We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
1215 West Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4307
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Only 1 left at
$237
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/11/22
Booking.com
$237
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/11/22
Algotels
$209
View deal
Hotels.com$237
Orbitz.com
Lol.travel$274
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (203)
Room & Suite (137)
Pool & Beach (33)

About

#132 of 230 hotels in Miami Beach
Location
4.3
Cleanliness
4.1
Service
3.8
Value
4.2
ABAE is a mysterious coded letter combination that matches the address (1215) for an extra layer of exclusivity. 1215 West Avenue is one of the most coveted addresses in South Beach. ABAE HOTEL, welcomes guests to the chicest side of the island. In the heart of the West Avenue corridor. Each room features ultra modern decor with timeless lines, calming neutrals complemented by splashes of color.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bicycle rental
Children's television networks
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Outdoor pool
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
224Reviews12Q+A19Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 111
  • 46
  • 24
  • 8
  • 35
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Rachel A wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
+1
We stayed here recently for 4 nights after we got off our cruise. Not the best hotel out there but not the worst either. The first night the neighbouring room had a party which was ridiculously loud into the early hours of the morning (Saturday night though so we didn’t complain). I was also bitten a lot during the night by some sort of bugs which there was a a lot of in the room. Our room wasn’t cleaned when we stayed there apart from a 5 minute wipe down by the housekeeper on one day. There was what looked like ants crawling on the work top. The rooftop pool is nice but there is absolutely no shade at all so couldn’t really use it because it was uncomfortable to sit in the heat and sun. There was a a broken cupboard door in the kitchen and the floor was quite scratched, the iPad didn’t work, and the terrace was definitely not what it looked like on the pictures. However it was nice to have a fridge and microwave etc to use during our stay Probably wouldn’t stay again or recommend to friends/family but if you need somewhere to stay for a night it wouldn’t be horrendous.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Deborah G wrote a review Jul 2022
14 contributions
+1
So my sister and I booked this hotel so I could celebrate my birthday in Miami. We checked in after a long 10 hr flight from London on 19th July, exhausted and ready to unwind. I started up the shower and to my absolute disgust and horror I saw a cockroach, then another and another and another. By this time it was 3am so I took a video and waited until morning in order to notify the front desk. 20th July- We go downstairs to inform them of the cockroach nest which they gave us as a room, the lady at the front desk was already dealing with another complaint from a guest regarding the cleanliness of the hotel. We finally spoke to the lady at the front desk who advised she will let housekeeping know! I told her she needs to notify the hotel manager as I want a refund and go elsewhere I cannot stay in such a hotel. She was super unhelpful and utterly useless. 21st July -(my birthday) The next day we notify another person on the front desk what happened again and asked when the manager would next be in. They informed us they have spoken to him and he’ll be on site the following morning. We informed him we would like a full refund and refuse to stay in that room another night. He was extremely helpful and managed to change our rooms. Had to carry all our luggage from the roach nest to another room by ourselves which was extremely inconvenient and ridiculous but at least we didn’t have to worry about cockroaches laying eggs in our ears at night. Everyday since then we have asked the front desk to ask the manager who is never on site to contact us. We know he’s receiving the messages but simply refuses to respond. 6 days on after sending several emails to the manager Eddie segui and leaving messages at the front desk. We have yet to receive an apology or response from anyone. Not only has it really put a damper on my birthday celebrations the lack of accountability and ownership from senior management in this disgusting establishment is beyond comical at this point. I have used every method available to contact management yet none of them have returned our emails or request for a resolution. As I can’t upload the video please find pictures attached.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abae Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Abae Hotel
Responded Jul 31, 2022
Good Day, and thank you for choosing the Abae Hotel. First, and foremost, on behalf of everyone here, we would like to extend our sincerest apologies for your experience here at our property. We always strive to hold ourselves to the highest standards of service for all our guest. In this particular case, there is much that needs to be improved. Again we apologize, as we can see how this can be a major inconvenience, especially on a family trip, and would like to take this moment to address any concerns you may have had. In regards to the response of the front desk staff, they are limited in the actions they can take when situations like this occur, as they are not authorized to refund money to guest, once everything is paid in full. Even the front desk manager is limited to what can be returned, if the request is denied by the hotel ownership. When this happens we try our best to accommodate our guest, whether it involves a relocation to another property or moving rooms, which can be difficult, especially when the property is near full occupancy . We're happy to see that someone was eventually able to assist you in this regard. We're sorry to see you experienced some difficulty in moving your belongings into the new room. We should note that we had staff on hand that were more than happy to assist you, but it appears you declined when offered. In regards to the pest that was in your room, our housekeeping supervisor, and front desk manager conducted a thorough reinspection of the unit, and found no traces of a nest or infestation of any kind. It is highly possible that the one you saw came from outside, as we do keep the balcony doors open to air out the room while it is being cleaned. In addition to the service provided by our housekeeping staff, each unit is serviced on a regular basis by a local pest control company, contracted with our property. Again, our deepest apologies for the poor response to your experience here at our hotel. We sincerely hope, that we have the chance to host you again, and show the many improvements made. We wish the best, and hope to see you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa H wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
The pictures sell a nice, bright modern place. What we walked into was totally different. This place wasn’t cleaned properly. A lot of the glass and walls had drip marks. The flooring, bathroom, furniture and wall need updating or replacing. The balcony wasn’t appealing.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abae Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Abae Hotel
Responded Jul 30, 2022
Good Day, and thank you for choosing the Abae Hotel. We regret to see you did not fully enjoy your time with us, and appreciate your honest feedback, as it goes a long way to helping us improve services here at the hotel. We should note that any issues with your accommodations, can be brought to the attention of front desk staff, who are always happy to assist you. If they are unable to immediately resolve your issue, they can forward any concerns to the appropriate department to assist you. This, however can only be done if said issue is brought to our staffs attention, as they rely on your feedback to provide you with the best possible experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steven90069 wrote a review Mar 2022
Los Angeles, California2 contributions3 helpful votes
ABAE hotel Beware - Total scam 1. No heat in the room, I was told to use the toaster oven to warm the room. 2. I was charged $1000 for damages to the kitchen counter for damage from using the hotel-provided toaster oven that came with the room. I am disputing the charge on my credit card. 3. Sofa was filthy dirty 4. Bottled water in the room said flat and sparkling in used bottles. The first day I tried the water, mold was growing in the bottles. 5. Washer/dryer in one does not dry the clothes 6. Refrigerator does not keep food frozen 7. Towels in the room were brand new and never washed. I needed to re-shower to get the lint off. Towels smelled like cigarette smoke and dye. I brought towels down to the front desk to complain. The front desk person said he never washes new towels. 8. The hallways are very noisy with people yelling and laughing. It sounded like a party in the next room often. 9. After checkout I was told I could use the shower at the pool since I had a late flight. The shower at the pool has no hot water. Confirmed with MGR at the front desk after use. 10. Hotel phone number (305) 400-0780 is not answered most of the time then goes to a voicemail that is full and not taking new messages. 11. Hotel had no body wash in shower after the second day according to the front desk they ran out. 12 . Hotel does not provide washcloths Heating System: I called the front desk and the thermostat would not adjust to heat. I am informed by MGR, Rob the system does not heat and cool at the same time it’s a building issue. It could only be adjusted by the management who was not able to adjust. MGR Rob suggested using the toaster oven that came with the room. Email with the general manager: I contacted the General Manager regarding $1000.charges for damages on my credit card who stated he would get back to me the next day, This did not happen. He politely threatened me with action if I posted this review.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Go else where
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Abae Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Abae Hotel
Responded Mar 8, 2022
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We’re proud of our outstanding service, clean and stylish rooms, and great location, and don’t like our guests to be anything less than 100% happy. My sincere apologies for not giving you the level of service you expected and should have received. We hope we get the chance to welcome you back again. It pains us to hear the not-so good stuff, but it helps us learn and improve! Unfortunately, the damage that was done to the kitchen countertop couldn’t be easily repaired at a cheap cost. We do provide extra bedding if needed. The temperature is controlled in the room by the guest with a thermostat. We have gone through each issue with our upper management staff and engineers and All issues have been taken care of.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carol K wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution3 helpful votes
This hotel does not honor what it represents online. While its website listed it has an on site parking lot, it turned out that it closed off its lot when I arrived for my reservation and there was no parking anywhere nearby. Yet, the management refused to refund my deposit. Abae Hotel is a dishonest establishment. Stay away!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Abae Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Abae Hotel
Responded Feb 8, 2022
Good Day, and thank you for choosing the Abae hotel. We regret to see that you did not enjoy your experience with us, and would like to take this time to address any concerns you may have. In regards to parking, while it was listed as available on our main site, this was done in error, and all of our affiliate sites are updated appropriately to reflect that. While we do not offer onsite parking anymore, we do our best to inform, our guest of reasonable alternatives nearby, such as the free parking on 12th between West and Alton Rd, just outside of the property. In regards to your deposit, if you are referring to the $200USD deposit that all guest pay upon check in, then we must remind you that, all deposits are refunded AFTER checkout. Once the housekeeping, and maintenance staff completes their inspection, and updates the rooms status to the hotel, then the funds for the deposit are released back to you. Our Management staff was simply adhering to established policy. Again we apologize for any misunderstandings, and we hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again someday.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ryantravels13 wrote a review Feb 2022
Washington DC, District of Columbia82 contributions75 helpful votes
I stayed here for a couple days for a work trip. I liked the size of my room. It had a futon too as well as a table and a nice corner standing balcony. It was close to a whole foods and walkable to a lot of good restaurants but not in a busy area of the island. The only thing I didn't like was that the beds were super stiff. I like firm beds but these were extremely stiff. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abae Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Abae Hotel
Responded Feb 3, 2022
Good Day, and thank you for choosing the Abae Hotel, We appreciate the positive feedback, and are pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us during your business trip. We are sorry to hear that you did not find the bed to be to your liking. Most guest tend to like the firmness of our mattresses, however we do understand that it is always a matter of personal preference. We do appreciate you staying with us, and we look forward to your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
B J wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
We were not informed about extra hidden fees upon arrival, plus no parking other than valet across. Uncomfortable bed and very strong cleaning odor in lobby & halls. location is the best benefit. Over priced for the quality.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Abae Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Abae Hotel
Responded Feb 1, 2022
Good Day, and thank you for staying with us at the Abae Hotel. We're sorry to see that you did not completely enjoy your experience with us, and would like to take the time to address any of the issues or misunderstandings that may have occurred. In regards to the "hidden fees". Upon check in all guest must pay a hotel fee of $29 per night plus taxes, as well as a refundable $200 incidental charge. These additional charges are always listed online when you are making a reservation not only with our property, but with any hotel in the country, the only thing that would differ in other properties would be the amount paid per night. in regards to the lack of parking, while we have not provided on site parking for a long time, we do our best to inform our guest of the most convenient alternatives nearby, such as the free parking on 12th between West Ave, and Alton Rd, the paid valet across from our property along 12th and West Ave, and the public parking garage on 10th and West Ave to name a few. We should also note that if there was anything you found unsatisfactory about your room during your stay, such issues can always be addressed to the front desk staff, who will be more than happy to assist you, but they can only do so if it is brought to their attention at the time, not after you already departed. Again we apologize if you found your time with us less than satisfactory, and we hope we will have an opportunity to provide you with improved services in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen Davis wrote a review Dec 2021
Naples, Florida44 contributions33 helpful votes
The Abae touts itself as a luxury boutique hotel. Upon first glance the rooms are neat,, light-filled and a great use of space. Upon closer inspection, one notices the “pig with lipstick “ touches. To be clear, a hotel with no concierge, broken Ikea furnishings, Flooring that doesn’t fit together, no garage or parking, no minibar, a bed the guest needs to make up among other things, can hardly be considered luxurious. As I sit on the terrace sipping my morning coffee, the WM garbage truck is right below us in the very noisy and trafficked alley below. Luckily the wind is blowing away from us today. Good things: price, location in South Beach, cleanliness, smells great, Joe and the Juice in the lobby.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Abae Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Abae Hotel
Responded Jan 2, 2022
Good Evening, and thank you for staying with us at the Abae Hotel. We always appreciate honest feedback, as it goes a long way towards improving service here at the hotel. We apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay, and would like to take the opportunity to address some of your concerns. In regards to parking, we no longer offer on site parking, as the valet company that owns the garage here at the hotel, has yet to renew, their contracts, or permits, opting to keep it closed for now. Due to this reason we no longer have it listed as an amenity on any of our sites. We would also like to note that all of the amenities provided by the hotel are listed online. To put it plainly if it is not offered, then it is not listed( such as parking, concierge service, minibars, etc ).We would also like to note if there was anything in regards to your room that you found less than satisfactory, we do have a 24hr front desk service that are always happy to assist you, but can only do so if it's brought to their attention. Again we apologize that you you did not completely enjoy your experience here at the Abae Hotel, and we sincerely hope to have the chance to host you again should you ever return to South Beach.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jessica C wrote a review Dec 2021
Pflugerville, Texas7 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
They refill bottle water left in room for us. The top was not sealed and has mold in it. Table dirty, kitchen bar was dirty and has nose hair on there. Floors also dirty with cigarette burns in the floor and there is not parking on site except for street. We get a penthouse for daughters 13bday weekend. When told about the water, floor and counter, the guy said cleaning crew is gone for the day. Admitted they refill the bottle water. Said there is not manager and he will not gives us money back so we can leave 5 min after we arrived so we could leave. Now we are having to waist time on her bday to find another place. Do not waist your time or money.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Abae Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Abae Hotel
Responded Jan 2, 2022
Good Evening, and thank you for choosing the Abae Hotel, we regret to see that you did not enjoy your time with us, and would like to extend our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay. We would like to take the time to address any concerns you may have regarding your reservation. In regards to the state of the room during your check in we apologize that it did not meet the rigorous standards that we set for our housekeeping staff, and unfortunately when the issue was finally brought to our attention, the housekeeping staff, had already clocked out for the day, as they are only on site from 8am to 4:30pm. In regards to parking, all our amenities are listed on line, unfortunately on site parking is not included on that list, and thus is not offered. We do however, make guest aware of free/ low cost alternatives in the nearby area for their convenience. In regards to refunding the payment to your reservation, due to the type of reservation that was made (Pre-Paid), it was simply not possible, as the policy set, by both the hotel, and your booker states that any cancellations or modifications to reservations must be done 3 days prior to arrival. As you were already checked in, the front desk staff were not permitted to process that for you. Which is why upon reviewing the situation, management waived the the hotel fee that was charged to your reservation in the amount of $66.12 for the 2 nights that you stayed. We hope that this experience did not have to much of a negative impact on your daughters special day, and we hope we can have the opportunity to host you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lucybelle1 wrote a review Nov 2021
Tampa, Florida1040 contributions156 helpful votes
+1
I got the hotel mostly because it is close to my brother’s apartment. The location is fine, it is not close to the beach and therefore not very noisy. The room was bigger than expected and I was surprised when I saw the mini fridge, washer/dryer and microwave. The hotel has a pool which we didn’t use as it was raining. The only thing missing here is the parking but you can park about a block away in the public parking garage (hard to find parking on the street).
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Abae Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Abae Hotel
Responded Jan 2, 2022
Good Day, and thank you for choosing the Abae Hotel. We're thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time here with us, and were able to make full use of all the amenities provided by the hotel. You were a joy to have, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$192 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaMiami Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ABAE HOTEL $121 ($̶2̶0̶5̶) - Updated 2022 Prices & Reviews - Miami Beach, FL

Frequently Asked Questions about Abae Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Abae Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Flamingo Park (0.2 miles), The Sunset Lounge (0.09 miles), and Foxhole (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Abae Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Abae Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What are some restaurants close to Abae Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pasta-Go Alton Road, GO-GO Fresh Food, and Giotto Maestro della Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Abae Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Abae Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.9 miles away from the center of Miami Beach.
Are any cleaning services offered at Abae Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Abae Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Abae Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Freedom Tower at Miami Dade College (3.0 miles), The Fillmore Miami Beach at the Jackie Gleason Theater (0.9 miles), and Art Deco Historic District (0.7 miles).
Is Abae Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.