one is coming to fix it, and everyone knows how much this sucks. But let's pretend there's nothing to talk about here. Sonder certainly does. Enjoy your stairs-based workouts!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
melaniec20202020 wrote a review Apr 2024
Grand Rapids, Michigan14 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This location was more than perfect for accessibility to the beach and nearby restaurants, and the outside/shared spaces were beautiful. I had initial reservations being next door to the police station but did not notice that one way or another during the stay.

The queen room was pretty bare bones, while the bed was very comfortable and AC strong, the room was pretty small and there was not sufficient storage for clothes or sink space in the bathroom. A dresser or dresser/desk combo would be preferred to the desk - there were no drawers to store clothing and nowhere to stowaway luggage. This may be fine for different travelers but for us I think next time maybe we would upgrade to one of the larger rooms.

We were prepared for the mobile check in and key and did not need to interact with staff the entirety of our 5 day stay. We only purchased from the coffee/bar/restaurant once but it was nice to have that option. Overall I recommend - but maybe not the lowest room choice if you’re not a bargain traveler!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: We found parking in a ramp on the other side of the police station - highly recommend as it was...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
YA wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
It’s a glorified motel or hostel for grown ups.
The photos on the website are the exaggerated version of what it actually is.
The pool is sad, sad, sad. The rooms are fine if you are looking for “prison chic.”
The front desk person was so rude and seemed annoyed the minute we walked up to the check in desk.
The walk to the room was scary - tightest hallway with a strong and cheap scent, loud noises, food and towels strewn everywhere.
The only good thing about this experience was that they did give us a full refund once we saw the room and ran out as fast as we could.
The price is a deal compared to the nice hotels in south beach but I don’t think it’s right that the actual establishment and amenities are such a far departure from the photos depicted on the website.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sonder Team, General Manager at Sonder The Deco
Responded Jan 7, 2024
Your feedback is important to us. We're incredibly sorry for your experience. We're constantly working to improve our spaces and will utilize your comments to help. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again and show you a better experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Benjamin P wrote a review Dec 2023
5 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My stay at Sonder The Deco (Dec 29, 2023 - Jan 2, 2024, Confirmation Code: 145252946) was an absolute disaster, a far cry from what any decent hotel experience should be.

First off, the check-in process was a complete joke. Left to fend for ourselves with an app that required a code we never received, the reception was less than helpful. It took multiple pleas to get any assistance.

The room was a horror story. We walked into a dirty room – an immediate red flag considering their exorbitant rates. But the real nightmare was the air quality – or the lack thereof. The windows were fully fogged, the room unbearably damp. Our clothes were drenched in moisture, reeking of mustiness. Desperate for some air, we resorted to opening the door to the corridor!

We asked for cleaning – a request so simple yet apparently too complex for their staff. Ivan, whom we spoke to, completely forgot to log our request, leaving us in those dismal conditions.

Interacting with Anna at reception was like talking to a wall – only worse, as she continuously interrupted and dismissed our concerns.

This place is a farce, charging $315 a night for what can only be described as a stay in a damp, neglected chamber with appalling service. I strongly urge anyone considering this place to rethink. It's not worth your money or peace of mind. Save yourself the trouble and find somewhere else that actually values its guests.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: find and other hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sonder Team, General Manager at Sonder The Deco
Responded Jan 7, 2024
Your feedback is important to us. We're sad to see your stay fall below our standards. We do our best to create an easy and seamless check-in process, and we apologize for falling short here. Please accept our apologies for the cleanliness issues within your space and our follow-up. We'll review this with our team to ensure the proper cleaning procedures are followed and improve our customer service. Should you decide to give us another try, we'd love to show you a better experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jada B wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing hotel unit, very up to date. The TVs are Roku so you have access to Netflix, Hulu, YouTube, etc. Most importantly there’s a digital key so you don’t have to worry about losing a key and paying extra for another one. Would recommend to everyone and definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natallia B wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is absolutely not customer-oriented. We had booked rooms a month ago, and just two days before check-in, they canceled our reservation. The decision was sent via email and marked as peremptory and non-negotiable (a really bad situation for a group of 7 people with American Express Platinum payment). For future potential clients, make sure, this hotel will disrupt your plans without prior negotiation. Absolutely not recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sonder Team, General Manager at Sonder The Deco
Responded Nov 7, 2023
Your feedback is appreciated and we understand your frustration. If you'd like more information regarding your reservation, our guest resolutions team is available to discuss this with you via phone or email.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hugo G wrote a review Nov 2023
Santa Cruz, Bolivia2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Awesome service and location near to ocean drive and Collins avenue !!
Pool areas perfect to enjoy outdoors with food or drinks and stay chill
Staff very friendly and willing to make your stay enjoyable !!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Include cleaning in the daily rate
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nadezhda K wrote a review Sep 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This “exceptional” service cancels your booking 2 days prior to check in. They provide you with stupid reasons, like Platinum American Express card is not secure, or id is not valid enough. Sweet (she isn’t) lady on the phone proposed to reach out security department with a little note: cancellation cannot be reverted, cause the decision is final. But suggested to try booking from scratch with the higher price. Just an ordinary motel in Miami Beach with low cost service but high demands out of nowhere. Very glad we’re not going there. This is a final feedback.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Avoid this place
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sonder Team, General Manager at Sonder The Deco
Responded Oct 6, 2023
Hi, thank you for your feedback. Customer service is important to us, and we apologize for falling short here. Cancellations can happen due to multiple reasons, and we apologize if these were not communicated clearly. If you have any further questions regarding your reservation, please reach out to us. We're available 24/7.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Panay M wrote a review Jan 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was an awesome stay, we loved the place, bed was very comfortable and clean, pool was very nice, very clean, had all the amenities we needed (shampoo, body wash, blow dryer, fridge, hangers). Location was great! You can easily walk to anywhere around South Beach (Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road). Even though it’s on Washington street it still felt very private! 10/10 would go back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Nothing to mentioned
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julz asked a question Mar 2024
Toronto, Canada31 contributions32 helpful votes
How do I get from the airport to here?
Answer from Claude M
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg90 helpful votes
Use Uber
Answer from Sonder
San Francisco, California2,149 contributions4 helpful votes
Thanks for your question. Please contact our team via email, text, or phone, and we can provide you with any fee information. We can't wait to host you.
melaniec20202020 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Grand Rapids, Michigan14 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We found parking in a ramp on the other side of the police station - highly recommend as it was nearby and affordable."
Read full review
Panay M wrote a tip Jan 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nothing to mentioned"
Read full review
Benjamin P wrote a tip Dec 2023
5 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"find and other hotel."
Read full review
Cicliste C wrote a tip Dec 2023
Boston, Massachusetts4 contributions17 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Location is decidedly mediocre, right next to the police station. You really want to find a hotel closer to the water."
Read full review
Hugo G wrote a tip Nov 2023
Santa Cruz, Bolivia2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Include cleaning in the daily rate "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Miami Beach area.
PRICE RANGE
$110 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bel aire south beach miami, bel aire south beach hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Garden Hotel South Beach
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaMiami Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
178
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SONDER THE DECO $188 ($̶2̶7̶6̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Sonder The Deco
Which popular attractions are close to Sonder The Deco?
Nearby attractions include Ocean Drive (0.3 miles), Salsa Mia (0.2 miles), and Lummus Park Beach (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Sonder The Deco?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Sonder The Deco?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sonder The Deco?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sonder The Deco?
Conveniently located restaurants include Esquina Mexicana, Amalfi Trattoria, and Osteria Positano.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sonder The Deco?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is Sonder The Deco located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Miami Beach.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sonder The Deco?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Sonder The Deco?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Black Police Precinct and Courthouse Museum (4.3 miles), Freedom Tower at Miami Dade College (3.5 miles), and The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (0.7 miles).
All Miami Beach HotelsMiami Beach Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Miami BeachHotels near Sonder The Deco
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars