We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Clay Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Clay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,562 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 727: English reviews
Jennersdorf, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have spent 10 days in the Clay-hotel. It was the most amazing time in the US! Natalya: she took care of us at the check-in. explained all conditions, where to go and what to enjoy in Miami Beach. She welcomed us very warmhearted and gave us the feeling that she was waiting especially for us! A really really great... More 

Helpful?
Thank NatasaSt
Nick G, Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest, Thank you so much for the great review! It will be a pleasure to share your review with the staff, as they take great pride in their work. We strive to provide great personalized service, and we are happy to see that you had such an amazing experience! Thanks you in advance for recommending our hotel, we... More 

State of Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It is in the Española Way, a quite nice street in Miami Beach. I saw some people recording a movie there one day. The Clay may work as a hostel or hotel. I got a room with private bathroom in the end of the street, the room was ok, not new, but clean enough for a couple of days in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tomé V
Nick G, Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest, Thank you for your review. I would like to take a moment to point out that all of our rooms come with a private bathroom just to avoid any confusion. We are strictly a hotel and do not offer hostel rooms. We appreciate you taking time to write the review and yes, Espanola way does offer a... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

If you are a local like me and you are looking for a nice decent and affordable place to enjoy the beach without driving back home at the end of the day, this is your place! The location is the best!!! Right on Española way, where you can do many different things in only one block. For instance you can... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maylen P
Nick G, Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest, I’m pleased to see they you enjoyed the stay with us. It is very try our resort fee offers great value. You can enjoy the Wi-Fi, continental breakfast and beach service! I will share your comments with the staff and look forward to having you next year! Kindest Regards, Christian Dobao Assistant Front Office Manager The Clay... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I just stayed at this hotel for the first time, and as a photographer i must say you cant beat this place! Location is everything, great price per night, right next to EVERYTHING, Espanola Way feels like you're in cuba at dinner time, and the room was clean and awesome! I only wish the complimentary bkfast was better, but then... More 

Helpful?
Thank cwJacobs f
Nick G, Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest, Thanks for the great feedback! I’m so happy Nick and Mimi were able to extend your check out time, our staff is accustomed to going the extra mile. Espanola way is definitely a great location when it comes to photos, hope you were able to capture the amazing nightlife and energy of Espanola way! We also appreciate... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nini helped checked us in and was so wonderful! Such a sweet girl! This hotel is in the middle of so many wonderful shops and restaurants. It's a short walk from the beach and an outside mall which is super convenient! Had a little trouble with the valet service but that wasn't on this hotel. Thanks for a great stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christina P
Nick G, Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest, We thank you for such a positive review. I will share your great comments with Nini, and we apologize if you had any trouble with valet. Your feedback is very important, as we like to consistently improve the level of service we provide. We hope to see you again next year! Kindest Regards, Christian Dobao Assistant Front... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location is great. Close to the beach, shopping street and oceans drive. Everything you need you can find in the area. The rooms are not that big but for that location it's a great deal because u also have a little breakfast included and (really important for me) beach chairs and umbrellas. In that heat you need umbrellas and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carina K
Port Moody,BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 4 nights, had an issue with the noise over the dumpsters every morning for 1-2 hrs, car alarms going off, the 8-12 dumpsters were rolled out on cobblestones and dumped right under our room and the stench was awful. I am a casual smoker and enjoy my coffee outside in the mornings in my robe, so not... More 

Helpful?
Thank bingomama
Nick G, Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest, Please accept my apologies for the difficulties you experienced as our guest. I was under the impression that a refund had been issued to your account. Can you please contact me personally so that I can take care of this immediately, and once again please accept my sincere apologies? Kindest Regards, Nick Gonzalez Operations Manager Phone: 305-534-2988... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My mate and I booked this hotel as the first two nights of a tour of Florida. We arrived around 11pm after a a long days travel from the UK to find the guy behind reception could not find our booking. This was despite a copy of the booking in my hand, and him finding the email communication between me... More 

Helpful?
Thank Guy P
Nick G, Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Guy Polkinghome I sincerely apologies for all the trouble you experienced. The front desk team will be briefed on your review, for training and quality purposes. We are concerned and committed to taking action to ensure better service recovery. I’m glad to see that we were able to accommodate the 2 doubles beds, however I do agree the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Olivier, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived to The Clay Hotel and waited at the front desk for almost 20 minute . There was a worker sitting on the sofa near the des . He never greeted us when we were at the desk but he got up to answer the nonstop ringing phon . We asked for assistance and he said 'They coming". Almost... More 

Helpful?
Thank Crystal G
Nick G, Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear esteemed guest, I’m at a loss for words. We certainly did not intend for you to have such a terrible experience. Your review will help us improve the level of service we provide guest. The overnight staff has been briefed on your experience. We actually terminated the employee you mentioned was sitting on the couch. Our executive housekeeper has... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel was under renovation but it did not feel like it since we were out during the day..and the renovating parts were amazing we got a two bedroom room which was awesome..breakfast has no good option unless you're paying extra.. Location, location restaurant everywhere on Espaniola way great food and staff, you get discount from the hotel at some of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Danthia D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

951 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (582)
Viewed
View from Room (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (110)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (147)
Viewed
Bathroom (51)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (221)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (343)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Budget Room (47)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (45)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (51)
Viewed
Deluxe Two Queen Room (67)
Viewed
Family Room (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (82)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Shelley
#112 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,215 reviews
Princess Ann Hotel
#140 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Hotel Chelsea
#85 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baltic Hotel
#136 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
City Center
James Hotel
James Hotel
#131 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
South Pointe
Harrison Hotel
Harrison Hotel
#155 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Address: 1438 Washington Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4110
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Price Range: $92 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Budget Places, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay