We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,469 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Breakwater South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,066: English reviews
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
181 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

I was a little dubious about this hotel after reading all the reviews. My husband can't tolerate loud music. It was a good deal through Hotwire and we loved what it had to offer barring the club scene. We had a lovely stay at this hotel. The staff was courteous. Our room was clean. Towels for the beach and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank RPK1990
MiamiSunManagement, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

It was wonderful to have you here visiting with us! We are right in the middle of things on Ocean Drive and it can be a bit noisy with all the music, activity and entertainment! Thank you for your observations which can guide us as we are always seeking to make the experience for our guests more enjoyable. We look... More 

Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is good.view is excellent.but the elevator is not perfect .the internet was very good but sometimes was reconnected .and a lot of nose at night.it was terrible. At the first night we can't sleep at all.Breakfast was good .but water not hut for tea.also the milk was cold.

Helpful?
Thank zohreh r
MiamiSunManagement, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your observations about your visit with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our central locations, ocean views and active ambience. Being in the middle of all the music and entertainment on Ocean Drive in South Beach can be a bit noisy at times. We are always seeking ways for our guests to enjoy their visits... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed at the hotel this last weekend and we liked it very much. The main asset of the hotel is its location. In general, we were also pleased with the room, which was clean, updated and inviting. There is definitely a good amount of noise that comes from the downstairs club/restaurant, but otherwise, it had everything we could expect... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michel H
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Michel H, Thank you for taking the time to write to us here at Esplendor Breakwater. I will pass along your comments to Natalie and do hope you'll return to see us soon! More 

Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at the hotel Nov 29 & 30th and enjoyed it. The hotel is well deocated and very clean. You are right in the middle of the action. You are right in the middle of all of the bars and clubs. We booked through Hotwire and was happy with the price we paid. If you don't like noise, I... More 

Helpful?
Thank JDailly
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear JDailly, Thank you for taking the time to write to us here at Esplendor Breakwater. We are indeed located in the middle of it all. We are close by to the most exotic entertainment venues which makes our Hotel the most appropriate when visiting nearby venues. We will make sure that our Restaurant team is made aware of the... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
210 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I had a great experience staying at this hotel. It was my first visit to Miami and you cannot beat this hotel's location on South Beach. The bellman is very friendly and he recommended a great Cuban place for lunch--talk to him if you can! The rooms are modern, clean, and nice. The only downside to staying here is the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole M
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear lilredosu2013, Thank you for your response about your recent stay at Hotel Esplendor Breakwater. We do understand that the noise can be a bit overwhelming. Due to our location, our Hotel is nearby the most vibrant clubs and entertainment centers. We also have a live band that plays in our affiliated restaurant called Ocean's ten that offers world class... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed 6 nights in Miami at Hotel Breakwater with a friend. On Check Out, I paid my $266 hotel bill and took a flight out to continue on with my travels. Within that week, I noticed there were 3 charges out of my account. What I paid and 2 additional incorrect charges totalling just under $300. I emailed the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank VKNY44
MiamiSunManagement, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

First, please accept my personal apology for your inconveniences during your visit with us this past October! These experiences are not usual for our guests and I would like you to contact me directly to discuss your visit and to organize your returning to visit with us so we can provide you with a proper enjoyable South Beach experience. Your... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in July. There was a groupon deal out with the hotel and we decided to book the hotel. The location is excellent for experiencing miami beach. The beach is at your doorstep and there are plenty of places to eat. The hotel provides free bicycle rental which we took advantage of and enjoyed. They... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nav H
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Nav H, Thank you for the response provided. We are glad you used all of the amenities within our Hotel as we believe they tend to be a great addition of purpose to all of our guests stay. Indeed our Hotel is in the middle of world famous Ocean Drive and nearby the most happening clubs and restaurants. The... More 

jonestigers
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I used the valet service at this hotel when I was at the hospital. My GPS suddenly came up missing. No sign of forced entry. They refunded my money for the valet "service" but claim no responsibility for the missing GPS because of their disclaimer. Make sure to empty your car of anything that you want to keep before you... More 

Helpful?
Thank jonestigers
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Jonestigers, We sincerely apologize for the unfortunate incident. We did research with our partners at the valet company and were not able to find any foul play involved. More 

Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Me and my wife stayed in the room 304, on the higher lever of the building, It was quieter than we expected. We were expecting a lot of noise ( the hotel is located in the middle of ocean drive ) but our room was an oasis in the middle of the party. The room was smaller than we expected,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Federico B
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Dear Federico B, Thank you so much for your review about our Hotel. Our staff is one of a kind and area always eager to please and attend any request that our guests may have. We sincerely thank you for staying with us and hope to see you soon in beautiful Miami Beach! More 

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The room was dirty the floors were damp. It's loud until 4 in the morning every night!! The service is literally the worst service I have ever experienced in my life staying at a hotel. The front desk people are rude, so rude they treat you like its a hassle for them to talk to you.. the manager the same.... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline8844
MiamiSunManagement, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

I was extremely disappointed to learn you had so many inconveniences during your visit with us in December! Please accept my personal apology for what you experienced. Your observations and feedback has been essential to focusing our on-going operation improvements. Being in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive it can be very active and noisy with all the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

841 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (428)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (88)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (96)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (119)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (398)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
City View Room (33)
Viewed
Courtyard View Room (38)
Viewed
Oceanfront View Room (37)
Viewed
Oceanfront View Room in Edison Tower (44)
Viewed
Partial Ocean View Room (44)
Viewed
Penthouse (33)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)
Viewed
The VIP Penthouse (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#23 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#71 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 765 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hotel South Beach
Congress Hotel South Beach
#109 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#105 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#44 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Price Range: $160 - $481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay