We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Parmer's Resort

Traveler (579)
360
Panoramas (12)
Videos (1)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#2 of 2 hotels in Little Torch Key
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Come back to the Florida Keys of Yesteryear... Parmer's Resort of Little Torch Key, a collection of rooms, suites and cottages, is spread over five acres on the ocean in the Lower Florida Keys. Escape to a true oasis from today's busy lives, lounge on the beach or by the pool, nap in a hammock, bring your boat for some of the best fishing in the country. Housekeeping by request only but breakfast is served daily, grills for cooking out, yoga and water aerobics. Your vacation from the real world beckons.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Canoeing
Mini golf
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Internet
Fitness classes
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Fishing
Fax / photocopying
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Bottled water
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Kayaks and Paddleboards
989Reviews
17Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 572
  • 282
  • 82
  • 35
  • 18
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Stayed here one night only but wish we could've stayed longer! Such a lovely atmosphere and friendly staff. The breeze off the ocean on a waterfront hammock is absolutely amazing. Temperature gauge said 90° but felt like 75° in that spot. I wanted to stay ther forever (or at least until I finished my book). We stayed in a basic queen room (Shrimp) and it met our needs just fine. Room and bathroom were clean and decorated nicely. Exterior of back side (canal side) of resort is a little rougher, some debris laying around but didn't bother us. Canal water seemed dank and stagnant. Just felt the "old keys" vibe...island life = extreme conditions = things outside become weathered easily. Bed was so comfortable that we missed breakfast. Pool is very nice and free cookies were FABULOUS. Lots of fun activities like cornhole and bocce (I think that's what it was) court. Plenty of chairs and picnic tables. Don't come if you want fancy, but if you are looking for a laid back place to chill - check this place out
Read more
We couldn't have enjoyed our short stay at Parmers any more than we did (unless my wife could still be reading her book in a hammock...). Arrived on a Tuesday afternoon, wife and two children. Stayed in Orchid room, 2nd floor 2 queens with pool out front. Perfect size room, good a/c, everything was clean. In the afternoon, the kids enjoyed the hammocks (and took naps) and my wife and I read in the beach chairs and ended up in the pool lounges. The cookies and drinks through the day are a nice touch. Being a Tuesday, we went to Taco Tuesday at Looe Tiki Bar on Ramrod Key (~3 min away). Wednesday morning, I woke early to watch dawn break, then sunrise. Felt like I had the place to myself. Roused family around 7a to have breakfast, then me and the kids went to Looe Reef Dive to scuba and snorkel. Wife stayed at Parmers, reading her book, lounging in the hammocks and pool lounges, and basically called it heaven. Since it wasn't too busy, we were granted a late checkout with the morning dives. Total including taxes was ~$225 for the night. Yes, pricey but it's the Keys (and lower Keys at that). I highly recommend Parmers, especially if you are low-maintenance, having the time and ability to relax.
Read more
We stayed here one night on our bicycling trip from Key Largo to Key West. The room was large and clean, right near the pool. There is a small beach and bathing area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Because of a medical issue, they allowed us to store our tandem bicycle for the night, so that we could pick it up the next day and provided a shuttle ride to the bus stop. If given the opportunity, would stay there again. I heard that they plan to rebuild the property with new buildings. Given the location and season, I thought the price was reasonable. They provide breakfast and the nearby restaurant, Kiki's Sandbar Grill, was very good.
Read more
+1
Parmers Resort is indeed a mixture of lovely and awful. I rented the “basic” room which was the cheapest but still $200 a night for a room that was supposed to be big enough for 2 people. We are 2 small people so I shudder to think about how 2 average to large people would fit. But that is just the beginning....the sink is outside the bathroom in a room that is already super tight. The bathroom? Well basically a tiny closet, hold your breath and you may squeeze into it. The walls? Oh my! Such an easy way to make a space look pretty but they chose not to. Different paint behind the tv ... ugly beige with mismatch places to cover up who knows what. The bed was okay so not much to say there. HOWEVER, the resort itself is lovely. The breakfast room is so pretty and the food is nicely laid out. The beach, piers, and hammock areas are very inviting. We kayaked, and yes, you have to pay extra for crappy kayaks, but it was wonderful and we saw an amazing number of sea animals like nothing we saw in the previous 3 weeks of kayaking in the key colony area. So while I could overlook some things to come back, my husband refuses to ever step foot on the property again. The cost for our room was the main issue, if it was $50 I guess I would expect what we got. Unfortunately it is 4x that and a ripoff for what you get. ANOTHER important attribute, the staff at Parmers are lovely people, we were so impressed and realized it is not their fault that the resort rooms are in dire need of remodeling and price adjustment. They would have probably given us another room but we didn’t have much time there and I’m not sure it would have been better.
Read more
Response from FriendAtParmers, Your Friends at Parmer's Resort
Responded Apr 28, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your thoughts of your stay! We appreciate all the feedback. I am sorry you did not enjoy your Small Basic Queen Room. As you mentioned, the Basic rooms are the least expensive and they are the smallest rooms on the property. This is why when anyone reserves online, we have the square footage of the room available and we re-iterate that is is small and basic. These rooms best accommodate those who do not plan to spend much time in the room and just need a place to rest their head and rinse off. For about $30 more a night, you would be able to reserve a Standard King or Two Queen Room which does feature more space and has a microwave as well. We also have rooms that have kitchens (efficiencies and suites), separate living space from the bedroom and even stand-alone cottages! The property does reflect the "Old Keys" lifestyle in a laid back atmosphere right on the water and no need for all the bells and whistles. The property gives you great access for going to Marathon, Bahia Honda State Park, Looe Key Reef and Key West! As you also mentioned, had we known you were uncomfortable in your room, we would have loved to find another room that better suits you! With so many different room types on the property, there is always something for everyone! We always recommend to guests to always call us directly when making a reservation. When you do so, you know exactly what you are reserving. We are glad you enjoyed your time out on the kayaks and saw all the different sea life you had not before! The kayaks are provided by an outside vendor, which is why there is an additional charge. After Hurricane Irma, we started working on plans to renovate the property with new rooms and amenities- we hope you will come back and see!
Read more
We stayed here for one night, because my husband was looking for dark skies to use his telescope. It seemed like every room was unique, so I can only speak to our experience. Our room was very very basic - the walls appeared to be painted concrete, the floors were linoleum and tile, it had a low-feeling drop ceiling, and felt dark like a basement. The furniture wasn’t fabulous (like there weren’t headboards for the beds and there was only one dresser in the room), but it was functional. There was a full kitchen that seemed decently stocked. The bathroom was tiny, with a toilet, small sink, and small shower. Three out of four of us only got a cool shower, and oddly, the last person to shower was the only one to get hot water. The grounds were very nice. We had a little outdoor table that faced the water, so we sat there for awhile. We tested some of the rainbow hammocks. The swimming at the beach was possibly the worst thing about this place. It’s a very very small area. The water is very shallow with a sandy bottom for about a foot, and then there is a sudden drop to probably four feet deep, and the bottom is mucky. My mom and daughter quickly rejected it and fled to the pool, which is much nicer! My husband went outside to watch the sunset from the dock and said it was amazing. Lastly breakfast was very good. I consider myself to be picky about coffee, but I thought the coffee there was good. They had nice bagels and muffins, hard boiled eggs, cereal... all basic, but very good. Overall, I liked it, but it seems a bit pricey for what it is, and three stars is mostly just the no frills motel feel of the place.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$183 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
parmer`s hotel little torch key
LOCATION
United StatesFloridaFlorida KeysLower KeysLittle Torch Key
NUMBER OF ROOMS
45
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing