We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pestana Miami South Beach

Save
Share
1817 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7424
2 people have started booking this hotel
Booking.com
$139
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/30/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$139
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/30/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Snaptravel
$139
$120
View deal
SAVE $19
Hotels.com$139
Expedia.com$139
Prestigia.com$139
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1000)
Room & Suite (538)
Pool & Beach (192)

About

#44 of 241 hotels in Miami Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Visit the Pestana South Beach, an Art Deco Boutique Hotel in Miami, made up of 4 buildings with white and blue façades in the middle of Miami Beach. It is just 5 minutes from the waters of South Beach and only 9 minutes on foot from Lincoln Road, a truly open-air shopping centre. Here, you can immerse yourself in the most sophisticated side of architecture, culture and urban events, along with typical American beach culture. Close by, you can visit the Miami Beach Convention Center and the Miami Beach Golf Club. The Pestana Miami South Beach offers a courtyard where you will find a heated indoor swimming pool, a Bistro and a Bar. It offers a car park for a fee, a business centre, beach service, concierge and bike rental services so that you can get to know the city. Rooms include free internet and cable TV.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Business Center with Internet Access
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Snack bar
Poolside bar
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
VIP room facilities
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Residential Neighborhood
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 3 more
3,240Reviews168Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,700
  • 1,061
  • 319
  • 105
  • 55
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
averillelan wrote a review Apr 7
West Palm Beach, Florida3 contributions
This is the first time I have ever reviewed anything online. I'm only doing so because I tried to resolve my problem directly with the hotel to no avail. I hope this serves as a warning to you. I checked into the hotel on Feb 27, however left immediately upon seeing the hotel and the room. The room was unacceptable. The hallways looked dirty and paint chipped everywhere, the room smelled bad and it looked as if there was dried blood(!!!!!!) on the lampshade. The elevator was broken, the bar/restaurant was closed, and the parking situation/garage was a nightmare (very very very crowded dark and dangerous…the staircase was even blocked, and I had to walk up/down the RAMP). I am in my 40's and have traveled alone extensively. For the first time ever, I felt unsafe and was VERY uncomfortable staying there for the night; I left in tears. I called the front desk and spoke with Dennis (who had also just checked me in). I informed him that the room was unacceptable and that I was leaving. He apologized and said he would contact my booking site (Agoda) and for a refund. I ended up having to book another place down the street for that same night for a ridiculous amount of money. Ugh. Nightmare. After a few weeks, I noticed I had not been refunded. The front desk was very crowded when I spoke w Dennis, so I assumed maybe he forgot? I tried calling Pestana multiple times to discuss, but no one ever answered the phone. That’s when I called Amex for a refund. Then I spoke with Agoda. My refund was denied (for a "no cancellation" policy...which is unbelievable for this sort of experience). I reopened the dispute and am still dealing. Point is...this place is NOT as described. Definitely not 4-stars; I have no idea how that rating came to be. And I can't imagine how this received a 2020 Traveller's Choice from TripAdvisor. Is that a paid-for designation?? Best of luck to you...
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Natasha O wrote a review Mar 2021
6 contributions
The customer service is top tier literally everyone was so professional but personable at the same time....Terry and Dennis (I believe was his name) were the best help and made our stay very comfortable and pleasant ❤️ We will definitely return just hope the restaurant will be open too...there was a lot of hungry girls some nights
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Catarina Monteiro, Other at Pestana Miami South Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. Natasha O, Thank you for taking the time to send us your stay at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the experience and our team's service. Dennis and Terry will be delighted with your words. Your comments make us proud and serve as an incentive for continuously improving our service and striving for excellence. Regarding the restaurant, we are looking forward to the reopening date that will be soon! It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you as our Guest. We would like to thank you for staying at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best regards, Catarina Monteiro and Team
Read more
Kevin K wrote a review Mar 2021
Columbus, Ohio1 contribution
Granted, it was spring break. The positives. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed several nice conversations with them. The hotel was of a bygone era. Clean enough but many minor mechanical and esthetic issues including shower valve, loose tiles on floor and shower. When you turn off the lights, all plugs in the room go dead also. Never did figure that out. The pool was clean and warm with nice lounge chairs. A nice volume of 80s music pumped into the area. The non stop marijuana everywhere was almost intolerable. I am not anti fun but this was ridiculous. A constant, and I mean constant stream of pot smoke 24/7 in the pool area, the hallways, and yes in our room was ridiculous. The staff laughed it off. Single females will not feel safe in the surrounding area in the evenings. The ones in our hotel came in at night and spent the week with us at the pool in the evenings. The surrounding area was once a beautiful Miami of old. It has fallen from grace. It was not the Miami of my youth. I'm all for young people having a good time on spring break, but a certain demographic causing serious rioting and people getting shot is way over the top. 3 different evenings we saw a very large police presence to quell a shooting or major crime scene. Not just crowd control. Not a family town during spring break For Sure.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Catarina Monteiro, Other at Pestana Miami South Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. kevin Thank you for giving us your opinion on your recent stay. Your opinion is essential for us to improve our work. We are sincerely sorry to hear that our facilities did not fully meet your expectations. We regret that this happened. We have shared your comments with our Teams, and we are taking the necessary measures to improve our Guests' experiences. We hope that, overall, you had a positive experience. Regarding your comments about Spring Break, in fact this year it was abnormal with behaviors and situations never seen before :( Miami Beach in general is a safe and a family oriented place to be We would like to thank you for staying at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel and wish that, in the future, you will give us another opportunity to host you and rebuild your trust. It was a pleasure for us to have you as our Guest. Kind regards, Catarina Monteiro and Team
Read more
Laura Popescu wrote a review Mar 2021
Englewood13 contributions1 helpful vote
The online pictures of this hotel are way more glamorous than the real thing. I am not sure how this was rated a 4 star hotel. The room was more like a 2 star hotel and the pool was a bit better, perhaps a 3 star hotel pool. We stayed in room 1112, larger than the other rooms, but ugly and dated. It had cracked white tile on the floors, a creepy poster on the wall and incredibly uncomfortable and cheap pillows. We had to ask them to change our pillows after the first night. Very noisy, you heard constant slamming of doors. The hotel was dirty. Most of the cleaning staff were not wearing their masks and of course we declined any room cleaning. The only reason we ended up staying at this hotel for 3 nights was because we had to change our trip a few days earlier due to weather and everything else was booked. After these 3 nights, we finally moved to a nicer 4 stars hotel, on Ocean Drive. Miami Beach was a disappointment. Definitely this is not a family friendly location. In the evenings it felt pretty unsafe to be on the streets. Good things at this hotel: the water in the pool was very warm and that was nice. Also if you woke up earlier, the pool was not crowded and we had the pool only for ourselves for an hour or two. You can order food in the room. They give you umbrellas and chairs for the beach. The internet was decent compared to Victor hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Catarina Monteiro, Other at Pestana Miami South Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. Laura P First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments. We are deeply sorry to hear that we weren't able to meet your expectations. All the points addressed by you were analysed and we are working on better improve our services. Unfortunately 2021 Spring Break was different from the other years, Miami Beach is a safe and family oriented place, I hope you can come back on a different time of the year to experience it yourself. We really hope you can give us a second change when planning your next trip to Miami Beach. Best Regards Catarina Monteiro and Team
Read more
Dayanna S wrote a review Mar 2021
Houston, Texas1 contribution
We enjoyed our time at hotel Pestana. We were provided with anything we were in need of and great location. Walking distance to many of the main attractions and close to the beach at an affordable price. Would definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Catarina Monteiro, Other at Pestana Miami South Beach
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mrs. Dayanna On behalf of our entire team at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. Your opinion is crucial for us to continue improving our service and anticipate our Guests' needs. It was a real pleasure for us to have you as our Guest, and we look forward to welcoming you again at Pestana South Beach Art Deco Hotel. Best regards, Catarina Monteiro and Team
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$147 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Pestana Miami South Beach Art Deco Boutique Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaMiami BeachCity Center
NUMBER OF ROOMS
98
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Pestana Miami South Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Pestana Miami South Beach?
Nearby attractions include South Beach Room Escape (0.3 miles), New World Symphony (0.2 miles), and Art Basel (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pestana Miami South Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Pestana Miami South Beach?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Pestana Miami South Beach?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Pestana Miami South Beach?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pestana Miami South Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Katsuya by Starck, Cleo, and Full Bloom Vegan.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Pestana Miami South Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Pestana Miami South Beach located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the center of Miami Beach.
Are any cleaning services offered at Pestana Miami South Beach?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Pestana Miami South Beach?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Russian, Portuguese, and Serbian.
Are there any historical sites close to Pestana Miami South Beach?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Freedom Tower at Miami Dade College (3.8 miles), The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (0.2 miles), and Art Deco Historic District (1.0 miles).