We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Clay Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Clay Hotel
The Clay Hotel
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,814 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 851: English reviews
Start your review of The Clay Hotel
 Click to rate
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights. We were very impressed with the fact we had a quiet room given the location of this hotel. The room itself is small but was big enough for the two of us. It looked like it had been recently renovated so was clean, modern and comfortable. We also loved the free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hanablundell
Central New Jersey
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Booked The Clay because the rate and couldn't be beat - but I stalked the reviews for months scared that construction and noise would cancel out the great price/location. I kept wondering why no one posted more pics of the construction so that people like me could 'see' what we were in for, LOL I'm pleased to report the construction...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TOWNSY
San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Centrally located The Clay is a good option when in South Beach. Cleaning service needs to improve. (In three days no one came to clean the room) Price is expensive for the type of service offered. There is also a funny smell (tobacco mixed with humidity) in the rooms. Wifi does not work well either. I conduct meetigs online and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Qosqo15
Devon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived at The Clay Hotel late afternoon on tues 11th April and our welcome at reception wasn't overly warm which was disappointing. We had to walk out of the hotel, down the street then up some steps to access the corridor to our room (this may have been due to the building work going on in the hotel but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovedevon2016
New York
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My daughter and I stayed at the Clay Hotel for four nights. We really enjoyed our stay in the main building with a small, clean, bright renovated room. The location is perfect: restaurants on Espanola Way (awesome 15% discount), short walk to the beach, and a small supermarket across the street. The staff (Mimi and Maria) all go out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkBeachmama
734christian, Front Office Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Wow! This is a great review you thank you so much. Thank you for touching on our guest services, and we are so happy to see that you enjoyed the design and architecture. Our resort fee offers an excellent beach service, so happy to see you enjoyed it! We hope to see you again soon, keep in touch....

Parkland, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

i went with my family on passover holiday we have great time, very helpful staff, great location close to the beach, clean room,great price,the new updated rooms looks much better then the website, Thank you for making my vacation great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronlivni
734christian, Front Office Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate the nice compliments. We are very happy to see we made you vacation great! I will share this review with the staff. Please come back soon! Kindest Regards, Christian Dobao Front Office Manager The Clay Hotel 1438 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Phone:...

Philadelphia, Mississippi
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel looked so charming & we were looking forward to staying there. We were not told that there was construction directly in front of the hotel that started at 8:00am even on Saturday. We asked for a room in the back to avoid the noise & then had to drag our suitcases over gravel to get to the building...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ginger S
734christian, Front Office Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ginger S, We apologize for your unfortunate experience. Your review is very important to us, as we aim to provide a better level of service. This review will serve as a training opportunity for our staff and we will take immediate action in correcting the concerns you brought up. I would like to mention that we so not advertise...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked to stay here under 2 separate bookings as a pre cruise stay. Finding the place proved challenging as the taxi driver was unsure as to where it was. On arrival we got to reception to find that my booking could not be found but my friends booking could be found. As we had arrived late at night there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EricaBrown
734christian, Front Office Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Erica Brown, Thank you for taking the time to write the review. I remember your situation in regards to the travel agency you booked with. I apologize that you had to go through that situation, and I hope it was sorted out with the Travel Agency. As you mentioned we definitely would encourage anyone to book with us directly...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hi mimi!!! You are awesome as well as the rest of the staff. Very helpful and professional. balcony room was great!! A bit noisy, but what the heck we love it even for that. About 7 min walk from the beach, surrounded by restaurants from latin cuisine to European with delicious food, convenience stores, super markets, tattoo shops, scooters rentals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johan T
734christian, Front Office Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Johan, Thank you so much for the review, it was amazing. You definitely captured out energy and vibe. I will definitely share the nice compliments with Mimi. Hope we see you again next year! Best Regards, Christian Dobao Front Office Manager The Clay Hotel 1438 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Phone: 305-534-2988 Fax: 305-673-0346 Email: christian@clayhotel.

La Canada Flintridge, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked this hotel, pre-cruise on the recommendation of some friends from the UK. We booked directly through the hotel 1 YEAR IN ADVANCE as well. There were four of us, and we booked the two room suite with a center bath. Having researched them online and through the word of my friend, these were indeed the rooms to get. Four...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdamsonBoss
734christian, Front Office Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Adamson, First and foremost we sincerely apologize you had such an unpleasant experience. We appreciate your business and we do our very best to ensure that each every guest receives the accommodations they were confirmed for. We do not advertise on our website that we have a 2 bedroom suite, because we really do only have one 2 double...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,020 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (651)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (159)
Viewed
Room/Suite (114)
Viewed
Bathroom (55)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (267)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (343)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Budget Room (47)
Viewed
Deluxe One King Room (45)
Viewed
Deluxe One Queen Room (51)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Queen Room (67)
Viewed
Family Room (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
El Paseo Hotel
#28 of 207 in Miami Beach
338 reviews
Hotel Shelley
#92 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,397 reviews
Casa Victoria Orchid
#90 of 207 in Miami Beach
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oceanside Hotel
#108 of 207 in Miami Beach
230 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
City Center
Hall Hotel South Beach
Hall Hotel South Beach
#53 of 207 in Miami Beach
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Address: 1438 Washington Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4110
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Price Range: $108 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Clay Hotel staff and other travelers.
52 questions
Ask a question
Cairo, Egypt
8 months ago
Morristown, New Jersey
over a year ago

See all questions (52)

Questions? Get answers from The Clay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“ask for the double suite room, but make sure that's what you will actually get”
AdamsonBoss, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Expect your accommodations to be changed by the hotel if the need arises.”
448deidrac, Mar 21, 2017 | Read review
“The room we had faced the back of the building and was quieter I am sure than those on the street front.”
bob7011, Mar 13, 2017 | Read review
“Ask for inner room if you need quiet.”
chrissY3562BM, Mar 13, 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the main building rear are quiet and comfortable.”
402reynardb, Feb 26, 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question