We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,534 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Breakwater South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,108: English reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Be aware.. this hotel as with all the others on the strip is in the party mix. It will be loud, crowded and busy. Thats exactly what we expected and got. Complaining otherwise is foolish. The hotel has obviously worked to update itself.. lobby is nice and spacious, front patio the same, rooms are renovated (with some minor flaws) but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Retroball
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

It was wonderful having you here visiting with us! Thank you for your kind comments and observations. It was our pleasure to serve you here in our busy, active non-stop hotel here in the heart of South Beach. We look forward to having you visit with us again soon! Best regards, Chauncey

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I don't know how this hotel can legally rent its rooms! We tried to stay for four nights last week and lasted one night. Our room, a junior suite was rock level loud! Seriously, our room until 4 in the morning was like being at a concert right beside the speakers. I have never experienced anything like it. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darren D
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and observations about our busy, bustling and active hotel here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. I am disappointed all the music an activity here was an inconvenience for you during your visit with us. We did get approval to modify the windows this year in our historic Art Deco hotel to help...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last week. It was the beginning of Spring Break and man was it crazy outside of the hotel. Seas of people, thumping music, "flashy" people. That wasn't a bad thing, reviews said to expect a lot of energy outside. It was great for people watching while you drank a margarita at their hotel front restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RhinoLoe
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

It was wonderful having you visiting with us! Thank you for your comments and observations about our busy, bustling and entertaining hotel here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. Your comments are very valuable to us and help focus our efforts to always make our guests more comfortable. We look forward to providing you attentive service again in...

Wethersfield, Connecticut
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel is in the perfect location. There are fabulous places to see within walking distance. The beach is right across the street. The food is amazing! Everyone is happy and friendly! The hotel is very accommodating. I stay at Hotel Breakwater every time I come to Miami. I will be staying there again in May.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lovemiamixo
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

It was great having your visiting here with us! Thank you for your kind comments and observations. We look forward to taking care of you on your upcoming return to South Beach! Best regards, Chauncey

Chicago
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The hotel is nicely situated and the room I had was very nice, though a couple of items were in need of repair (leaky shower). The service was excellent, and the front desk very helpful. Ask for Pablo if you need help with bags, taxis, and just getting around. He's great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

It was wonderful having you here with us! Thank you for your kind comments and observations about Pablo and our busy, active and entertaining hotel here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. We look forward to taking care of your again very soon! Best regards, Chauncey

Rancho Cucamonga, California
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Please do not stay here! Horrible service, our phone didn't work and was never fixed. I told them twice. You will not sleep here until after 4 am, you will be lucky if the music stops at 2 am. Ear plugs are their only answer. Don't stay here! Definitely not 4 stars.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dean S
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and observations! I was disappointed to learn of your inconveniences regarding your telephone and noise. The telephone not working is very unusual and I will examine the entire to system to see what happened and to correct it. As to the noise, here in our active, bustling and entertaining location in the heart of South...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Based on all of the reviews, I was very worried about our weekend stay at the Breakwater. But, pretty much everything that could go right, went right, so I'm happy! We asked, and were given, an upgrade to a junior suite which allowed us to have SO much more space! We also asked, and received, a relatively quiet room, even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank srddc
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

It was great having you visiting with us! Thank you for your kind comments and observations about our active, fun and entertaining hotel here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. Your feedback is very valuable to us. We have addressed and solved your concerns. We look forward to having you back here with us soon! Best regards, Chauncey

Parlin, NJ
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Pablo was helpful as soon as we arrived to the minute he left. He took our bags, gave us water, gave us recommendations and was very friendly!! The hotel room was clean and modern. The area is great to walk to restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and the beach. There was a terrible smell at the pool from cleaning supplies. Unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

It was wonderful having you visit here with us! Thank you for your kind comments and observations about our fun, active and bustling hotel here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. I am happy to hear how helpful and attentive Pablo and the staff was during your visit. We look forward to serving your again soon! Best regards,,...

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a horrible hotel. First off, you can not sleep! That's what a hotel is for, isn't it? They have built a nightclub outside in their courtyard, so everywhere you are bass is thumping until at least 2AM. We complained because we couldn't sleep, and we're given the run around and had to call Hotels.com. That's when we were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Matthew S
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and observations. I am disappointed you were inconvenienced during your visit with us at our active, bustling hotel here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. Because there is so much activity throughout the day and night it can be noisy. This year we will be modifying our windows in our historic Art Deco...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Only stayed for one night, thank god. Nothing against the hotel or staff but not the place for adults (33 and 31) trying to sleep. The music and ridiculous bass lasted until 4 am and might as well have been in our room. The front desks remedy..."we can give you ear plugs." What a great response. I get we didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spmalke
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review

It was great having you here with us! Thank you for your comments and observations about our busy, bustling and active hotel here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. I am disappointed the noise was an inconvenience for you during your visit. There is so much activity and entertainment here at our location that is can be noisy....

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

858 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (445)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (91)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (38)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (47)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Other (124)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (398)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
City View Room (33)
Viewed
Courtyard View Room (38)
Viewed
Oceanfront View Room (37)
Viewed
Oceanfront View Room in Edison Tower (44)
Viewed
Partial Ocean View Room (44)
Viewed
Penthouse (33)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)
Viewed
The VIP Penthouse (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 206 in Miami Beach
1,075 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#73 of 206 in Miami Beach
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 206 in Miami Beach
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#39 of 206 in Miami Beach
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#45 of 206 in Miami Beach
2,231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#93 of 206 in Miami Beach
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Price Range: $167 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#65 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Hotel Breakwater South Beach staff and other travelers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Breakwater South Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Don't pay extra to have breakfast included in your room rate.”
 of 5 bubbles Rbrmjs, 3 days ago | Read review
“We chose a beach view. We wish the pool/bar music was played a little lower but it's MIAMI so we understood.”
 of 5 bubbles 42melaniev, 5 days ago | Read review
“Ask for a room up high and in the back if you don't like to listen to music until late - but the music was great!”
 of 5 bubbles O2604ILkerrys, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Room was larger, bed was very comfortable (king size), bathroom updated. Found to be nicer than anticipated. Been to Miami Beach many times to visit, take in the night-life, stayed at many different places, found the Breakwater Hotel to a great location, reasonably priced. Weather was great too!”
 of 5 bubbles josephbE1980HB, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“please don't book no good spots”
 of 5 bubbles RC_1_13, Oct 31, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay