We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Dorchester Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Dorchester Hotel
Dorchester Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 484: English reviews
Menerbes, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed there for one night as a solo traveller as I had a 24h layover there. I decided to get a good nights sleep and visit Miami (South Beach) instead. Bit of a disappointment as the hotel was not well maintained and somewhat run down. The girl at the front desk was very blasé and not friendly at all. Carmen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jasmine S
Christopher G, Operations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

We take our guests feedback very serious and would like to thank you for sharing yours with us, Jasmine S!! We are terribly sorry that the time you spent with us was not the 5 star time that we strive to provide! We work hard to keep the hotel well maintained and provide the best possible service to all of...

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at The Dorchester for two nights prior to a cruise out of Miami. The hotel was one of the more affordable ones I could find in South Beach but is full of character. The location is great. ...across the street from the beach where we had complimentary lounge chairs and an umbrella waiting for us and within walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pennyjane1
Christopher G, Operations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Stellar review pennyjane1!! We are absolutely stoked that you and your boyfriend chose to stay with us, and had a great time! Sounds like you really enjoyed your time away from home. We offer a load of amenities here and I can see that you were able to take advantage of the beach chairs and umbrella, and the happy hour!...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at Dorchester suite witch is the condo style suite with one bedroom , living room , kitchen and bath ...was nice Lil change from normal south beach Miami style room... European style hotel with bar and pool that is kinda private with plants & tree around pool area so no one can just look in ... only issues...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toy A
Christopher G, Operations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Fab review Toy A!! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Dorchester! We are terribly sorry that you were inconvenienced by pressure washing. We want to make sure that none of our guests are bothered by anything that we do. I will definitely make sure to inform the General Manager of this. We hope that...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 3 nights (two nights of Saturday and Sunday), and one night the friday after. The hotel itself is charming with a two floors structure, swimming pool, friendly staff- The first two nights we had a room that was in front of Collins Avenue, the only issue was the noise of Collins avenue, especially on a saturday night. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jean charles J
Christopher G, Operations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Lucky Day jean charles J! Doesn't always happen with the upgrade but so glad you enjoyed it and that it made a memorable impact for you! It can indeed be a bit noisy on Collins Ave, especially on the weekends. For those who need some more peace and quiet, we need to know this so that we can place you...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For starters, this hotel is located perfectly for exploring Miami. If you want to be close to the beach, and have a cheap UBER ride to some of the nightclubs then Dorchester is perfect. I also really liked the outdoor area, where you were able to sit back, have drinks, and listen to music. Some of the cons were, this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kiana M
Christopher G, Operations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests Kiana M!! We are located perfectly in the heart of SoBe, just blocks from everything you will want to be apart of! The outdoor area is nice and relaxing. The big tree that we have there is super cool to hangout under! Your constructive...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I booked here to spend a night in Miami before sailing on a cruise. We checked out and they stored our belongings in the hotel. That day it rained and when we came back they offered us towels and allowed us to use restrooms to get ready for the cruise. Everybody was incredibly kind. Rooms are very comfortable and big....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank siuppolina
Christopher G, Operations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

We value our guests feedback greatly, and thank you for sharing yours with us siuppolina!! We strive to provide outstanding service to all of our guests! It's great to read that is what you experienced!! I am sorry that you had issues with the WiFi. We have not had any complaints regarding the WiFi lately. Perhaps there was an issue...

Chillicothe, Ohio
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was in a nice location. It is an older hotel so some of it is dated, but they were painting and carpeting to update. It was clean. We got a good deal on the room. Parking was expensive, but it is everywhere in Miami. Construction going on next door so very noisy, but not the fault of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brooke014
Christopher G, Operations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Brooke014, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, regarding your recent experience with us! We are located in a prime spot here in SoBe. We are just blocks from everything you will want to be apart of! Glad that you were content with the cleanliness!! We offer parking as a convenience to our guests. There are other...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in a suite room, greeted very warmly at check in which was nice, the room was a bit outdated but the bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean, good maid service, didn't try the food, ate out every night lots of options within short walking distance

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loumogou
Christopher G, Operations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Good Evening Loumogou, We truly appreciate the time you took to share your honest feedback on your recent time spent here at Dorchester! It;s great to read that you were warmly greeted and checked in, that the bed was comfy, cleanliness was up to par and housekeeping service was good! We hope to be able to host your following visit...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 28, 2016

We have just returned from a very pleasant week, The place itself is homely and welcoming, the decor is art i can understand. They have a happy hour each evening where you pay the bartender $1 and she gives you a cocktail, by the way Mellissa is a star , She introduced us to so many interesting people that week...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chig2016
Christopher G, Operations Manager at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

For us there is absolutely nothing better then a 5 star review such as the one that you provided us with Chig2016!! We are thrilled to know that your time spent with us was such an amazing one! We do provide our guests with a happy hour! Melissa is amazing and our guests all say the same!! Come back soon...

New York City, New York
Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is within walking distance to some great attractions. The room was clean, neat and the front desk staff was very helpful to ensure our stay was comfortable. WiFi, beach access, chair rentals and towels were included in the resort fee. The outdoor lounge area is comfortable and the drink of the day specials are pretty good. If you're...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renee H
Christopher G, Director of Front Office at Dorchester Hotel, responded to this review

Renee H, you are a dream! Thank you so much for this amazing review! I am so glad to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and can’t wait for the opportunity to do it all again. We truly appreciate the insanely kind words and hope to see you back here soon! Christopher

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

537 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (287)
Viewed
Room/Suite (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (101)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (239)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Double Full Standard Room (43)
Viewed
King Suite (72)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#80 of 202 in Miami Beach
284 reviews
City Center
Suites of Dorchester
Suites of Dorchester
#139 of 202 in Miami Beach
169 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#79 of 202 in Miami Beach
4,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chesterfield Hotel
#74 of 202 in Miami Beach
2,872 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Townhouse Hotel
#108 of 202 in Miami Beach
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in a tranquil courtyard setting across from the beach; three blocks from the Historic District. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dorchester Hotel

Address: 1850 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7499
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Price Range: $124 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorchester Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Dorchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorchester Hotel Miami
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Dorchester Hotel staff and other travelers.
38 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (38)

Questions? Get answers from Dorchester Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ground floor offers no privacy as windows are close to the street and/or patio.”
 of 5 bubbles 438jasmines, 1 week ago | Read review
“We were at the end of the hall on the second floor. It was quiet and comfortable there.”
 of 5 bubbles pennyjane1, 1 week ago | Read review
“for a quiet room, avoid a room on Collins ave.”
 of 5 bubbles 692jeancharlesj, 1 week ago | Read review
“We had a balcony which was perfect in the evening to people watch below”
 of 5 bubbles Chig2016, Oct 28, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that doesn't face the construction site or their downstairs bar.”
 of 5 bubbles tomboi313, Jun 19, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay