We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Penguin Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,097 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Penguin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 765: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

We are still at this hotel, it is our second night and we are loving it!!!! Stuff is great, restaurant's food and service are amaZing! Would definitely recommend it to everyone else over any other restaurants around!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miravick
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Miravick, Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy that you are enjoying your time with us. Your kind words remind us that our hard work never goes unnoticed. As the last remaining family owned and operated hotel in South Beach, we are very grateful for guests like you that take the time to post comments on our...

Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

Amazing hospitality and customer service. I cannot explain how awesome the manager Michael Laguardia was. He went above and beyond and gave us a mini history lesson of the building 😃 Our server James Laguardia was super attentive and helped us pick our dishes. The seafood pasta was so filling and tasty and was a real treat. The Chef, Dimitry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruwanthi V
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ruwanthi, Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. We are delighted to hear you had a great experience and our Talent Team delivered outstanding service to you as well. Please enjoy a huge selection of tasty dishes at the Penguin Hotel Restaurant and complete your meal with one of our handcrafted cocktails, glass of...

Arnhem, The Netherlands
Reviewed September 13, 2016

Directly on the beginning or end of Ocean Drive, we had a quick burger and some beers during Happy Hour which saved us some money. Burger was nice an tasteful the fries were very greasy wouldn't recommend to have those again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marloes1011
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marloes, Thank you for visiting and leaving such a wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Please check out our Happy Hour specials on hand-crafted cocktails from 3 pm till 8 pm. The restaurant has seating right on Ocean Drive which is great for people watching. Quality food and...

Reviewed September 12, 2016

We stayed for almost a week here, and the location is a big plus. In front of the beach, and between 14th and 15th on Ocean Dr., were the noises are much lower than other hotels towards south. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was very comfortable. As a cons, we were charged with some amount...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena S
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Magdalena, Thank you for your positive review. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience at Penguin Hotel. Our prime South Beach location is an attraction for so many of our guests. Should you like to discuss the cons you mentioned above, please do not hesitate to email us at guestservices@penguinhotel.com. We look forward to having...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed September 12, 2016

Absolutely a pleasant experience! Coming in from Chicago my friend and I arrived on a Wed and was greeted warmly by the staff. It was busy, but accommodated us on checking in luggage while our room was getting ready (as we were early). Our goal was to relax and that is exactly what we were able to do! It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stephen b
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. Your kind words remind us that our hard work never goes unnoticed. We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to having you as a guest with us again soon. Kind regards

California
Reviewed September 5, 2016

We have eaten on Ocean Dr. In Mami many times and and on the 3rd. Of September 2016 ,we finally found the place where we enjoyed every second there .At the entrance ,we were Greeted by Paulinho .His courtesy and professionalism was just excellent. Then we were served by the most professional and courteous waitress that I ever met ,Melanie...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arieh B
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Arieh, Thank you for visiting the Penguin Hotel Restaurant and leaving such a wonderful review. We are so delighted to hear you were impressed with the food and the service. We serve breakfast all day and our restaurant has seating right on Ocean Drive which is great for people watching. Please check out our Happy Hour specials on hand-crafted...

Mexico DF
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

The worst service, my hotels.com resrvation was very uncomfortable... the hotel wants to charge me 48 extra US dir nothing..... my room is amazingly uncomfortable....my view is the kitchen .... and you can listen to all the conversation..... how sad to waist my time here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sofiamexico
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sofia, We greatly appreciate you for taking the time taken in leaving us with your comments. We apologize that your experience at the Penguin Hotel left you feel dissatisfied, it was certainly far from our objective. We are happy that we were able to accommodate a change of room and that you were able to enjoy the rest of...

Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

Look at the pictures that i posted and tell me if you think this is a nice place to stay. It was dirty, smelled horrible. No AC in free halls. Carpet in the hallways was duct taped down and have multiple different peices. Gross splatter on the walls. Mold in the air conditioner. Cracked bathroom sink. Duct tape on walls.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ahana79
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ahana, Thank you for your guest feedback regarding your stay with us at the Penguin Hotel. We always take our guests feedback seriously and utilize it to improve our guest satisfaction. On behalf of the entire Penguin staff and myself, we would like to share our sincere apologies on your recent experience. Our Maintenance Team is currently working hard...

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

Happy Hour was the best! The ambiance and the drinks are amazing!! If you're looking for a place to go to have great drinks then this is the place to go! We walked on the beach before hand and I then had a couple of drinks and it was definitely worth it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cdh38004
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cdh38004, Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed!! We look forward to welcoming you back again! Our Happy Hour specials on hand-crafted cocktails run everyday from 3 pm till 8 pm. We serve breakfast all day and our restaurant has seating right on Ocean Drive which is great for people watching. Kind regards

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

Great location, good rooms, nice breakfast and parking is either valet for 40$ 😁😁😁or find a parking nearby for 20 bucks. Our room had no tables or chairs or night stands which was weird. Right on the beach v good location. One of the ladies from house keeping saw us struggling with a torn bag and offered us a plastic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PoojaS_11
Volha S, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PoojaS_11, Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. We are so delighted to hear you had a nice experience. Our prime South Beach location is an attraction for many of our guests. Please do not hesitate to contact us in advance so that we can arrange for your arrival. We look forward to welcoming...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

550 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (332)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (63)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Other (129)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (137)
Viewed
Double Queen (46)
Viewed
One King with Sofa Bed (44)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (81)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#93 of 202 in Miami Beach
76 reviews
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitelaw Hotel
#64 of 202 in Miami Beach
1,342 reviews
City Center
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
#38 of 202 in Miami Beach
587 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#74 of 202 in Miami Beach
2,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff

Additional Information about Penguin Hotel

Address: 1418 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Price Range: $114 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penguin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Penguin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Penguin Hotel staff and other travelers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Penguin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Booked through trip advisor”
 of 5 bubbles 762yvetteb, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“There are no window views unless you obtain like the best Suite they have.”
 of 5 bubbles twhitt829, Oct 17, 2016 | Read review
“Not sure what to say here, we didn't get what we booked.”
 of 5 bubbles 823scottd, Oct 11, 2016 | Read review
“Best view and night life”
 of 5 bubbles sequitah2016, Sep 26, 2016 | Read review
“We are here only and did not stay. Restaurant was first class and Edelio well worth seeking out”
 of 5 bubbles alysonh982, Sep 21, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay