We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Bay Eden Arms Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Bay Eden Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

413 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 412: English reviews
Wirral
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed last week for four night break with our son. We had a room for three which was clean, comfortable and spacious. We found all the staff to be friendly and efficient and the food was good. There were several choices for dinner and the buffet breakfast was plentiful and well cooked. The week was excellent value for money and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeMaWirral
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind recommendation, we would love to welcome you back should you be in The North East again, hopefully in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson General Manager.

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our five day holiday included a day at Beamish outdoor museum, and the National Rail Museum, Shildon. The hotel was nicely furnished, good food, friendly staff, and entertainment every night. The weather also played it's part, sunny and dry, with clear skies every day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank biggles26
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay exploring the many delights our county has to offer, then returning back to base to enjoy good food, friendly staff and to top it all off...Some December sunshine! We look forward to welcoming you back with a smile should you chose to stay with us again. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson General...

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for a weekend break with National Holidays The hotel and staff were very welcoming and the food was plentiful and varied, The rooms were spacious and furnishings lovely and comfortable. The pool and spa looked lovely but we didn't take advantage of the facilities, maybe next time. The whole weekend was great and we will certainly be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valerie D
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Great to see another 5 star review on our pages, we look forward to your return and I must reccommend our leisure club next time, a perfect way to relax after exploring the delights of County Durham. See you soon. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson GeneralManager

Castleford
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is our second visit to the Eden Arms and again we weren't disappointed. All the staff are very friendly and welcoming, however it has to be said that the hotel was short of staff as those that were working were flitting from one job to another. The rooms are quite large if a little tired, the food was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelmanCastleford
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to post your review and you'll be pleased to know that the final phase of refurbishing our rooms will be completed in 2017. I'm sure that you'll be impressed should you chose to stay with us a third time next year. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson General Manager

blackpool
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here last weekend as part of a national holidays trip to the north east. First impressions were ok, and although it is in a remote location, the hotel itself seemed ok. Small reception and only one staircase in operation caused a few problems at first as most of our party were elderly so a lift would've helped. Maintenance man...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BlackpoolStevieb
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

A detailed review, Thankyou for your comments, particularly with regards to our staff, I would probably give them 11/10 but I'm sure 10 will suffice! All work tirelessly to ensure your stay has that little bit of an extra sparkle. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson General Manager

Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in shock reading the reviews on the Eden Arms Durham four & five stars awarded NO WAY we stayed there the food was terrible, cold, tasteless, poor quality, passable breakfast, bathroom no heating at all, small rad in the bedroom not big enough to heat the room it went off at ten pm the room was then very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sycamore_11
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for posting an honest review, one which demands an honest reply I'm sure you'll agree. I'm sorry for the way your food was perceived, Thankyou for quite rightly raising your concerns with me at the time, which allowed an issue to be duly addressed and rectified. My response with regards to a staff complaint was balanced, I regret that...

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My Husband and I stayed at the Eden Arms Hotel from the 28th to the 31st of October 2016. We were allocated Room 29 absolutely superb. The Manager Laurie and all Hotel Staff were extremely friendly. The meals were good tasty and plentiful. The entertainment was not to out taste at all, but enjoyed the atmosphere and company of other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth251
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, it was great to meet you and I look forward to welcoming you back when you come by this way again. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson. General Manager.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently visited this Hotel with friends for a long weekend. We have stayed here once before and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel in the Durham area. Accommodation, is good with comfortable beds, shower and bath. Hair drier, ironing board and iron and tea and coffee facilities. The food is good and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John B
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your wonderful review, Julia and Hilda are a credit to the hotel, as are the rest of the team, all working tirelessly to achieve a common aim of quality customer care with that added personal touch. We would love to see you again, hopefully not in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson. General Manager.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Second time we have stayed here and it was just as good as the first. The staff are lovely and the hotel comfortable and clean. It's a great place to explore the North East from. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. The area of Durham and the city itself is lovely. People are friendly well worth...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pip B
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Its great to hear that you enjoyed your return visit. Consistent quality creates a great atmosphere and we are proud that this has been achieved time after time. We hope to see you again, hopefully in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson. General Manager.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the best shearings holiday hotel I have visited. Staff very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Waitresses work extremely hard but still smile and nothing is any trouble. Will definitely go again. Recently newly decorated. Entertainment every night was excellent. Bars and service wonderful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris S
gm_dur, General Manager at Bay Eden Arms Hotel, responded to this review

A strong contender for review of the year 2016! Thankyou and you can be sure that the entire team will relish the well deserved praise. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Laurie Simpson General Manager

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rushyford
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Durham (Newton Aycliffe) Hotel
4.4 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
2,887 reviews
3.5 mi away
Park Head Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
8.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham
10.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Eden Arms Hotel is another one of our great character hotels. The building dates back to the 17th-century when it was a coaching inn. Many of our guests use the hotel as a base to explore the city of Durham and the picturesque countryside around. The location, just eight miles from the historic city centre, is the ideal place to relax and unwind for both leisure and business travellers alike. For those who are keen to explore further afield, the city of Newcastle with its regenerated riverfront and great shopping and hospitality is within easy driving distance. The Eden Arms offers comfortable accommodation and also boasts a leisure club featuring a gym, swimming pool, sauna, steam room and spa. It is also a popular venue for conferences and weddings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Eden Arms Hotel

Address: Middridge Road, Rushyford DL17 0LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Rushyford
Price Range: $69 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Eden Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Eden Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Arms Durham
Eden Arms Hotel
Hotel Eden Arms
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Bay Eden Arms Hotel staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question
merseyside
3 months ago
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Arnside

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Eden Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Our room(8) was over the dining room.”
 of 5 bubbles biggles26, 1 week ago | Read review
“Not for people with limited mobility. No Lift”
 of 5 bubbles Elizabeth251, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Corner suites are quieter although we had a room onlooking the main road and the road noise was minimal”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Go to a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles JoanG827, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
“We had room14 which was nice and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles smgwest4, Oct 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay