We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
236 21st St, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$332
Expedia.com
$332
Algotels
$279
Hotels.com$332
Travelocity$332
travelup.com$368
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (332)
360
Panoramas (29)
Room & Suite (224)

About

#154 of 233 hotels in Miami Beach
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
3.9
Service
3.7
Value
3.5
SBH South Beach Hotel has been an exemplar of Miami Beach style and coolness, a place where locals and visitors can think less and play more. Chic and boldly handcrafted, yes, but intimate and easygoing too. Our Miami hotel features free Wi-Fi, valet parking and complimentary breakfast as well as beach lounger and towel. Think South Beach glamour without all the usual bustle and bravado.From the historic Art Deco jewel box of a lobby to the palm-frond laden café-inspired patio, you'll find this newly refreshed 51-room boutique to be a hidden gem in the best part of Collins Park, walking distance from the ocean, the Miami Beach Convention Center and everything else you've come to see and experience in South Beach.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Babysitting
Baggage storage
Concierge
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
812Reviews33Q+A97Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 271
  • 218
  • 138
  • 75
  • 110
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
off_travelling wrote a review Jan 2023
london3 contributions4 helpful votes
This hotel got really mixed reviews. I was a little nervous about what to expect but I was pleasantly surprised and would happily return. SBH is really an annex of its sister hotel next door where you have to check in. Firstly - The location is excellent mainly for the conference centre - 5 mins walk - probably one of the closest hotels and it’s reasonably priced. It’s also a block from the beach and boardwalk and close to a number of great bars and restaurants. Perfect if your here on business and just want somewhere close to the conference to sleep. Secondly the rooftop pool was brilliant, lovely pool, fairly quiet most of the time and perfect for relaxing with a book. Little bit tired but if you don’t need luxury it’s more than adequate. I stay in a lot of hotels and the bed was comfy, the room was dark and not too noisy, there is a small gym with free weights and water, the bar and restaurant are lovely and staff were friendly. More importantly I felt pretty safe as a lone traveller in the area and in the hotel. Yes it’s feeling a little tired and dated and could probably do with a refurb but it’s cheap, clean, the shower has hot wster, the location is 10/10 and it suited my needs. I’d return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: The pool is quite hard to find but it’s worth it
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Bolotner, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at the South Beach Hotel and for sharing your kind comments! I am delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy our clean hotel as well as take advantage of our convenient location, right in the heart of South Beach. It pleases me that you found our staff to be very accommodating. Our team takes great pride in creating a memorable stay to each of our guests. We cannot wait to welcome you back again soon! Sincerely, Guest Service Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jim K wrote a review Jan 2023
They will not allow the thermostat to go below 71 degrees, I sat on the bed and went right down to the plywood frame, it is dated at best. Called the front desk and no answer so walked over and no one there. I called out and after a minute someone cam from behind the curtain, after finishing their employee conversation to say "well that is the way the owners have it and there is nothing I can do". They should be ashamed at $220+ per night. I stayed at motel 6 at O'Hare airport one time when stranded there and it was 10 times better! Find a better option.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Bolotner, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Jim, Thank you for staying with us at South Beach Hotel. At the very onset please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay. This is certainly not up to our standards and it is feedback like yours which allows us to improve our hotel each day. We hope to see you again in the near future for an opportunity to correct our shortcomings and I would love to have the opportunity to connect with you directly at your convenience. Wishing you the very best. Best Regards, Guest Service Team South Beach Hotel!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa J wrote a review Jan 2023
3 contributions2 helpful votes
To be honest, my expectations were low based on reviews I had read prior to booking and some of the cons others mentioned were expected rather than let-downs. Think of the SBH hotel as an annex of the Boulan. The hotels share a lobby, restaurant, pool, and resources but the rooms are accessed through a separate entrance. The original lobby of the SBH is vacant and the hotel is not sparkling new. However, the sheets were clean, the housekeeping was completed each day, and the staff was courteous and helpful. The hotel is conveniently located and we were able to walk to everything on our agenda. The beach is conveniently located (a easy walk) and the two beach chairs and towels were included with the room. The rooftop pool is lovely. There is comfortable seating (chairs, cabanas, and couches) as well as several dining tables near the rooftop bar. There are a few games (cornhole and jumbo Jenga). Food can be ordered via app and is delivered to the pool. The bartender is delightful and pleasant. (Jan 2023). The pool was a relaxing place to spend the afternoon. It was easy to get Ubers and move around the area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Bolotner, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Lisa, Thank you for staying with us at the South Beach Hotel and for sharing your kind comments! I am delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy our clean hotel as well as take advantage of our convenient location, right in the heart of South Beach. It pleases me that you found our staff to be very accommodating. Our team takes great pride in creating a memorable stay to each of our guests. We cannot wait to welcome you back again soon! Sincerely, Guest Service Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NM wrote a review Jan 2023
Scotland, United Kingdom101 contributions115 helpful votes
I've given 5 stars here for balance because the 1's and 2's posted on TA are a bit ungenerous. I can see if you paid $300+ it would be annoying but at $120 we got decent value for the location. Check Expedia and Booking reviews which are kinder. Rooms no worse than a slightly older HoJo or La Quinta. Dated but OK and not as unpleasant as we thought it would be. We booked here by mistake thinking we got an amazing deal for 1 South Beach Hotel. Its far removed from that classy place but acceptable for $120. Superb rooftop pool in adjoining sister hotel. Jefferson served us at the Tiki bar and was a star. Made us feel very welcome! The main reception/ foyer is dated, perhaps even 1950's marble and tiling but it has its own character. Beds a little tired but we slept well. For Europeans who visited the Spanish Costas in 1980's it's like 4 star Spanish was back then. Room had quite fresh paint. Corridor Has slightly odd odour that I'd put down to cleaning product rather than mould. Not our first choice but I would stay again if on a budget. 300 yards to beach. LOTS of restaurants and nightlife nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Bolotner, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at the South Beach Hotel and for sharing your kind comments! I am delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy our clean hotel as well as take advantage of our convenient location, right in the heart of South Beach. It pleases me that you found our staff to be very accommodating. Our team takes great pride in creating a memorable stay to each of our guests. We cannot wait to welcome you back again soon! Sincerely, Guest Service Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Afo wrote a review Jan 2023
3 contributions
This hotel is not in good shape. It is under construction, and it feels like a "ghost hotel". There is a weird, strong smell (almost like mold) in the halls. The standard of the rooms were not what we expected (as we spent a lot of money), and does not look like the pictures. On the positive side; they had free access to beach chairs included (normally costing 20 USD per person), and the breakfast restaurant was good (however, hotel guest could only access a small part of the menu without paying extra). Location is good. Would not recommend the hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Bolotner, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Afo, Thank you for staying with us at South Beach Hotel. At the very onset please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay. This is certainly not up to our standards and it is feedback like yours which allows us to improve our hotel each day. We hope to see you again in the near future for an opportunity to correct our shortcomings and I would love to have the opportunity to connect with you directly at your convenience. Wishing you the very best. Best Regards, Guest Service Team South Beach Hotel!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter L wrote a review Jan 2023
Oceanport, New Jersey
we were sent over to the Boulan to check in. SBH was next door and was basically neglected. entrance was under construction, not very welcoming. courtyard in front of property was nice, but furniture was missing - unlike photos on Expedia listing. nowhere to sit and relax or have lunch outdoors. rooftop pool was very nice but only open till 6, and you couldn't eat there. heat in room wasn't working well - woke up and it was 65 degrees. granted the weather was crazy during our stay, but the heat should work. furthermore, when we asked for a blanket it never arrived. hallway had an odd smell and 1st room we saw smelled smoky . toilets got clogged. windows were drafty and allowed unpleasant street noise. there was some confusion about our reservation - it was supposed to include breakfast, but that somehow got lost. the staff (victor) finally worked that out. so cumulatively it was pretty rough. beach area was pretty nice, but not as nice as down in heart of south beach. you could walk to a lot of nice restaurants and other attractions, which was great. the other issue is that the staff, while professional, didn't really appreciate that this was our vacation and that we were frustrated. i don't think they ever said "I'm sorry you're having problems" or any such sympathetic comment. if i do something unhelpful with one of my patients, or even make them wait 10 minutes, i apologize. it doesn't cost anything to say "I'm sorry about your problem." we decided to check out after 3 nights. we wanted to after 2 nights but wanted to give the staff another chance; plus it's a serious hassle to move. we are still waiting for our refund for the last 2 nights. we also have to place blame with Expedia. they are basically MIA and their customer service is pretty useless. i won't use them again - unless they offer us a major refund. on a positive note, the beds were comfy and the rooms were renovated reasonably well, though as noted windows were single pane and leaky.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: this place would probably work at a rate of about $120 or so. at current rates it will need a...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Bolotner, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Peter, Thank you for staying with us at South Beach Hotel and taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay. We apologize that your stay was less than extraordinary. This is certainly not up to our standards, and it is feedback like yours which allows us to improve our hotel each day. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to address the problem with our team in order to prevent any future occurrences. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to re-experience at South Beach Hotel in the near future. Regards Guest Service South Beach Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melissa C wrote a review Dec 2022
1 contribution
Hotel charged us $20 for Fiji water which we did not have. Sent several emails to the hotel about this which have been ignored. Failed to refund our deposit for 2 weeks, during which I had to contact the hotel several times and staff were not interested in helping. At the time of checking in, I was told by staff that it would be refunded within a maximum of 7 days. We had a pleasant stay at this hotel, ruined by the fact that we were automatically charged for items which we did not consume during out stay. Also the length of time it took the hotel to refund our deposit was completely unacceptable. As a family of 4, we were on a tight budget during our stay and did not account for the fact that we would have to pay $200 upon check-in (our error, not the hotels). We were reliant on this money and expected this to be refunded within a week, as advised by staff. When the hotel eventually realised they had not in fact processed the refund, they didn't even have the courtesy to acknowledge this and send us an email response - the money just appeared one day. They cannot blame the delay on the banks processing as the second deposit we paid for a separate 1 nights stay following a cruise was refunded to us within 1 day. (*Only went back due to this being booked/paid for in advance, and still had faith at this point that the refund was on its way). I would highly recommend that people AVOID this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Bolotner, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel
Responded Dec 18, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with at South Beach Hotel and taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay. We apologize that you stay was less than extraordinary. This is certainly not up to our standards, and it is feedback like yours which allows us to improve our hotel each day. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to address the problem with our team in order to prevent any future occurrences. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to re-experience South Beach Hotel in the near future. Regards Guest Service South Beach Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nermin D wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
I am a native Floridian and I can honestly say the WORST hotel in Miami we have ever stayed at , they threw us on the 1st floor the lobby smelled horrible, room was super dirty , mold was everywhere. Horrible Lobby service room didn’t even have coffee and then when they got us some 7 hrs later the next day they charged us for a pod we didn’t use like for real !! They should refund us the night for this traumatizing experience
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Bolotner, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel
Responded Dec 1, 2022
Dear Guest, It saddens me that you were not satisfied with our hotel. We apologize for the inconveniences that you have faced during your stay. Please contact us directly as we would like to know more about your concerns. I hope to have the chance rectify the situation and welcome you back to re-experience The Plymouth South Beach. Regards Guest Service Plymouth South Beach
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Courtney Rae wrote a review Nov 2022
Kansas City, Missouri44 contributions7 helpful votes
. The lobby and staff are absolutely amazing but everything beyond that are a nightmare. The first room had 3 roaches in various stages of fully alive to dead. The second room only had one roach. The room smelled of mold and sewer so we had a candle running 24/7. It was a horrible experience. DO NOT STAY HERE. HORRIBLE experience
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Bolotner, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel
Responded Nov 18, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at South Beach Hotel. At the very onset please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay. This is certainly not up to our standards and it is feedback like yours which allows us to improve our hotel each day. We hope to see you again in the near future for an opportunity to correct our shortcomings and I would love to have the opportunity to connect with you directly at your convenience. Wishing you the very best. Best Regards, Guest Service Team South Beach Hotel!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laura F wrote a review Nov 2022
From the beginning until the end of my stay, all the team was wonderful, really professional and tried to make everything easier for me. I can say Emma, Victor and Pierre were absolutely perfect and really professional too. I came for one night the first day, I decided to extend for a second one because I was feeling very well in the room ( South Beach Hôtel ). The room was really pretty, confortable and clean. After this first experience I went to Bahamas for one week and have decided to take a last night in Miami in South beach Hotel at my return, because I was really satisfied about my first experience. Emma did everything to make me confortable, she upgraded me, she helps me also for my trip in Bahamas before to leave, she is really smily and pleasant. Pierre takes care about the luggages and speaks very well french, always smiling, he does his best all the time. Victor also was really professionnal and nice, love this team and hotel. The restaurants downstairs are really great too. I recommend this hotel the eyes closed, Thank you at all the team for everything, I will come for my next stay in Miami with a great pleasure.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maria Bolotner, General Manager at SBH South Beach Hotel
Responded Nov 13, 2022
Dear Laura, Thank you for staying with us at the South Beach Hotel and for sharing your kind comments! I am delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy our clean hotel as well as take advantage of our convenient location, right in the heart of South Beach. It pleases me that you found our staff to be very accommodating. Our team takes great pride in creating a memorable stay to each of our guests. We cannot wait to welcome you back again soon! Sincerely, Guest service Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$170 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hotel south beach, south beach hotel miami, miami beach south
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaMiami BeachCity Center
NUMBER OF ROOMS
51
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SBH SOUTH BEACH HOTEL $180 ($̶2̶5̶5̶) - Updated 2023 Prices & Reviews - Miami Beach, FL

Frequently Asked Questions about SBH South Beach Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to SBH South Beach Hotel?
Nearby attractions include EME Miami (0.1 miles), The Regent Cocktail Club (0.3 miles), and Collins Park (0.06 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at SBH South Beach Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at SBH South Beach Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at SBH South Beach Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at SBH South Beach Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to SBH South Beach Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Habitat, Cafe Americano, and Watr at the 1 Rooftop.
Are there opportunities to exercise at SBH South Beach Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness center during their stay.
Is SBH South Beach Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Miami Beach.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at SBH South Beach Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to SBH South Beach Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Freedom Tower at Miami Dade College (3.9 miles), The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (0.3 miles), and Art Deco Historic District (1.1 miles).
Is SBH South Beach Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.