We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Sanctuary South Beach

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sanctuary South Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

775 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 612: English reviews
West Palm Beach
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location, couple of blocks from the beach and activity, yet located in a residential block. A short walk from all major attractions and all the restaurants and activities you could possibly imagine. Very attentive staff and a wonderful hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexsK2401KE
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a decent stay here. What stands out about this hotel is their front desk staff. Rooms were spacious, apartment style... A bit older and a musty smell (reminded me of the smell of hotel rooms in Mexico). I wasn't in the room much... it served the purpose of a place to sleep and shower. I guess the room corridors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CainFamily T
London
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Rooms need full refurbishment!! Furniture old and worn the walls need to be painted. Lighting is poor in the rooms, very dark all day long! Breakfast improved as the week went on, but still very basic for a continental 4 star breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gingerninja215
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Reviewed 1 week ago

Right in the heart of South Beach. Perfect for a fun weekend getaway with friends or family. They had a variety of amenities, although we did not use them. Overall very happy and would most likely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TreCameron
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel doesn't look appealing from the outside. The hallways aren't that clean. You have to lock your room with a key, not a keycard. And when you leave, you have to leave your key at the reception. The resort fee that you pay is for using the pool of other hotels. They didn't say anything about their own pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Inge R
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Sanctuary was very nice. There was some confusion at check-in, but it was resolved pretty quickly. We would have preferred to check in early, but it wasn't possible. The rooms were very nice---large sitting area and counter for work. The bedroom and bath were nice, comfortable and clean. I was very happy with the room and ambiance of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michaelmO163KK
Sjoy11, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your positive comments. Our rooms are some of South Beach's largest and most comfortable, since we consider the business traveler as well as the visiting sun-worshipper. Your $15.00 Daily Resort Fee covers 2 guests, and Continental breakfast is only part of the benefit. 24-Hr WiFi, free rides around South Beach in our electric car,...

Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Positive points: Lovely comfortable boutique hotel, highly recomended, perfect location, lower points: Don't bother with the breakfast very few options and also expensive parking. I would highly recomend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mogwhi8
Sjoy11, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your review highlighting those things you enjoyed at Sanctuary. It was a pleasure to have you visit us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had to change rooms three times because of disfuntioning ty and weak internet connection. Toilett in the bathroom overflowing. Finally had to change over to a sister property. Rooms are a bit to open towards the courtyard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OPM_Hamburg
Sjoy11, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review

I am sorry you had such a difficult experience. I understand how disturbing it must be to arrive and find maintenance issues that prevent you from settling in for your stay. Thank you for your feedback which we will use to help us become better.

Missoula, Montana
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed one night in south beach on route to the Caribbean. I expected a 4 star quality accommodation, but this place is firmly 3 stars (think Marriott or Holiday Inn). The room was comfortable though a little run down, the service was very average, and the continental breakfast was dire. Seriously, at the very least offer Starbucks coffee!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nenie86
Sjoy11, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review

I am glad you found our location convenient for your trip. Improvements are planned for upcoming months and I know when you return to us, you will be very satisfied.

Tampa, United States
Reviewed November 1, 2016

First: The Staff were very helpful and accommodating from the Manager SharenJoy to the Desk Agent Danasha - both individuals are an asset to the organization. Unfortunately, the hotel room needs some attention from doors that need to lock, lights that need to work, holes in the curtains, broken tile in the shower, etc. Place needs a good updating. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
Sjoy11, Front Office Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us your review. It is a pleasure to welcome our guests, while being their centrally located home in the heart of South Beach. Property improvements are planned for upcoming months. When you return to us, we will make sure you have the experience you deserve.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

285 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (202)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (93)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (60)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Rooftop Pool (14)
Viewed
Sanctuary Suite - Pre-Renovations (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Cadet Hotel
#78 of 202 in Miami Beach
881 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#51 of 202 in Miami Beach
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#88 of 202 in Miami Beach
590 reviews
City Center
SBH South Beach Hotel
SBH South Beach Hotel
#90 of 202 in Miami Beach
421 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#79 of 202 in Miami Beach
4,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Sugo
Cuisines: Italian
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sanctuary Hotel is in an ideal South Beach setting for those who want to be away from it all but in the middle of it all. Our four star boutique hotel is located steps away from Collins Avenue, the Fillmore at Jackie Gleason Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, New World Symphony, Washington Ave., And Ocean Drive. Whether your trip is business or leisure our knowledgeable staffs will guide your South Beach experience and make sure that exceptional service is unlike any other Miami Beach Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sanctuary South Beach

Address: 1745 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7508
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Price Range: $149 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sanctuary South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Sanctuary South Beach Miami
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Sanctuary South Beach staff and other travelers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Sanctuary South Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“refuse a room 210”
 of 5 bubbles 469ray, Oct 26, 2016 | Read review
“ask for a demo room if available, it`s the first renovated already”
 of 5 bubbles JJRodriguez, Oct 11, 2016 | Read review
“Ola is a nice, great food. Hotel is musty and air-conditioning system is loud.”
 of 5 bubbles ROMEOKENSINGTON, Oct 10, 2016 | Read review
“choose a different hotel totally”
 of 5 bubbles LEELEE0421, May 12, 2016 | Read review
“Don't use this hotel , unless your expectations are very low!”
 of 5 bubbles Spysmum, Apr 22, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay